Technical 3 Blinking Red Lights Of Death..Is it the END?, Can it be fixed or is it the end of it..

Dothan
post Aug 20 2006, 11:32 PM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

ajak, keep us update on your fixing xbox 360 adventure!
Dothan
post Aug 22 2006, 08:43 AM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

Hi Ajak,
Nice to hear this great news. smile.gif
We shall put this thread as sticky so that any xbox360 with error code 0102 will be able to share their experience on this.

Maybe you can be the organiser to do a "heat gun" 360 fixing fest in Malaysia rclxms.gif
Dothan
post Aug 23 2006, 02:02 PM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

QUOTE(hikaru_x @ Aug 23 2006, 10:28 AM)
to whom it may concern: saw some 'ayam' brand 1600w heatgun selling at Tesco PG last night for rm49.90. i assume other Tescos should hv it too.
Hikaru is living in Penang?
I might get the cap ayam heatgun to prevent any mishap happens!! unsure.gif
Dothan
post Jan 25 2007, 12:13 AM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

Hi All, my xbox360 got 3ROD after getting the GOW patch. It hangs and then 3ROD until now. My gf will kill me sad.gif
Dothan
post Jan 26 2007, 11:23 AM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Jan 25 2007, 02:55 PM)
sorry to hear ur set also kena. i was hoping ur working on it - replacing the thermal paste & polishing the heatsink would improve the situation. do u have any know-how & equipment to resolder/reflow solder/reball/etc the GPU/CPU chip?

also, thanks for ur chess piece advice  notworthy.gif i still using them.
Hi all, the towel trick works!!!!! laugh.gif rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif
Just a summary on my towel trick approach:
1. 1 clean thick bath towel (dry one!)
2. Wrap the towel covers the heat exhaust hole at the back
3. Wrap the surrounding including the air inlet holes
4. Turn it on (yes, it will still showing 3RoD)
5. Let it run for few minutes.
For my case, I heard the fan spinning sound is faster/noisier than during 3RoD.
6. Turn it off and cool down.
7. Turn it on and I saw the xbox animation shocking.gif nod.gif

Those who has my gamertag can see I just online on Live and played GoW and R6:LV.

OMFG doh.gif The lead free soldering really sucks shakehead.gif
Dothan
post Jan 26 2007, 08:36 PM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Jan 26 2007, 08:24 PM)
yup, I got the same problem,while running gears of war.

and one of the japanese version won't even want to run the gow disc...
Hi Jaylike7 & Djinn,
I would suggest you to clean up the ori thermal sludge (read my word : SLUDGE) which tends to melt. Use a sandpaper to polish your GPU heatsink (it's crappy coarse!) and then re-apply with arctic silver. It helps. nod.gif
Dothan
post Jan 28 2007, 11:29 AM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

QUOTE(sayming @ Jan 27 2007, 03:38 AM)
May I know what error code you guys got before fixing it?  smile.gif
Sorry for late reply, my error code was 0102 smile.gif

Added on January 28, 2007, 11:32 am
QUOTE(nakata101 @ Jan 28 2007, 08:03 AM)
Yesterday i open my X0 casing thinking to take off the heatsink and want to replace a new thermal paste for it (b4 3ROD coming to attack me, just want to make it more cooler), but dunno why i have try many way still cant pull out the heatsink....

[attachmentid=187148]
I have take out the screw from another side, but still cant pull out the heatsink..

[attachmentid=187149]
Damn hot... it hurt ur finger skin when u touch it.
Nakata, you have to unhook from below of motherboard. It's quite hard to open it for 1st time anyway.

This post has been edited by Dothan: Jan 28 2007, 11:32 AM

0.0193sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:54 AM