Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.24, WE love spiders

AuraSapphire
post Apr 13 2014, 06:15 PM

136 posts

During post process, do you guys usually crop the photos or leave it as it is? I find that sometimes remove like 10% of the top/btm/sides makes the photo looks a bit uneven. Or is that normal?
AuraSapphire
post Apr 13 2014, 06:34 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Apr 13 2014, 06:18 PM)
if follow the aspect ratio should be "normal"
or because you feel something has been cut, so you feel abnormal.
If not the photo should also still be fine right even though it has been cropped?
AuraSapphire
post Apr 14 2014, 12:05 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 14 2014, 09:08 AM)
I suppose as long as the ratio of the photo remains the same, it won't feel that awkward? hmm.gif
I used to crop without fixing the aspect ratio and in the end the photos turn out too squarish haha, very obviously cropped and looked very weird  laugh.gif
Nice camera that one wub.gif
Wise choice  thumbup.gif
There are some vertical shorts, I cropped off the sides way too much, the photos look so skinny. Some I cropped neither squarish or rectangular XD.

I guess I have learn how to properly frame the photo rather than depend too much on crop @@''
AuraSapphire
post Apr 14 2014, 03:19 PM

136 posts

Thanks. Somehow I still rather use unconstrained then XD. Just askin, not everything needs to be kept in according to the aspect ratio right?
AuraSapphire
post Apr 15 2014, 03:42 AM

136 posts

This shot should win an award XD.. Today I saw one vid did retouching on portraits.. I must say... Photoshop is used heavily. The photo looks great. But in my opinion, I prefer more natural @@''.. Then again maybe because I dont know how to use photoshop at all.. Lalalallaa...

Dont know whether I should upgrade my D90 to a D7100 or get a Sigma 70-200mm 2.8 Os instead.
AuraSapphire
post Apr 15 2014, 12:59 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 15 2014, 10:19 AM)
I think its very hard to get attractive shots without retouching nowadays laugh.gif The closest you can get is through strobes I think  hmm.gif

D90 is pretty okay ma, not really worth upgrading to D7000 or D7100.. better wait for more advanced DX cameras only jump?
In the meantime, improve skills or glass 1st  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(wkwong91 @ Apr 15 2014, 10:43 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Bro, I had such dilemma like you last time. Like what sifu TJ said, save the $$ for your glass or direct upgrade to FX. You can retouch on the photos you took from your D90 to look better. Anyway, skills are very important too.  biggrin.gif
Ya. I know should always improve skill 1st. Still get very amateur shots, dont know how to improve @@''.. I dont have the creative mind to see how to snap photos ~~''.. FX too expensive XD.. hahaha
AuraSapphire
post Apr 15 2014, 06:17 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 15 2014, 05:45 PM)
Practice makes perfect~
Watching videos help too! You'd be amazed how much a simple adjustment will affect the final effect of the photo yo  thumbup.gif
When I see the photoshop vids, I get so confuse, they go thru really fast. When the layers and effects they combine any everything is mindblowing... Just sad that nothing is really natural~~''

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Apr 15 2014, 05:51 PM)
looking at sites full of professional works will help you to get the "creative vision" imo.

a good example is 500px, always feel inspired looking at all the good photos.
Just looked at one of your post on the macro shots. You posted your Mushroom shot on Goldfries's site right? Nice shot btw =)

I should register for flickr and follow you guys XD ..hahaha

This post has been edited by AuraSapphire: Apr 15 2014, 06:20 PM
AuraSapphire
post Apr 15 2014, 08:28 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Apr 15 2014, 06:53 PM)
shoot more la, try out different kind of photography like portrait, cars, sports macro, landscape and so on. When you found the type of photography that suits you the best then you try to be good at it after that you move on to learn other type of photography

just dont think that you are already good at it so you stop learning, continuous learning is the key to success icon_rolleyes.gif
My biggest obstacle is is being lazy XD. hahaha.. Secondly, Im shy@@''. On another note, I find interior photos very hard to achieve, but Im just helping my friend with his personal project taking some photos of gyms.

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 15 2014, 08:07 PM)
Oh no, I wasn't referring to the videos on photo editing haha, even I don't really fancy those..
I've seen some that teach you how to deal and make good use of natural light (from B&H I think). Its amazing how much improvement you can achieve by simply changing a few things (like taking shots under shades, avoid having the model directly under harsh indoor lights etc.)- many of which we often overlook while taking photos  hmm.gif 

Yes yes, go set up account so that we can stalk you haha brows.gif
Ya I know what you meant. Just telling you bout the vid that I so happen to watch is a photoshop vid.

This post has been edited by AuraSapphire: Apr 15 2014, 08:34 PM
AuraSapphire
post Apr 16 2014, 12:57 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Apr 15 2014, 09:48 PM)
yeap that's me tongue.gif i submitted a lot of photos to sifu kentang's site. too bad the site is kinda abandoned now sad.gif
True. I submitted a few photos too. But recently not active and dont have any good shots to share there
AuraSapphire
post Apr 16 2014, 12:30 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Apr 16 2014, 11:56 AM)
True.. haha but skills come in practice so.. yeah, need shot more.. I also lazy, so now trying to create a theme shoot with objects and lightning at home.. no need go out  rclxms.gif I was super interested in streetshot, but no time go out so opt another route.. haha but still love street photo thou..
As for in door, GYM has very dim light, so the kit lens very hard to take good photo.. Try get a prime, like 50mm f1.8, or 35mm f1.8.. these shld do a better job indoor.. or use a tripod to compensate the long shutter.
50mm or 35mm not wide enough. Thats why I stick back with the kitlens. Looks like for interior, a tiltshift lens is more appropriate. Use UWA, will get a lot of distortions apparently.

Maybe I should try some home experiments too
AuraSapphire
post Apr 16 2014, 01:19 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Apr 16 2014, 12:40 PM)
I've tried the Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8, and doesn't seem distorted in my eyes thou.. LOL may be I too noob to distinguish what is distortions thou.. all pics looks awesome to my eye..  tongue.gif
home experiments is good for lazy people.. haha
QUOTE(ongdennis @ Apr 16 2014, 01:15 PM)
in the past when i use that lens..also didnt saw any distortion..
i think need a lot of straight line then only able to tell it guah...
Oo.. I see I see.. Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 quite an investment too XD.. I did consider this lens before.

This post has been edited by AuraSapphire: Apr 16 2014, 01:20 PM

0.0557sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:54 AM