PROTON SAGA BLM, FL & FLX Thread V60, Y U NO READ FIRST PAGE!!?!?!

n3w
post Apr 10 2014, 09:14 PM

350 posts

Sifus sekalian,

Would like to ask advice to improve drivability on my stock saga, mostly highway driving. Some parts of they highway may be a bit bumpy. Only thing 'modified' are firestorm & stock 14' rims, mine standard came with steel rims.

Would 15' rims & tyres be good upgrade? Not much cornering, a lot of straight roads. Would those size affect top speed compared to smaller tyres?

Thankiu. smile.gif
n3w
post Apr 10 2014, 11:15 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Apr 10 2014, 09:23 PM)
top speed i dont think will be affected... but definitely improves stability. nod.gif
Stability current setup seems ok, a bit goyang la if got cross wind. Thought if upgrade to 15 maybe better? But fc and top speed concerned in my mind.

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 10 2014, 09:50 PM)
If 15inch, you don't get to enjoy comfort since that's what you wanted. The only size for 15 is 195/50R15 otherwise sagat kao kao. If want comfort, please remain 175/70R13.  14, frankly quite enough, might as well save up the money buy a better car. On the contrary, 15 wheels looks good in GaGa. I almost got myself a set of 16, but the sagat issue really drives me away. doh.gif
I was using stock tyres for 1 year plus before upgraded to 14, pretty fine, current tyres maybe around 50% thread so thinking whether change altogether when the time comes. Current tyres are 175/65R14 I remembered. Colleague who drove a saga too just changed his to 15', kept poisoning me. So a bit gatal too to change all, his car looks heaps better with 15'. biggrin.gif
n3w
post Apr 10 2014, 11:37 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 10 2014, 11:29 PM)
Worry about top speed? You always travel at top speed ka? Just be mindful of how much larger the size of your wheels will be, as it will affect your actual speed.

FLX SE running on stock 195/50/15, still affected by crosswind. It just how the Saga is, larger rim size or low profile tires won't help.
Go work average 120 lo. Come back quicker. tongue.gif

I'm seeing that even 14' tyres prices also roughly not much different with 15', was thinking why not move to 15'.
n3w
post Apr 11 2014, 08:19 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(nickzkuso @ Apr 11 2014, 01:09 AM)
120km/h not very fast lo..
inb4 all ppl here except me drive 160km/h and above  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
Then I join others di, you miss my other sentence - 'come back quicker'

Average 160 above. brows.gif

If manual maybe lagi best. nod.gif

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 11 2014, 05:39 AM)
Depends lo. V12Kompressor is right geh, more choice of tayar for 15" lor. I myself though decided to go down size for handling,braking,wear & tear these multiple reasons. Want my 15" mou? We can make a trade, you put down some cash to top up, I'll take over your rim & existing tyres? See drillz whether you interested, then we'll talk about the price.

YAB want do downsize ah, handling I believe 15' better?

See budget boss. Live in Melaka lagi. laugh.gif

14' stock size lo, wear & tear okok je.
n3w
post Apr 11 2014, 08:10 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 11 2014, 06:47 PM)
Huat rim jiu using nao? BLM/BLM SE or FLX alloy rim? Ayam in Seremban during the weekdays, so yes very possible to trade. Tayar left how marj? My front about 50%, belakang almost rike niu, atleast 90% munga. Just changed recently.
Flx alloy. All on continental tyres. I see like a bit more reaching the wear indicator di on 4 biji. Dont know how to see. Get the pics for you tomorrow. smile.gif

n3w
post Apr 11 2014, 10:43 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 11 2014, 10:01 PM)
oteh! if jadik I go melaka find jiu! if tak jadik on the spot, atleast get to eat cendol whistling.gif
Exchange pictures first lo, next friday I'm okay, on leave, in Melaka. nod.gif

QUOTE(ruby1288 @ Apr 11 2014, 10:23 PM)
coconut shake, see ham rebus
Shake weekdays nobody wan, see ham rebus, night only smile.gif
n3w
post Apr 16 2014, 09:13 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(iskazulka @ Apr 16 2014, 09:58 AM)
manual GB aichi pokai & getrag GB use different gear oil de.
For getrag only can use the sc oil ah.

No other choice?
n3w
post Apr 18 2014, 06:52 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 18 2014, 06:08 PM)
Downgrade project successfully carried out in conjunction with richfag n3w. Didn't meet, didn't know he's my distance colleague from different branch. It's more like "Hor!!! Lei sei ler! Tan Pok Seh Wong!". Food is good! Laksa is spicy and thick, so many kerang! Cendol is nice, ais is fine, gula Melaka is sweet and great caramelized coconut fragrant! Love it and definitely will go back visit again. wub.gif

p.s: forgot to snap foto of the oren ke20 sad.gif
On the other hand, tongue.gif

Great short outing with unker David, look young! Super hilarious guy, awesome knowledge of cars, humble chap.

Overly excited over his favourite toyota KE model though. brows.gif

Orang sendiri under one big group. Apologise if I talk like I mumbled a lot, you always need me to repeat, haha.

Noted advice after he test drove my car, and would look into it.

See you around bro. Will rajin stalk around forums. Glad you enjoyed the short trip makan and outing. laugh.gif

P.S. bring wifey down next round for another laksa round and take pics hehe. biggrin.gif
not richfag, bugger mad.gif *Jkingly* biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by n3w: Apr 18 2014, 07:03 PM
n3w
post Apr 18 2014, 10:15 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 18 2014, 09:00 PM)
From the pic, it looks like you made the right choice on tyres. The Faken I used indeed wider as now I can clearly see the groove of this sets of tyre is thinner hmm.gif Prolly like that can eliminate sagat issue icon_idea.gif
Couldn't test much yet, because mostly I drive alone, ride is slightly bumpier but not much issue. Will update if go on full load, but it still seems high hahaha.

QUOTE(calvin_kenni @ Apr 18 2014, 09:39 PM)
kepoh sket... ini cendol + laksa kat melaka mana ni.. hmm.gif
Klebang area bro. Maybe like a a few kms after the famous klebang coconut milk shake. smile.gif
n3w
post Apr 18 2014, 11:24 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 18 2014, 10:36 PM)
Oh ya! U oso in Melaka wor
Looks like it's a need to organize Laksa Cendol TT in Melaka jor drool.gif
Yea we need. What I may need to do now is meet up sifus in KL first. tongue.gif
n3w
post Apr 19 2014, 12:56 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 18 2014, 11:55 PM)
Price ok eh. But blm la, original flx double maybe?
n3w
post Apr 19 2014, 09:30 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 19 2014, 02:06 AM)
I think the seller can get for same price gua, the description said let him know if it's FLX. So I guess most probably he also got stock for FLX hmm.gif But if you go refer Plotong SC, I believe it's 600/side if I remember correctly laugh.gif
I would ask my mechanic and update here. RM125/- reasonable still, 600/- shocking.gif

Get a nice place and snap all cars pictures too after makan. nod.gif

The klebang place is opened until 3pm so yeah reach before that time.

The first petronas station on the left after the toll should be fine place to meet. smile.gif

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 19 2014, 02:42 AM)
Let's see the numbers by next week. If small group then no need arrange so many TTs, can simply draft an unfixed itinerary and go. If group is bigger than 10 cars, we really need to note down each and every check points to avoid running loose. This time MUST make it work regardless! Been FFK too many times. After Paul Walker, now KS also gone already. Life really aint waiting for us geh. As long got opportunity, grab it. Meet with friends! Have a blast! Eat! Drink! Drive!
Beh tahan the makan di eh. brows.gif

QUOTE(Noobdao @ Apr 19 2014, 09:20 AM)
New vios kena kissed at penang bridge~~~ shakehead.gif

Pretty specky lady at the back. brows.gif

This post has been edited by n3w: Apr 19 2014, 09:31 AM
n3w
post Apr 19 2014, 09:53 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 19 2014, 09:46 AM)
Ayam quite familiar with Melaka tourist spot geh, coz eberiyear I oso will stay in Aldy hotel in Bandar Hilir with my family to celebrate my dotter's beefday. Other than that, special occassion such as friends from oversea come visit KL, I'll drive them straight to Melaka coz more museum to spend their time. This year exceptional, coz dotter in Primary school ady, so can't skip class go travel, ma celebrated in KL lor. Manatau, still ended up myself go there whack laksa cendol wt jiu laugh.gif
Skip class a bit is fine la bro.

No pressure. Itu daughter you? Lawa. blush.gif

Makan nice stuffs is good, we are M'sians anyway. brows.gif

Off topic: you still sell the ular oren ah? Can fabricate one more for me? notworthy.gif

n3w
post Apr 19 2014, 10:48 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 19 2014, 10:06 AM)
Can la. Bring to u during TT lar.

This is the favorite Bamboo Hut bistro at Aldy Hotel. The big breakfast is so big that it worth the room already. Technically, the room is free because of the free big breakfast for 2. That salt/pepper duo is my dotter's favorite. We come back here to snap photo on very April(except this year) sad.gif . So, probably we're going to do it in May meetup. icon_idea.gif
To be frank, never been to that hotel before, need to kepoh see inside too. blink.gif

Family kasi down la this year again.

Can jalan-jalan at Jonker together-gether with family. laugh.gif

n3w
post Apr 19 2014, 02:12 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(ruby1288 @ Apr 19 2014, 11:00 AM)
Makan see hum tepi mdm king
In front there's the famous chinese pork popiah. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 19 2014, 12:33 PM)
Yesterday wasn't holiday, neither Monday is, but yesterday packed until 1 hour only managed to squeeze in Bdr Hilir whistling.gif I usually will purposely take leave, get children to skip school to Melaka geh. Weekend.... Sorry la I don't wanna drive around in Melaka over the weekend due to flooded with too many kiasu-kiasi fellas yawn.gif
So happen Good Friday, a lot of cars, Spore public holiday mah.

Hehee, if you want a hangout place after klebang, got a place, makan ice and fishball, simple windy place i can bring you all go. Nearby ni. smile.gif
n3w
post Apr 20 2014, 06:01 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(wyh @ Apr 20 2014, 04:45 AM)
Thank you. Probably need to dropby to see what is the real difference. As what i can see the biggest difference is the audio player thats all. =\
Get the sv would do. Negligible difference in terms of equipment loss. Mostlyl can be added at accessories shop. New badges are fortunate, standard even comes with 2 airbags, back in 2011 kosong. sad.gif
n3w
post Apr 20 2014, 11:18 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 20 2014, 07:32 AM)
5) ABS
Tarak (To add up, will cost roughly around 4k, also depending whether the mech is competitive to do so)

You decide la. If you ask me, SV is a damn good deal as I get to choose what I need to add in. But the only drawback is always about the ABS, as original factory fitted ABS are always the best balanced system and well tested in controlled environment.

ABS ah, learn advanced braking lo...threshold braking brows.gif

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 20 2014, 07:32 AM)
You get light weight, not even 1 air bag was in the car whistling.gif
Your boot handler got paint ady, SV dun hab whistling.gif
You don't need to bear with the SV logo people laugh at whistling.gif
SV logo can take out mah. nod.gif

Light weight no point too, my weight handicap offset di. flex.gif
n3w
post Apr 20 2014, 04:32 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 20 2014, 02:22 PM)
Seriously, according to n3w & what I saw wt my own eyes, the unavailability of resources, lack of latest technologies, living standard, u may stand a better chance to not only earn a living, but to excel or get rich by doing MCM(minor car mods) whistling.gif The cheaper fellas, tayar botak until looks like racing slick tyres liao, kena paku jor still force the tauke to patch it. Tauke sei kenot still don't care, sendiri go take the rubber stick and patch it. Ended up, yes no doubt fixed the leak jor, but that paku site due to thread wall too thin and possibly steel belt layer patah ady, so bengkaked laugh.gif Ended up, die die change. Now only the interesting part begun, the tauke offer a set of 195/55R15 Faken ZE522 to him(3 years old, bout 50% thread left) for RM80/piece (WTF?! That's my tyres!) The fella refused to take. Ended up tauke dunno from where squeeze out 1 piece of extremely old and worn down tyre. Slap it on that rim, put soap water see no leak, then collected RM50 doh.gif Seriously, I don't see any difference in terms of thread left on the tire compare to the earlier kena paku tyre. Why in the hell he rather pay RM50 for 1 almost botak tyre? Rather than RM80 for 2 pieces of 50% thread tyre?! And yes, n3w the tauke later use that RM50 collected and paid to you liao whistling.gif U know the punk head guy drove a Mazda Bongo with extreme tyre condition kena paku still wanna patch that fella rite laugh.gif It's not that what worthwhile deal you can find for customer, it's how cheap can you go. Despite cheap, but the profit is amazing.

Another thing is, richfag n3w don't even care the 2 pieces of my 195/50R15 Faken ZE522 so new until like fresh out from factory, he still traded all 4 tyres up for merely RM150 whistling.gif In return, tauke sold him a set of Cibaistone Kurize for RM700 whistling.gif RM700 I could have got myself a set of ATR Sport with balance to pump petrol liao whistling.gif
That's why I told ya the boss is loaded. laugh.gif

Not richfag la brother, atr sport melaka dont know where to get, less hassle get all new hehehe.

Quickly open a tyre shop davidke20 profit gao gao. nod.gif

KL fortunate to have many varieties and choices in melaka we here rely on trust to shop owner, people tend to visit their favourite reliable tyres shop rather than searching for new ones.
n3w
post Apr 21 2014, 10:23 PM

350 posts

Want to ask sifus, how much to install fog lights for saga, mine did not come with it, quoted 150 bucks for everything inclusive wiring & workmanship,
lights are yellow in colour. Ok or not? unsure.gif

n3w
post Apr 21 2014, 10:27 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Apr 18 2014, 07:15 PM)
needs a pair of foggies to complete the handsome look
QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Apr 21 2014, 10:24 PM)
ok ah. smile.gif
Ok ah? Not sure about pricing, if reasonable then weekend fix di. nod.gif

'to complete handsome look' flex.gif

0.0279sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:29 PM