About Vision Therapy Eyewear, Vision Therapy Eyewear

TShiyajac
post Jul 25 2006, 02:48 PM, updated 20y ago

19 posts

Has anyone heard before Vision Therapy Eyewear?
It's like a sunglasses, with a lot of pinhole, claims will help enable clearer vision.
They are selling in Guardian, for less than RM100.

Anyone use it before, please share your experience here. cool.gif

Here is the photo:

This post has been edited by hiyajac: Jul 25 2006, 03:04 PM
aLittleMisfit
post Feb 1 2007, 10:41 AM

Honorary Lifetime Misfit
886 posts

selling around $78 at guardian... i'm thinking of getting one... but i doubt the result...

anyone ever tried it before.. kinda expensive
Vmaker
post Feb 1 2007, 01:05 PM

447 posts

I had bought it...

For me I think its works.. make my vision a slightly clear after wearing it a few times.. but after not using it for some times (maybe a week), my vision is back to "my normal" vision.
- I guess you have to regularly use it for making your eyes having clear vision or heal.

Note: i use it mostly at home, while watching TV and "sometimes" during driving.
aLittleMisfit
post Feb 1 2007, 01:42 PM

Honorary Lifetime Misfit
886 posts

really... hmm.gif .. better buy it then... use it for work. facing PC too much.

but its not recommended for driving..
Grajindo
post Feb 1 2007, 03:07 PM

2,171 posts

if i have short sightness. can i wear? or i need to wear a pair of contact lens 1st?
ed0gawa
post Feb 1 2007, 03:26 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

I tried wearing it on the spot.

DAMN!! IT WORKS~~~
It even works better than my specs...

but i didn't buy.. when i saw it, it was selling for like $SGD80
aLittleMisfit
post Feb 1 2007, 03:40 PM

Honorary Lifetime Misfit
886 posts

QUOTE(Grajindo @ Feb 1 2007, 03:07 PM)
if i have short sightness. can i wear? or i need to wear a pair of contact lens 1st?
depends on your short sight level. mostly no.

QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Feb 1 2007, 03:26 PM)
I tried wearing it on the spot.
DAMN!! IT WORKS~~~
It even works better than my specs...
but i didn't buy.. when i saw it, it was selling for like $SGD80
hmm.gif but even for around rm78... still looks bit expensive for its price cause seems crudely made plastic
rivoluzione
post Feb 1 2007, 04:10 PM

353 posts

where can i get a cheapest?i would like to try
aLittleMisfit
post Feb 1 2007, 04:34 PM

Honorary Lifetime Misfit
886 posts

QUOTE(rivoluzione @ Feb 1 2007, 04:10 PM)
where can i get a cheapest?i would like to try
i only saw at guardian. So far didnt saw other places selling

for cheapest... proceed to buy kanak-kanak toy spec..... heat up a small nail... proceed to poke hole along the spec..
*disclaimer: the author do not guarantee or insured the effectiveness of above method.
rivoluzione
post Feb 1 2007, 06:59 PM

353 posts

mind to post more photo?
Grajindo
post Feb 1 2007, 09:33 PM

2,171 posts

what is the lens of the glasses?
ed0gawa
post Feb 1 2007, 11:07 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

There is no lens, just a piece of black plastic with holes....

the one i saw is fully black.. looks better than the one that TS shown us.. (but still ugly)
rivoluzione
post Feb 2 2007, 07:09 PM

353 posts

can i get my normal eyesign back by wearing this?
nyprinz83
post Feb 3 2007, 05:46 PM

480 posts

QUOTE(rivoluzione @ Feb 2 2007, 09:09 PM)
can i get my normal eyesign back by wearing this?
i doubt so. only way to get back normal eyesight if you go for laser surgery
aLittleMisfit
post Feb 7 2007, 09:11 AM

Honorary Lifetime Misfit
886 posts

i bought it yesterday... darn ugly! if u paint the exterior yellow u might look like baja hitam!

well, to answer the doubt after 1 day:
1) It works, can see clearer
2) Don't know whether it'll "heal" my eye sight or not
3) Cause a bit nausea after a while.. which "suppose" to be normal
4) Darn annoying when watching TV... seems to be blocking a bit view
5) Look weird when wearing it.
xingal
post Feb 7 2007, 02:36 PM

144 posts

i hav a colleague n my cousin sis oso used da glasses.
both of dem claimed dat it works. tongue.gif
yihyan
post Feb 8 2007, 01:57 PM

862 posts

vision therapy....
watz the use, can make our eyesight better? but cannot fully recover it back.....

lets say our eyesight is 200, this thing manage to help us reduce to say 150, then we have to change our spec?

jamik
post Feb 11 2007, 04:00 PM

Vrooommmm
679 posts

wahhh im intrested, but im already wear spek, so how 2 use?? my eyesight very terok, doc say my kornea tak rata cry.gif cry.gif my vision cant 100% even wear spek, they advise 2 to gain my weight 1st... my weight 45, and 170 cm tall cry.gif
alanyuppie
post Feb 11 2007, 04:06 PM

2,833 posts

QUOTE(nyprinz83 @ Feb 3 2007, 06:46 PM)
i doubt so. only way to get back normal eyesight if you go for laser surgery
then u havent done enought research yet. laser surgery attempts to "distort"/ modify the natural form of the cornea to "correct" vision.

there are other vision improvements methods around but with slower improvement rate and much more effort.

its like slimming down.. you do it the easy way by liposuction, or the more time consuming way like exercise and joggings... same goes for vision improvement.

jamik
post Feb 11 2007, 04:16 PM

Vrooommmm
679 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Feb 11 2007, 04:06 PM)
then u havent done enought research yet. laser surgery attempts to "distort"/ modify the natural form of the cornea to "correct" vision.

there are other vision improvements methods around but with slower improvement rate and much more effort.

its like slimming down.. you do it the easy way by liposuction, or the more time consuming way like exercise and joggings... same goes for vision improvement.
emmm may b i should try this... my curent spect power is left 400 right 200
ya, not balance, but after wear also not so clear.. cry.gif cry.gif any 1 have any comen o advise how can i fix it icon_question.gif ??
wai1460
post Feb 11 2007, 04:32 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(jamik @ Feb 11 2007, 04:16 PM)
emmm may b i should try this... my curent spect power is left 400 right 200
ya, not balance, but after wear also not so clear.. cry.gif  cry.gif  any 1 have any comen o advise how can i fix it icon_question.gif ??
How long u've been using it?try to relax urself.Trust me..i've use it before and it works(its take times too).....use the chart that is provided in the website too.....
If possible try to join their seminar too but have to pay lar!!!
jamik
post Feb 11 2007, 04:41 PM

Vrooommmm
679 posts

QUOTE(wai1460 @ Feb 11 2007, 04:32 PM)
How long u've been using it?try to relax urself.Trust me..i've use it before and it works(its take times too).....use the chart that is provided in the website too.....
If possible try to join their seminar too  but  have to pay lar!!!
wearing what?? spect?? juz around 5 years,.. seminar? sweat.gif sweat.gif if this eye therapy spect work i also wana get 1...... cool2.gif
aLittleMisfit
post Feb 12 2007, 10:16 AM

Honorary Lifetime Misfit
886 posts

here's part of the manual

Light travels in straight lines. They don't bend around pin-holes, resulting in
fewer light rays traveling through the holes. A sharpened image is formed
on the retinal when one wears a pair of pin-hole glasses or Vision Therapy
Eyewear.

The Vision Therapy Eyewear can help myopic, astigmatic and presbyopic adults
and children see better without prescription glasses. The Eyewear works best as a
substitute to glasses with a diopter of less than 3.0 (or 300 degrees, minus or plus
diopter). For diopters between 3.0 to  5.0, using the Eyewear for reading or
computer use (not reading off fine prints far away) may be suitable for some
individuals. Beyond 5.0 diopter, the Eyewear is not likely to be useful. In this case,
stepped-down glasses are more suitable, especially when used in conjunction with
vision therapy.

Traditional Industry View:
1. Eye lens & shape of eyeball are warped
2. Permanent damage
3. Surgery to correct damage
4. Glasses to prevent deterioration
5. Don't agree on root cause

Dr Bates View:
1. Every part of the body can perform efficiently
2. Vision therapy can restore normal vision
3. Good vision habits
4. Eliminate glasses or stepped-down glasses
5. Stress and strain
jamik
post Feb 12 2007, 03:30 PM

Vrooommmm
679 posts

QUOTE(aLittleMisfit @ Feb 12 2007, 10:16 AM)
here's part of the manual
so u say its good la?? blink.gif
aLittleMisfit
post Feb 13 2007, 09:30 AM

Honorary Lifetime Misfit
886 posts

QUOTE(jamik @ Feb 12 2007, 03:30 PM)
so u say its good la?? blink.gif
eer.. i didnt say its good. i've just bought it... whether it can "heal" my eyesight are still to be seen. but it IS clearer when i use it.

jamik
post Feb 13 2007, 04:26 PM

Vrooommmm
679 posts

QUOTE(aLittleMisfit @ Feb 13 2007, 09:30 AM)
eer.. i didnt say its good. i've just bought it... whether it can "heal" my eyesight are still to be seen. but it IS clearer when i use it.
ooo ic... any other people wana share somthing bout this?/ WelCoMEd icon_rolleyes.gif
Lefty
post Feb 25 2007, 10:24 PM

Designer Piece
750 posts

so how is the effect ? all user pls kindly let me know ur experiences . thx
stargate
post Feb 26 2007, 10:26 AM

215 posts

I have tried it. I'm short sighted, and find it hard to use it to read newspaper. Not very clear. But watch TV is ok la, though at first I'm not use to it. So many holes. Don't know which one to look through... haha.

I won't say that it help to reduce my power, maybe need to use for a longer term like 1 year gua.
lxwong
post Feb 26 2007, 11:51 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(jamik @ Feb 11 2007, 04:00 PM)
wahhh im intrested, but im already wear spek, so how 2 use?? my eyesight very terok, doc say my kornea tak rata cry.gif  cry.gif    my vision cant 100% even wear spek, they advise 2 to gain my weight 1st... my weight 45, and 170 cm tall cry.gif
kornea tak rata , I think is called astigmatism.
Canopies
post Feb 27 2007, 09:33 PM

2,733 posts

short sighted is jing shi rite?
jamik
post Mar 4 2007, 04:30 PM

Vrooommmm
679 posts

QUOTE(lxwong @ Feb 26 2007, 11:51 PM)
kornea tak rata , I think is called astigmatism.
where u know bout this ??? got any treatment ar for this??? if i use this stuff ok ar??? help me dude.... icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
oneeleven
post Mar 6 2007, 11:43 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(aLittleMisfit @ Feb 1 2007, 10:41 AM)
selling around $78 at guardian... i'm thinking of getting one... but i doubt the result...

anyone ever tried it before.. kinda expensive
Definitely overpriced. These things come and go like the fad slimming gadgets sold on TV. Many years ago I saw these specs sold in big bins in the cheap sale section of department stores for RM$5, SG$2 only, when nobody had heard of them, and nobody advertised them. Made in China, I believe (present ones probably also MIC).

Ngto
post Mar 7 2007, 10:31 PM

4,350 posts

Pinhole 'glasses' have been around for sometime already, but only recently available over here. Don't expect some form of miracle. They are not made from glass but just some sort plastic/card material with lot of holes in them.

As simple as that.

It is only recommended to use them in stationary or slow moving situations like reading a book, watching TV etc. That's because you have to look through the holes to focus on something. If your eyes are rapidly moving ,they will be temporarily obstructed by the parts which does not have holes so your reaction will slow considerably.

It is only meant to train and improve your eyesight and be less dependent on your regular glasses.
jamik
post Mar 14 2007, 01:37 PM

Vrooommmm
679 posts

huuuhhhh???
siewsphone
post Apr 21 2007, 08:52 AM

198 posts

I'm selling something similar but much much cheaper.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=445469
anielegal
post Sep 20 2008, 04:37 PM

hye..i'm 3rd year student of optometry..i've found this web accidentally when im searching something regarding on my assignments.I've already wrote bout dis issue in my blog: http://adnexahani.blog.friendster.com/
I would like to emphasize here, there may be two conclusion if u feel better after wearing this spectacle. 1st, your accommodation is relax, so for short-sighted(myopic eye), the image is bring closer to your retina, so, thats why u have feeling clearer. 2ndly, with the pinhole spectacle yes, you may have the feeling of relaxation, because your eye is relax from accommodation and this feeling make you relief from eyestrain. But these feeling is only temporarily and only apply in certain condition (e.g you are overcorrect with current spectacle, you may not realize it because our eye easily adapt to it and yet causes big problem in the end.
Please check out my blog and for further detail explanation can email me..
People always claim their product good like all the slimming product...please dont be cheated, there is no establish way as far as optometrist concern method that can reduce spectacle power for short-sighted..but can to decrease the progression from become worsen.tq
visionexpert926
post Oct 16 2008, 04:24 PM

this pinhole spec unable to recover ur vision.
if you wear this , ur vision bcome clearer, meaning ur vision not in best vision. eithter you have astigmatism or shortsighted. normally is astigmatism case.
incrediblejet
post Mar 7 2012, 05:27 PM

I have seen this from my friend's post in the FB. The company are doing free preview talk in KL@Pearl Point Hotel about the eyewear with Bates Method. May be you can find out the answer there since it's free for everyone IF you are able to grab a free seat on time ! tongue.gif

Free register at - http://www.thebatesmethod.com/bmpt_register.asp smile.gif
advTech
post Nov 25 2023, 09:23 AM

198 posts

Very sorry to revive an old thread. After this many years, are there still people using this? What's the verdict?

0.0246sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:36 PM