Fundsupermart.com v6, Manage your own unit trust portfolio

kkk8787
post Jun 21 2014, 08:42 AM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

1 year after joining.. do u think this is acceptable return?

kkk8787
post Jun 22 2014, 12:55 AM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

Sorry guys...well 1 year later the return is 4.05% currently..my target is as long as better tjan fd maybe hovering at 6-8 % ok d...ya looks like a buffet table xuzen coz last time when started not good at it bought bad funds especially my ambond and my rhb-osk asia pacific..want to ditch these 2 but cannot d now... I'm doing monthly dca currently on all funds. Thanks for the feedback but I treat this as a forced savings lo... I'm in a working in a line totally not related to finance only know this way of investment
kkk8787
post Jun 23 2014, 09:14 AM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 22 2014, 11:25 PM)
for the risk you are exposing yourself to through equity based unit trust, you should demand more return. Expecting a slightly above FD rate  means your expectation is too low. Be a harsher master to your money! taking risk needs to be compensated with return.

This is after all what CAPM teaches us.

Xuzen
My target was 8-10% but din seem to be getting that so changed target a bit lo... dunno y my portfolio doesnt seem to be generating much..either dca at fault or initial sales charges pulling I down
kkk8787
post Jun 29 2014, 05:55 PM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

Hi guys.. just wanna ask a question.. I am doing dca on my FSM.. but now after putting remaining savings in FDs I still have around 20k in savinng acc...
whats the best way to maximise profit.. I heard eunittrust got 0% kah... Where should I put g he money? Fdor specific blue chip unit trust
kkk8787
post Jun 29 2014, 10:28 PM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

QUOTE(BATMAN99 @ Jun 29 2014, 06:18 PM)
The return for FD is way too low, it only serves as a defensive against inflation (but not all time as inflation nowadays can easily beat the interest offered by FD).

Depends on your risk profile, invest your money into blue chip counters if you have the stock investment knowledge, or invest into some good unit trust funds out there that offer you consistent good return.
What is the exampleof consistent return fund.. kgf . Seems to be doing fine but dunno when the run will end
kkk8787
post Jul 3 2014, 04:55 PM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

Sifus in viee recent promotiom 1% .. any good funds with almost stable return kah..I have some extra can put in..kgf seems very good but I having it and seems to be priced quite high d
kkk8787
post Jul 3 2014, 05:11 PM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 3 2014, 04:58 PM)
get what you need or lagged in % of allocation in yr portfolio?
that is more important....I think.
My portfolio is quite rojak already. Basically just want to increase the whole size. Lets say same sector is it better to just top up whataver fund u hving for that sector or open a nw fund. Wanna increase size because unit trust is too small in my total investsments. FDs like more than 10 times of my unit trust size.
kkk8787
post Jul 6 2014, 08:11 AM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

Sifus.. I still cant find a particular fund. My portfolio is equity heavy thats good which I'm doing monthly dca. However in view I have some extra cash and am interested to top up or buy into a fund under the recommended listt that can enjoy 1% using lump sum instead of dca. Cant find a fund consistently give more than fds return. Was looking at eastspring small cap is it suitable for lum sum at this time
kkk8787
post Jul 6 2014, 11:43 AM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Jul 6 2014, 10:51 AM)
Dude, Pink Spider opened this thread and wrote the very extensive FAQ right at the beginning. He has also posted extensive calculations explaining why his explanation is correct. You posted calculations of your own but when challenged you failed to defend them at all. When questioned on the specific funds that you bought to achieve your claimed returns to independently verify if the claims are plausible, you also declined to answer.

But somehow you believe that you have more credibility than Pink Spider?
rclxms.gif
kkk8787
post Jul 6 2014, 02:45 PM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 6 2014, 01:16 PM)
hmm.gif  would you said that, if you had read this posting before......
posted in Mar 2014.... (now is july...had gone up more since than).

"Since January 2013, the gains in the stock prices for the small cap stocks were due entirely to higher valuations. In fact, during this period, earnings and dividend growth were both negative.

This explains why the P/E ratio for FBM SCAP Index went up by a significant 179%, much more than the gain in the index of 47%.

Please let me repeat. Prices for small cap stocks have risen by 47% since January 2013 at a time when the earnings and dividends of these same companies have fallen.

Is that reasonable? Yes, if the starting valuations were low. This was true in January 2013 when the P/E ratio was 9 times and price-to-book ratio was 0.75 times for the FBM SCAP Index.

Is it still rational now? The P/E multiple today for the small caps is 25 times and the price-to-book ratio is 1.10 times. Even if you believe in the stock market, it is better to switch to the FBM KLCI stocks.

It should be noted that the FBM SCAP price to book is almost always below one time (please see Chart 2). The reason for this is simple. Why would you buy a small cap, illiquid – and sometimes risky -- stock above its asset value?"

read entire article and charts and data at
http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/highlights/...nal-values.html
Sifu so any funds undervalued currently that might provide a good opportunity to buy a lum sum currently to provide consistrnt return soon
kkk8787
post Jul 6 2014, 04:12 PM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 6 2014, 03:21 PM)
if you believe in FSM research....then try reading this. it shows the undervalued funds to focus at.
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...tarRatings.svdo?
but if you want consistent return soon,.....try max out your EPF contribution. (I think can self contribute max to RM 60k)....
btw, how much consistent return you are looking at? how soon is the soon?
Im trying to max EPF. But from my understanding EPF u cannot withdraw anytime you want right even if its the self contribution part
I need slightly higher than FDs return aiming anything from 5-10% but consistent for my lum sum. will maintain for 3 years probably if nth goes wrong
kkk8787
post Jul 6 2014, 05:06 PM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 6 2014, 04:45 PM)
ooops cannot attach excel file..."Upload failed. You are not permitted to upload a file with that file extension."
wondering why?
aiks...u wanted to show me something?
kkk8787
post Jul 6 2014, 05:27 PM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 6 2014, 04:15 PM)
U can withdraw ANYTIME but upon withdrawal the monies will go back to your EPF account, i.e. u cannot cash out to your own pockets.

Why 3 years only? Unless u telling me you're nearing retirement age, or u gonna withdraw to buy house...
3 years as in at least liquid cash lo. Means the excesses can be withdrawn but not as cash. Goes into EPF means same as not withdraw kan pink gor
kkk8787
post Jul 6 2014, 05:28 PM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

QUOTE(ruben7389 @ Jul 6 2014, 05:25 PM)
Investment in UT is from acct 1 only. Withdrawal to buy property is from account 2 only

Hence these r mutually exclusive monies in epf
so increasing voluntary contribution is Akaun 1 or 2 ah?
kkk8787
post Jul 6 2014, 09:07 PM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 6 2014, 07:55 PM)
Thanks for the clarification.

So, why would u want to restrict to a 3-year timeframe? If u are young, u have time on your side...don't over-transact...let the fund managers do the thinking on market timing for u. In the long haul, it would be more rewarding.
Ya agree with u. Lets say on top of monthly DCA which is to lower the risk this month I have extra cash what to do with the cash now. Throw evenly into all the funds under the portfolios or just buka another FD. Bcause I feel like my UT size too small. But I suddenly throw across all UT in my portfolio it defies the DCA d because who knows market might be at the peak now.
3 years is rough estimation. Of course planning for longer haul but in case I need to switch to property ya maybe lo will switch out
kkk8787
post Jul 6 2014, 09:23 PM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 6 2014, 09:09 PM)
Dump all in CMF. Currently CMF yielding 3.1%, better than 1-month FD rates.

Park in CMF, then every month/3 months DCA across your portfolio or top up selectively depending on which markets seem oversold/offers better upside potential.
Parking in CMF is easy. But top up selectively is not my speciality haha. I cant read market unlike u guys
kkk8787
post Jul 6 2014, 09:27 PM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 6 2014, 09:24 PM)
Then just Dollar VALUE Average lor

Nah don't tell me u dunno what is this...all regulars of this thread should know. If forgotten...ask Unker Google! tongue.gif
Ya memang DCA monthly into funds at a fixed amount but on top of that these few months got extra income. Wanna do somethign with the income
kkk8787
post Aug 28 2014, 05:48 PM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

I just topped up RHS OSK Multi Manager Fund and Hwang Select Balance. Not sure good choice or not

0.0489sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:28 PM