2,649 posts

QUOTE(nsx88 @ Jun 9 2014, 11:23 PM)
You guys did not survey enough.

Best EVER Savings account is Maybank eSaver-i,
Interest of 0.4% less than 2k,
2.1% for less than 20k.... or
2.3% more than 20k...
Best FD at the Moment. (ALL are PIDM insured)
1. Maybank 1mth FD is 3.20%PA
2. Short Term is Standard Chartered is giving 3.5%PA for 6mths.
3. HLBB is giving 3.63%PA effective for 12mths. Min 10k.

Calculate the effective rates.. not the Stupid Promo rates of 8.88% for certain conditions & months.... when effective/average rates turn out to be 3.0%...

BLR is going up next month perhaps 0.25% ... That's why, don't place long term yet... I place a few hundred K in Maybank 1mth FD of 3.20%, to be move to another higher level next month.

Good Luck...
I remember a while back there's a new saying bnm gonna revise the blr by at least 0.25% in June/July right?
Hmm.. This make me think that interest rate for FD gonna up a little.
How do u view on this matter? Perhaps bank might revise the effective rate to 4.0%?

I got a few maturing this month. Was with affin normal fd @3.6%

Was thinking same as u, put one month fd in maybank and see how's the promotion/rates gonna take.

Imo, current best for 12 month is HLBB.
xcxa23
post Jun 12 2014, 12:44 PM

2,649 posts

Guys if ur business acc is the same as the bank u planning to put ur FD, definitely can try to nego.
Oh ya, this is for monthly FD.

But of cos it still depend on the branch manager and your skill. What I do is

First I ask them the rate from their normal staff, then I told them this and that bank higher wor, can't you up abit?

After thinking and looking at their monitor, they said nd to ask their boss. So after waiting for few minute, their boss come out and ask to enter his office.

At first he will ask how much u can put, so I said half of the amount I want to put. He offer 3.2.
So I ask again if I add another 200k can up till 3.4 or not. Well I was just joking and testing luck. Unexpectedly he said can offer till 3.3.

This make me wonder, maybe due to my business and personal acc was in the bank so they can offer this rate.

Largely contribute is the branch manager. Talk nice and respect with them. Sort of like chatting with friends.
Remember is they have the final say on yes or no.
xcxa23
post Jun 12 2014, 04:26 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Jun 12 2014, 02:10 PM)
I've heard of RM, but have no idea what it stands for...Regional Manager? Relationship Manager? Ringgit Malaysia? biggrin.gif

Maybe the RM knew that you've put most of your money in BR, so showed her discontentment towards you  laugh.gif 
Which bank offers you 3.20%/3.30% for FD placement?

What's the tenure of placement?
RHB
it is monthly placement. same as 12 months FD but its only last for 1 month. the next month also same rate. i felt like if put in saving, the rate is tooooo little. so i choose this.
the reason i choose this because i believe 12 months FD gonna spike within this few months.
and i dont wanna put in current promotion.
this way, i can withdraw and put in other much higher 12 month FD after the BNM decision.
xcxa23
post Jun 12 2014, 04:55 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 12 2014, 04:47 PM)
nod.gif  notworthy.gif Big timer, only big timer will do as above. We small fry may have to try the same trick. But the amount involved has to be high.  tongue.gif
I have the same thinking as you. From now until July/August, any FD placed will be short term of 1 to 3 months only.

cheers.gif  cheers.gif
i really think is up to the branch manager or the one they called boss tongue.gif
and most important is our attitude. if we respect ppl, ppl will respect us back and willingly to help us.

erm, if got two 50k cert then also can nego. i tried with HLBB b4. mange to get 3.65 for 12 month FD last year expiring soon too rclxms.gif

nice~! i was worrying that only im thinking like this icon_rolleyes.gif
hopefully will bump up to at least 4%, mine expectation. lol..
xcxa23
post Jun 13 2014, 07:28 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jun 12 2014, 06:26 PM)
Earlier I almost forgot what was the short form of Relationship Manager too. It is RM.
Nah, is a new RM which I never talked to before.
Sorry xcxa23, I tried building a rapport before with AM Bank & it didn't work, be it with the branch manager or with the Priority Banking relationship manager.
The only benefit i got was they closed one eye for the recent FD promo where it requires fresh funds.
well, its very subjective cos not every branch manager are easy to nego.
i also tried to nego with pbb in but he keep insisting that the rate is fixed and cant be change.
that time is also 2 50k cert but man, when i tried nego, the facial expression of the staff is like looking down at me.
at least u no nd fresh fund. smile.gif

QUOTE(HJebat @ Jun 13 2014, 12:13 AM)
3.30% for 1 month FD placement is a really good rate.

Any additional T&C attached?
nope... no additional t&c, jz need to nego with the branch manager tongue.gif
xcxa23
post Jun 13 2014, 11:27 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Jun 13 2014, 09:50 AM)
During the negotiation, some particulars like minimum placement, minimum amount to maintain in FD, premature withdrawal rate, longest permissible period for 3.30% etc. must crop up. Can share share ka? brows.gif
Erm... Minimum I think is at least 6 figure.. As for how long, he din says minimum how long but I got told him that if any rate attracted me, I will go for it. Then he said for promotion, he still haven't get any news from hq. When it's ok, he will infrom as frequently will go to bank to bank in/withdraw money.

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jun 13 2014, 11:13 AM)
Haha  biggrin.gif  Last time a friend told me, Public Bank does not need our money.
Actually they have improved alot as years ago they never had any promo.
Haha.. I guess they have no eyes for small fry like us. They only interested for 7 figures.
Oh ya, I jz remember my friend said ammbank branch manager every few months will bring him red wine personally. Its true cos I got saw the manager at his house b4.
U can see how realistic some of them.

Wonder how this news gonna affect FD rate.. Hmm
Short-term rates to remain stable on Bank Negara intervention
Any comment?? Or it is irrelevant for FD?
xcxa23
post Jun 20 2014, 07:44 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 19 2014, 10:33 PM)
Ya, initially people talking about 0.25% OPR change but yesterday saw from newspaper that it could be 0.5% !!  hmm.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
wow.. which newspaper??
this will certainly raise to 4% level rclxms.gif

xcxa23
post Jun 20 2014, 08:26 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 19 2014, 05:42 PM)
(1) RHB 15 Months Step-up FD Promo. Effective rate 4.00% -- Valid until 31 August 2014

[attachmentid=4020344]

Source:
http://www.rhb.com.my/Whats_New/deposits/s...D/#.U6KpuijDVAc

(2) RHB Ramadan FD Promo
-- Valid until 31 August 2014
(i) 3.78% for 3 moths, put 5% into CASA*
(ii) 3.88% for 6 months, put 10% into CASA*
(iii) 4.28% for 9 moths, put 20% into CASA*
(iv) 5.00% for 12 months, put 50% into CASA*

*All have to put in CASA for 90 days.
Except Max Cash & Junior Saving account.

Minimum RM 30K
Maximum RM 3 Mil

(3) RHB Pure CMD-i FD Promo -- Valid until 31 August 2014
3.7% for 12 months
Hmm.. 15 months imo too long.. max I can take is 12..
Well the effective rate is 4% which is a good sign, meaning most likely the olr is a go.
This might even set a base for all bank to give an effective rate of 4% rclxms.gif
xcxa23
post Jun 20 2014, 11:20 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 20 2014, 08:36 AM)
Chinese paper Sin Chew business section, Wed. Please don't ask me to translate for you, ha ha.  tongue.gif
Effective rate is lower than 4%. Have to put 10% in CASA for 90 days.  brows.gif
Lol.. Thanks for the info.. start preparing bullet.

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jun 20 2014, 09:55 AM)
I think the boss at BNM is a smart and cautious lady. Even if the current economic situation warrants a 0.5% increase, my gut feel is, she will do it in 2 steps, first 0.25% and another 0.25% later.

Sometimes they use the newspaper to "prepare" us for bad news. So they say 0.5% now and later only 0.25%, we will feel relieved, ie., not that bad lah! Ha.

Wait and see.

Cheerio.
Thanks fot the insight. U got a point there.. that's y I don't like more than 12 month tenure.

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jun 20 2014, 10:08 AM)
I have a few 12 months FD maturing in July. According to the bank, after they are automatically renewed, I can withdraw them after 3 months without any penalty. Just not sure after 3 months is the pro-rated 12-months rate or dropped to 1-month rate.

With the OPR going up, I wonder if I should convert them to 1-month FD or let them renew another 12 months?

Thanks in advance for your advise
Well, if u don't mind running here and there, better opt for 1 month tenure 1st. After the olr news become official and banks starting to make promo, only decide which suit your taste.

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jun 20 2014, 10:15 AM)
(2) RHB Ramadan FD Promo -- Valid until 31 August 2014
(i) 3.78% for 3 moths, put 5% into CASA*
(ii) 3.88% for 6 months, put 10% into CASA*
(iii) 4.28% for 9 moths, put 20% into CASA*
(iv) 5.00% for 12 months, put 50% into CASA*

*All have to put in CASA for 90 days.

we need clarification tongue.gif
Imo, regardless of the effective rate, it's not worth it. Judging from the simplest calculation,
Assuming capital 100k
If 100% fd @3.7= 3700
If 80% fd 20% casa @4.5= 3600

xcxa23
post Jun 20 2014, 12:20 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jun 20 2014, 11:26 AM)
it state that you only need to maintain CASA for 90 days which make a whole lot of difference.

Anyway it does sound too good to be true.

Waiting for BCC to clarify, can't find more info on RHB site except the 15 months step up promo.
Some more last step up nd 50% casa.
Nd an expert with calculation.

xcxa23
post Jun 23 2014, 09:52 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(Sarah Jessica @ Jun 23 2014, 12:42 AM)
So we can expect BNM to increase the OPR rate this time. This is good news for depositors but bad news for others  smile.gif
Yup. I remember the news I read that on july discussion will be going on and the increase was 0.25% at least.
Well, had to wait till then.
Jz purchased an apartment at penang with blr of 4.2%
the blr might raise to 4.5%..
Pro and cons happening anywhere.
xcxa23
post Jun 28 2014, 11:54 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(fuu @ Jun 27 2014, 08:51 AM)
Hi, I went to enquire about Affin's 12 mths FD. 3.6%. The customer service person told me that interest would be credited monthly into savings provided I put in RM10k minimum. Anyone has experience in this?
Thank you.
Yes. That's correct.. i put some in affin few month back. Din know about the obr raise tat time.
Btw, does can anyone can confirm about my calculations about this?
http://www.affinbank.com.my/General/Rates/...rest-Rates.aspx
Saving 20k, rate 2.8%
= 560 per year
Correct?
xcxa23
post Jun 28 2014, 08:17 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 28 2014, 06:08 PM)
You need to confirm with Affin whether the interest calculation is based on tiered rate or not. If based on tiered, the average interest is ~1.65% for RM20K.
thanks for the info..
will ask when passby there but most likely is next year lol..
anyway, will update here once information confirmed.
xcxa23
post Jun 30 2014, 06:01 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 30 2014, 12:33 PM)
Should be tiered rate. Last year place FD into Affin bank promo with those stupid CASA thingy and the CASA interest was tiered rate.
thanks for the info.. i was also thinking highly possible with tiered rate.
hmm.. usually promo with CASA usually the effective rate will lower so i alwways avoid these type of promo.
but arent their on board rate quite good?
like the one with 12 months with 3.6%?? last few months only placed it and if not mistaken, minimum 10k
xcxa23
post Jun 30 2014, 06:38 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 30 2014, 06:14 PM)
Great to hear that. I'll double confirm with the bank when my FD is due. Thanks smile.gif
Nothing is fair. biggrin.gif
Yea, Affin board rate for 1 year is pretty good already. That time they have promo for 9 months I think and effective rate around 3.66% after calculating the tiered interest in CASA.  Anyway, that one withdraw everything and close account already laugh.gif
the only thing i hate about the c2p CASA is have to put at least 10% in it

imagine affin 12 months 3.6%
placement = 50k
50k x 0.036 = 1.8k

then the c2p casa 10%
placement = 45k FD, 5k CASA
45k x 0.0385 = 1733

we still at loss.... mad.gif mad.gif
good for you.. open too many casa acc also useless.. rclxms.gif
xcxa23
post Jul 31 2014, 10:12 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Jul 29 2014, 06:47 AM)
I just put the OCBC 3.9% 12 month Islamic FD, no CASA required. PIDM too  thumbup.gif
Hi, May I know us the OCBC 3.9% is the effective rate?
xcxa23
post Jul 31 2014, 07:02 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jul 31 2014, 11:42 AM)
It's an eFD right? Check your options was it auto renew upon maturity or credit back into account upon maturity.
If it's credited back into account, then you just place another FD with the additional funds when the amount + interest have been credited back into account. Otherwise, just place another FD if you don't wish to touch the existing FD. You cannot "add" more funds into existing FD unless you uplift it.
That one is straight forward FD with no CASA, so yes, effective rate is 3.9% p.a.
thanks for the reply..
QUOTE(venusdelite @ Jul 31 2014, 02:20 PM)
Today is the last day for this promo.. 1/8 onwards will have new rate:

3.8% - 12mths
4.2% - 24 mths
damn i missed it.. 2day too bz at work... oh well, might as well wait for another wave..
i heard some 'uncomfirm' news that opr might get a raise around sept~October end
xcxa23
post Aug 20 2014, 10:44 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 19 2014, 06:17 PM)
Opened FD and SA in Affin today. 15 mths FD at 4.05%. SA with RM110. But their SA must have activity every 6 mths vs other banks of yearly must have activity ?? Quite fast, all done within 30 minutes

They also have open house on coming Thursday in their branch. Anyway enough food for me already. Ha ha ha.
Aiks, aren't 2nd round opr might coming on Sept 18? Bro so fast deposit for 15 months? hmm.gif
Weird leh.. last week deposited 3 month FD in affin as well, but does not require SA or it is promotional??
xcxa23
post Aug 20 2014, 12:24 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 20 2014, 11:42 AM)
Have bought one from CIMB getting returns of 5.2% every 3 months. 10 yrs and callable, regretting it !

CIMB Klibor, note callable !!
http://www.cimbbank.my/index.php?ch=cb_per...k&tpt=cimb_bank
Well, you have to take what you think is the best deal vs what may or may not come later. You also "lose" interest for shorter term FD.

Affin has various FD promo at diff times. This one will deposit after 15 months into SA. No auto renewal.  smile.gif

Also unless you ask, they would not mention the 15 months FD promo. Kind of strange.
hmm.gif u got a point there.. either way, still earning so thumbup.gif
thanks for the info.. but u do have big tolerance, 15 months. shocking.gif even 12 month i also mad.gif but thats just me.. impatient tongue.gif

0.0520sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:15 AM