125 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Bottom

Betta splendens Fighting Fish Club Ya'll! v2

White Palace
post Feb 14 2008, 11:40 AM

Angel - Top Maltese 2006 @ Best Malaysian Bred In Show
2,309 posts

May I know whether there is any upcoming Betta competition / show?
ynneb25
post Feb 14 2008, 11:41 AM

Does ur eye hurt? :P
708 posts

QUOTE(cirebonbetta @ Feb 14 2008, 11:13 AM)
LOL!! XD

Ming Han>
Ei, dun la terasa. Hahahah. biggrin.gif HAIR ALGAE?? VERY SMARTTTT. ROFL

NewbieBetta>
Wow. So sad one. T__T Like Benny said... maybe it's the way you aged the water or something something got to do with that??

Benny>
You mean kenot simply just aged the water kah? I know must put Seachem in the water to hapuskan the chloramine la... but other than that? boleh ajar any other technique on how to aged water and how to prevent the bettas from kena fin rot? And Indian almond leaf (ketapang) soak in water is good right? So you recommend how long to soak? 2 days??
i used to age water(with anti-chlorine+chloramine(a good branded one)) for at least 24 hrs...no more than 2 days(as i usually change water every 2 days tongue.gif) By right, indian almond leaf is suppose to help prevent/cure fin rot but if u soak the leaf in the water for too long, it will start to grow fungus(as i tried to age it with my water for more than 24 hours). 1 trick a singaporean 'kaki' taught me was to cut off the stem of the leaf and roll/shove the leaf into an empty small mineral water bottle and age it until the colour turns brownish and then throw out the leaf (and continuing mixing the 'brown water' with each water change). also, fyi, the brown water has the same effect as black water sold in LFSs if i remember correctly tongue.gif(sorry its been 5 yrs tongue.gif)
inv
post Feb 14 2008, 04:55 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(White Palace @ Feb 14 2008, 11:40 AM)
May I know whether there is any upcoming Betta competition / show?
there will be one in march 14th-16th in Sentul Park Koi Centre.

bohrlin
post Feb 15 2008, 10:15 AM

114 posts

wow..nice. anyone going??
inv
post Feb 15 2008, 10:33 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

Competition classes and groups.

For more information, please refer to the thread here

This post has been edited by inv: Feb 15 2008, 10:34 AM
Foxngn
post Feb 15 2008, 12:06 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

So, anybody ? can i use the female wild plakat i posted in previous page to breed together with those show betta ?
inv
post Feb 15 2008, 01:36 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

it can be done, although it might not be the best route. you might lose the colour that u wanted by introducing other colours.
Foxngn
post Feb 15 2008, 01:59 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Feb 15 2008, 01:36 PM)
it can be done, although it might not be the best route. you might lose the colour that u wanted by introducing other colours.
oic, then which sort/variety of betta i should get to match with the female wild plakat to mate?

Ohh ya, 1 more question, since i'm placing 3 wild plakat together, will it be a problem if i add another of those female betta inside, but not the wild one.

This post has been edited by Foxngn: Feb 15 2008, 02:09 PM
inv
post Feb 15 2008, 02:10 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

if it's wild then match back to wild smile.gif
match to show bettas oso no problem if you don't mind the outcome.
abang brother
post Feb 15 2008, 02:18 PM

4,967 posts

Can i use normal pipe water and let the fish inside?
Foxngn
post Feb 15 2008, 02:20 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Feb 15 2008, 02:10 PM)
if it's wild then match back to wild smile.gif
match to show bettas oso no problem if you don't mind the outcome.
Sorry if i ask too much, is the wild betta usually is those type that having short fins & tails ?
inv
post Feb 15 2008, 02:28 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

tap water contains chlorine and chloramine and it will kill the fishes. therefore, the answer is no. you must either age your water or use anti-chlorine on the tap water before using on fishes.
NewbieBetta
post Feb 15 2008, 03:27 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

QUOTE(Foxngn @ Feb 15 2008, 02:20 PM)
Sorry if i ask too much, is the wild betta usually is those type that having short fins & tails ?
short fins & tails are plakat(normally in Local Fish Shop)...

wild betta is wild betta & they also have short fins & tails tongue.gif

This post has been edited by NewbieBetta: Feb 15 2008, 03:28 PM
malowie
post Feb 16 2008, 07:33 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Feb 15 2008, 02:28 PM)
tap water contains chlorine and chloramine and it will kill the fishes. therefore, the answer is no. you must either age your water or use anti-chlorine on the tap water before using on fishes.
theres an old wives' tale saying that fighting fish can survive in tap water... lols..
goldfries
post Feb 16 2008, 07:56 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

depends on how the tap water is treated la.

some tap water no chlorine. others have. balbalblabla.

for betta, easy only. keep a pail of water some place, leave it there for some days for the chlorine to wear off.

after that you can use it for many water-changes.
malowie
post Feb 16 2008, 08:14 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 16 2008, 07:56 PM)
depends on how the tap water is treated la.

some tap water no chlorine. others have. balbalblabla.

for betta, easy only. keep a pail of water some place, leave it there for some days for the chlorine to wear off.

after that you can use it for many water-changes.
actually for all fishes, if you leave a bucket of water overnight, you can use it wan.. not only for betta...

cuz the chlorine gas would escape within one night. biggrin.gif
Foxngn
post Feb 16 2008, 09:23 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

yor... sh*t, just bought a regular betta back, i suspected it got swim bladder disease ...as it just know how to swim upward & most of the time he was lying at the bottom, although it can flaring well when facing the mirror

This post has been edited by Foxngn: Feb 16 2008, 09:26 PM
malowie
post Feb 16 2008, 09:29 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Foxngn @ Feb 16 2008, 09:23 PM)
yor... sh*t, just bought a regular betta back, i suspected it got swim bladder disease ...as it just know how to swim upward & most of the time he was lying at the bottom, although it can flaring well when facing the mirror
did u check it at the pet shop
?
Foxngn
post Feb 16 2008, 09:36 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(malowie @ Feb 16 2008, 09:29 PM)
did u check it at the pet shop
?
because at the pet shop there they put in those small plastic round tank which the view is quite blurr, & it was flaring around, didn't saw it swim much, so i thought it wouldn't be having any problem..
malowie
post Feb 16 2008, 09:41 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Foxngn @ Feb 16 2008, 09:36 PM)
because at the pet shop there they put in those small plastic round tank which the view is quite blurr, & it was flaring around, didn't saw it swim much, so i thought it wouldn't be having any problem..
Ic... yeah.. sometimes when you buy from pet shops this problems comes around.. haha.. i mean, if you go back to the pet shop and give him back im sure he wont wanna refund you right? so next time must be a bit careful.. for fishes, u gotta really study them for at least a few minutes. thats what i do when i buy fishes lor...

cheers,

125 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:43 AM