munkeyflo
post Jun 20 2014, 01:22 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 20 2014, 08:36 AM)
Chinese paper Sin Chew business section, Wed. Please don't ask me to translate for you, ha ha.  tongue.gif
Effective rate is lower than 4%. Have to put 10% in CASA for 90 days.  brows.gif
Effective rate about 3.91% if calculated that 10% at 3% p.a. after the first 90 days.
Means it'll be higher than 3.91% but slightly lower than 4% if you put the 10% into higher interest FDs laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Jun 20 2014, 01:57 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jun 20 2014, 01:40 PM)
lol what promo is this....longer you put lower rate biggrin.gif

thanks BCC for sharing anyway thumbup.gif
Lol. Exactly. And 2.5% for 12 months? lolol.

Maybe they haven't finalize the promo la.
munkeyflo
post Jun 20 2014, 02:29 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

RHB CASA Interest Rates:
http://www.rhb.com.my/rate_charges/interes...vings_main.html
http://www.rhb.com.my/rate_charges/interes...rrent_main.html
munkeyflo
post Jun 20 2014, 02:43 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 20 2014, 02:34 PM)
For the 12 months one, the number playing game is crazy. 2.5% ???  shakehead.gif
Haha. Dunno. Maybe we are missing something out here. Earlier you all calculated 4.5%+ and now it's like 2.5% laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Jun 27 2014, 05:42 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Jun 27 2014, 09:35 AM)
I have a questions worth pondering, instead of focus on interest rate too much, the following questions could be a good decision making for FD...

Question 1: which bank would you invest FD in if hypothetical they all offer same competitive rates?

Question 2: why would you choose this bank?
No particular preference on bank but more on the staffs (friendliness, efficiency) and convenience (parking, queue).

QUOTE(joeaverage @ Jun 27 2014, 12:43 PM)
can i ask a noob question - must you always have a savings account with a bank before you open an FD account with them?

Lets say i have a MBB account and since the rate is crappy - i want to put FD in UOB.. must I first open a UOB savings acc? if so, what happens after the 1 year that i place the FD - my UOB acc just remains or can i opt to close it?
Not necessary but some banks will require you to open a CASA account, especially some got those promo where you have to open a CASA with them. After you withdraw the FD and everything from the account, you can close it. I usually just leave the minimum amount in the account and that's it.
munkeyflo
post Jun 30 2014, 12:28 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(MoneyMaker prince @ Jun 29 2014, 08:09 PM)
Just a quick one,

I found that Affin Islamic Term Deposit -i and Mach Hong Leong give 3.6% for 6 months fixed deposit. Both of them give the same rate but Affin need to open a saving/current account while Hong Leong dont need.

Besides that, is there any difference between these two?
Mach quite inconvenient as you have to go to their Mach branches to open account and place the FD online.
munkeyflo
post Jun 30 2014, 12:33 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Jun 28 2014, 11:54 AM)
Yes. That's correct.. i put some in affin few month back. Din know about the obr raise tat time.
Btw, does can anyone can confirm about my calculations about this?
http://www.affinbank.com.my/General/Rates/...rest-Rates.aspx
Saving 20k, rate 2.8%
=  560 per year
Correct?
Should be tiered rate. Last year place FD into Affin bank promo with those stupid CASA thingy and the CASA interest was tiered rate.
munkeyflo
post Jun 30 2014, 12:35 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(fuu @ Jun 30 2014, 12:30 PM)
Hi all,

I was browsing this webpage from Maybank2u.com:

Home > Customer Service > Accounts & Banking FAQs
Accounts & Banking FAQs > eFixed Deposit FAQs

15. Is the interest earned from eFD taxable?
Yes, as per existing FD Account criteria.

I tried searching the FD Account Criteria but was not able to find any info. May I know:

a) What is the % of tax incurred upon interest earned?
b) Is this applicable to only
i) Maybank's eFD or
ii) to all other banks' eFD or
iii) to all FDs regardless of over-the-counter and online of any banks? I tried searching info from other banks such as Affin, CIMB, but no mention of the tax (unless i overlooked it  sweat.gif)

Thank you for your guidance notworthy.gif
As far as I'm concern, if it's individual account, not taxable.
If it's company account, it's taxable when you declare your company income.
munkeyflo
post Jun 30 2014, 12:59 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 30 2014, 12:53 PM)
Also to get banker's cheque after Fd matured, we have to go to HL Bank ?  hmm.gif
Actually, I'm also not sure. I think it'll go back into my Mach account. I did create a Mach account, came with ATM card. Then I transfer money into that Mach account to place FD last time. Interest is now credited into that account monthly and I think principal will masuk that account also when due.

Either I go ATM to withdraw, which I doubt I can. Or do online transfer, which also has limit. Or go to Mach outlet when the time comes kua. August got 2 Mach FD due, have to figure it out before then haha. Any others got experience with Mach?
munkeyflo
post Jun 30 2014, 01:34 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 30 2014, 01:09 PM)
I remember seeing others saying about getting banker's cheque from HL Bank once Mach FD matured. Online xfer has the limitation as you mentioned. Anyway maybe those who have experience on this can confirm.  smile.gif

Mach only has 1 branch in Penang island. I missed out on their promotion and waiting for the right time to open acct there. But they are in Paragon which has lousy parking there ! mad.gif
Ooh. If can get banker's cheque from HL counter then it'll be much easier.

Mach quite convenient from my place, recently found out they open another one in Klang also. laugh.gif
Just open account with them enough edi lor. Everything else place online ma.
munkeyflo
post Jun 30 2014, 02:36 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 30 2014, 02:22 PM)
Unfortunately, Money box account can't perform OTC withdrawal.
I had a few withdrawals done in the past and this is how I withdrew from MACh FD

MACH FD -> Money Box -> CASA by internet transfer (own account no limit) -> Write a chq from current account.

If you don't have a checking current account, savings account also can but need to go to the branch to do OTC withdrawal.
If I don't have any other accounts with HL, even if go to Mach branches also cannot do any OTC withdrawal? Or any GIRO transfer with no limit ones.
munkeyflo
post Jun 30 2014, 06:14 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 30 2014, 02:48 PM)
I was just informed by my HLB branch that Money box account holder can perform OTC banker's chq withdrawal and OTC GIRO. 
Please reconfirm this info with your branch again.
Great to hear that. I'll double confirm with the bank when my FD is due. Thanks smile.gif

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Jun 30 2014, 05:10 PM)
mana boleh mcm ini. It's no fair  vmad.gif  mad.gif
Nothing is fair. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Jun 30 2014, 06:01 PM)
thanks for the info.. i was also thinking highly possible with tiered rate.
hmm.. usually promo with CASA usually the effective rate will lower so i alwways avoid these type of promo.
but arent their on board rate quite good?
like the one with 12 months with 3.6%?? last few months only placed it and if not mistaken, minimum 10k
Yea, Affin board rate for 1 year is pretty good already. That time they have promo for 9 months I think and effective rate around 3.66% after calculating the tiered interest in CASA. Anyway, that one withdraw everything and close account already laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Jun 30 2014, 06:40 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Jun 30 2014, 06:38 PM)
the only thing i hate about the c2p CASA is have to put at least 10% in it

imagine affin 12 months 3.6%
placement = 50k
50k x 0.036 = 1.8k

then the c2p casa 10%
placement = 45k FD, 5k CASA
45k x 0.0385 = 1733

we still at loss....  mad.gif  mad.gif
good for you.. open too many casa acc also useless..  rclxms.gif
Depends on the effective rate lor. But yea, it's very much more troublesome.

Oh you have no idea how many CASA I have had with OCBC over the past 2-3 years lol. No more stupid CASA promo for me anymore.
munkeyflo
post Jun 30 2014, 11:59 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ Jun 30 2014, 11:35 PM)
HSBC BBintang accept cheque placement (placement date same as cheque clearance date) while Jln Ampang don't accept cheque at all. The HQ staff very lansi. mad.gif
Don't accept cheque placement then can only place by cash and cashier order?

So far have not encounter any bank that does not do cheque placement for me.
munkeyflo
post Jul 1 2014, 12:00 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 30 2014, 08:09 PM)
No lah, you know how to make money.  rclxms.gif  So have lots of money to count................  tongue.gif
So far I do not have any FD and CASA tie up deal. Dislike this type of tie up. Have to count effective rate.  Than have to plan for those CASA money some months later. I prefer straight FD.  tongue.gif
Yea. Good. No point waste time and brain cells calculating and maintaining all those CASA money. laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Jul 2 2014, 09:40 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 2 2014, 09:20 AM)
can I know if terminate on the morning maturity date can immediately get shown the principal ?

if online transfer to Maybank via eGIRO, say few hundrek, what is the charges ?
Don't really get your question.

Principal amount should be available once you terminate it.
eGIRO is flat rate 10 cents for all banks now.
munkeyflo
post Jul 3 2014, 10:32 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Received SMS from UOB staff:
Effective 3rd July
6 months 3.65%
13 months 3.85%

Have not call them up to get more details.
munkeyflo
post Jul 3 2014, 10:34 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 2 2014, 11:08 PM)
Wat is d effective int rate for PB Super FD 8.88% pa on Month 12?
https://www.pbebank.com/Personal-Banking/Pr...r-FD-Rates.aspx
This one?

Have been discussed few pages back. Effective rate 3.4-3.5 or so.
munkeyflo
post Jul 3 2014, 12:42 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

UOB that July Promo need fresh funds or not?

Edit: Need fresh funds.

This post has been edited by munkeyflo: Jul 3 2014, 07:45 PM
munkeyflo
post Jul 4 2014, 04:10 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 4 2014, 03:41 PM)
Can I know what is the cheapest and fastest way to transfer from 1 FD bank to another FD bank with a large amount of FD (more than 100 thousand) . e.g

from CIMB bank to Maybank.

i.e. can eGIRO be used or I must personally go the bank to issue cheque ?
1. Go to CIMB, get cashier order for a minimal fee. Go to Maybank, place FD with the CO. Perfect way if need fresh funds for those FD promos too.
2. Go to CIMB, do a GIRO transfer to Maybank for a minimal fee (or if you want immediate transfer then go for RENTAS, slightly more expensive). Get Maybank to direct debit your Maybank account for the FD placement.
3. Withdraw cash from CIMB and go to Maybank to place FD.

eGIRO of course can, but per day maximum 10k only, so for 100k, you need at least 10 days to finish transferring from CIMB account to Maybank account.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0469sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:28 PM