Tumour in the neck/throat, How to help save a friend??

TSGray Fox [X]
post Jul 24 2006, 11:54 PM, updated 20y ago

235 posts

My friend, only 17 years old this year, diagnose with a tumour growth inside his neck/throat. The doc said its been there for 3 years. The doc ask him to do an operation imediately to save his life because he is really running out of time. But the main problem, operation cost him RM80k and he has no money and insurance. The doc said he can live until end of next year only. December 2007 will be his D-Day. Quit school and trying to have as much fun as possible till his D-Day. I really feel bad for him. Im just watching him to die. As a friend what do u guys think I can do to help him? Well Im not that rich so I cant fork our RM80k for him since Im only a college student. Please give some advice. Thanks.
loki
post Jul 24 2006, 11:57 PM

2,109 posts

Look for Michael Chong or Lim Kit Siang....
vincent_ng86
post Jul 25 2006, 12:00 AM

1,659 posts

His family member didn't try to help?
darklight79
post Jul 25 2006, 12:04 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(Gray Fox [X] @ Jul 24 2006, 11:54 PM)
My friend, only 17 years old this year, diagnose with a tumour growth inside his neck/throat. The doc said its been there for 3 years. The doc ask him to do an operation imediately to save his life because he is really running out of time. But the main problem, operation cost him RM80k and he has no money and insurance. The doc said he can live until end of next year only. December 2007 will be his D-Day. Quit school and trying to have as much fun as possible till his D-Day. I really feel bad for him. Im just watching him to die. As a friend what do u guys think I can do to help him? Well Im not that rich so I cant fork our RM80k for him since Im only a college student. Please give some advice. Thanks.
Damn. Cancer presenting with neck lumps have a bad prognosis. sad.gif
I'm sorry about your friend. How about approaching friendly newspapers, etc for donations. But they would think twice, since it's only a year left.
TSGray Fox [X]
post Jul 25 2006, 12:05 AM

235 posts

Only the uncle and some friends knows, the rest dont know. At first I also dont know. I just got to know about it 3 weeks ago. Today I asked him personally to confirm he said yes. Pity him lah. Really like the running out of time movie. sad.gif
thivaakar
post Jul 25 2006, 12:06 AM

581 posts

omg..im sorry bout ur fren..well do wat darklight says..i doubt they`ll do anything cuz a year left....
TSGray Fox [X]
post Jul 25 2006, 12:10 AM

235 posts

Yeah, the money might be wasted if he dies in the operation, the doc told him 50-50.
Unwritten law
post Jul 25 2006, 12:12 AM

| | NJ Legion Iced Tea | |
745 posts

how is the boy taking it? enjoying?
i mean does it show side effects of the tumour already?
im curious yet impress how the doctor can clarify and confirm the time he's gonna go.

This post has been edited by Unwritten law: Jul 25 2006, 12:13 AM
TSGray Fox [X]
post Jul 25 2006, 12:12 AM

235 posts

QUOTE(loki @ Jul 24 2006, 11:57 PM)
Look for Michael Chong or Lim Kit Siang....
Err he is an Indian lah so I think should look for someone from MIC??
empire23
post Jul 25 2006, 12:14 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Not much you can do as after it hits a lymph node (which the neck is filled with) even with the operation there's no guarantee you'll be home free. But i'm sure someone can illicit some donations for the dude, and IIRC there are many hospitals overseas that offer free treatment programmes depending on elligibility.
TSGray Fox [X]
post Jul 25 2006, 12:19 AM

235 posts

QUOTE(Unwritten law @ Jul 25 2006, 12:12 AM)
how is the boy taking it? enjoying?
i mean does it show side effects of the tumour already?
The pain has not arrive yet. Maybe cause its not in its final stage yet. Well yeah he is enjoying life now, 1 year more to go, so he quit school and go out enjoy most of the time but still have to work lah to get some money. When the pain arrives I dont think I can bare to see him suffer, my another friend, his father died of stomach cancer. He told me the doc gave him morphins to the max and yet no effect cause too painfull. He was beside him until he died. Really a painful death.

One think I hate about Malaysia is they dont have something like in UK. My cousin from UK told me if u have cancer/tumour u will undergo surgery straight away. No need to pay a single cent!!! Yes its free. The chances of survival is higher some more cause of new technology. In Malaysia, no money death awaits u only. Really unfair men. Are we suppose to stand there and watch our friends or familiy members die if we are poor?? There should be a hot debate on this.
andriel
post Jul 25 2006, 01:34 AM

Justin Jibber
623 posts

Im sorry for your friend. You can help by being by his side accompanying him lo..
Invisible
post Jul 25 2006, 01:40 AM

241 posts

I hope he'll be spending his great time for the time being...

Cloudx
post Jul 25 2006, 01:44 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,521 posts

Sorry to hear bout ur friend. I know the feeling cuz my mum was diagnose with first stage ovarian cancer.. but luckily they detected early and now she's recovering..

So may god bless ur friend
ExCrIpT
post Jul 25 2006, 01:45 AM

1,672 posts

Sorry to hear that.
May i ask what made him to have a check on his neck? any symptoms besides the lump?
kingmaker_20
post Jul 25 2006, 04:07 AM

" t3H 1337(tm)"
3,159 posts

QUOTE(Gray Fox [X] @ Jul 25 2006, 12:12 AM)
Err he is an Indian lah so I think should look for someone from MIC??
No.You can try contacting any of them regardless of races.
Where did your friend had the checkup?How about GH?Tried contacting Jabatan Kebajikan Malaysia?
LYFfan
post Jul 25 2006, 08:15 AM

229 posts

I have a friend who had similar cancer, they took out his salivary glands and lymph nodes in the neck. That was done 15 years ago,he's still alive today but he has no more saliva and has to drink from a bottle to wet his mouth. So tell your friend not to be depressed, tell him to fight,it makes a lot of difference to be optimistic and positive to fight the disease. As for money,why not ask him to contact Tamil Nesan and hoohah his case so that people can come forward and donate. Approaching the English Media also doable like Malay Mail ,Star etc. Or if not call up the TV stations that do those documentary/human interest stories about people in difficult conditions. Ask his family and friends to help. Try approaching some NGOs which do community outreach like The Lodge, Rotary Club,Lions etc the members are all professionals and businesspeople and can do fund raising to help your friend.
mcblade
post Jul 25 2006, 08:23 AM

1,116 posts

Try apply Max Foundation
https://www.maxaid.org/

but need apply through his doctor by sending all related information one.

hope it helps
chamelion
post Jul 25 2006, 08:33 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(Gray Fox [X] @ Jul 25 2006, 12:19 AM)
One think I hate about Malaysia is they dont have something like in UK. My cousin from UK told me if u have cancer/tumour u will undergo surgery straight away. No need to pay a single cent!!! Yes its free. The chances of survival is higher some more cause of new technology. In Malaysia, no money death awaits u only. Really unfair men. Are we suppose to stand there and watch our friends or familiy members die if we are poor?? There should be a hot debate on this.
He go to goverment hospital, he will receive all the above mention for free if he is below 18. check the fact right.
bata
post Jul 25 2006, 09:34 AM

3,726 posts

sorry to hear bout ur fren.......
try to contact TV3......got program named 'Bersamamu' there....
can gather funds by sms onli~~
sure can cause a stir....
wish u luck

Chow.

This post has been edited by bata: Jul 25 2006, 09:35 AM

0.0207sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:09 AM