Technical 3 Blinking Red Lights Of Death..Is it the END?, Can it be fixed or is it the end of it..

tot31
post Jan 11 2007, 08:21 AM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Jan 10 2007, 03:42 PM)
so the only solution is open the casing and look at the microsoft warranty seal... if you just open up the case it wont void the warranty.
Don't need to take out the whole casing, just open up the front faceplate and you can see MS seal. There's a technique where you can take out the seal and put it back without tampering with it. Just use a hair dryer.icon_rolleyes.gif
tot31
post Feb 13 2007, 10:55 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(vivaldi @ Feb 13 2007, 10:41 PM)
Just curious. Can i manually remove the dvd-drive and replace it with another 360 dvd-drive? FYI both drive are orginal from a 360. I am thinking of getting spare parts from 3ROD victims and maybe i can solve my "Your Disc is Unreadable" problem.

Btw, i am using a 1st batch Japanese console so my dvd-drive is a Hitachi drive. Can i change it with a Samsung one?
Yes you can and here are the steps :-
This procedures are for the same drive type, for example swapping Samsung drives.

1. Get your original drive key by dumping the firmware and copy it to some safe place.
2. Now get the replacement drive and flash the dumped firmware (from your previous drive or Step 1) into it.
3. Enjoy your Xbox360.

I would suggest that you use the same type of drive even though you can replace other type or brand of drive but the procedures are more tedious.

Another solution is to adjust the DVD pots of the laser pickup but sooner it will die too. The other solution is to get the laser pickup replacement. You can buy it at Ebay and replace it yourself (if you're really confident on doing that)

This post has been edited by tot31: Feb 13 2007, 10:56 PM
tot31
post Feb 14 2007, 09:34 AM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

In my opinion positioning the X360 doesn't contribute much on the 3ROD syndrome. It's the design flaw. The rear fans aren't powerful (they use only 5V) enough to suck out such heat draw from the gpu and cpu. The worst thing is the gpu lies directly beneath the dvd rom drive and the heat from the drive adds more stress on the gpu.
tot31
post Feb 14 2007, 04:25 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

BBC Watchdog video is out

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=56-gQq62Hyc&eurl=

This post has been edited by tot31: Feb 14 2007, 04:26 PM
tot31
post Feb 15 2007, 01:38 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Feb 15 2007, 01:00 PM)
actually, i've been toying this idea.

why dont ppl who buy NTSC/J Asian vDjinn (tongue.gif) dont go & register their S/N yet.

IF u r really unlucky and kena 3RoD, sell it to sgp'oreans at ebay.sg relatively cheap? top-up some funds and get another vDjinn set. the sgp'orean buyer can then just register the 3RoD, claim RMA and sell it off as 2nd hand (but under warranty) to a happy gamer there. i'm sure an entreprenurial sgp gamer or gameshop can make this work. LoL

why did i think of such a dirty tactic? read on ....
blardy PR! sell defective products mai sell it lor. don't have to make lies & coverup.
Hahahahha...seems this is what I was thinking, because I have a lot of friends over there. Can try this if the 3ROD shit happens to me...hihihihi icon_rolleyes.gif
tot31
post Feb 15 2007, 01:52 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Feb 15 2007, 01:42 PM)
can also... but how many can we cover for the 3Rods ? laugh.gif if got 20 3ROD.. need to find 20 person leh....

susah....
aiseh Djinn this only applies to a single case basis lar, if a shop like you want to handle a scheme like this then susah lor
tot31
post Feb 15 2007, 02:16 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Feb 15 2007, 02:09 PM)
Eh? Based on manufacturing date?

Aiyo, if like that if someone bought a Nov 2005 (theoretically) unit last month, he or she is screwed?

And like my 360, manufactured date 12 April 06 that means the 1 year warranty only lasts till 12 April 07 even though my fiance bought it  January 07?

If like that I am royally screwed. Oh shit.
Aiyo..I really pity you lar cry.gif
tot31
post Feb 15 2007, 03:33 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

I think it's Larkin not Larking, anyway thanks for the tips jaylike.
tot31
post Sep 12 2007, 08:29 AM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Sep 11 2007, 08:30 PM)
looks like my xbox error code is 4442 lights . 0002 i think . is this network problem or power supply problem . any cure for this problem cry.gif
This what happens if you blindly trying to repair on your own. The biggest mistake was, you were using hairdryer. Using hairdryer/heatgun/hotgun is the only last resort and make sure you really know what you're doing with it.

You also posted saying you saw sparks came from your mainboard. If that is the case, your X360 is totally dead. Get a new one. My condolences to you.

This post has been edited by tot31: Sep 12 2007, 08:30 AM
tot31
post Sep 12 2007, 04:03 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Sep 12 2007, 03:58 PM)
I think rhoyo see too much guides until he got confuse already.
Seperti tikus yg cuba membaiki labu.... biggrin.gif
tot31
post Sep 12 2007, 04:20 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(metalgrindsolid @ Sep 12 2007, 04:18 PM)
He learn so many things now and he's already one foot step to the world of modding  biggrin.gif .
and a very expensive experience biggrin.gif

0.0214sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:35 AM