Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.24, WE love spiders

alpha001
post May 20 2014, 12:50 AM

686 posts

can anyone recomend nice shop in lowyat.
i thinks its time to upgrade my lens.
wants to hunt for nikkor 85mm 1.8 g.
alpha001
post Jul 12 2014, 03:26 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Jul 11 2014, 11:48 PM)
Its been so long since i clicked my shutter.

Went out to shoot shoot play play with my friends yesterday, pardon my posing skills, lol.

all are shot with sigma 1.4 at 1.4 using focus recompose. focus keep lari
which sigma bruh? 30, 35, 50 ?
alpha001
post Jul 25 2014, 04:26 PM

686 posts

nikon msia got hari raya sale or not?
alpha001
post Jul 26 2014, 04:02 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(BaRT @ Jul 26 2014, 01:17 AM)
I PM U.
pm me 2, (4 future use ;p )
alpha001
post Aug 1 2014, 12:12 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Jul 31 2014, 09:03 PM)
oh ya, btw, any recommendations for monitors around 23 - 24 inch IPS monitor..
step up abit U2414H, better version of u2414m, borderless frame(good for multiple monitor) brows.gif
rm800 ish
wub.gif

This post has been edited by alpha001: Aug 1 2014, 12:16 AM
alpha001
post Aug 1 2014, 04:58 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 1 2014, 12:32 PM)
The 32" monitor you linked can get a D810 already.  sweat.gif
No such model as U2414M. I think you meant U2412M.
Yeah, more vertical space. 16:10 monitors are a dying breed nowadays.

But for photographers, most important besides size (and price) is to look at the colour gamut. Both U2414H and U2412M seem to have similar colour gamut.

I also like the fact that the U2414H has USB 3 and that it has input / output display port so that you can daisy chain monitors with a single connection to your PC/notebook with display port. Ideal for multiple monitor environment.

Anyway, if you're looking at 24" 16:10 monitors, they still sell U2413 with PremierColor.
yeah U2412M, typo laugh.gif
i prefer 16:9 more than 16:10
best for movies wub.gif

QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Aug 1 2014, 12:28 PM)
Planning to buy a battery grip for my d5200. which brand is good? Phottix or Aputure? or got other brands?
battery grip just add moar weight la, unless u r flex.gif
better save monay 4 expensive lens brows.gif

This post has been edited by alpha001: Aug 1 2014, 05:02 PM
alpha001
post Aug 2 2014, 11:18 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Aug 2 2014, 04:29 AM)
haha.. how about filters? any guide to buy filters?  hmm.gif
there are many considerations when it comes to filters, esp for diff purpose
i just use uv filter to protect the glass if i'm not using lens hood.
nd use for long exposure photo

using filter does degrage the photo quality tho

so buy a quality one
alpha001
post Aug 2 2014, 12:54 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(wkwong91 @ Aug 2 2014, 01:28 PM)
Hoya is good enough. Using Hoya UV filter. GND filter you can get Lee filter (cost a boom) or Cokin filter (reasonable price)  icon_rolleyes.gif .
++ thumbup.gif
alpha001
post Aug 2 2014, 01:17 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Aug 2 2014, 01:58 PM)
How about Citiwide? Have you tried before?
honestly, never heard of them sweat.gif
alpha001
post Aug 3 2014, 02:54 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Aug 3 2014, 03:43 PM)
I bought CPL and GND filter Citiwide. But also H&Y MRC UV
I think i will use more on the H&Y coz what I have now is some weird ayam brand Kumiko which i get it at rm25 , it really lose my sharpness in taking pic. I took a pic with and without it, it turned out that without filter is better. So that is why I planned to get that H&Y to replace Kumiko for standard use

The CPL I might use is once a while but the GND filter maybe during sunset or lansdcape shooting. Both is Citiwide. If I really use it alot in my photoshooting, I might get a better one as well. But right now I wanna try out first this different type of filters and learn how to use it in which condition.

I'm just an amateur. I think its not wrong to start with something cheap first coz i never used before the CPL and GND  sweat.gif I scare later buy expensive one later I didnt use alot

With all due respect hope to get more sifu teaching notworthy.gif
good for u thumbup.gif , now spam this thread with moar pictar brows.gif
alpha001
post Aug 5 2014, 06:17 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(pugger79 @ Aug 5 2014, 07:15 PM)
D800 with a couple of the prime lenses and 70-200 f2.8 (non-VR).
cry.gif
alpha001
post Aug 8 2014, 07:13 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Aug 8 2014, 06:07 PM)
Is the composition weird?
imho, it could be better if aligned biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ragnarokB2 @ Aug 8 2014, 07:05 PM)
Seems like my question will keep on derailing.  sweat.gif
Again, anyone can list me AF lenses that does not have built-in motor?
One question, what type of photos do you take?
If you really on tight budget, go get 3rd party lens, tamron/sigma etc.
alpha001
post Aug 9 2014, 05:04 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Aug 9 2014, 08:31 AM)
Hi guys.

Does anyone here had to take their lenses to anything (SC or shop) to clean a dust inside the lens?
Although it doesn't bother the picture but it does bother me a lot when I changing a lenses tongue.gif
Anyone experience sending their lens for clean?
no hassle anymore tongue.gif
This Strange Vacuum Cleaner Lens Will Suck the Dust Right Off Your Sensor
whistling.gif
alpha001
post Aug 30 2014, 02:43 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 30 2014, 11:38 AM)
There's a lot of "battle scars" on my equipments especially on the magnesium alloy parts showing the metal sad.gif. Now the question is, is there any way to repaint on it? So far marker pen doesn't work xD. I was thinking about those paint used for metal grade Gundam perhaps? Or anyone has good method here?

Oh btw the magnesium is awesome! The scar on my D700 has been since 2010 and no rust yet biggrin.gif.
battle scar= SEXY wub.gif

BTW,
Testing out my nikkor 85mm 1.8g. No time for organised shot yet. so busy rclxub.gif
85mm l f1.8 l iso1600 l d5100
alpha001
post Aug 30 2014, 03:57 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Aug 30 2014, 04:15 PM)
That was my wishlist lens for portrait until I got ancient Tamron 90mm macro which has nice bokeh. But then this lens has awful external focus, so I kinda looking forward for Nikkor 85mm again. lol! Shame no 1:1 macro, I would get this one instead loooooong ago. 105mm is overkill for a student like me.

Anyway, last day I free for a photoshoot. After this gonna disappear again. So spam!!! rclxm9.gif

at first i also consider tamron 90mm lens, but i rarely shoot macro photo and I tend to use above 70mm when using my kit lens(tammy 18-200). So i bought nikkor 85mm 1.8g. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by alpha001: Aug 30 2014, 03:57 PM
alpha001
post Aug 30 2014, 04:16 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Aug 30 2014, 05:15 PM)
so smooth so bokehlicious
FF+1.4= wub.gif
alpha001
post Jan 12 2015, 05:35 AM

686 posts

i cant remember the last time i opened this thread, rclxub.gif
anyways, some pic from my 85mm 1.8g all wide open whistling.gif

This post has been edited by alpha001: Jan 12 2015, 10:23 AM
alpha001
post Jan 23 2015, 04:56 AM

686 posts

another 85mm 1.8g pic laugh.gif (d5100)
user posted imagefat nyx nyx by lutfi ariffin, on Flickr

This post has been edited by alpha001: Jan 23 2015, 04:57 AM
alpha001
post Jan 24 2015, 06:00 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(ayie_acg @ Jan 24 2015, 03:59 AM)
Hello Nikonians!

I'm new in photography & planning to buy a Nikon D5300. Should my reply isn't approriate enough to be posted here feel free to replace it to any thread else, thanks. Well back to the main point, I found that perhaps D5300 is my preference to kickstart my hobby & I plan to buy from Lazada since they sell the camera with telephoto lens priced around RM2.3k. I'm aware that DSLR sold by Lazada isn't provided with local warranty which it'll fall into grey set/AP set category. My concerns pertaining to the matter are:

1) If anything happen to my camera or lens, can I still send them to Nikon center for service & repair? Or should I opt for service center outside Nikon? (I know I'll have to pay since it's not under any of both center's warranties, just wanting to know whether they'll accept AP set DSLR for service & repair)

2) Do you think the chances of having issues with the camera & lens within a year is high? Because if it isn't I rather buy from Lazada since buying from Nikon local distributor won't make any difference because the warranty can't be claimed after 1 year. If I'm wrong do enlighten me on this matter

Any opinions & insights are highly appreciated. Thanks! smile.gif
I use d5100 since 2012 ap set, no problem at all
if u use dslr rarely, moar chances to get fungus icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jan 23 2015, 12:34 PM)

teach me to draw, masta sweat.gif

This post has been edited by alpha001: Jan 24 2015, 10:46 AM
alpha001
post Jan 27 2015, 04:56 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(apeqjualsayur @ Jan 27 2015, 12:26 AM)
i like this photo, well done rclxms.gif

btw mine
user posted imageZAKU-1 by lutfi ariffin, on Flickr

This post has been edited by alpha001: Jan 27 2015, 04:56 AM

0.0270sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:00 AM