Fundsupermart.com v6, Manage your own unit trust portfolio

Kaka23
post Jun 17 2014, 10:40 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jun 17 2014, 11:28 AM)
I'm late to this discussion but I have done backtesting myself several months ago based on 8 years of data. Lump sum always give better return than DCA provided you perform value cost averaging after the lump sum. After my backtesting, I lump sum all instead of continuing with my DCA. Now I'm maintaining it with VCA. If you don't perform VCA, your lump sum return may lower than no VCA method depending on when you did the lump sum. But one thing, make sure lump sum into funds with good 5-10 years consistent track record than those 1-2 year funds that looks good short term. You don't want to lump sum with fund that the price nose dive and never resurface like those China funds.
So lump sum into Kenanga Growth fund la...??!
Kaka23
post Jun 17 2014, 11:22 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jun 17 2014, 11:46 AM)
I did that and I'm glad I did it but KGF is only 14% of my portfolio. Before this I was DCA-ing rm100 monthly.
which equity fund has the biggest percentage in your portfolio?
Kaka23
post Jun 19 2014, 11:23 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 19 2014, 11:25 AM)
1% of RM 1,000.00 = RM 10.00

Put that aside; I have just bought RM 7,500.00 into small cap fund and RM 2,500.00 into commodities linked fund. Who wants to follow?

Xuzen
Small cap for which region wor?
Kaka23
post Jun 19 2014, 01:42 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 19 2014, 02:04 PM)
YTD already gain +50% liao deh.

Chen Fan Fai always buy me lunch for free....LOL!

Xuzen
You see alot of upside still for next 1 - 2 years ka? Since up so much already wor...
Kaka23
post Jun 20 2014, 05:29 AM

8,259 posts

Eunice trust vs FSM war ka... smile.gif
Kaka23
post Jun 20 2014, 09:02 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 20 2014, 08:52 AM)
Can somebody just create a new thread for Eunittrust so that Eunittrust fans can unleash the fanism opinion over there?

The discussion here is getting more complex and confusing.
Agree!!!
Kaka23
post Jun 20 2014, 11:55 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 20 2014, 12:49 PM)
He he he FSM is da flavour of the day. When I first join this forum Pub-Mut is de-rigeur! Now is bumped.

I am happy the FSM is getting more love these days... hopefully with greater competition, this will make agency based UT comp like Pub-Mut & MAAKL lower their fees.

Xuzen
If PM lower their fees, their agent commission maybe lower as well lei...
Kaka23
post Jun 21 2014, 07:19 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 20 2014, 11:30 PM)
ABERDEEN ISLAMIC WORLD EQUITY FUND - CLASS A hits all time high. NAV on 1.2646 as of June 18, 2014
yeah.. my ROI is 9% since Jan 2014, IRR21%. Not bad for me...
Kaka23
post Jun 21 2014, 07:48 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 21 2014, 08:40 PM)
Just 1 month after my initial investment, recovered SC + some small profit rclxms.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Kaka23
post Jun 22 2014, 02:22 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 22 2014, 01:36 AM)
1k blush.gif

then every month dca/rsp 100

I started with Hwang Select Income
Me too from a PM fund.. Now just leave it there and no more rsp.
Kaka23
post Jun 22 2014, 04:22 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(GoldenHorn @ Jun 22 2014, 04:41 PM)
got few options, FPX, Fund Transfer, Maybank2U Bill Payment online is one of them.

But anyone pay using FPX method thru CIMB Clicks here? I will PM u.
when you purchase the fund, the website will direct you through it. I would say it is easy to understand...
Kaka23
post Jun 22 2014, 07:37 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 22 2014, 08:29 PM)
1. Click click click here and there to buy fund
2. Confirm buy
3. Select bank (most big banks are available for FPX)
4. Auto direct to bank login page
5. TAC will be sent to your phone
6. Check the details (amount, Purchase Order number etc)
7. Type type type click
8. Bank page will auto close after u confirm

Just take care on every step, u will be fine
haha.. good memory
Kaka23
post Jun 23 2014, 02:58 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 23 2014, 02:17 PM)
Should market crash, then consistent good performance fund such as KGF will definitely follow suit, but it is also the first to bounce back among its peer. I will use that opportunity to top up.

Another method I learn from my senior is to switch all to money market first and then do DCA all over again to the equity fund as the mkt recovers (this is use for those more risk averse client, not suitable to all investor).

Xuzen
Timing on when to switch all to MM is the hard part. Maybe when we start switching, the market already bottom.. tongue.gif
Kaka23
post Jun 23 2014, 07:53 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jun 23 2014, 08:26 PM)
Good luck with those funds though.
Aberdeen and CIMB look up my for me
Kaka23
post Jun 23 2014, 08:57 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jun 23 2014, 09:02 PM)
Depends if you are that conservative I guess. Both are very conservative funds.
They are good enough for my portfolio too balance my risk profile and regional exposure.

Nothing wrong if to conservative or aggressive. All depends to individual risk profile, age and objectives.
Kaka23
post Jun 24 2014, 03:26 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(mr_nobigdeal @ Jun 24 2014, 03:40 PM)
hi guys, i'm new here and I want to start invest using my EPF first and alrdy submitted the form last week.

One quick question, are all funds either EPF or cash required minimum subsequent amount after you start investing and how does the thing work?

Yes.. from FSM main page, just go to the drop box top right to select the fund you want to know. From there you can see what is the min subsequent investment amount. Normally it is RM100.

If not, when you place order for a particular fund, if your amount is less then min subsequent amount of the fund. Then your order will not go through.
Kaka23
post Jun 24 2014, 08:37 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jun 24 2014, 09:34 PM)
how high is the FD now? Recently the market up down up down also..
Sometimes can get 3.6 - 3.8%
Kaka23
post Jun 25 2014, 10:11 PM

8,259 posts

All time high again
Kaka23
post Jun 25 2014, 10:23 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 25 2014, 11:19 PM)
rclxm9.gif but
not China/hk focused funds...had been down for some months.
not for GEY/Global titans.. still down from last high. (many weeks ago)
Haha.. My all time high is total value of my portfolio
Kaka23
post Jun 26 2014, 10:11 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jun 26 2014, 06:49 PM)
Certain situations, like long term, 1-2% is not a big problem. But for shorter period, to me, it's not feasible to pay couple of hundreds to thousands just like that, especially we are the one managing our funds ourselves, not relationship managers. RM50*2% is already RM1k.
10k*2% is RM200, not RM20 tongue.gif
What is your time frame you are looking at to invest in UT

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0482sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:03 PM