Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V6.1, Please Read Post #1

BboyDora
post Apr 21 2014, 03:50 PM

2,361 posts

Oh thanks.

So after that back to standard board rate according to OCBC : 12 months. ?
tpooyee
post Apr 21 2014, 04:24 PM

22 posts

http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/ac...battleinflation

ocbc website is updated with new deposit promotion you guy mentioned. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
bbgoat
post Apr 21 2014, 04:40 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Apr 21 2014, 02:46 PM)
Ya read through.
Sorry not familiar with FD promotion thingy.
For OCBC promo, option 1, it's mention tenure 18 months. 6 months : 3.6 % and remain 12 months is 4%.

What happen after 18 months? I normally put my FD 5-10 years .
Ha, interesting. So you normally put for 5-10 years ? Which are the banks that your normally use and getting good rates ? Just trying to learn from the "veterans" as so far I have not put any FD >2 years.

After the 18 months, withdraw and find another FD promotion. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Apr 21 2014, 04:41 PM

6,614 posts

Deleted. Double post. Sorry.

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 21 2014, 04:42 PM
Baohulu55
post Apr 21 2014, 07:35 PM

324 posts

Maybank offered me 3.48% for 6months , I think is fund fd
bbgoat
post Apr 21 2014, 09:10 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Baohulu55 @ Apr 21 2014, 07:35 PM)
Maybank offered me 3.48% for 6months , I think is fund fd
Please clarify, fund fd ?? hmm.gif sad.gif
Baohulu55
post Apr 21 2014, 09:41 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 21 2014, 09:10 PM)
Please clarify, fund fd ??  hmm.gif  sad.gif
I also don't know what he saying hmm.gif
He said it was a promotion , 3.48% for 6months , dunno what promotion , forget the name

sylille
post Apr 21 2014, 11:56 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(Baohulu55 @ Apr 21 2014, 09:41 PM)
I also don't know what he saying  hmm.gif
He said it was a promotion , 3.48% for 6months , dunno what promotion , forget the name
Was told by Maybank that they have FD promo - 3mths @ 3.40 pa. Min Deposit RM25K. Promo ends 30 April 2014 or until fully subscribed. Forgotten to ask if it is Islamic or Conventional FD or what is the size of the fund.
sylille
post Apr 22 2014, 12:01 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(sylille @ Apr 21 2014, 11:56 PM)
Was told by Maybank that they have FD promo - 3mths @ 3.40 pa. Min Deposit RM25K. Promo ends 30 April 2014 or until fully subscribed. Forgotten to ask if it is Islamic or Conventional FD or what is the size of the fund.
Sorry. It is Maybank 3mths @3.40% p.a. Min Deposit RM25K. Promo ends 30 April 2014.
BoomChaCha
post Apr 22 2014, 02:13 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(sylille @ Apr 22 2014, 12:01 AM)
Sorry. It is Maybank 3mths @3.40% p.a.  Min Deposit RM25K. Promo ends 30 April 2014.
Thanks for the May bank FD info.. notworthy.gif

May Bank FD Countdown 3 -- 3 Months FD Promo

Enjoy a popular campaign return with FD "Countdown 3" from 1 April till 30 April 2014. What
you have to do is just perform a minimum placement of RM25,000 per receipt for Retail/Individual customers or RM50,000 per receipt for SME/Business Banking, Sole Proprietor, Partnership, Club/Societies/Association.

Campaign Rates are as follows:

1-2 Month: 3.25% p.a.
3rd Month: 3.70% p.a.

Effective Rate 3.40% p.a
Prevailing Board Rate: 3.05% p.a

Terms & Conditions:
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/fdCdown140414_tnc.pdf

Bank Negara MPC Meeting Schedules 2014

3rd --- 08 May 2014 (Thursday)
4th --- 10 July 2014 (Thursday)
5th --- 18 Sep 2014 (Thursday)
6th --- 06 Nov 2014 (Thursday)

Source:
http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=mone&pg=mone_mpc&lang=en

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 22 2014, 02:18 AM
BoomChaCha
post Apr 22 2014, 02:58 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 15 2014, 02:01 PM)
Bro, it is stated in the Ad, Minimum Fresh Fund RM20K and RM40K for Existing Customers and New Customers Respectively.

Updated Post#1 and My Fixed Deposit Page showing the ad where the Fresh Fund amount was stated.
Captain,
Regarding to Am Bank FD Promo posted on the main page:
Am Bank Islamic FD Promo - Extended to 31 May 2014

Minimum Fresh Fund RM20K and RM40K for Existing Customers and New Customers
Respectively ----> this is for non-individuals like sole-proprietorships or companies..

This is for individuals:
Minimum fresh fund for new customers: RM 20K (50%:50% ratio)
Minimum fresh fund for existing customers: RM 10K (50%:50% ratio)
bbgoat
post Apr 22 2014, 08:23 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 22 2014, 02:13 AM)
Thanks for the May bank FD info..  notworthy.gif

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 22 2014, 02:58 AM)
Captain,
Welcome back! rclxms.gif notworthy.gif

With BCC's posts, we got more eyes looking out for the best FD deals for everyone ! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 22 2014, 08:24 AM
tbheng
post Apr 22 2014, 08:42 AM

1,188 posts

Hi sylille, long time no post.. smile.gif I can still remember your ocbc 5% FD 2 years back.
Thought you have moved on beyond FD and no longer playing musical chair game.
BboyDora
post Apr 22 2014, 11:21 AM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 21 2014, 04:40 PM)
Ha, interesting. So you normally put for 5-10 years ? Which are the banks that your normally use and getting good rates ? Just trying to learn from the "veterans" as so far I have not put any FD >2 years.

After the 18 months, withdraw and find another FD promotion.  biggrin.gif
Haha... Not veterans. For me FD is FD (fixed) .so I didn't touch. Used it once when I bought my house after so many years.
For me , any good rates definitely couldn't beat our country inflation which roughly >8% (my own way of calculation, no supporting facts, haha) . Just for better savings.
TSGen-X
post Apr 22 2014, 11:37 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Was told by Maybank that they have FD promo - 3mths @ 3.40 pa. Min Deposit RM25K. Promo ends 30 April 2014 or until fully subscribed.
Welcome back!

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 22 2014, 02:13 AM)
Thanks for the May bank FD info..  notworthy.gif

Enjoy a popular campaign return with FD "Countdown 3" from 1 April till 30 April 2014. What
you have to do is just perform a minimum placement of RM25,000 per receipt for Retail/Individual customers or RM50,000 per receipt for SME/Business Banking, Sole Proprietor, Partnership, Club/Societies/Association.

Campaign Rates are as follows:

1-2 Month: 3.25% p.a.
3rd Month: 3.70% p.a.

Effective Rate 3.40% p.a
Prevailing Board Rate: 3.05% p.a

Terms & Conditions:
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/fdCdown140414_tnc.pdf
Bank Negara MPC Meeting Schedules 2014

3rd  --- 08 May 2014 (Thursday) 
4th  --- 10 July 2014 (Thursday) 
5th  --- 18 Sep 2014 (Thursday) 
6th  --- 06 Nov 2014 (Thursday) 

Source:
http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=mone&pg=mone_mpc&lang=en
Updated 1st Post

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 22 2014, 02:58 AM)
Captain,

Minimum Fresh Fund RM20K and RM40K for Existing Customers and New Customers
Respectively  ----> this is for non-individuals like sole-proprietorships or companies..

This is for individuals:
Minimum fresh fund for new customers: RM 20K (50%:50% ratio)
Minimum fresh fund for existing customers: RM 10K (50%:50% ratio)
Bro, what I do without you. First time I read was 20/10, then another bro asked about the minimum amount, so I rechecked and read the wrong one!!! You know lah I half blind, hahaha. Luckily I posted the image of the ad which states the above too.

ilovepizza
post Apr 22 2014, 11:52 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Apr 21 2014, 03:50 PM)
Oh thanks.

So after that back to standard board rate according to OCBC : 12 months. ?
Yup.

Hey i did fd @ Affin for 1yr with single bank cheque - can split FD to a few no problems.
cybpsych
post Apr 22 2014, 04:24 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

2 more years!!

MBSB sets sights on full-fledged bank in 2 years
http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...ank-in-2-years/

KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia Building Society Bhd (MBSB) hopes to become a full-fledged bank in the next two years regardless whether it undertakes a merger and acquisition (M&A) route or as a stand-alone entity. 

Its chief financial officer Tang Yow Sai said on Tuesday MBSM has completed 80% of the compliance and criteria needed to become a full-fledged bank.

"We expect to meet another 20% of the compliance and criteria requirements over the next two years," he said after the AGM.

MBSB president and CEO Datuk Ahmad Zaini Othman said the MBSB was capable of being a stand-alone bank without any M&A, if the shareholders are willing to put in capital and grow the company.

He added MBSB could be a stand-alone full-fledged bank as it was already quite "clean and lean".

Zaini acknowledged there could be some challenges in this regard, noting that one form of the other, a banking licence is needed if was to operate as a bank.

bbgoat
post Apr 22 2014, 06:05 PM

6,614 posts

Was in BR today to place another FD 2 years for 4.1%. Still cannot run away from BR. cry.gif The rate was lower than 4.2% for 2 years before Nov 2013.

Took out from UOB. Though UOB has 13 months 3.65% FD, but still lower than BR's. Also lazy to play the fresh fund game with UOB. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 22 2014, 06:15 PM
BoomChaCha
post Apr 22 2014, 08:08 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 22 2014, 11:37 AM)
Updated 1st Post
Bro, what I do without you. First time I read was 20/10, then another bro asked about the minimum amount, so I rechecked and read the wrong one!!! You know lah I half blind, hahaha. Luckily I posted the image of the ad which states the above too.
Thanks for the update... Captain

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 22 2014, 06:05 PM)
Was in BR today to place another FD 2 years for 4.1%. Still cannot run away from BR.  cry.gif The rate was lower than 4.2% for 2 years before Nov 2013.

Took out from UOB. Though UOB has 13 months 3.65% FD, but still lower than BR's. Also lazy to play the fresh fund game with UOB.  hmm.gif
Top Goat, I placed my 18 months FD (effective rate 3.87%) with OCBC this afternoon.
Just as usual, no gift was given, and no smile from the OCBC female rep at all,
perhaps she just broke up with her boy friend recently..

This OCBC 18 months FD counts interest for 545 days, so my FD maturity date is
19 October 2015.

I agree it is quite troublesome to play around with the fresh fund game; just move
the fund to another bank will make life easier.

Did you get the last day interest from your UOB FD?
Last time UOB did not pay me the last day interest.

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Apr 22 2014, 04:24 PM)
2 more years!!
Thanks for the MBSB update.
I am worried after MBSB becomes a bank, their 5 years FD at 4.7% will no longer available.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 22 2014, 08:11 PM
bbgoat
post Apr 22 2014, 08:52 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 22 2014, 08:08 PM)

Top Goat, I placed my 18 months FD (effective rate 3.87%) with OCBC this afternoon.
Just as usual, no gift was given, and no smile from the OCBC female rep at all,
perhaps she just broke up with her boy friend recently..

This OCBC 18 months FD counts interest for 545 days, so my FD maturity date is
19 October 2015.

Penang OCBC branch is not in a convenient location for me. Will plan to put in a large sum at one time to justify the inconvenience. Hopefully this can happen in the future. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 22 2014, 08:08 PM)

Did you get the last day interest from your UOB FD?
Last time UOB did not pay me the last day interest.

What is last day interest ? hmm.gif

I calculated they gave me the extra 2 days as the due date was on Sat. They gave me until Monday extra 2 days interest. I miss out 1 day as I did not go yesterday. biggrin.gif

122 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0194sec    1.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:35 AM