Nokia Lumia 930 Official Thread V1, 5 inch Windows Phone 8.1 RM1999

glowinthedark
post Mar 16 2015, 02:52 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(elite87 @ Mar 16 2015, 11:08 AM)
Bought from the nokia store . The corner shop...
Bought mine from DirectD for RM1799 total cost including 8% CC service charge + white color option. RM1499 at Nokia store sounds like a good deal, but since I wanted to buy the phone under 0% EPP, only DirectD (trusted retailer) had that option, that too with my preferred bank. Official Nokia store doesn't accept 0% instalment right? Maybe that's the extra price to pay if you opt for 0% monthly instalment. Basically I paid RM300 above normal price. Feels kinda cheated, but I can't complain much because I got the monthly instalment option, and white color (allegedly cost RM30 extra). The guy gave me 1 screen protector, car charger, 1 usb stick (dono the size, never bother to check), screen wipe, another thing I don't even know what's that, and finally some disney key holder or something. Pretty much nothing that is useful except maybe the car charger, but I'm not planning to charge my 930 using the cigarette power outlet, because I heard the voltage is not consistent and could damage your battery. Maybe that's why my previous Samsung phone battery became "fat". Haha.

Speaking about battery usage and charging, I normally charge my 930 once the battery drops to below 10%. Basically when the phone gives me warning about the low battery is when I charge my phone. Every time. Seems to me the most ideal way is this. Charge the phone when the phone asks you to, right? :-D
About overnight charging, I don't do it because of my timing. I normally charge my phone in office during the day when I rarely use the phone, so by around evening 4-5PM my battery will be 100%. That, with my normal usage (pretty minimum usage actually), it can last until the next day late afternoon about the same time I started to charge my phone the previous day. I follow this routine of charging. I have only let it charge overnight only once ever since I bought it. And also, even if you leave it overnight, there should be no problem as the OS is smart enough to stop the charging once it reaches 100%. Pretty much all smartphones should have this capability, it's actually basic feature of a smartphone nowadays.
noorimanyosh
post Mar 16 2015, 06:30 PM

saoirse ronan :3
2,148 posts

QUOTE(matmoto5125 @ Mar 16 2015, 06:11 AM)
Finally managed to grab the Orange one to replace my 3-year old Lumia 800. Been using wife's 525 and then 820 for the past months. tongue.gif

Excellent phone and excellent customer service by Nokia Store The Curve. Got free power bank, notepad and Coloud Knock PWP. thumbup.gif
wow Lumia 800...still lovin that WP liao
matmoto5125
post Mar 16 2015, 09:51 PM

Silent Reader
1,305 posts

QUOTE(glowinthedark @ Mar 16 2015, 02:52 PM)
Bought mine from DirectD for RM1799 total cost including 8% CC service charge + white color option. RM1499 at Nokia store sounds like a good deal, but since I wanted to buy the phone under 0% EPP, only DirectD (trusted retailer) had that option, that too with my preferred bank. Official Nokia store doesn't accept 0% instalment right? Maybe that's the extra price to pay if you opt for 0% monthly instalment. Basically I paid RM300 above normal price. Feels kinda cheated, but I can't complain much because I got the monthly instalment option, and white color (allegedly cost RM30 extra). The guy gave me 1 screen protector, car charger, 1 usb stick (dono the size, never bother to check), screen wipe, another thing I don't even know what's that, and finally some disney key holder or something. Pretty much nothing that is useful except maybe the car charger, but I'm not planning to charge my 930 using the cigarette power outlet, because I heard the voltage is not consistent and could damage your battery. Maybe that's why my previous Samsung phone battery became "fat". Haha.

Speaking about battery usage and charging, I normally charge my 930 once the battery drops to below 10%. Basically when the phone gives me warning about the low battery is when I charge my phone. Every time. Seems to me the most ideal way is this. Charge the phone when the phone asks you to, right? :-D
About overnight charging, I don't do it because of my timing. I normally charge my phone in office during the day when I rarely use the phone, so by around evening 4-5PM my battery will be 100%. That, with my normal usage (pretty minimum usage actually), it can last until the next day late afternoon about the same time I started to charge my phone the previous day. I follow this routine of charging. I have only let it charge overnight only once ever since I bought it. And also, even if you leave it overnight, there should be no problem as the OS is smart enough to stop the charging once it reaches 100%. Pretty much all smartphones should have this capability, it's actually basic feature of a smartphone nowadays.
Nokia Store accepts 0% EPP for 12 months with no extra charge for major banks in Malaysia. It's a daylight robbery if you ask me to charge you extra 8% to do installment and extra RM30 to get a white one. sweat.gif sweat.gif
minizian
post Mar 17 2015, 02:11 AM

1,074 posts

930 still sold for 1800 at some nokia store as far as i checked last week when I got my 930. Maybe there are slow to update i suppose?

I was going to buy Moto X to replace my N8 very soon before i changed my mind and stick is nokia cos i know i will miss the camera and the offline gps if i changed to Moto X. Thanks to the RM1500 deal I asked in KLCC nokia (Pavilion and Lowyat branch still priced at 1800 when asked), I straight away buy the phone on the spot thumbup.gif Nokia N8 still going strong except due for new battery change thumbup.gif

By the way, is there anyway to disable image in website? I have put data sense into high which will use lowest photos in the website which still zap some data MB's from my plan. I would still prefer to have the "do not show image" like in N8 they have this function where it will only show written text and blocked all photo from showing. I need it cos my phone only had 300MB data (still in prepaid cos i din call much so i don see the need to get postpaid for now, using whatapp more often lol laugh.gif)

Got such thing as adblock for internet explorer?

This post has been edited by minizian: Mar 17 2015, 02:15 AM
noorimanyosh
post Mar 17 2015, 05:27 AM

2,148 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Mar 17 2015, 01:11 AM)
930 still sold for 1800 at some nokia store as far as i checked last week when I got my 930. Maybe there are slow to update i suppose?

I was going to buy Moto X to replace my N8 very soon before i changed my mind and stick is nokia cos i know i will miss the camera and the offline gps if i changed to Moto X. Thanks to the RM1500 deal I asked in KLCC nokia (Pavilion and Lowyat branch still priced at 1800 when asked), I straight away buy the phone on the spot  thumbup.gif  Nokia N8 still going strong except due for new battery change thumbup.gif

By the way, is there anyway to disable image in website? I have put data sense into high which will use lowest photos in the website which still zap some data MB's from my plan. I would still prefer to have the "do not show image" like in N8 they have this function where it will only show written text and blocked all photo from showing. I need it cos my phone only had 300MB data (still in prepaid cos i din call much so i don see the need to get postpaid for now, using whatapp more often lol laugh.gif)

tried UC browser?
edr1c
post Mar 17 2015, 10:23 AM

228 posts

any1 letting go their 930? might consider getting 930 2nd hand =)
glowinthedark
post Mar 17 2015, 10:53 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(matmoto5125 @ Mar 16 2015, 09:51 PM)
Nokia Store accepts 0% EPP for 12 months with no extra charge for major banks in Malaysia. It's a daylight robbery if you ask me to charge you extra 8% to do installment and extra RM30 to get a white one. sweat.gif sweat.gif
Ouch. It seems like daylight robbery to me. The thing is, I've checked 2 places of Nokia Store and the price was still RM1799, so I thought all the stores should have the same price? Hence why I went to DirectD as their base price was RM1600++ cry.gif

matmoto5125
post Mar 17 2015, 01:41 PM

Silent Reader
1,305 posts

QUOTE(glowinthedark @ Mar 17 2015, 10:53 AM)
Ouch. It seems like daylight robbery to me. The thing is, I've checked 2 places of Nokia Store and the price was still RM1799, so I thought all the stores should have the same price? Hence why I went to DirectD as their base price was RM1600++  cry.gif
Look for Nokia Store which participate in "Buy 930 Get Acer W8 Tablet free" promo. Since these stores easily run out the tablet stock, they'll rebate the price to the RRP. That's how I get cheaper price. smile.gif
glowinthedark
post Mar 17 2015, 02:52 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(matmoto5125 @ Mar 17 2015, 01:41 PM)
Look for Nokia Store which participate in "Buy 930 Get Acer W8 Tablet free" promo. Since these stores easily run out the tablet stock, they'll rebate the price to the RRP. That's how I get cheaper price. smile.gif
Thanks for the tips brother, but unfortunately I already bought my Lumia 2 weeks back sweat.gif
Well, better luck next time for me! I shall scout more and wait for promotions for my next phone!
minizian
post Mar 17 2015, 10:33 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(matmoto5125 @ Mar 17 2015, 01:41 PM)
Pavilion branch and Lowyat nokia store had the tablet promo but they said its out of stock and will sell at RM1800 if wann buy phone itself.

If you buy with tablet it will be RM1999 doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by minizian: Mar 17 2015, 10:33 PM
glowinthedark
post Mar 20 2015, 09:12 AM

120 posts

Guys, how do you manually adjust in call volume? I see if I press the volume button, I only see the ringing tone and media volume. Is the only to adjust the call volume during the call itself? Any other way? Seems kinda weird the option is not available.

-glow-
edthrax
post Mar 20 2015, 11:32 AM

829 posts

just bought mine at klcc today, rm1499 with free bagpack n powerbank. still got all colours, took green. my first windows phone , coming from ios and android.
squall_kay
post Mar 20 2015, 01:21 PM

5,725 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Mar 17 2015, 02:11 AM)

I was going to buy Moto X to replace my N8 very soon before i changed my mind and stick is nokia cos i know i will miss the camera and the offline gps if i changed to Moto X. Thanks to the RM1500 deal I asked in KLCC nokia (Pavilion and Lowyat branch still priced at 1800 when asked), I straight away buy the phone on the spot  thumbup.gif  Nokia N8 still going strong except due for new battery change thumbup.gif

U won't miss the offline navigation even if u switch to moto x coz Nokia here apps is available for Android platform and working pretty great.

minizian
post Mar 20 2015, 09:27 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Mar 20 2015, 01:21 PM)
U won't miss the offline navigation even if u switch to moto x coz Nokia here apps is available for Android platform and working pretty great.
I bought 930 edi cos good deal yo. So far is doing well, just had to be careful cos my data plan is only 300mb cry.gif and i dont intend to upgrade to postpaid yet
sentimental value sticking to last nokia cry.gif

This post has been edited by minizian: Mar 20 2015, 09:28 PM
noorimanyosh
post Mar 21 2015, 02:34 AM

2,148 posts

QUOTE(edthrax @ Mar 20 2015, 10:32 AM)
just bought mine at klcc today, rm1499 with free bagpack n powerbank. still got all colours, took green. my first windows phone , coming from ios and android.
welcome to the family brah!
SpikeTwo
post Mar 23 2015, 08:05 PM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

is this phone still worth to buy? any idea when the 940 coming out?

btw, is 930 still packed with the Qi charger? thanks! feels like wanna move from weak android to windows phone.
mrl
post Mar 23 2015, 11:18 PM

977 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Mar 23 2015, 08:05 PM)
is this phone still worth to buy? any idea when the 940 coming out?

btw, is 930 still packed with the Qi charger? thanks! feels like wanna move from weak android to windows phone.
I would say still worth to buy unless hardware generation is your concern. 930 will come with Windows 10 anyway so the life span is still long. 940 will come out once Windows 10 come out, rumored to be somewhere around summer.

930 for Malaysia doesn't come with Qi charger.
SpikeTwo
post Mar 23 2015, 11:38 PM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

i am deciding between 940 or the z4. see which one comes out first. haha...its time to go back to windows maybe.
minizian
post Mar 24 2015, 10:04 PM

1,074 posts

Was thinking which camera app the best for 8.1? Lumia Camera or Microsoft camera for 930? How to know i if i using MS camera when there only can acess Lumia Camera rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

edit: i only can acess MS Camera by pressing the camera physical button after i set it as default camera. Somewhat there is no app button for MS camera.

I find that Lumia colours are more warmer too. unsure.gif

This post has been edited by minizian: Mar 24 2015, 10:16 PM
matmoto5125
post Mar 25 2015, 03:35 PM

Silent Reader
1,305 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Mar 24 2015, 10:04 PM)
Was thinking which camera app the best for 8.1? Lumia Camera or Microsoft camera for 930? How to know i if i using MS camera when there only can acess Lumia Camera rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

edit: i only can acess MS Camera by pressing the camera physical button after i set it as default camera. Somewhat there is no app button for MS camera.

I find that Lumia colours are more warmer too. unsure.gif
Can change in Display setting. I prefer to set it in the middle.

45 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0723sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:19 PM