Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.24, WE love spiders

slowkancil
post Apr 1 2014, 08:29 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 1 2014, 07:38 PM)
Normally what I do is, if I'm really near to subject I would use the corner AF points. If I'm relatively far away then I would rely on the middle points (or any of the 15 cross sensors).
any reason for this?
angle or DOF?

slowkancil
post Apr 1 2014, 11:01 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 1 2014, 08:58 PM)
Based on my experience, the corner AF points tends to miss when I shoot far away subject. And shooting close to mfd, its best not to recompose ;-) (oh the side AF works pretty well when subject is close).
seem reasonable... im always using centre point and recompose..
either the subject is far or close.. and always miss the focus by a hair if close

hmm... will try using the outer af point if the subject is closed..
thanks biggrin.gif
slowkancil
post Apr 10 2014, 08:59 PM

333 posts

hmmm.. the color tone...
is it because of the weather there or just ur PP? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by slowkancil: Apr 10 2014, 08:59 PM
slowkancil
post Apr 11 2014, 02:59 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 10 2014, 09:03 PM)
All PP  laugh.gif
But mostly changing the highlights/shadows rather than colours
wow.. nice rclxms.gif
seem the light there is soft...
here even 6pm also the sun is hard...
slowkancil
post Apr 12 2014, 12:24 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 11 2014, 09:25 PM)
Yeah, not much sun over there during my trip, weather's mostly cloudy and cool thumbup.gif
I love your editing a whole lot more man, the most recent one with the sand-playing lol, not sure when I can reach that level  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
haha... im actually not really good at editing...
that pict... just convert from raw and sharpening (unsharp mask)
but... it was done using a beauty dish... biggrin.gif
slowkancil
post Apr 12 2014, 12:24 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(Darkripper @ Apr 11 2014, 10:52 PM)
Guys, i am being offerd Rm1.5k for
Nikon 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF AF-S DX

1 year + unit.. everything seems okay...

Is the price reasonable?
go for it bro... 1.5k seems cheap..
owner upgrading to FF?

This post has been edited by slowkancil: Apr 12 2014, 12:25 AM
slowkancil
post Apr 12 2014, 03:06 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(Max_07s @ Apr 12 2014, 03:02 PM)
any suggestion for 3rd party flash? Nikon flashlight quite pricey.
i used to bought nissin...
still haved the flash as backup (im a strobist and used alot of flash)

but my recommendation is still sb-700 or sb-800 as first flash...
mainly because of ttl accuracy, flash cycle speed, battery drainage and overall built quality

slowkancil
post Apr 12 2014, 03:40 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(Max_07s @ Apr 12 2014, 03:15 PM)
how about YN-568 EX II yong nuo?
hmm.. seem the built quality is ok..
dont have exact experience using the 568, but i used 560-mk2
just the cycle and battery drainage is on the bad side..
but for the price and the power, its a good flash (yn 560 though)
slowkancil
post Apr 13 2014, 01:11 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Apr 13 2014, 12:05 AM)
I am letting go my Nikon D5100 body now...

more info @ https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3191562

feel free to pm me if interested with items mentioned above..

is there anything experimental worth doing for the Nikon D40?
maybe convert to IR?
or play with high sync flash? (my favourite though) tongue.gif
slowkancil
post Apr 14 2014, 03:12 PM

333 posts

some selfie made on weekend

is it ok to crop this way?

SHM_5498_s by sangkancil, on Flickr
slowkancil
post Apr 14 2014, 03:37 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 14 2014, 03:17 PM)
I think its nicer if taken in landscape, but with you on the side, still showing the same things but much less of the jeans..
But of course its impossible to take a shot like that via selfie, unless if you shoot from great distance and crop alot  laugh.gif
haha... nice idea...
will try with diff focal length

it is hard to do precise framing if selfie... tongue.gif
slowkancil
post Apr 23 2014, 10:36 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Apr 23 2014, 12:24 AM)
finally it reach home...

user posted imageFDSC0123 by ongdennis, on Flickr

and then it notice it home was occupied by someone else...

meet the little brother
user posted imageDSC_9929 by ongdennis, on Flickr

to compensate its sadness, it get a new base.

user posted imageFDSC0124 by ongdennis, on Flickr

What they had done to the cameara (taken from the service invoice): replaced shutter, aperture, tapes, rear rubber, pc adjustment, checking and general service.
Result: no idea...but i still spot one oil mark on the top left corner. maybe they didnt clean it properly before send back. time will tell when i shoot more later biggrin.gif

anyway...thanks Nikon Malaysia for it kindness for this FOC service.
the overall service history can be found in my signature.
nice.. but.. but.. downtime is around 2 weeks...
cant afford it right now... (time wise, and my d600s dont really had big problem)
wonder how long the free service will extend?
do they provide loan unit?
slowkancil
post Apr 23 2014, 11:47 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Apr 23 2014, 10:50 AM)
no loan unit...
as i know the service advisory should be until ur camera KO guah...
it state that even warranty period is over u still able to request to send in.

if i not mistaken, u have 2 rite? go in one by one lo smile.gif
yup.. but now untill june will be quite busy..
cannot live without my 2nd body...
maybe im spoiled by no need to changing lens tongue.gif
slowkancil
post Apr 28 2014, 09:34 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 28 2014, 08:40 PM)
Thank you sifu, so so only la when compared to the other true pros  blush.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Still using my Mark III haha!

user posted imageMacro Setup Mark III by PF T.J., on Flickr

Kind of stuck at the moment, not sure how to improve, and not willing to spend more.. so focusing on skills/lighting and composition now  hmm.gif
look like frankencamera... rclxms.gif
slowkancil
post May 17 2014, 07:09 PM

333 posts

my current setup...

16-35 vr
50 f1.8g
85 f1.8g

x100s as backup
cover 95% of my shooting need... rclxms.gif