Fundsupermart.com v6, Manage your own unit trust portfolio

BATMAN99
post May 1 2014, 12:26 AM

346 posts

Hi everyone who has been using FSM for their UT trading, here's a few questions I'd like to ask before I finally register an account for myself at FSM:

1) Is the platform secure?
2) Do I still entitled to get hard-copy statements for my transaction and regular report of my investment?
3) The discount in service charge is only applicable to first transaction or all future transaction? It seem VERY ATTRACTIVE to have 2% SC as compared to ~5.5% if I buy conventionally from agents
4) Switching of funds within the same fund house in FSM is FREE?

Thanks all and I'd be glad to hear from you guys!
BATMAN99
post Jun 2 2014, 04:38 PM

346 posts

Q: WHEN I BUY FUNDS FROM FUNDSUPERMART, IN WHOSE NAME WILL THE UNITS BE REGISTERED IN?

A: For cash investments, all units will be registered under iFAST Nominees Sdn. Bhd. For EPF Account 1 investment, they will be registered in your names. These units are segregated from the company’s assets.
You can contact our hotline (03)2149 0567 for any problems regarding your investments and iFAST Capital Sdn. Bhd. will liaise on your behalf with the fund managers.

Return to Top
Q: WHAT IF FUNDSUPERMART CEASES AS A BUSINESS CONCERN?

A: Fundsupermart is a division of iFAST Capital Sdn Bhd. iFAST Capital Sdn Bhd has a Capital Market Services (CMS) licence from the Securities Commission to offer unit trusts and investment advisory services. It is also registered with the Federation of Investment Managers Malaysia (FIMM) as an Institutional Unit Trust Advisers (IUTA). iFAST Capital Sdn Bhd is a subsidiary of iFAST-OSK Sdn Bhd, which is a joint venture between Malaysia’s OSK Investment Bank Bhd and iFAST Corp. Find out more About Us.
In the unlikely event that Fundsupermart ceases as a business concern, with your permission, all your assets registered under iFAST Nominees Sdn Bhd will be transferred to another Institutional Unit Trust Advisers (IUTA) or they will be returned to you.

That means after we buy funds via fundsupermart i.e. Kenanga Fund, our names will not appear under Kenanga company, our units of the fund will be held under the name of fundsupermart right?

What I'm afraid is what if one day fundsupermart goes bankrupt or another issue that rendered the company to be invalid, where do we claim back our funds? This is one thing that I concern the most.

Hope all can clarify, thanks.
BATMAN99
post Jun 2 2014, 05:23 PM

346 posts

Zizi: Welcome to Fundsupermart.com, how may I help
you today?

you: If I buy funds via FSM, is the units that I bought
registered under my name at the fund house?

you: Anyone here?

Zizi: hi, yes. i am here.

you: Please answer my question

Zizi: for cash investment, all the unit trust will registered
under our Ifast Capital nominees account.

Zizi: however, the end holder is you.

Zizi: while for EPF and PRS investment will register under
your own name

you: I only plan to do lump sum investment from time to
time

you: So like you said, it will be registered under ifast
while the end holder is me

you: If one day I were to go to the fund house, probably
they will not have my name registered under their fund
buyer list right?

you: My concern is, what if iFast goes bankrupt or
whatever affair that rendered the company invalid, where
should I claim back my loses?

Zizi: you would need to check with us instead of fund
house because the fund is registered under our name.
however, in the unlikely event that ifast close down, fund
house has the system to check for all the record.

Zizi: then, you may trade via fund house or redeem your
fund

you: There's always possibility for any company to close
down. Nvm, do you have any written black and white
disclaimer that clearly specifies the rights of customer in
case of your company's default?

you: I hope you understand my worry, I wouldn't want to
risk my money into a company that can't guarantee my
fund return in case of default.

you: Is anyone here again?

Zizi: sorry, please wait for a moment

Zizi: sorry to keep you waiting.

Zizi: we have mentioned in the FAQ

Zizi: under 21. Other important information

They are only giving very general kind of answer zzzz..
BATMAN99
post Jun 5 2014, 05:07 PM

346 posts

i've just invested some fund into local equity funds and one asia ex japan fund! tongue.gif
BATMAN99
post Jun 5 2014, 06:42 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 5 2014, 05:28 PM)
rclxms.gif  good.
mind to share what are those and why?  notworthy.gif
To be frank, i am a real newbie who has just started in unit trust investment. Browsed through FSM and get to know some basic concepts of how unit trusts run etc, then finally picked these 4 as my option:

1. Kenanga Growth Fund
2. Eastspring MY Focus
3. Eastspring Small Cap
4. CIMB Principal Dynamic Income Fund

.. with fund allocation ranging highest to lowest from top to down...

I am young and I am aggressive risk taker who hopes to obtain decent return within a reasonably short time horizon say within 2 years.

I've invested a portion into cimb principal dynamic income in hope of it can still averages out my return in case msia market isn't doing good.. while for the first 3, kenanga is the all time good fund and therefore i have quite some confidence in it, while for 2 and 3, return is very decent lately (although past performance doesnt guarantee similar return in future sweat.gif ) so i also allocate some of the fund into them.. and by looking at their lippers score, they shouldn't be doing too bad either..

I'm still very new to the world of investment, hopefully able to join here and discuss with all sifu to gain more knowledge for improvement notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by BATMAN99: Jun 5 2014, 06:45 PM
BATMAN99
post Jun 5 2014, 06:44 PM

346 posts

wrong post*

This post has been edited by BATMAN99: Jun 5 2014, 06:45 PM
BATMAN99
post Jun 5 2014, 08:51 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 5 2014, 07:05 PM)
hmm.gif guess if that where to happens (equities fall)..yr portfolio is heavily M'sia focused will die.... rolleyes.gif  sweat.gif
yr income fund got lowest allocation (am I right?)...then very difficult to average out
just my thought...
yes you are right, failure in msia equity will significantly affect my portfolio's return for sure, since im only allocating little fund to asia ex japan.. nod.gif

but im just hoping to grab some decent return mainly from the other 3, HOPEFULLY msia stock will keep doing well in probably the next 2 years before i park the fund onto another investment vehicle.. currently still studying another vehicle and unit trust is just to park my $ temporarily tongue.gif
BATMAN99
post Jun 6 2014, 12:10 AM

346 posts

What do you all mean by portfolio value is high?

Isn't portfolio the combination of different investment tools you are making? And the value, isn't the return value? If so, what's wrong having a high portfolio value?

Haha just humbly asking question, hope sifus can share their knowledge here smile.gif
BATMAN99
post Jun 11 2014, 06:01 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(forextor @ Jun 11 2014, 05:20 PM)
Hi, yes I understand... at least 3 years right?...

But I just not sure what kind of 'emergency' you are talking about... I am healthy, got life insurance, etc.. my kids are  also covered by company etc.. so what emergency?  hmm.gif
Emergency fund that they refer to is the amount of money needed to fund your daily life case of any unforeseen events happened to you such as unemployment, family issues etc.

One should have emergency fund amounting to at least 6 months of their month expenses before putting their money into investment tools.

As for your extra money, I think there is no harm in putting it into KGF or Cash Management Fund as long as they offer higher return than your bank FD and there is unlikely any negative return in the fund. But of course, do your due diligence to park your $$ into funds that yield you the greatest return. thumbup.gif
BATMAN99
post Jun 29 2014, 06:18 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Jun 29 2014, 05:55 PM)
Hi guys.. just wanna ask a question.. I am doing dca on my FSM.. but now after putting remaining savings in FDs I still have around 20k in savinng acc...
whats the best way to maximise profit.. I heard eunittrust got 0% kah... Where should I put g he money? Fdor specific blue chip unit trust
The return for FD is way too low, it only serves as a defensive against inflation (but not all time as inflation nowadays can easily beat the interest offered by FD).

Depends on your risk profile, invest your money into blue chip counters if you have the stock investment knowledge, or invest into some good unit trust funds out there that offer you consistent good return.

BATMAN99
post Jul 3 2014, 06:52 PM

346 posts

Return of KGF in my portfolio is handsomely profitable! Even outperformed eastspring small cap & my focus
BATMAN99
post Aug 20 2014, 10:06 PM

346 posts

I wonder why Kenanga Growth and Eastspring Small Cap dropped given the fact that KLSE rose today contributed by the inflow of foreign fund + high local trade volume and value?

0.0443sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:28 PM