BMW X5 2003 vs. BMW 5 series 2005, Which one is better in overall?

TSomerhalit
post Apr 5 2014, 08:54 PM, updated 12y ago

Hi guys,

I am planning to change to BMW this time. But I am a little bit confused. I cannot really find a nice comparison of this two cars (X5 and 5 series). Maybe its because they are the cars of different league.

Well, can you please help me decide? Let me shortly list my criteria.

I am going to buy it cash. So I am limited to 60-70k now. I cannot really find 5 series at this price. Rarely I see people sell at this price for urgent cash. But that's rare.

Alright, I prefer X5 because it is higher, looks more aggressive (to me). It can reach max 210km/h. 2002/2003 models costs around 60K.

I prefer 5 series because it has advanced multimedia system. A little bit better interior. Better gauges. Comments say it provides smoother ride. Mostly less roadtax. Top speed at about 230km/h. Of course better acceleration because lighter. I am not sure if I can afford magnesium engine model. I heard there is some performance issues on the earlier engine model.

Well, speed is not very important to me. Consider this as family car. I prefer safety.

But to be honest, I am not really aware of the electronics systems of X5. I know there are many in 5 series. Lots of airbags, stability systems and others. But I am not sure if these apply 2003 or 2004 X5.

And about maintenance, it is important. Which of these two cars less likely to give trouble and overall cost of spare parts? I heard X5 has rear suspension problem and it costs a lot to replace.

If you were me, which one would you choose?

Please when you vote, let me know why so that I know the advantages and disadvantages of these both.

I can save some more bucks and wait for 5 series if the poll comes out to be at 5 series' side.

Thanks in advance.
kahjye
post Apr 5 2014, 09:03 PM

4,494 posts

Fork at least 10k for repairs
ScancityCY5188
post Apr 5 2014, 09:48 PM

48 posts

You sure you want to buy a 10 years old bmw?
TSomerhalit
post Apr 5 2014, 10:10 PM

QUOTE(ScancityCY5188 @ Apr 5 2014, 09:48 PM)
You sure you want to buy a 10 years old bmw?
I like to change cars. It's not for me to stick with a car for 5-7 years. Buy cash sell cash. Add some, buy better. Bought my first car wira cash as well. biggrin.gif

I've bought 12 years old Toyota and almost had no problem. 12 years old toyota still better than many new cars in my opinion. I know BMW 5 series quite stable. Correct me if I am wrong.

What would you suggest other than these that I can buy cash and maybe newer?

Thanks for the comment.
DrBarbarian
post Apr 5 2014, 11:13 PM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

magnesium engine is 2006 onwards .... some late 2005 e60 has it though. these n52 engines produces more power but they have oil consumption issue. rm10k for maintenance for the first year is definitely not enough..... smile.gif
TSomerhalit
post Apr 5 2014, 11:19 PM

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Apr 5 2014, 11:13 PM)
magnesium engine is 2006 onwards .... some late 2005 e60 has it though.  these n52 engines produces more power but they have oil consumption issue.  rm10k for maintenance for the first year is definitely not enough..... smile.gif
Are you serious? 10K not enough for 1st year maintenance? I bought 2002 Altis last year and honestly speaking never gave me problem except regular maintenance like engine oil and brake pad.

Why would BMW E60 give that much cost for maintenance?
kahjye
post Apr 5 2014, 11:22 PM

4,494 posts

QUOTE(jags @ Apr 5 2014, 11:18 PM)
where did you get that figure from? from you talking arsehole ah?

fcking cunts like this who nothing about cars and who make stupid remarks like this really pisses me off! and to make it worst, there are idiots who will actually listen without questioning them.
lol ur butt burning bro?
TSomerhalit
post Apr 5 2014, 11:22 PM

QUOTE(jags @ Apr 5 2014, 11:19 PM)
what the fck is wrong with buying a 10 year old bmw??
Had a bad day mate? take it easy. those are just opinions. May be true or false.

What about you? what do you think?
kahjye
post Apr 5 2014, 11:24 PM

4,494 posts

QUOTE(omerhalit @ Apr 5 2014, 11:22 PM)
Had a bad day mate? take it easy. those are just opinions. May be true or false.

What about you? what do you think?
he just bought more than 10 yrs old bmw.

thats it.
TSomerhalit
post Apr 5 2014, 11:27 PM

QUOTE(kahjye @ Apr 5 2014, 11:24 PM)
he just bought more than 10 yrs old bmw.

thats it.
Is that really bad? I mean, i think BMW cars last at least 20 years at affordable maintenance cost. Don't you think?
kahjye
post Apr 5 2014, 11:30 PM

4,494 posts

QUOTE(omerhalit @ Apr 5 2014, 11:27 PM)
Is that really bad? I mean, i think BMW cars last at least 20 years at affordable maintenance cost. Don't you think?
my dad is an ex owner of e46 and e90.

both of these car give him problems bout 6 yrs usage...

so...no more bmw i guess.

currently using an audi,

no car is perfect.

but i just dont get it why is somebody here acting so exaggerated lol.

oh anw..maybe hes a hardcore fan...BMW never break downnn...lel.
kahjye
post Apr 5 2014, 11:31 PM

4,494 posts

QUOTE(jags @ Apr 5 2014, 11:29 PM)
bro ignore that ****. he knows nothing about cars. and his "opinion" is a load of crap.

my advice is go to specialized forums like bmwclubmalaysia. actual owners can give you feedback, instead of dIckheads still playing with tamiya cars!

btw what is your budget bro?
what car are u driving now?
jags
post Apr 5 2014, 11:33 PM

282 posts

what is your definition of expensive?? there is a thread at bmwclubmalaysia, in the e60 subforum, where owners share the price of spare parts. that should give you a rough idea. the magnesium engine is a good engine, but if you really want something more 'hardy', than the m54 engine (2002-2005) is a better choice. the x5 and e60 has the same engine.

QUOTE(omerhalit @ Apr 5 2014, 11:27 PM)
TSomerhalit
post Apr 5 2014, 11:33 PM

QUOTE(jags @ Apr 5 2014, 11:25 PM)
bullshit of the highest order. i have a lot of experience with BMW's, my dad drives the older 523i e39 (double vanos m52 engine), mileage is about 300k km's and the car has not been giving him any problems.

i would go for the e60. if budget permits, go for the LCI (has the electronic gear selector or some people call it "joystick". It has the n52t magnesium engine (technical update, black color engine cover). Its more reliable than the N52 engine with the silver engine cover (end 2005- early 2007)

BTW regarding the engine oil consumption issue, sometimes its due to the viscosity of the engine oil used. Using a thicker engine oil has solved the problem in some cases.

the x5 spare parts is more expensive compared to the e60, especially the suspension parts.
LCI is great but I cannot afford that right now. But I will try to get magnesium engine. I also heard. It is more stable. I just need to save more then.

X5 is cheaper than E60. I think the reason is spare parts then. Losing hope on X5 slowly.
kahjye
post Apr 5 2014, 11:41 PM

4,494 posts

QUOTE(jags @ Apr 5 2014, 11:38 PM)
why the fck does it matter what car am i driving!? next you want to know how long is my d*** ah?

the reason why i am posting is bcos i have been in ts situation and i have researched a lot about bmw's/mercedes.  if not, i wouldn't have posted. i know nuts about honda's, thats why you don't see me posting in any honda related threads.

and to your other question, no, i am not a hardcore BMW fan. the 320i e90 is a piece of shit. the 4 cylinder n46b20 is a piece of shit. would a 'hardcore' bmw fan say that?
hahahaha thank you for enlightening me .

yes 320i is piece of shit and u can f*** me all u want doh.gif

i dont really care much as i do not look in to any 2nd hand cars.

This post has been edited by kahjye: Apr 5 2014, 11:41 PM
TSomerhalit
post Apr 5 2014, 11:46 PM

I will wait for some time to get E60 then. No one supported X5. Pitty him. I was a little bit excited because I could afford X5 now. But 2005 or 2006 E60, not yet. And LCI, kind of dream right now because I am going to pay cash. Don't like to bond myself with loans.

Do you have any idea how much it would cost to maintain 2003 X5 3.0 for a year? Regular maintenance.. Not detailed one.. Probably I will change after a year. Just want to taste. I don't say I will buy, but in case if I can't wait to save more... biggrin.gif
DrBarbarian
post Apr 5 2014, 11:48 PM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

I used to own a msport e60 with magnesium engine. gearbox and active steering is a known problem for this car. I personally din have issue with it but many of my club mates had experienced problems. cost around 20k for gearbox and 10k for active steering.

car is very comfy to drive on highway. a tad too bumpy on uneven road though. non msport should feel better.

have u tried the x5D??? that's superb!!!!!!
jags
post Apr 5 2014, 11:48 PM

282 posts

before you buy a bmw, make sure to run to vin number/chassis number by bmwvin.com.

i am not a big fan of the e53, i find it to be outdated, although the interior quality is better than the e60.

QUOTE(omerhalit @ Apr 5 2014, 11:33 PM)
LCI is great but I cannot afford that right now. But I will try to get magnesium engine. I also heard. It is more stable. I just need to save more then.

X5 is cheaper than E60. I think the reason is spare parts then. Losing hope on X5 slowly.

jags
post Apr 5 2014, 11:54 PM

282 posts

RM20k!!?? for gearbox!!!??? bro, i hate to break it to you, but you basically got screwed!!!!! rebuilding the 6hp19 gearbox is roughly about RM5-RM6k. I have never heard of a complete failure of the gearbox before. usually its the valve body (brain of the gearbox). BMW doesn't recommend changing the ATF, and that really caused a lot of problems, usually to the valve body. Rebuilding the valve body is about RM3.5k.

About the active steering, a weak battery can also cause lots of errors to come out, and one of them is the active steering. did you try resetting the active steering?

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Apr 5 2014, 11:48 PM)
I used to own a msport e60 with magnesium engine. gearbox and active steering is a known problem for this car. I personally din have issue with it but many of my club mates had experienced problems. cost around 20k for gearbox and 10k for active steering.

car is very comfy to drive on highway. a tad too bumpy on uneven road though. non msport should feel better.

TSomerhalit
post Apr 5 2014, 11:56 PM

QUOTE(jags @ Apr 5 2014, 11:48 PM)
before you buy a bmw, make sure to run to vin number/chassis number by bmwvin.com.

i am not a big fan of the e53, i find it to be outdated, although the interior quality is better than the e60.
Pictures helped!
jags
post Apr 5 2014, 11:59 PM

282 posts

i am not saying the 320i is a piece of shit bcos you are driving it. the 2.0 litre engine is an outdated engine. that is why you have a bad impression of bmw. I don't wish to argue with you, if i was insulting, i apologise. I find it really irritating when people come up general statements like "RM10k also not enough to maintain a bmw" or "BMW cannot last for more than 10 years". at least the other guy came up with figures (although it is highly inflated)

QUOTE(kahjye @ Apr 5 2014, 11:41 PM)
hahahaha thank you for enlightening me .

yes 320i is piece of shit and u can f*** me all u want  doh.gif

i dont really care much as i do not look in to any 2nd hand cars.
TSomerhalit
post Apr 6 2014, 12:00 AM

QUOTE(jags @ Apr 5 2014, 11:54 PM)
btw what is your budget bro?
My budget is Rm70k at max. I can find X5 2003 at 60K. But 2005 Magnesium engine E60 is around 90K. So I am short a lot. But sometimes I see people sell it much cheaper for urgent cash to cash buyers.
TSomerhalit
post Apr 6 2014, 12:02 AM

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Apr 5 2014, 11:48 PM)
Sorry, out of my league right now.. doh.gif
jags
post Apr 6 2014, 12:05 AM

282 posts

bro the best advice i can give you is to find someone knowledgeable to follow you when you are out hunting for the e60. if you have no experience, at least take the car for an inspection to the mechanic of your choice before you seal the deal and make sure the mechanic has proper bmw diagnostic tools. that way you know what you are getting into. the e60 is a complicated beast, before you commit yourself, go to forums specializing in bmw's and just read up all of it.

QUOTE(omerhalit @ Apr 5 2014, 11:56 PM)
Pictures helped!
jags
post Apr 6 2014, 12:08 AM

282 posts

be very cautious if someone wants to sell you their car cash. if you were taking a loan, the bank will be there to take care of your interest (or is it theirs hmm.gif).

i think RM70k is on the low side. when looking for used cars, cheap doesn't mean good.

QUOTE(omerhalit @ Apr 6 2014, 12:00 AM)
My budget is Rm70k at max. I can find X5 2003 at 60K. But 2005 Magnesium engine E60 is around 90K. So I am short a lot. But sometimes I see people sell it much cheaper for urgent cash to cash buyers.
TSomerhalit
post Apr 6 2014, 12:13 AM

QUOTE(jags @ Apr 6 2014, 12:05 AM)
bro the best advice i can give you is to find someone knowledgeable to follow you when you are out hunting for the e60. if you have no experience, at least take the car for an inspection to the mechanic of your choice before you seal the deal and make sure the mechanic has proper bmw diagnostic tools. that way you know what you are getting into. the e60 is a complicated beast, before you commit yourself, go to forums specializing in bmw's and just read up all of it.
Yeah, I've been reading BMW forums last 2-3 days. As you said, E60 is a complicated car. It must be checked with computer. Otherwise, won't know what's coming up.

Anyway, thanks for the advice.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 6 2014, 12:20 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

why not get this... can nego to 70k... kereta boss yo!... u put a african country flag in front polis dare not saman u... u speed also dare not saman u

http://www.mudah.my/BMW+735i+E65+A+V6+Japa...03-26521700.htm
http://www.mudah.my/BMW+735i+E65+Sedan+Pea...te-19643674.htm
http://www.mudah.my/BMW+735i+E65+-25706868.htm
TSomerhalit
post Apr 6 2014, 12:30 AM

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 6 2014, 12:20 AM)
why not get this... can nego to 70k... kereta boss yo!... u put a african country flag in front polis dare not saman u... u speed also dare not saman u

The only problem with it is the roadtax. Other than time, gorgeous interior and features at that price.

X5 has 3.0 engine but it is SUV. So, the roadtax is cheaper.
ethan99
post Apr 6 2014, 12:41 AM

230 posts

Go for e60 early batch the engine is super tahan lasak and spare part is also cheaper compare to n52. Of cause lci last batch is the best but the price still above 100k++
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 6 2014, 12:41 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(omerhalit @ Apr 6 2014, 12:30 AM)
The only problem with it is the roadtax. Other than time, gorgeous interior and features at that price.

X5 has 3.0 engine but it is SUV. So, the roadtax is cheaper.
true la... from d sound of it ts not very rich also... zzzz, 3.0 engine...

one thing good bout x5 i think d side window is too high for mat rempit to smash n steal handbag, right?
DrBarbarian
post Apr 6 2014, 09:36 AM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

QUOTE(jags @ Apr 5 2014, 11:54 PM)
RM20k!!?? for gearbox!!!??? bro, i hate to break it to you, but you basically got screwed!!!!! rebuilding the 6hp19 gearbox is roughly about RM5-RM6k. I have never heard of a complete failure of the gearbox before. usually its the valve body (brain of the gearbox). BMW doesn't recommend changing the ATF, and that really caused a lot of problems, usually to the valve body. Rebuilding the valve body is about RM3.5k.

About the active steering, a weak battery can also cause lots of errors to come out, and one of them is the active steering. did you try resetting the active steering?
do read my replies properly b4 yanking away.....
teikwing
post Apr 6 2014, 06:00 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(omerhalit @ Apr 6 2014, 12:13 AM)
Yeah, I've been reading BMW forums last 2-3 days. As you said, E60 is a complicated car. It must be checked with computer. Otherwise, won't know what's coming up.

Anyway, thanks for the advice.
If you search hard enough, you are able to find the pre-LCI E60 (525i or 530i, M54 engines) for about 60-70k. In fact, a friend is looking to let go his E60 530i for circa 70k. 2003/2004 model with all the bells & whistles (Active Steering, Comfort Seats, Dynamic Drive etc.). Genuine low milleage as well. Do PM me if you are interested.
GARYPKK
post Apr 7 2014, 01:04 AM

98 posts

Dude, check this out

http://www.mudah.my/Bmw+e60+525i+b+m+sport...05-26361814.htm

or

http://www.mudah.my/Bmw+e60+a+525-25618490.htm

This post has been edited by GARYPKK: Apr 7 2014, 01:06 AM
TSomerhalit
post Apr 7 2014, 01:13 AM

QUOTE(GARYPKK @ Apr 7 2014, 01:04 AM)
Seen both of them. The second one is fake. The first one doesn't pick up. Regularly checking 3-4 car websites daily to not to miss any chance biggrin.gif

Thanks for your concern.
amdxp
post Apr 7 2014, 11:40 AM

239 posts

When some offerings are way off the market trend, one will doubt what is in it.

No way a E60 yr 2005 can cost below RM50k, not now when it's still able to get HP financing. Wait for it to past 10 years of age, then the value shall tumble more.

Like teikwing mentioned, the 530i is the better bet tongue.gif Alway buy from direct owner, then you will get genuine mileage and maintenance history. Used car dealer can't wait to temper the mileage reading and destroy the maintenance record in order to sell you with a good margin.

My younger brother used to own a 520i 2.2 inline 6 for 6 years, I understand that after 4-5 years the car gave him some headache. I-drive electronics part been replaced one, air-cond system down (IC, compressor and cooling coil). If not mistaken he spent more than RM10k for the i-drive thingy and air-cond repair.

Engine and gearbox were good, just need discipline on schedule maintenance on them.

If you want better reliability on a BMW, E39 5 series is a better bet, but old lar wink.gif
TSomerhalit
post Apr 7 2014, 12:51 PM

QUOTE(amdxp @ Apr 7 2014, 11:40 AM)
When some offerings are way off the.....
Yeah. Too good to be true. But once I knew someone sold his BMW 5.20 E60 2003 for rm48k. Urgent money need. It was 2 years back. And 2 weeks after I bought my car. Missed it very bad.

By the way, No one suggeated X5. What is wrong with X5 series?

Sharv The Great
post Apr 7 2014, 02:48 PM

40 posts

yeap..gotta agree...4 potters BMW lost their DNA...BMW's tradition is to have 6 cylinders and I have no idea why they're introducing the 4 cylinder turbocharged ones
teikwing
post Apr 7 2014, 04:35 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(omerhalit @ Apr 7 2014, 12:51 PM)
Yeah. Too good to be true. But once I knew someone sold his BMW 5.20 E60 2003 for rm48k. Urgent money need. It was 2 years back. And 2 weeks after I bought my car. Missed it very bad.

By the way, No one suggeated X5. What is wrong with X5 series?
The E53 is quite rare among common drivers hence the lack of inputs from forummers here.

BMWCM is your best bet for infos.

http://www.bmwclubmalaysia.com/newforums/i...m/119-x-series/

http://www.bmwclubmalaysia.com/newforums/i...eaper-remedies/
HitamHad
post Apr 8 2014, 12:15 AM

21 posts

It will cost you 3-5k pa to maintain the E53 (road tax 1600, insurance 1500-2500, include windscreen, engine oil 600 plus brake pads, sensors etc); if there are no major problems.

Battery and tyres cost around 1200 each if need replacement, but should last 3 yrs. Hopefully there is no problem with the expensive to repair ABS, airsprings and aircond systems; broken power windows cost 600-800 to replace.

A well maintained 2003 E53 is still a pleasure to drive if you ignore minor irritations like missing pixels in the instrument panel and MID. But you should test drive and compare with the 5 series.

If really interested to buy get a full computer diagnostic confirm ID and highlight error codes.

Pax.
TSomerhalit
post Apr 8 2014, 12:58 AM

QUOTE(teikwing @ Apr 7 2014, 04:35 PM)
The E53 is quite rare among common drivers hence the lack of inputs from forummers here.

BMWCM is your best bet for infos.

http://www.bmwclubmalaysia.com/newforums/i...m/119-x-series/

http://www.bmwclubmalaysia.com/newforums/i...eaper-remedies/
Had some time there reading threads. Common issues of X5 a little wierd like power windows and door handle. Waja has power window issues but come on.. this is X5. Thanks for the link.
TSomerhalit
post Apr 8 2014, 01:03 AM

QUOTE(HitamHad @ Apr 8 2014, 12:15 AM)
It will cost you 3-5k pa to maintain the E53 (road tax 1600, insurance 1500-2500, include windscreen, engine oil 600 plus brake pads, sensors etc); if there are no major problems.

Battery and tyres cost around 1200 each if need replacement, but should last 3 yrs. Hopefully there is no problem with the expensive to repair ABS, airsprings and aircond systems; broken power windows cost 600-800 to replace.

A well maintained 2003 E53 is still a pleasure to drive if you ignore minor irritations like missing pixels in the instrument panel and MID. But you should test drive and compare with the 5 series.

If really interested to buy get a full computer diagnostic confirm ID and highlight error codes.

Pax.
Nice one. Thanks. Yearly 5k is fine but it wont stay at 5k i think. Tyres need replacement every 2 years approximately. Battery as well. 2 or 3 years max. And other standard tears like brake pads or gearbox oil etc. I think one should expect rm7-10k maintenance cost average. Rm5k minimum.

But it still worth having X5. biggrin.gif

I think 5 series won't cost this much to maintain, right?

teikwing
post Apr 8 2014, 08:47 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(omerhalit @ Apr 8 2014, 01:03 AM)
Nice one. Thanks. Yearly 5k is fine but it wont stay at 5k i think. Tyres need replacement every 2 years approximately. Battery as well. 2 or 3 years max. And other standard tears like brake pads or gearbox oil etc. I think one should expect rm7-10k maintenance cost average. Rm5k minimum.

But it still worth having X5. biggrin.gif

I think 5 series won't cost this much to maintain,  right?
Highly subjective. Common issues associated with E60s are gearbox solenoids & mechantronics (about RM5k), Active Steering (about RM8k), aircond cooling coil/compressor (within RM3k) etc. Tires are minimum 17" (but 18" looks much better). Engine-wise the M54 is pretty much bullet-proof except maybe the VANOS seals. High milleage ones you probably need to start overhaul the cooling system as well (various hoses, pumps & radiator).

All-in-all, used BMWs are not cheap to maintain if you got yourself a bad unit which previous owner did not maintain properly. Hence, the rule of thumb whenever getting a used continental is always ensure full service records and low milleage (genuine). And like what others have mentioned, never ever get one without sending the car for proper computer diagnostic/scanning for various error codes (historical & present ones).
DrBarbarian
post Apr 8 2014, 09:12 AM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

e60 tires cost me rm2k each..... battery can last 5-6 years!! one of my reverse sensor had to be changed due to accident... RM400....

e60 comfort seat are the most comfy I tried so far..... smile.gif 12 way adjustable...
spoon2272
post Apr 10 2014, 04:36 PM

1,117 posts

My 9 years old E60 Japan spec never bring a problem to me.Just sent it for regular service only smile.gif
TSomerhalit
post Apr 12 2014, 08:42 PM

Thanks all for sharing your valuable experiences. I've decided to go for E60. Poll results were important.

But like most suggested, never ever buy without having proper computerized diagnosis.

Thanks again.

0.0642sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:05 PM