10,061 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Aug 2 2014, 11:12 AM)
You didn't get an ATM card means :
1. you've placed a FD with Affin
2. deposited RM20
3. but tarak ATM card?

Like that ka?
Yup, i deposit fd amount + RM20 for SA. Walk away with FD cert only and a SA number.
bbgoat
post Aug 2 2014, 12:13 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 2 2014, 11:13 AM)
It is possible that MBSB 4.7% will revise to higher rate if 2nd OPR increase.
But they might not revise if they think their 4.7% is still attractive.
In my opinion, if 2nd OPR increase, most likely MBSB 4.7% will increase, maybe
up to 4.8% or 4.85%?  hmm.gif

If I can recall it right, the lowest rate of MBSB's 5 years FD was around 4.2 or 4.3%,
the highest was 5.5% few years ago.

If OPR increase by another 0.25%, likely for MBSB to increase, if they still exist as an entity. hmm.gif brows.gif Meaning they have not merged with CIMB.

Ai, hopefully there is no merging so that they can still offer the high 5 yrs FD rate. rclxms.gif

5.5% ! I missed that ! drool.gif
gsc
post Aug 2 2014, 10:47 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(venusdelite @ Aug 1 2014, 11:01 PM)
Then can i get back the same rate after maturity (e.g higher than new rate today) or have to follow the new FD rate offered by bank?
You cant get back the same rate after maturity unless the bank still continue with the promotion. You have to follow bank new promotion policy.
HJebat
post Aug 2 2014, 11:43 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(Styrroyds @ Aug 1 2014, 11:42 PM)
? their atm card costs rm10 a year (unlimited withdrawals)

their debit card, yes, rm20 a year. but first year free and can cancel before 2nd year.

passbook rm100? affin cekik darah ni
Probably the requirements that I've mentioned are meant for the FD promo only.

QUOTE(bearbear @ Aug 2 2014, 11:53 AM)
Yup, i deposit fd amount + RM20 for SA. Walk away with FD cert only and a SA number.
Did you try to be thick skin & request for a gift? biggrin.gif
BoomChaCha
post Aug 3 2014, 12:51 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Styrroyds @ Aug 1 2014, 11:42 PM)
? their atm card costs rm10 a year (unlimited withdrawals)

their debit card, yes, rm20 a year. but first year free and can cancel before 2nd year.

passbook rm100? affin cekik darah ni
Affin Master debit card?
Last year Affin offered no annual fee for 5 years, but I did not apply.

QUOTE(HJebat @ Aug 2 2014, 11:43 PM)
Probably the requirements that I've mentioned are meant for the FD promo only.
Did you try to be thick skin & request for a gift? biggrin.gif
Affin is quite stingy.. sad.gif
Last year when I placed my RM 60K FD for 1 year in Affin, I smiled smile.gif to the female teller and
asked for gift gently, but she replied to me that only FD amount more than RM 100K would be
given 1 umbrella... doh.gif Then I turned to embarrassed smile and kept quiet loh... blush.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Aug 3 2014, 01:03 AM
gsc
post Aug 3 2014, 02:14 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(-dAviD- @ Aug 1 2014, 10:46 PM)
Do anyone have OCBC offer flyer? What is the last promo day?

BboyDora
post Aug 3 2014, 07:32 AM

2,361 posts

Since all my. FD is auto renewal upon maturity period, so the bank will automatically adjust the fd rate accordingly right due to OPR increase right?
bbgoat
post Aug 3 2014, 08:49 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Aug 3 2014, 07:32 AM)
Since all my. FD is auto renewal upon maturity period,  so the bank will automatically adjust the fd rate accordingly right due to OPR increase right?
Bank will auto renew to the board rate, it will be the higher rate if they adjust it. But some bank may not adjust it in relation to OPR increase or late in doing so. smile.gif
HJebat
post Aug 3 2014, 09:11 AM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 3 2014, 12:51 AM)
Affin is quite stingy..  sad.gif
Last year when I placed my RM 60K FD for 1 year in Affin, I smiled  smile.gif to the female teller and
asked for gift gently, but she replied to me that only FD amount more than RM 100K would be
given 1 umbrella...  doh.gif    Then I turned to embarrassed smile and kept quiet loh...  blush.gif
Maybe you put up a hopeful smile to her, so she played hard-to-give with you laugh.gif

Next time try to exhibit the megawatt smile like Tom Cruise, sure can melt her heart & put forth an effort to grant your wish...on the condition that your next visit to Affin is attended by a female staff la tongue.gif

tbheng
post Aug 3 2014, 09:15 AM

1,188 posts

I remember reading here that some forumers think/expect the MBSB FD will automatically become PIDM protected once MBSB merged with CIMB.
My thinking is... it may not necessarily be the case.
A financial institution whom is a member of PIDM does not mean all their products are PIDM protected.
They can likely left MBSB FD stay as-is, i.e. non-PIDM protected post-merger.
I have seen (based on my experience) banks that have non-PIDM protected products though they are a member of PIDM. For example this MBB investment acct is not PIDM protected.
Just my 2 cents. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by tbheng: Aug 3 2014, 09:31 AM
tbheng
post Aug 3 2014, 09:26 AM

1,188 posts

Quite excited to see so many FD promo lately...
Most of my "long-range missiles" have been deployed, can't take anything > 6-mth. tongue.gif

Due to conveniences, I have tried the MBB 3+3 merdeka promo with effective rate of 3.73%.
I visited the counter and transferred fund from my other mbb acct.

At first was happy that the form has the option to indicate transfer to mbb acct upon maturity. So no need to re-visit the branch to uplift the FD upon maturity. But it was a short-lived joy as the teller say NO, I have to select auto renewal and need to come back to same branch to uplift. Reason was it is a 3+3 FD and not 6-mth FD. mad.gif Tricky MBB...

The back of the cert did printed the interest rates for the first 3-mth, the next 3-mth will need to be printed 3 month later.
Okina
post Aug 3 2014, 09:46 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Aug 3 2014, 09:15 AM)
I remember reading here that some forumers think/expect the MBSB FD will automatically become PIDM protected once MBSB merged with CIMB.
A financial institution whom is a member of PIDM does not mean all their products are PIDM protected.
I have seen (based on my experience) banks that have non-PIDM protected products though they are a member of PIDM. For example this MBB investment acct is not PIDM protected.
Just my 2 cents.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Gold investment account doesn't fall under the scope of PIDM, which only covers certain type of deposits.

http://www.pidm.gov.my/About-Deposit-Insurance/Coverage.aspx

I think what you meant is the the PIDM protection might not apply retrospectively on deposits placed before the merger?

This post has been edited by Okina: Aug 3 2014, 09:47 AM
sandkoh
post Aug 3 2014, 09:47 AM

817 posts

good point.may still bee like other investment product.non pidm.
giko
post Aug 3 2014, 09:59 AM

376 posts

good point but will pidm protection matters after the merger? surely cimb won't allow non-pidm products to fail while under its watch, would they? hmm.gif

a failure here may cause a run on the bank, or maybe on the whole entire banking system!

methinks that the merger between cimb-rhb-mbsb won't materialise; however a merger between rhb & mbsb is a better bet... just my 2sen... biggrin.gif

HJebat
post Aug 3 2014, 10:07 AM

1,035 posts

My POV, it is better to maintain the status quo as premerger.

I'm more concerned with how much do MBSB has to pay for the PIDM service & will the fee affect its FD rates hmm.gif
HJebat
post Aug 3 2014, 10:16 AM

1,035 posts

It seems that OCBC's 24-month 4.20% FD is a step up deal (as per attached by gsc) sad.gif

An effective 4.00% rate is still very good nonetheless...
sandkoh
post Aug 3 2014, 10:26 AM

817 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Aug 3 2014, 09:59 AM)
good point but will pidm protection matters after the merger? surely cimb won't allow non-pidm products to fail while under its watch, would they?  hmm.gif

a failure here may cause a run on the bank, or maybe on the whole entire banking system!

methinks that the merger between cimb-rhb-mbsb won't materialise; however a merger between rhb & mbsb is a better bet... just my 2sen...  biggrin.gif
better no merging for them.we enjoy high rates! thumbup.gif
bearbear
post Aug 3 2014, 10:30 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

oo so the 2 yrs is not 4.2%

affin and rhb still best i guess.
BoomChaCha
post Aug 3 2014, 11:03 AM

2,490 posts

UOB Mid Year FD Promo - 1 July to 30 August

BoomChaCha
post Aug 3 2014, 11:28 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(X_hunter @ Aug 1 2014, 06:28 PM)
Thanks for the update I get from this thread, otherwise I also don't know which to go for. Good jobs guys! rclxms.gif
Yup, heart pain leh money deducted just like that. sad.gif really need to record down liao.
OCBC 2 years FD's effective rate is 4.00%, not 4.2% as previously mentioned.. doh.gif

Check out OCBC FD flyer on post #1835 on page #92 which contributed by gsc
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3190807/+1820

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jul 30 2014, 03:45 PM)
1. UOB groupon deal - the eAccount require you to get an ATM debit card, +RM8 cost (Need to deposit RM5000 + RM8). They also run a check on you to check if you are first time customer for UOB.

2. Affin 15m 4.05% deal - the cashier insist i must open a saving account (no book, no atm, no internet banking). Deposit RM20 for the SA. FD is straight forward 4.05% for 15 months, interest pay out when matured.
I think Affin 4.05% for 15 months pure FD is the best so far... hmm.gif
But do not know this FD promo valid until when..?

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Aug 3 2014, 11:51 AM

122 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.96    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:10 PM