Fundsupermart.com v6, Manage your own unit trust portfolio

xuzen
post Jul 10 2014, 10:49 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 10 2014, 10:26 AM)
So do I. I have no exposure in China market or China focus funds.

Only Asia Ex Japan funds that has exposure in HK.
China's numbers at this moment do not show greatness... despite its promises, it remains just that.. promises.

If you are after speculation, go ahead, if you are a grounded by the number investor... wait till the they show you something first!

Remember this guy below? Bakal orang terkaya di dunia... the operative word here is "BAKAL"

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jul 10 2014, 11:17 AM
xuzen
post Jul 10 2014, 11:30 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 10 2014, 11:02 AM)
How will this affect unit trusts especially KGF and ES SC?

Lets say your daddy gives you lunch money RM 50.00 everyday to attend school. You are also instructed to spend all of it to help improve the canteen business...

By Q3-2014, he will stop giving you RM 50.00 but instead go back to normal RM 5.00/day. As a canteen operator, you will lose more sales and hence business.

First to drop will be junk food and those desire food (tech stock, cyclical or growth stock), then followed by those staple such as nasi lemak, mee hoo goreng and etc (blue chip).

Since KGF belongs to the latter, it will drop less than ES SC which belongs to the former.

Understand?

Xuzen

xuzen
post Jul 10 2014, 09:08 PM

4,436 posts

Here is something that I will share from Hwang.

Yes you guess it, Esther and I are on first name basis....

i) Bolehland is still experiencing positive fund inflow from foreigners. This means the stock market still got upside. Target 1,960.00 index by year end. There will be volatility but overall the sentiment is positive.

ii) Asia is the way to go. Overweight on Indonesia should Jokowi wins. Thailand is hold.

iii) US is neutal.

iv) Europe...sluggish economy. Underweight.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jul 11 2014, 08:26 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(techie.opinion @ Jul 11 2014, 06:40 PM)
HSAQ profits jump more than 1%... Ponzi. Kakakaka.
Which means my Hwang-PRS Growth fund will increase in NAV! Yay!

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jul 13 2014, 01:42 PM

4,436 posts

I dumped all my bond holding since beginning of the year already, including the former all star AmDynamic Bond. Put them into RHB-OSK Money Market fund instead as my temp parking place as well as portfolio stabilizer.

The only bond exposure is via my Hwang-PRS where I don't have a say on how to allocate the asset and where the prospectus states that 30% min must be invested in fixed income at all times.

By the way, I shall be entering REIT in the coming months.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jul 14 2014, 10:15 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 14 2014, 09:43 AM)
Germany is World Cup champions but they don't win every matches.

Same applies for investments.

If there is a fund that profits all the time, IT IS A PONZI! biggrin.gif
Ooi... you don't simply simply call my darling Lee Sook Yee wub.gif a PONZI... ok?

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jul 14 2014, 10:38 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 14 2014, 10:18 AM)
Here comes the Ms Lee fanboy laugh.gif

Last time my Esther Teo fund, Hwang Select Income also Ponzi lor biggrin.gif

blush.gif

You call her Ms Esther Teo, I call her Essie wub.gif ...

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jul 14 2014, 10:40 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 14 2014, 10:29 AM)
For those of you who monitor UT prices closely, would it be a good time to invest in KGF and ES SC this week?
Anytime is a good time to enter into Lee Sook Yee wub.gif

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jul 14 2014, 10:42 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 14 2014, 10:40 AM)
Sounds so wrong brows.gif
brows.gif
xuzen
post Jul 14 2014, 11:10 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 14 2014, 10:47 AM)
Everyone is in naughty mode today biggrin.gif
Post World Cup Stress Syndrome (PWCSS pronunced as pussies brows.gif )
xuzen
post Jul 14 2014, 02:47 PM

4,436 posts

In some cases, e.g. Lee Sook Yee wub.gif anytime irrespective got distribution or no distribution is also HUAT time. rclxms.gif

With all these emo going on, I am tempted to cut & paste some pixs from Galeries de Celebraties to cool some temper.

It is easy to find pretty girls, but to find presentable girls who are expert money maker... they are truly rare.

Xuzen

p/s UT is buying into the superior stock picking skill of the manager. For example, if you 'd follow some of the top fund anager like Lee Sook Yee & Chen Fan Fai, they went cash heavy (up to 20%) in Q4-2014 & Q1-2014. They know stuff way ahead of us, things that we only know so much later.

Hence, to enter UT or not, the high or low of the underlying index is not important, the superior stock picking skill of the fund manager is more important. For UT, you are buying the skill of the manager.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jul 14 2014, 02:51 PM
xuzen
post Jul 16 2014, 11:41 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Jul 15 2014, 01:06 PM)
Can i ask how do you all analyse the fund you would buy.
the fund's track record of providing high and stable returns? like KGF?

Or what other measure do you use to analyse a fund.

PS: just opened an account, need guidance on the techniques to "fish" a good fund
There are very technical/academic ways ... where the inventor wins Noble Prize for it.

There are lazy way, which is still workable. When I started investing UT, I don't know all these very technical stuff, I used the lazy way and still ok.

To fish for good fund, you can:

I) Look at FSM recommended fund list (I don't use this method)

II) Buy The Edge every week and look at the Lipper Ranking. Choose funds that have 12 - 15 pts (max = 15 pts)

iii) If you have Morningstar, choose fund that have 4 stars or above.

With this, you should have sufficient road map to bring you on a good investing journey.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Jul 17 2014, 09:04 PM

4,436 posts

cybermaster, still asking the same question ar? So long liao still not decided meh?

RM100k nia, spilt split lar... why ask so many times wan?

you really got Rm100k wan or not? or just troll for fun... syiok sendiri izzit?
xuzen
post Jul 17 2014, 10:23 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Jul 17 2014, 09:52 PM)
well, to be honest, i just started..
I just have 1000myr..

blush.gif  blush.gif  blush.gif

but i am like below 20 years old..
biggrin.gif to see that you all are "filthy rich", it really encourages me  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

hope to be like you all!
I became financially literate in my mid thirties. In my twenties, I was clubbing, chasing girls.... dreaming about fast cars!

If I had started at below my twenties, I think today in my early forties, I would have achieved financially freedom. Hence, my friend, you have a better chance of achieving financial freedom much earlier than me. Don't waste it!

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jul 18 2014, 09:24 AM

4,436 posts

In summary; winning strategy for UT;

i) Asset alloaction - yay!
ii) Dollar Cost Averaging - yay!
iii) Value Cost Averagig- yay! - Ini lu tanya sama itu wongmunkeong fellar....

iii) Time market to enter & exit - Nay!
iv) Buy based on NAV - Nay!
v) And the most cardinal sin according to itu pink fellar - buy based on post distribution - MEGA NAY!

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jul 24 2014, 04:46 PM

4,436 posts

Ponzi has show me some great figure brows.gif

I am so going big time into it in Aug-14.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jul 24 2014, 07:10 PM

4,436 posts

You guys ar... one time mention Ponzi only, followed by ten post abt it...

Xuzen

xuzen
post Jul 25 2014, 11:58 AM

4,436 posts

My algorithm has rebalance in favour of foreign unit trust. It has prompted me reduce bolehland exposure by 20% and asked me to double up on US and REITs related unit trust.

Something is happening in bolehland....

Xuzen

xuzen
post Jul 26 2014, 10:45 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jul 25 2014, 09:59 PM)
Why do think so?
Don't know... my algorithm does not answer WHY like this or why like that.

It only tells me HOW TO allocate my resources efficiently and optimally under the parameters that I have pre-set.

Maybe (a BIG maybe) our Bolehland share are getting expensive and REITs are getting more love these days? You see REITs are slow and steady, and when our share goes up fast, smart money leave the slow train (REITs) and jump on small cap. Now, small cap or index linked blue chip are getting expensive.

The above is my educated guess.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jul 26 2014, 12:49 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(dreamxite @ Jul 26 2014, 11:03 AM)
Hi all, I am new to this fundsupermart column and Ive never invested in UT before, only shares.

Just wanted to ask if most people here invested in actively managed UT or those index fund UT, which is passively managed (if there is any)?

Because from my understanding, most actively run UT or mutual funds will not beat the market in the long run (10-15 years), as in the indices. Correct me if I am wrong.
There are no index fund in Malaysia. The closest cousin in Malaysia is ETF.

Your understanding is wrong. UT managers in Malaysia has been beating M'sia index (KLSE) for many years especially those top ones such as Kenanga, Eastspring and Hwang. Even my favourite whipping boy i.e., Public Mutual Berhad funds are able to beat the index.

I believe your misconception comes from reading too many US based literature telling how those passive ETFs and index funds such as Vanguard or SPDR able to beat S&P or DJ. It might be true in the US or highly efficient or mature market, but over here, it is not true.

Xuzen

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0235sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:09 PM