Project: Simpa™, Water-cooling a Lian Li PC-V600

TSimnovice
post Apr 7 2014, 11:59 AM, updated 11y ago

115 posts

Hi guys, this is my very first time creating a thread here so any suggestions or criticism are very much appreciated.
I'm not aiming for building a beautiful & expensive rig here since I'm not a pro modder as many sifus here & I'm building on budget.
This build is gonna take quite some time to finish due to time constrains in which I will mod only on selected weekend.
My plan is to modify an old & obsolete Lian Li PC-V600 mainly for water-cooling.
Water-cooling itself is considered overkill to me for my current PC specs plus I only use my PC to surf this forum & facebook blush.gif
Just wanna have fun building a PC on my own way of customization.
As the title suggests, 'Simpa' (simple), I'll keep this project as simple as possible, minimizing damage & error and finish-able.
Okay, let's start.

Hardware specifications:

Processor: Intel Xeon E5 2660
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Gene
RAM: Corsair Value Select 4 GB (temporarily doing dual channel on the Asus board)
SSD: Intel X25-M 160GB G2
Hard drive: Hitachi Ultrastar 1 TB
Video card: Sapphire HD6870 > changing to other card, still deciding
PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W
ODD: No plan so far

Cooling Components:

CPU waterblock: XSPC Rasa waterblock > changed to EK Supreme HF Nickel-Acetal
GPU waterblock: None so far
Pump, top: Koolance PMP-450S, COV-RP450 with reservoir > reservoir changed to Bitspower Water Tank Z-Multi 250 POM version
Radiator: HW Labs Black Ice GTX 240 & GTS 360
Fans: Some of generic 120mm fans, Sanyo Denki 120mm x 38mm (might change later)
Fitting: Bitspower compression 7/16" 5/8" silver shining
Tubing: Primochill Primoflex Advanced LRT Onyx Black

This post has been edited by imnovice: Dec 17 2014, 10:53 AM
TSimnovice
post Apr 7 2014, 12:16 PM

115 posts

Meet the victim

3D view of the case

Side view. A windowed side panel is a must? Okay, I'll do something with it

Side panel mesh. I'll reuse it

A quick look at the case's internals

Side panel opened

This post has been edited by imnovice: Jun 3 2014, 03:36 PM
Lucassss
post Apr 7 2014, 12:53 PM

fanboy.
2,878 posts

Nice to see a fellow Xeon user modding. Can't wait to see it finished.
najmul
post Apr 7 2014, 01:08 PM

526 posts

good luck ts, all the best thumbup.gif
TSimnovice
post Apr 7 2014, 02:42 PM

115 posts

@Lucassss & najmul, thx guys smile.gif

Pop that rivet up!

5.25" drive bay & hard drive cage dismantled

Stripped it down & ideas started to come. Put this here, put this there

Just another view

As a start, I'll settle the top part of the case 1st for fixing a 360mm radiator. I'm still waiting for the radiator & some other materials to arrive. A test fit for the radiator is needed, to be safe. I hope I can do something during this coming weekend. Stay tuned

This post has been edited by imnovice: Jun 3 2014, 03:37 PM
master2841
post Apr 10 2014, 12:55 AM

36 posts

Can't wait to see the final product!
hafdin
post Apr 24 2014, 11:45 AM

162 posts

any update? hm
TSimnovice
post Apr 26 2014, 04:38 AM

115 posts

Small update

Sorry guys for not being able to update anything for the past weeks. I've received my 360mm radiator recently & done test fit for some of major components inside the case. I choose to rotate the the case 90 degree instead of existing layout. Thinking of cutting the motherboard tray to fit mATX motherboard only to gain more space so that I will be able to add another 120mm fan beside the processor. Test fit still in progress however to get the best placement of those components.

Test fit for major components

Uncompleted not-so-nice scketchup just for imagining how should I work on

This post has been edited by imnovice: Jun 3 2014, 03:38 PM
TSimnovice
post May 20 2014, 09:58 AM

115 posts

Progress

The ATX motherboard tray to be transformed to micro ATX

Making holes for cable management

Holes done
Trying with 24-pins connector

Initial plan for motherboard tray

Bending them

Bending done but I don't like it

This looks better

This post has been edited by imnovice: Jun 3 2014, 03:39 PM
TSimnovice
post May 20 2014, 10:26 AM

115 posts

Initial plan for PSU placement. Marked for cutting

Cutting the PSU opening

Cutting done but the outcome was bad. This cutting method is faster but needs to be done properly

I cannot fully cover this opening with the PSU bracket so I'm going to redo it

Additionally I realized that I could make use of the gap between PSU and chassis' base. I'm going to readjust the PSU placement later because...

I need to make the base first. This is originally the chassis' backplane. Marked for cutting

Cutting done

This post has been edited by imnovice: Jun 3 2014, 03:41 PM
TSimnovice
post May 20 2014, 10:59 AM

115 posts

This aluminum sheet will be the chassis' base. Marked

I made this simple guider to help me making straight cut

Cutting the 2mm thick of aluminum. Much faster than rotary tool although the best is to get a jigsaw

Fitted nicely

Just another view

This post has been edited by imnovice: Jun 3 2014, 03:42 PM
TSimnovice
post May 20 2014, 11:44 AM

115 posts

Trying the motherboard tray placement before marking

Marked for cutting

Cutting done

Trimming it

Aligning the tray

Riveting it

The tray safely in place

This post has been edited by imnovice: Jun 3 2014, 03:43 PM
TSimnovice
post May 20 2014, 12:12 PM

115 posts

Redoing the PSU opening. Marked for cutting

Cutting done

The new PSU opening

Aluminum plate installed

This thing will act as spacer between PSU and chassis' backplane

My second cutting disk for this project before I accidentally cut my finger with it. I need a glove!

This post has been edited by imnovice: Jun 3 2014, 03:44 PM
azilazwa
post May 20 2014, 12:31 PM

838 posts

Great job man! envy ur skills. wish i have more time, money and space to mod like u! hahaha notworthy.gif
TSimnovice
post May 26 2014, 08:35 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(azilazwa @ May 20 2014, 12:31 PM)
Great job man! envy ur skills. wish i have more time, money and space to mod like u! hahaha notworthy.gif
Thanks brother but I only mod in very limited space, just those pictures didn't show lol
TSimnovice
post May 26 2014, 09:01 AM

115 posts

Small update. I've had some time to work on the PSU bracket yesterday.

Material used

Screwed in those square aluminum log

PSU vent interface. Marked for cutting

Test fit & how it should sit in the chassis

Test fit with real PSU

Cutting done with real PSU installed

Finished product & installed on the chassis

This post has been edited by imnovice: Jun 3 2014, 03:46 PM
TSimnovice
post May 30 2014, 02:12 AM

115 posts

Good morning. Another small progress from me. I've done the fans' blow hole for backplane. Check these pictures out:

Planning for correct fans & radiator placement. Clearance between radiator, side panel & display card are critical here

Fan's blow hole done

Just another view

The San Ace fan tapped with M5

Test fit of those fans with radiator

Final look of the backplane

With most of major components in place

Another major thing to do is 360mm radiator mounting which would be my next job. Stay tuned smile.gif

This post has been edited by imnovice: Jun 3 2014, 03:47 PM
ijatneda
post May 30 2014, 09:04 AM

326 posts

what a nice clean cut for the fan hole. can share with me how you cut it?
Is it using holesaw?
TSimnovice
post May 30 2014, 12:00 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(ijatneda @ May 30 2014, 09:04 AM)
what a nice clean cut for the fan hole. can share with me how you cut it?
Is it using holesaw?
Hi, I used palm router to do it. Sorry for no photo snapped because things happened pretty fast.
TSimnovice
post Jun 17 2014, 09:25 AM

115 posts

This 2mm thick aluminum sheet will be holding front 360mm radiator

I've decided to cut this chassis' structure to allow for easy installation of front radiator

Test fit of the plate

The plate will be screwed on this metal thing

Marked for riveting

Tapped it with M3

Safely in place