Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V6.1, Please Read Post #1

sylille
post Apr 21 2014, 11:56 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(Baohulu55 @ Apr 21 2014, 09:41 PM)
I also don't know what he saying  hmm.gif
He said it was a promotion , 3.48% for 6months , dunno what promotion , forget the name
Was told by Maybank that they have FD promo - 3mths @ 3.40 pa. Min Deposit RM25K. Promo ends 30 April 2014 or until fully subscribed. Forgotten to ask if it is Islamic or Conventional FD or what is the size of the fund.
sylille
post Apr 22 2014, 12:01 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(sylille @ Apr 21 2014, 11:56 PM)
Was told by Maybank that they have FD promo - 3mths @ 3.40 pa. Min Deposit RM25K. Promo ends 30 April 2014 or until fully subscribed. Forgotten to ask if it is Islamic or Conventional FD or what is the size of the fund.
Sorry. It is Maybank 3mths @3.40% p.a. Min Deposit RM25K. Promo ends 30 April 2014.
sylille
post Apr 23 2014, 12:32 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 22 2014, 02:13 AM)
Thanks for the May bank FD info.. 
QUOTE(tbheng @ Apr 22 2014, 08:42 AM)
Hi sylille, long time no post.. smile.gif  I can still remember your ocbc 5% FD 2 years back.
Thought you have moved on beyond FD and no longer playing musical chair game.
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 22 2014, 11:37 AM)
Welcome back!
Dear Sifus and Taikors. Thank you very much for the warm welcome (back). Have been keeping a very low profile as got nothing better to contribute than what you guys have been doing. Great job, guys! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif Oh, I really miss those exciting musical chair games organised by OCBC and SC 2/3 yrs back! The game is so dull nowadays - the same old, predictable tune and lousy prizes are being dished up by the banks. Decided to sit out of the of the game until something more exciting comes along. Meanwhile stashing away the prizes gained from previous games into good, old, faithful Affin. biggrin.gif Good luck to all who are still in the game. Hope to join you all in the fun again. Keep up with the good work thumbup.gif
sylille
post Jul 18 2014, 05:03 PM

45 posts

Affin Islamic promo rates for FD wef 21st Jul:

1 mth - 3.37%
3 mths - 3.55%
6 mths - 3.60%
12 mths - 4.10% but 20% of deposit value into CASA which will be earmarked for 12 mths
15 mths - 4.05%

Min amt:RM10,000/- in fresh funds.

From very reliable source but best to check with Affin directly for more details on T&C.

No news yet on rates increase for the AffinnGold CASA acct.
sylille
post Jul 29 2014, 02:37 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(sylille @ Jul 18 2014, 05:03 PM)
Affin Islamic promo rates for FD wef 21st Jul:

1 mth  -  3.37%
3 mths -  3.55%
6 mths -  3.60%
12 mths - 4.10% but 20% of deposit value into CASA which will be earmarked for 12 mths
15 mths - 4.05%

Min amt:RM10,000/- in fresh funds.

From very reliable source but best to check with Affin directly for more details on T&C.

No news yet on rates increase for the AffinnGold CASA acct.
Was told by Affin the 12mths effective rates about 3.85% after taking the 20% CASA deposit into consideration. Except for the 12mths deposit, the rest do not need CASA placement.
sylille
post Aug 6 2014, 03:08 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 5 2014, 07:07 PM)
This Affin 15 months FD promo is available for all regular customers.
Maybe Affin just came out with this FD promo not long ago, and I think
they are probably in the middle of printing the promo flyer...?

I only saw one big size of OMG promo board (about 5 feet height) displayed in
their office hall, and also a lot of OMG promo flyers...

But no promo flyer for their 15 months FD at all.. very strange  hmm.gif
The promo is on in Affin Islamic too. I placed 3mths FD there at 3.55% after being told abt it by the Branch Manager who said it is for 'select' customers but then at min RM 10k fresh funds its hardly Privilege Banking standard! Was also informed that the promo rates are reviewed every two to three weeks by their HQ.

Opted for 3 mths instead of 12 or 15 mths because think OPR will go up again in less than a year and I can manually roll-over the principal+interest to catch the next wave of FD promos at better rates. Must remember FD's interest are not calculated on a daily or monthly rest basis. So will miss out on the compounded effect if the tenure is longer. In fact was thinking of the one mth term at 3.37% but even for this 'wo liao' (idle) auntie its a bit tiresome to keep track blink.gif

If you can be bothered, the one mth is actually ok because you can instruct for the principal+ interest or the interest only to be credited to your savings account. Their Affin Plus account gives pretty decent interest for a savings acct.
sylille
post Aug 6 2014, 03:31 PM

45 posts

Was pleasantly surprised to find out that I can close my savings account (provided it has less than RM 500 balance) via the phone when I called OCBC's hotline to find out if I can close my accounts in any branch.

They will credit your balance into any of acct you have with other banks but you must fax or scan them the other banks' statement to prove that you are actually the account holder.

I could not use this service because my OCBC savings accounts are all in joint names and the account I want the balance to be credited to is only in my name. OCBC said they can only credit the balance to another bank's account that bears the same names as the closed OCBC account.

In the end as advised by the CS, I had to go to the home branch to close my accounts. Had another pleasant surprise at the branch when told that I could also close a savings account I had with another branch. It saved me a lot time of having to go the other home branch to close that acct.

0.0448sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:04 PM