4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Betta splendens Fighting Fish Club Ya'll! v2

Foxngn
post Sep 27 2006, 12:03 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

I tot want to keep a betta in a big horlicks bottle with some java moss inside, does tat affect anything ?
What do i need to look out for & any advices if im going keep a betta?
Foxngn
post Sep 27 2006, 12:19 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(yewlin @ Sep 27 2006, 12:15 AM)
chnage water every 2 days smile.gif

big horlicks bottle is more than enuf loh smile.gif

make sure you add some salt and anti-clorin  smile.gif

i also just a beginner so..maybe sifu jitticus can correct me.  icon_rolleyes.gif
May i ask why need salt?
Also need full water change or half-water change?
Foxngn
post Sep 27 2006, 10:03 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(yewlin @ Sep 27 2006, 09:45 AM)
no idea of the salt bro sweat.gif

normally i change full water smile.gif...i use tap water loh plus ketapang leave if sifu Jitticus pass me the ketapang leave. Don;t ask me why use ketapang leave yah  laugh.gif ..coz i just do wht he said only..... sweat.gif
oic.
Usually where you all brought ur betta one?
I just tot of getting a budgetable one, now need to clear a bit of my moss bowl, too much moss inside liao
Foxngn
post Sep 27 2006, 10:24 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(yewlin @ Sep 27 2006, 10:09 AM)
i got it from Jitticus also  rclxms.gif nice seller ....u got alot of moss ah...can pass to me some ah  tongue.gif
Not alot la, but got spare lor, cause the bowl of moss is my extra moss that i put in experiment one tongue.gif But my moss is not in perfect condition even in my fish tank, many is skinny' moss, b'cause i didnt use any fert, didnt use any co2, co2 im only use on the 1st time only..

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Sep 27 2006, 10:09 AM)
pet shop ones all very cheap... if you want good one you can get from Jitticus or yewlin
ya, i notice that, but i dunhav so much of budget to get a pretty one
Foxngn
post Sep 27 2006, 11:30 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(meiteoh @ Sep 27 2006, 10:59 AM)
Aquarium salt...you use table salt or epsom salt and you will end up killing your betta. tongue.gif
how about those use in cooking one & also those which are like those sugar size one? how much for a bottle of aqua salt?
Foxngn
post Sep 27 2006, 02:18 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

Aqua Salt izzit those that sell 1 packet that dunhav brand one?
I scare the tauke here also dunno how to differentiate aqua & sea salt
Foxngn
post Feb 22 2007, 02:46 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

yesterday just got a Betta, dunno what's the type looks a bit like Delta tail or HM, i dunno..too bad currently dunhav a camera.

Anyway, i want to ask, is Ketapang leaf easy to find around housing area? Because my place over here didn't sell ketapang leaf, & is there any other kind of leaf can replace the ketapang ?
Currently my betta is in a small tank with Java fern together, & from what i hav observe until now, it frequently will flaring its tail, even when i'm not near it, does this mean anything ? & why does it didn't show its fierce face when facing the mirror?
One last question, do we need to add salt everytime when do water change ? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Is any of the below is the ketapang leaf ? not really good in differentiate even i watched the previous ketapang picture in this thread.
btw, what do we need to do first b4 putting the leaf into the betta tank?

This post has been edited by Foxngn: Feb 22 2007, 06:40 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Foxngn
post Feb 22 2007, 11:58 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Feb 22 2007, 11:41 PM)
bro, no need to put salt la, only when betta sick then put a "bit" only......tats the ketapang leaf, b4 u put in, make sure u boil it 1st la, like "cooking" it, after tat only put in, it will turn d water bcome brownish after 3-4 days, it can lower the pH to around 5.5-6, depends on how many pieces u put in, but like me, i hv my own ketapang tree, so i didnt boil it, hahaha, if u can, next time u c the ketapang tree, then collect the seed la, its brown in color...then u can plant in ur garden lo, but remember the tree will grow very very big... sweat.gif my dad purposely plant this bcos wan to keep bettas..hahaha  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Haha, your dad is very geng !
So, all the 3 picture i uploaded is ketapang leaf ?
& i just need to boil them like boiling a driftwood ? usually how long does it need to boil ? I think i just put in 1 piece is enough, since the tank is small.

Foxngn
post Feb 23 2007, 12:08 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Feb 23 2007, 12:03 AM)
hahaha, my dad is animal freek la, i bcome like this also bcos his fault la..hahaaa ya all the 3 pictures are ketapang....yes u can boil it like driftwood lo....only a few minutes (around 3 in boiling water enug la, just my opinion), one piece in small tank definitely enug one, once the water bcome brownish u can remove it lo, bcos if u dont take out then the water will bcome black water liao, ketapang can make the pH down n if ur betta is sick u just put in ketapang + "bit" salt then it will heal...trust me...i always do this... rclxms.gif
then after using the Ketapang leaf on my tank, can i still used it another time ?
Foxngn
post Feb 23 2007, 08:25 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(freshyyf @ Feb 23 2007, 08:13 AM)
Better not. One time, I forgot to take out the Ketapang leaves. It stayed there for 4 days, the leaves deteriorated and my betta died. So, advise you to use the new one each time. Actually, no need to add the whole leaf, half or 1/3 still do the job.
Ok, thanks for all the information .. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Foxngn
post Feb 23 2007, 09:31 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(yewlin @ Feb 23 2007, 10:18 AM)
wow...didn't know that so many sifu here one. Happy CNY to all bettas Xiao Kakis laugh.gif
u also is one of the sifu here.

btw, want to ask those expert including u, do breeding betta easy ? i mean does it so complicated to breed?
Foxngn
post Feb 23 2007, 09:58 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(yewlin @ Feb 23 2007, 09:53 PM)
here is some of my humble answer hope this help you...normally when weather is cold..it is hard to breed...i put in 8 spawn only one success all faild...but if weather is hot..it is easy to breed 10 spawn ...9 success smile.gif...the hard part is growing the fries.. smile.gif
Oh...is a valuable information for me.
Then usually do we put single male with multiple female in breeding process? how to prevent them to getting in a fight?
Foxngn
post Feb 24 2007, 09:42 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(LovesReborn @ Feb 23 2007, 11:07 PM)
we dont put one male and multiple females... for the breeding steps you might wanna try googling...the mating part is rather easy, but taking care of the fries will be quite troublesome if this is your first time.
Oh.. i look through those breeding infor. about the mating part.
about taking care of the fry, does it necessary needed the sponge filter in the early stage?
Anyway is just my curiosity wants to know, won't be start so early for breeding yet
Foxngn
post Feb 24 2007, 06:01 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

btw, is it ok to put my betta tank beside with my big fish tank ?
will the betta be flaring everyday, cause my big tank got a golden gourami inside
Foxngn
post Feb 24 2007, 11:10 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

I put in half of leaf around 2 & a half day ago, how come until now still dunhav any little sign of brownish to my water? Izzit because i boiling the leaf too long time at the first place?
Foxngn
post Feb 25 2007, 10:48 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif doh.gif doh.gif Need to boil it again by today, i think will just boil it around 1 or 2mins.
But just now i saw some article said that boiling it around 10 - 20mins, how come ?
Foxngn
post Feb 25 2007, 06:19 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(LovesReborn @ Feb 25 2007, 04:31 PM)
no idea.normally will boil for around 5 minutes. enuff to kill bacteria and maintain the extract. put in the leave for around 30 minutes will make the water brownish already.

froxngn>> you better get the leaf out and change water. the leaf might deteriate into the water already. not good for bettas in my opinion.
today i change my water around 50% & took the leaf out oredi..
Is 50% of water changing is enough ? my tank just those very small pastic tank.. change around 3 days period.
I'm started another batch of leaf oredi, by boiling it 3 mins, then now is in my tank floating
Foxngn
post Feb 25 2007, 10:26 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

Actually i was thinkin this, maybe the leaf that i found was not ketapang leaf, its just some of the leaf which was similar to it...or maybe the leaf was not old enough to use, this there anything like this to happen ? Dun want to waste money buy the magical leaf product.
Foxngn
post Feb 27 2007, 09:19 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Feb 27 2007, 01:28 AM)
foxngn: ya i forgot to mention u need to get te very old leaf, like another sifu said, "crunhcy leaf", normally i didnt cook it, just wash it with aged water a few times, then str8 away throw in the tank aldi, around 1 or 2 day the water will change brownish aldi.

the_registered: do u put in salt?? i think mostly it is bcos of the water condition...
wat u feed them??? live food??? normally tubifex will carry parasite tat wil harm ur bettas, i learnt this thru a very hard lesson, my channoides dead bcos of parasite,  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif may it RIP....
aiya...like that ah.
Now i took all those old leaf place in the balcony let's the sun shine on it until it get crunchy, today need to go hunt for leaf again rclxub.gif
Foxngn
post Feb 28 2007, 08:49 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

u guys are so great !
Do we really need to pretty expensive male to breed a pretty betta ?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0511sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:40 AM