Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.24, WE love spiders

Andy214
post Apr 7 2014, 11:36 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Apr 6 2014, 09:54 PM)
I was using focus and recompose using the middle point, everytime I focus on the eye and refocuses the focus of the final image switch to other spot. So just a general idea of how the lens perform, sorry for my lousy focused photos, haha
Then you should really check your lens whether got any back/front focus issue.
Put on tripod and focus on a ruler or some focus chart, or you can even line up AA batteries just for simple testing (at f/1.4 close focus you will notice it immediately and easily, even direct focus on something).
Focus on the subject, take a shot, then turn on LiveView mode and focus and take a shot - compare both shots at higher magnification.

Andy214
post Apr 12 2014, 02:24 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Darkripper @ Apr 11 2014, 10:52 PM)
Guys, i am being offerd Rm1.5k for
Nikon 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF AF-S DX

1 year + unit.. everything seems okay...

Is the price reasonable?
It's cheap, but do check nicely.
YL selling second hand > RM2K
Andy214
post Apr 24 2014, 12:52 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Apr 23 2014, 11:43 AM)
So this thread not just full of macro kaki eh, other kinds of kaki also have  brows.gif  brows.gif
They also interested in macro, but not insect only ma tongue.gif
Andy214
post May 5 2014, 05:06 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ May 2 2014, 06:03 PM)
hmm.gif

paiseh for asking, but why the 17-55 so crazily expensive arh? no IS no VR or whatever. canon equivalent is like 500-1k cheaper with IS.
Which is why it's much more worth to get a used one, around 3K or slightly more. Buying a new one, you will loose a lot when you sell, but then buying a used one, there is always risk involved.
Besides getting used and then re-sell, you don't actually loose much especially if you managed to find a very good price unit...
Andy214
post Jun 6 2014, 11:35 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(ThE-1cY @ Jun 5 2014, 08:21 PM)
I'm planning to upgrade to a lens with f1.4 aperture in the future and combo with a full frame dslr, can this freeze motion in the above situation without raising ISO or using flash?
Children running around, using f/1.4 and assuming you're getting the 50mm, in most situation, you're most likely getting most of your shots out of focus.

Shooting children running around, you might want to go wider. Your kit lens still can work, use widest setting at 18mm which should give you f/3.5, depending on lighting, you can try shutter speed of 1/125 or 1/160 and adjust the ISO accordingly (or use Shutter Priority). Don't worry about the noise, the image file you won't be viewing 100%, try resize it smaller to like 8MP or smaller, you might feel better because if you view at 100%, it will be much much better than 16MP or higher.

Anyway, there's many technique to shoot kids playing or running around, you might not want to take a static shot, you might want to pan if they're running, this way, you can adjust the shutter speed slower like 1/80 or even 1/60, set the focus to continuous or 3D tracking and follow your subject while releasing the shutter (set to continuous mode).

Get an External Flash and bounce the light, you can freeze the motion and nice image without direct flash effect. Try and experiment with flash bounce from the wall, it's most probably change your mind and want to get the external flash.
Plus, with the flash, there's many things you can do, you can play with rear curtain and use very slow shutter speed, at small aperture, with ISO100 indoor and create nice trail effects while your subject (the kid) is tack sharp and noise free, while there's nice effects/trail surrounding it. With this settings, you can even take great amazing effect picture in dark lit room, like dark Karaoke Room or Night Clubs and at the same time, giving the similar "feel".

Andy214
post Sep 11 2014, 08:23 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Sep 10 2014, 04:04 PM)
Hello all sifus! Been out of the scene for a very long time!

What do you guys think about this photo? Friend of mine asked me to shoot their memorable moment, your comments and time is much appreciated!  blush.gif

Please check out the full resolution photo if you would like to pixel peep on the flickr webpage biggrin.gif
You know Sylvans too?
The photo looked kind of "harsh"? A bit unnatural, maybe a bit HDR-ish. Too much contrast/clarify/blacks? Or did you use recovery slider?
Just my 2 cents (or can say based on preference also). Some people prefer this way tough, makes the photo more dramatic or pops.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Sep 11 2014, 08:24 PM
Andy214
post Sep 11 2014, 10:54 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Sep 11 2014, 09:26 PM)
Yes! haha, are you going to his wedding?

Thanks for the input biggrin.gif Will consult the couple after a show a few examples and create the final image  thumbup.gif
Very long never see him already, hehe, last time he's driving the 206 and he's one of the early owner/member.

thumbup.gif
Andy214
post Sep 11 2014, 11:33 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Sep 11 2014, 11:10 PM)
Long time never see you too tongue.gif

Are you from Sarawak or KL/PJ? Haha now it's a 308! Pug owner for life i think?  tongue.gif
Been busy lately haha.

I'm from Klang only, no so far, haha. Yup, been quite secretive what he want to change at first, it seems like he was not planning to get a Pug, then, deng deng deng, a 308! Thought he would go for Bimmer or the Mini at first.
Andy214
post Nov 26 2014, 11:28 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Nov 26 2014, 12:00 PM)
yes...abuden? if nikon make live view but doesn't reflect what you see on lens before you shutter click, what is the point they made live view? XDD

but somehow my D800 live view is slowing after click the shutter button, it will blackout for 10-20 seconds... not sure other newer model.
10 seconds very long unless you're shooting longer exposure (slow shutter)?
The LCD will blackout because of the shutter opens (exposure)

0.0508sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:56 PM