Betta splendens Fighting Fish Club Ya'll! v2

shecapricorn
post Jun 4 2008, 11:47 PM

67 posts

Anyone who is a BETTA BREEDER here? I need to find someone who can provide me starter culture or microworms or other alternative cultures... You know, food for betta frys smile.gif

Breeding my bettas is not a problem.. my male betta and his "harem" of "girls" get along well and dont even hurt each other during mating... BUT my problem is.. Brine shrimp are expensive (I buy the eggs from the shops), and they don't hatch quickly enough, and only 50% of the total quantity of BS eggs... A real waste of money...
cry.gif

My frys grow fast from hatching til 3 weeks old, when they die off of starvation sad.gif
Thats because I can't provide enough live food (insofuria, bs) for them to eat.. they don't eat the powdered flakes nor frozen bloodworms...

the sad thing is, at 3 weeks old, the bigger frys chase their smaller siblings to eat.. but the smaller siblings get away.. so the bigger frys ironically dies off 1st... So sad...

Anyone who cultures live food? Like microworms, or others? Thanks! I would reli appreciate it, if anyone can give or sell starter cultures to me... I live in PJ area... Thanks! unsure.gif
shecapricorn
post Jun 5 2008, 04:34 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(hanzzz @ Jun 4 2008, 03:42 PM)
any nice betta for sale pls pm me...!!thx
Hey, I know this little shop that sells gorgeous veiltails.. and a few crowntails.. tho the veiltails are better looking, the CTs look like farm rejects lol. KNow KL sentral? the pathway from kl sentral to monorail? at that pasar malam like area there's a pet shop there... i get my beautifully coloured bettas from there, and its real cheap too, males only go for rm3, females rm2 smile.gif one word of caution though, be sure to buy the blue methadine thing too.. i find without it, fishes from there get the white fungus immediately the day after lol
shecapricorn
post Jun 6 2008, 06:00 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(masta_hafiz @ Jun 6 2008, 11:35 AM)
where is the shop???petaling street kaa???o near CM???
show ur betta plsss... icon_rolleyes.gif
HAhaha I wont post up any photos cuz i only got lousy hp camera, cant see properly, its takes bad pics esp of aquariums lol.. LEt kenji_britney check out the shop then u can ask him smile.gif Initially I thought that shop sells chapalang animals only, but dun underestimate before going in lol. blush.gif

That shop has LOTS of bettas, of various colours.. not only the mixed ice-kacang colours but sometimes even pure (one-coloured) bettas.. I got a dark-blue bodied male with white milky transparent fins, and some camobdiaon colured females and yellow and white females smile.gif Bettas there generally have good temperament too, for example, my male betta is a caring father who takes care of his babies even until they r 3 weeks old lol.. and two of my female Bettas are surrogate Mums.. means they take care of frys which isnt theirs (I did not breed from them lol)...

wub.gif I luv my Bettas wub.gif
shecapricorn
post Jun 10 2008, 01:30 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(masta_hafiz @ Jun 6 2008, 07:44 PM)
huhuhu...i still searching for female betta!!!!!!
The shop btw kl sentral and monorail has female bettas too... Oh yeah, if you're lucky, the shop has re-stocked that day when u go, then you can see lots of good looking bettas, males and females there ... of course.. if ur unlucky and end up going at the time when there's only unwanted fish left, well.. Hahaha.... Good luck smile.gif
shecapricorn
post Jun 10 2008, 02:11 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(masta_hafiz @ Jun 10 2008, 02:01 PM)
not yet have the female..yesterday only buy & catch at pond the betta...buy pearl yellow siamese betta & catch blue betta...hehehe
which pond you catch ur betta from?
shecapricorn
post Jun 15 2008, 02:40 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jun 15 2008, 02:28 PM)
here's my new fella:

[attachmentid=498395]
[attachmentid=498396]
[attachmentid=498399]
[attachmentid=498400]
Hey, very pretty biggrin.gif Recently I bought another new royal red male betta from kl sentral too.. But this new guy died within 2 weeks.. I didn't get to breed from him at all sad.gif Such a pity he was so big and beautiful sad.gif Maybe cuz he was too stressed out being bullied by my female fishes that I tried to pair him up with hmm.gif

See I have loyal female fishes, they only tango with my previous male fish LOL
shecapricorn
post Jun 16 2008, 05:08 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(limie @ Jun 16 2008, 10:01 AM)
but the environment at kl sentral.... very very hot...
don u feel it?

hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Don't worry, the water in the fishes tank isn't hot, it's actually a lot cooler than the outside. Also, bettas' natural habitat is from a hot climate ie : malaysia. So they are accustomed to this weather anyways. smile.gif One of the reasons why I only keep bettas. They are hardy fish --> Easy maintainance tongue.gif

Added on June 16, 2008, 5:14 pm
QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jun 15 2008, 02:42 PM)
wah female more ganas than male lol. so did you manage to breed with your previous male fish then?
Yeap! My previous male fish had many "temporary wifes" tongue.gif He breed successfully with all of them, about 5 or 6 of them "wifes" tongue.gif He even cares for the frys til they are 3 weeks old, probably longer if the frys hadn't died due to malnutrition sad.gif Cuz I didn't have enough BBS to feed them so them baby fishes died off after 3 weeks for every successful spawn. Le sigh.

Anyways, I'm going to KL Sentral again next week (on the way to go for some freelance job training yawn.gif )
So I'll definitely stop by my fav shop there and get at least two males fishes this time. Back-up "husband" wink.gif
(p.s. I hope they restocked the fishes the day Im going there flex.gif )

Added on June 16, 2008, 5:18 pm
QUOTE(masta_hafiz @ Jun 16 2008, 02:41 PM)
here is my promise...
this is betta i catch at my hometown...

this is another catch betta two weeks ago...

after this i snap all betta that i'll buy at fish shop...stay tune for more betta... icon_rolleyes.gif
Beautiful yellow colour.. I'm guessing someone dumped their pet betta in the field lol

This post has been edited by shecapricorn: Jun 16 2008, 05:18 PM
shecapricorn
post Jun 16 2008, 08:58 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jun 16 2008, 08:05 PM)
after 3 weeks i think they should be big enough to eat small mosquitoes? just smack a few then throw in for them.

LOL. No way kenji. 3 weeks is still too small to eat anything. Go here for a chart with photos of a betta's growth. Then you'll know what I mean. LOL nod.gif
http://www.waynesthisandthat.com/bettagrowth.html

Added on June 16, 2008, 9:04 pm
QUOTE(limie @ Jun 16 2008, 07:01 PM)
hm... okok...
i gota check again whether they are aggressive or not...

how to train bette to be stronger?
starve them for a few days?
NO starving, NONO. Feed the bettas the best food available.. I feed mine frozen bloodworms.. You shd be able to buy a tray of them for rm2.50 at the local fish shop... One cube of bloodworms can easily feed up to 4-5 adult bettas.. My fished love this food lol and won't eat anything else unless its live food like mosquitoes, ants, etc.

Then allow the bettas to flare through a clear separator for a few hours LOL. Oh yeah, also, by feeding bloodworms, you can position the food above the water, so that the betta will jump out to eat the food tongue.gif Bit by bit you can increase the height of the food above the water and yeah, thats a way to "train" the bettas to be stronger physically, if that's what you meant smile.gif

This post has been edited by shecapricorn: Jun 16 2008, 09:04 PM
shecapricorn
post Jun 19 2008, 11:01 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(yewlin @ Jun 19 2008, 10:33 PM)
here is some of the turq HM i got  blush.gif
Where you got these from yewlin? biggrin.gif
shecapricorn
post Jun 23 2008, 05:09 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jun 20 2008, 09:11 AM)
i think the kl sentral stall got, small packets of RM2 each. i didn't buy it la so i'm not sure how it looks like oso hehe.
Just head to any aquarium shop, n ask for "frozen worms". They shd have it.. they keep it in the fridge.. so u gotta ask the shopkeeper smile.gif
shecapricorn
post Jun 30 2008, 10:48 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jun 24 2008, 09:17 AM)
gosh thanks for the info. hmm any idea how to get bettas to breed? my pair doesn't seem to want to breed and i had to separate the female since the male keeps harrassing her.
Sometimes, they just DONT click. lol. Try get another male or female. Or try like what i do. put them in the same container (the small ones with plastic blue hard net in the middle)... then fed them good food, then wait n let the female jump over to the male's side herself lol..........
shecapricorn
post Jul 1 2008, 02:50 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jun 30 2008, 11:37 PM)
my female jump over few times adi.. dunno whether there's gonna be any spark between them or not lol.
Haha... LEt the female do what she wants.. sometimes, (give some time about 1week, 2 weeks of u r patient) its the male who is fussy about which type of female he likes... As long the female is jumping here n there herself, she's safe n sound, no worries smile.gif Just check the water surface, see of there's a bubble nest, n see CLOSELY whether got eggs or not tongue.gif Sometimes it's hard to see the eggs (Duh! Eggs are small size as the bubbles n only slightly diff colour lol).. sometimes there will be only a few eggs (less than 100) but ONCE u think there's enuf eggs in there u can remove the female n let the male jaga the eggs... laugh.gif
shecapricorn
post Jul 1 2008, 04:15 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jul 1 2008, 03:40 PM)
yeah i've been waiting some time already, the male made quite a lot of bubble nest but then gone the next day.  doh.gif  maybe i'll just get more females, let him choose hehe. anyone care to donate?  laugh.gif
zzzzzzz buy from kl sentral there lo... Dun so kiamsiap lol very cheap edi there lol
shecapricorn
post Jul 2 2008, 05:05 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jul 1 2008, 04:18 PM)
haha i'm just joking ler.. there's a pet shop at old town which sells females for RM1 only instead of RM2 in kl sentral. oh besides, pet shops are considered expensive, if you check a few pages back, can see that ppl sell to them at about 30sen each for a lousy quality fish.
Hahaha... If selling veiltails at rm5 is a rip-off definitely... But if show-quality fishes like crowntail, plaket, HM, etc.. Rm 5 is like so very cheap edi hahaha....
shecapricorn
post Jul 7 2008, 03:55 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(masta_hafiz @ Jul 7 2008, 01:03 PM)
where can find the square jar??need around 10 square jar...for betta use...
U can use old cookie jars... Those plastic containers which is used to keep sweets like in the mamak stall one.. hehe.. just a suggestion.. or u can go any aquarium shop, they shd have it... But the small square containers the shop use is too small for my betta.. i use those cookie plastic contaners.. much bigger, n i need not change the water so frequently.. just use a big straw (i use the 7eleven slurpee straw - with the spoon part cut off) to suck up the fish poo. ^^

Added on July 7, 2008, 3:59 pm
QUOTE(White Palace @ Jul 7 2008, 02:54 AM)
Any recommendation where should i go to if i'm looking for a reputable Betta breeder who is helpful to guide me on the proper caring of Bettas? I'm opening up a pet store soon and I hope I can learn as much as possible before deciding on selling pets that i'm not so experienced in.
Bettas are easy to care for, they are hardy creatures. only make sure ur water is DECLORINATED properly. otherwise, any sort of water also will do, as long it is clear of fish poo n rotting plants. personally, i even let a little algae grow because some of my fishes eat it as well. And no, I havent been starving my fish. lol

This post has been edited by shecapricorn: Jul 7 2008, 03:59 PM
shecapricorn
post Jul 8 2008, 03:03 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jul 7 2008, 04:20 PM)
err you don't actually suck from the straw with your mouth right? lol. and your bettas eat a bit of algae ah? mine doesn't wan, then whatever little bit that's there will grow sad.gif
NO LA yuck la i dun use my mouth of course lol... I apply a little physics that i learned in form 5.. lol.. before u put the straw in the water, plug/block one end with ur thumb then only put the straw in the water. To suck up the fish poo, release ur thumb and let the atmospheric pressure outside the strw do its work, water and poo will be auto sucked up into the straw - and quickly, while the water is being sucked up halfway thru the straw, immediately block the top end of the straw again to transfer the dirty water and fish poo into another container. After u suction all the fish poo adi then u can throw away the fish poo into ur potted plants lol biggrin.gif
shecapricorn
post Jul 8 2008, 10:59 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jul 8 2008, 03:24 PM)
oh you using the syphon method.. your straw has to be pretty long though. for it to work, the outer part of the straw has to be longer than the part inside the water.

*edit - you're not using the syphon method, just realised lol.. well yours will be pretty tedious but it'll work too. the fastest is probably the syphon method which you place those flexible straws, shorter end in the water and longer end outside (with water in the straws also), then release your finger at the outer part of the straw then the water will automatically be sucked out. i use it for my little pond using a short garden hose.
shouldn't be any harm if they bite the tube mah, my fish likes to nibble on my finger cause they're so used to me feeding them with mosquitoes that whenever they see my finger they think i got mosquito for them so they bite lol. and it's not painful, just like normal fish nibble so i doubt that they'll bring any harm to your straws/tube.
I cant use the syphon method for my case, because i dun keep my fishes in a really big jar lol.. i clean my water almost everyday so its not tedious for me:P
shecapricorn
post Jul 10 2008, 06:53 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jul 9 2008, 08:38 PM)
female oso make bubble?? err i never see before like that lol. any pics of the male and female? biggrin.gif
Yes, females do make bubbles.. All my females make bubbles (a few even as much as the males zzzz).. Its good sign, shows ur girls are very healthy and happy ^^ and, very fertile as well lol.. Sometimes, when the females' bubbles are big enuf, i used to drop a few eggs inside to kacau them:P then the females will jaga the eggs like the real mummy:P
shecapricorn
post Jul 13 2008, 04:37 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(jhoonaun @ Jul 12 2008, 04:15 PM)
bro, the betta forum.. need to pay one.. and i dunu how to register for free also..
Erm.. The betta forum is just like this lowyat forum.. Registration is free.. icon_rolleyes.gif
shecapricorn
post Jul 14 2008, 05:07 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Jul 14 2008, 03:17 PM)
Oops.. sorry for the jargon. MG stands for Mustard Gas (blue or green body/yellow fins betta).
Pricing starts from rm50+? PLs correct me if im wrong, thx

0.0309sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:30 PM