Fundsupermart.com v6, Manage your own unit trust portfolio

azrash
post Apr 13 2014, 01:37 AM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(techie.opinion @ Apr 12 2014, 10:18 PM)
Aiyyoooo both still the platform only... end state reached at fund houses... Just interesting with discount offered... Hahahaha
True that. If I have the moolah, then I'll definitely take advantage of the 0% sales charge tongue.gif

I am starting my PRS account soon. To take advantage of the one off government incentive of RM500, that'll be given once you have 1k inside the PRS account.
azrash
post May 2 2014, 11:18 AM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ May 2 2014, 10:51 AM)
Here is my funds' performance as end of April (up to 29/4/14 only)

FSM1 (self)
Overall IRR - 8.06%
Best fund - Kenanga Growth Fund - IRR 25.65%, ROI 13.71%
Worst fund - KAF Global Equities - IRR -2.21%, ROI -0.61%

FSM2 (Wife)
Overall IRR - 7.04%
Best fund - Eastspring Small Cap - IRR 54.21%, ROI 15.79%
Work fund - Eastspring Global Leaders MY (inv since Nov'13) - IRR -16.4%, ROI -3.95%

PM
Overall IRR - 9.13%
Best equity fund - Public Islamic Sector Select - IRR 16.04%, ROI 28.95%
Worst equity fund - Public Ittikal - IRR 10.07%, ROI 24.19%
These are from 1st January to 29th April, or from an earlier date?

Eastpring small cap is doing well on my end too. The monetary ROI is currently higher than my kenanga syariah growth, both were invested at the same period. I have bigger holdings in kenanga though. Placed a lower ratio for small cap investments
azrash
post Jun 1 2014, 12:59 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ May 31 2014, 11:16 PM)
That is a good visualisation. Where did you get it from?
azrash
post Jun 1 2014, 02:54 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jun 1 2014, 01:54 PM)
That is.. but if you start working at 20.. and retire at 60. Wow. My father is 60+.. he has Parkinson's. Sure you will be a millionaire but wow.
Well I am not saying that the target for retirement should be the age of 60. It just serves as an easy visualisation for people to understand the intended message, which is to start as early as possible.

Personally, I have a shorter time frame in mind. And with a larger amount. Because that one million when you're 60 worth much less today.
azrash
post Jun 14 2014, 03:38 AM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 14 2014, 12:14 AM)
Dude - U gotta hand it to them marketing BS lor.
<insert curses and hexes for evil marketing BS people here> tongue.gif

Can con ppl about laying more eggs during distribution BUT didnt tell whole-truth - them eggs all smaller eggs and if one weighs them, dagnabit - total weight same!  doh.gif
an agent told my friend to invest in a certain UT, because they are going to announce dividend distribution soon, and then switch back to another UT from the same fund house, all because want to chase the dividend distribution.

explained to him about NAV and the value before and after div distribution. the kind of marketing people use these days rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
azrash
post Jun 17 2014, 10:49 PM

1,174 posts

A lot of good stuffs coming in these few days. Really appreciate the different views and opinions provided. Esp when different people have different goal and risk tolerance.

Wish there is an easy way to save these posts. Cannot save it Pocket one. Haha. Bookmarking the posts would be untidy. Copy paste into Google Drive + link to post then.

Xuzen, when using Modigliani, which figure do you use for the standard deviation of the benchmark portfolio. Or a more accurate question would be, what should our benchmark portfolio be? Do we track the KLSE? And normally how long is the time frame for period that you select to calculate the ratio?
azrash
post Jun 18 2014, 03:50 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 18 2014, 10:21 AM)
Sta-Dev of benchmark usually not easy to find, however, Pub-Mut, despite my criticism, has a very good internal data that, unfortunately less than 1% of UTC knows or will ever use it.

I get the Benchmark Sta-Dev from their internal data which they update quarterly to calculate Modigliani. It is only given to UTC and I bet if you ask any regular Pub-Mut UTC, they will give you a blank look. Even finding someone who knows what is a Sharpe is difficult. The data supplied by Pub-Mut is 3 years annualised. That is what you get when Pub-Mut decided to do UT biz like MLM style.

At first I wanted to write how I do the pay-out for my client, but I decided not too... called it trade secret, something for me to keep on cari-makan.

Actually it goes along the line of Pink Spider's line of thinking with some minor tweeks here and there.

J.passing.by, it is not so complicated.

Xuzen

so your benchmark portfolio is one of pub mutual UT?

I learned about Sharpe ratio from a finance unit that I took. I am using it as another factor when considering different UT, other than their consistency in yearly returns. I am using the straight up Sharpe ratio that is usually given in the fund fact sheet.

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jun 18 2014, 01:32 PM)
But then again... 450K in an FD in MBSB or BR... is also perpetual, depending on expenditure.

Rm450,000 x 4.5% = Rm1,687 a month. Not too hard to survive either considering, but of course UT is usually more than that, and we always want more profit out of it smile.gif

If average inflation is around 3% a year. Today's 2k would worth 5.8k when I retire. Crazy.
azrash
post Jul 7 2014, 04:35 AM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 6 2014, 05:15 PM)
yes,...wanted to show you an ROI estimation worksheet, to play around.
ex....if you got lump sum of RM 5000,...split 2k to FD & 3K to EQ fund that can gives at least 7% ROI
(historical performance charts, aim for funds that can gives min 7%, (if can give you > the better) for the past 5 yrs). I know past performance may not repeat it self---but at least it is a safer choice
with that split into 40FI:60EQ ratio, you can still get > 5% ROI..instead of focusing on 1 or 2 good performing funds (which may now be overvalued)
play around the different asset class and its $$ allocated

yes, thank you "wongmunkeong"...now can attach.
That is a well designed spreadsheet! Been trying to make a similar spreadsheet but it is all over the place.

BTW you can also share the excel file online via Dropbox, or if you made the excel file at Google spreadsheet, it can be shared and edited online too.

This excel makes it easier to plan and play with some numbers too. Thanks again thumbup.gif

0.0369sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:46 AM