Urgently Need Advise..., Abdominal Pain

TShidelun
post Mar 31 2014, 05:05 PM, updated 6y ago

165 posts

Hi guys, I need some opinions from you guys. My mum starts stomach pain last Monday, and she went to clinic and Doc prescribed her gastric medicine, but the pain still on and go. Until last Thursday, suddenly she was in great pain on her bladder area. It was so pain till she cant walk. I quickly bring her to Selayang Hospital emergency. After blood test and x ray, doctor said she have urinary tract infection and have some small stones in her bladder which cause the pain in the area. And the Doc said no need for surgery and will prescribe solution to break the stone. The doctor gave antibiotic, vitamin c, vitamin b complex, urinary alkalinizer (to break the tiny stone) She is getting better on her bladder area but still slightly pain around the stomach area. So I ask her to take the gastric medicine as well see whether it helps or not. After took the gastric medicine, she felt much betta and we think this is it, she will be getting better.

Suddenly this morning, she cried that she's very pain at the whole abdominal and back. I brought her back to Selayang Hospital, Doc said Xray, blood test, urine test, pressure, heart rate all okay(except there a still tiny stone in her bladder which will not caused the whole abdomen pain). And she said this kinda pain may be caused by severe gastric or stomach ulcer. So, the doctor gave a stronger gastric medicine and also make appointment for endoscopy to check whether got ulcer or anything in her stomach (24 of april, u know la government hospital)

Now I am thinking to get second opinion from private Hospital. The things is I afraid,touch wood if anything wrong while waiting for the checking(still 3 weeks to go) and what if the medicine can't helps also and my mum still in great pain. I will regret myself to die if thing worst due to too late getting medical care.

Any of you guys have this experience or any private hospital that good on this area to recommend. Or whether should I wait and see for a few days. Lastly, my mum do not have insurance, so the medical bill I have to pay myself. So i also scare the checking will cause few thousands.

Pls advise. Thank you!
ArenarZ
post Mar 31 2014, 05:13 PM

239 posts

I think if shes really in pain, juz bring her to the private hospital, juz for checking..better be sure than regret for life..its ur mom, money will never replace her love to u..
TShidelun
post Mar 31 2014, 05:31 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(ArenarZ @ Mar 31 2014, 05:13 PM)
I think if shes really in pain, juz bring her to the private hospital, juz for checking..better be sure than regret for life..its ur mom, money will never replace her love to u..
Yup, i am thinking to bring her to private hospital if still pain. Now I am checking which private hospital to go...
gennee
post Apr 1 2014, 12:40 PM

169 posts

does your mom has any of these symptoms aside from the abdominal pain?

constipation, dark or blood in stool
bloating
nausea or vomiting
weight loss

if yes, you may not want to wait that long. go get 2nd opinion at the private hospital.

i'm having gastritis at the moment, possible stomach ulcer. doctor gave me some meds to stop my stomach from producing more acid. i dont have any of the symptoms; pass motion like normal, no weight loss, no vomiting but it's just painful around my navel.

he said it's possible to heal on it's own but takes longer time and have to be very strict with diet - nothing spicy, sourish, oily / fried stuff, coffee, tea or anything that and aggravate the pain.

i've yet to set appointment for endoscopy. i know i'll know for sure what's going on in my stomach... guess i should just schedule one..

This post has been edited by gennee: Apr 1 2014, 12:41 PM
TinyPumpkin
post Apr 1 2014, 02:49 PM

1,233 posts

QUOTE(hidelun @ Mar 31 2014, 05:31 PM)
Yup, i am thinking to bring her to private hospital if still pain. Now I am checking which private hospital to go...
I don't think endoscopy would cost thousands of ringgit. You could call up the hospital to check on their charges first.

TShidelun
post Apr 4 2014, 07:49 AM

165 posts

I have brought my mum to Gleneagle Hospital on last Tuesday, since she said still got slightly pain, We see Dr. Anand Bhupalan, Gastroenterologist specialist. I brought the medicine prescribed by Selayang Hospital Dr, and told him the whole story. He said in the mean time, endosopy should be do later, need to do a blood test & CTU Scan to see what happening on my mother stomach and abdominal. So my mum did a ctu scan on tat day, and blood, urine test as well. CTU Scan result was not okay, the dr said it is not clear enough as the a lot fluid (infection) shown in my mother lower abdominal part. So as nothing we can do, we need to do a thorough CT Scan, my mum have to drink a few cup of constrast water. I can see my mum is very in pain and suffering. Once the result out, Dr Anand, confirm that my mum have infection on the lower abdominal, not sure is in intestine part or ovary part. She have blockage at the kidney as well, that why she have back pain. And the stomach inner layer is swollen.

Dr said need to admit to the hospital immediately to put antibiotic in her blood and need Kidney, Gynaecology, general surgeon specialist to check my mum. It will life threating if drag on as what Dr said. After discuss with my brother, we think we should admit her in Glenagle immediately as I afraid government doctor will drag on or cant check what the problem. So we admit my mum tat night and antibiotic, have put in her vein. I can see her still in pain, she vomit morning (small portion of bihun and vege) and keep need to go to toilet to urine. The Gynaecology specialist later came and check and found the infection is not from there. later tat night, general surgeon specialist, came over and check, said need to put a strong antibiotic and c tomorrow how, they will discuss each other how to work it out since there is so many area got infected. Wednesday morning the kidney specialist, checkup and said one of the kidney is infected but not damage. My mum pain is getting stronger and she havent sleep since sunday due to the pain. later Dr said need to do endoscopy to check the stomach condition since it swollen. And hope there is any nasty inside. After check the endoscopy, he said the condition in her stomach is not ok, it swollen, and he had took the tissue to biopsy. It is high possible is cancer. But not to jump to conclusion.
Tat night, i see my mum very great in pain on her lower abdominal, i ask the nurse to call doc and see what they can do. They giv painkiller and sleeping pil, so my mum can sleep. My mum sleep a few hour and feel a bit betta. I haven't sleep well since last week as well, 2-3 hours max per day. Yesterday, the report is out, there is no cancer cell in the tissues, however Dr said the swelling is may the begining stage of cancer or symptom of cancer as some are grow inside not from outside according to the biopsy. She need to do a small operation to put the camera scope to check her intestine condition and take a tissue from there and also take a small part of the stomach (as previous endoscopy tissue is not deep enough)for biopsy. Dr is strongly suspect is cancer and it is very bad news but still he cant confirm without taking the tissue for biopsy. My mum condition is not getting better, she still vomit,only take a dump twice (small portion) on Wed. And her lower abdominal keep spining.

I am on the verge of total broke down, i really pray so hard my mum will be recover soon. She is still very young 54 years old. I have could not sleep. I hope for a miracle. I have check in details on my mum sympton in the net, the more i check the more heart ache i become. It is really hard time for me now.
alanyuppie
post Apr 4 2014, 09:57 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(hidelun @ Apr 4 2014, 08:49 AM)
I have brought my mum to Gleneagle Hospital on last Tuesday, since she said still got slightly pain, We see Dr. Anand Bhupalan, Gastroenterologist specialist. I brought the medicine prescribed by Selayang Hospital Dr, and told him the whole story. He said in the mean time, endosopy should be do later, need to do a blood test & CTU Scan to see what happening on my mother stomach and abdominal. So my mum did a ctu scan on tat day, and blood, urine test as well. CTU Scan result was not okay, the dr said it is not clear enough as the a lot fluid (infection) shown in my mother lower abdominal part. So as nothing we can do, we need to do a thorough CT Scan, my mum have to drink a few cup of constrast water. I can see my mum is very in pain and suffering. Once the result out, Dr Anand, confirm that my mum have infection on the lower abdominal, not sure is in intestine part or ovary part. She have blockage at the kidney as well, that why she have back pain. And the stomach inner layer is swollen.

Dr said need to admit to the hospital immediately to put antibiotic in her blood and need Kidney, Gynaecology, general surgeon specialist to check my mum. It will life threating if drag on as what Dr said. After discuss with my brother, we think we should admit her in Glenagle immediately as I afraid government doctor will drag on or cant check what the problem. So we admit my mum tat night and antibiotic, have put in her vein. I can see her still in pain, she vomit morning (small portion of bihun and vege) and keep need to go to toilet to urine. The Gynaecology specialist later came and check and found the infection is not from there. later tat night, general surgeon specialist, came over and check, said need to put a strong antibiotic and c tomorrow how, they will discuss each other how to work it out since there is so many area got infected. Wednesday morning the kidney specialist, checkup and said one of the kidney is infected but not damage. My mum pain is getting stronger and she havent sleep since sunday due to the pain. later Dr said need to do endoscopy to check the stomach condition since it swollen. And hope there is any nasty inside. After check the endoscopy, he said the condition in her stomach is not ok, it swollen, and he had took the tissue to biopsy. It is high possible is cancer. But not to jump to conclusion.
Tat night, i see my mum very great in pain on her lower abdominal, i ask the nurse to call doc and see what they can do. They giv painkiller and sleeping pil, so my mum can sleep. My mum sleep a few hour and feel a bit betta. I haven't sleep well since last week as well, 2-3 hours max per day. Yesterday, the report is out, there is no cancer cell in the tissues, however Dr said the swelling is may the begining stage of cancer or symptom of cancer as some are grow inside not from outside according to the biopsy. She need to do a small operation to put the camera scope to check her intestine condition and take a tissue from there and also take a small part of the stomach (as previous endoscopy tissue is not deep enough)for biopsy. Dr is strongly suspect is cancer and it is very bad news but still he cant confirm without taking the tissue for biopsy. My mum condition is not getting better, she still vomit,only take a dump twice (small portion) on Wed. And her lower abdominal keep spining.

I am on the verge of total broke down, i really pray so hard my mum will be recover soon. She is still very young 54 years old. I have could not sleep. I hope for a miracle. I have check in details on my mum sympton in the net, the more i check the more heart ache i become. It is really hard time for me now.
Stay positive. No cancer cells means GOOD NEWS. Beginning of cancer is just speculation by doctor. Even it begins, early stage cancer is highly treatable.

good luck and wish her well.

TinyPumpkin
post Apr 4 2014, 01:32 PM

1,233 posts

Hope it's only swelling and not cancer. Be strong for your Mum.

Will pray for her. Good luck!

TShidelun
post Apr 4 2014, 11:33 PM

165 posts

My mum have done the operation, doc said he found a lot of white spot around the abdomen. he have take out one of the tissue for biopsy. Result will be out in Monday (99% is cancer as his experience)And he found out my mum large intestine was swelling so big which is the main cause of her pain. The cause of the swellin due to the colon is blocked (may due tumour) If the large intestine burst, she will die. He will arrange a procedure (not operate) to put a stent inside the colon to unblocked/expand the blockage tomorrow afternoon. In this way, she can be pass the motion and eat again.

He highly suspect the cancer is " inside the layer of the stomach" that spread so quick. He told me if it is a cancer based on biospy. My mum only have 3 months since it is stomach cancer stage 4.

This is really the end of the world for me & my family. 3 months is too fast!

This post has been edited by hidelun: Apr 4 2014, 11:34 PM
TinyPumpkin
post Apr 5 2014, 11:43 AM

1,233 posts

The doc did not remove the cancerous portion? I think your Mum will need several specialists to perform the different operations on different organ.

So sad that she has so little time. But keep praying; sometimes doctors could be wrong on the length of survival period. I've seen a colon cancer patient surviving till now when his doctor told him that he had only 6 months left.

Most importantly your Mum must persevere and have a strong fighting spirit. Will pray for her.

Good luck!
TShidelun
post Apr 5 2014, 11:59 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(TinyPumpkin @ Apr 5 2014, 11:43 AM)
The doc did not remove the cancerous portion?  I think your Mum will need several specialists to perform the different operations on different organ.

So sad that she has so little time. But keep praying; sometimes doctors could be wrong on the length of survival period. I've seen a colon cancer patient surviving till now when his doctor told him that he had only 6 months left.

Most importantly your Mum must persevere and have a strong fighting spirit. Will pray for her.

Good luck!
We are waiting the biopsy report and if it is positive, there is no point for surgery as it has spread around as per doctor said. This afternoon, my mum will do the stent procedure so she can pass motion. I pray to God the procedure runs well and the result is negative on Monday.
NGV22
post Apr 7 2014, 12:32 PM

614 posts

all i can said good luck to you and your family. will keep updated. be strong
TShidelun
post Apr 7 2014, 11:51 PM

165 posts

The Stent procedure did at 2pm, Saturday but failed yesterday as the pressure in her colon is too tight, if forcely proceed it will burst it. Out from the procedure, the pain over the whole abdominal is worse, belly was so swollen, I heart broke when I see her suffering. By night, Doc said have to do a surgery to take out her large intestine from her abdominal for her to pass motion, or else, she may not live by tomorrow coz the large intestine will burst. So she did the operation, and she feel much betta on Sunday. She told me she feel recover dy, and talk whole day with smile. Today, she start eating and feel much betta. At least she is not suffering. However, the more hope she showing, the more heartache I feel coz she doesn't know how serious coz i told her is infection.

By evening, Doctor cames with bad news (biopsy) that she is confirm diagnose with stomach cancer stage 4. If she can live 3 months, we should be grateful for her and not recommended do to chemo as it may shorten her life, but the choice is with us.

Till now, I haven't told her the actual fact as I know my mum, if she know it she will be very sad, giv up, sad and can't even sleep. It is too sudden for her, since yesterday, she is feeling betta and told us what she want to do in future. It is too cruel to tell her.
nikita zuleica
post Apr 8 2014, 11:06 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(hidelun @ Apr 7 2014, 11:51 PM)
The Stent procedure did at 2pm, Saturday but failed yesterday as the pressure in her colon is too tight, if forcely proceed it will burst it. Out from the procedure, the pain over the whole abdominal is worse, belly was so swollen, I heart broke when I see her suffering. By night, Doc said have to do a surgery to take out her large intestine from her abdominal for her to pass motion, or else, she may not live by tomorrow coz the large intestine will burst. So she did the operation, and she feel much betta on Sunday. She told me she feel recover dy, and talk whole day with smile. Today, she start eating and feel much betta. At least she is not suffering. However, the more hope she showing, the more heartache I feel coz she doesn't know how serious coz i told her is infection.

By evening, Doctor cames with bad news (biopsy) that she is confirm diagnose with stomach cancer stage 4. If she can live 3 months, we should be grateful for her and not recommended do to chemo as it may shorten her life, but the choice is with us.

Till now, I haven't told her the actual fact as I know my mum, if she know it she will be very sad, giv up, sad and can't even sleep. It is too sudden for her, since yesterday, she is feeling betta and told us what she want to do in future. It is too cruel to tell her.
I hope and pray for your mother's health.....

wht's ur mother ethnic?, how old is she? does she has family history of cancer ? thx
TinyPumpkin
post Apr 8 2014, 11:26 AM

1,233 posts

Pray for your Mom and please stay strong.
fun_feng
post Apr 8 2014, 03:10 PM

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

Pray for your mum and be strong
ricardoizecson
post Apr 9 2014, 02:10 AM

83 posts

Pray for you mother. Be strong dude. She must be grateful to have a son/daughter like you.

Btw. After all that tests and procedures, may I know how much is the hospital bill?
4everlove
post Apr 9 2014, 10:39 PM

97 posts

TS, I'm so sorry to hear this news of your mom. Your mom will need u n family members by her side at this difficult moment. Stay strong, u r a filial child, your mom surely be happy n proud of u.
TShidelun
post Apr 10 2014, 12:30 AM

165 posts

My mother (only 54 years old) have discharged today from Gleaneagle. We have decided not to do chemo, not tell her in the mean time and look for alternative medication. Total bill for the hospital is RM 29 xxx (about 30k) She is so weak and start from yesterday she have back pain (suspect kidney now getting infected) She was so pain, she can't sleep. And my mum don't like to take western medicine especially painkiller. How can she enjoy her 3 months, if she is so suffering. It is spreading very fast!

After discharge, I bring her to alternative medical, where the doctor use acupuncture and frequency therapy. It is so heartbreak to see her can't even walk without helps. She needs to rest for few minutes after a few steps furthermore the doctor office is on 1st floor. But she is a very strong lady, she insist to see the doctor even i ask her to go back home rest 1st. During the treatment, she started to feel pressure on her stomach, unable to pass wind and severe pain on her back. Suddenly, my mum felt wanna vomits, and she throw up brown/black color liquid (I can tell u she throw a lot, the plastic we held was so heavy. I was so afraid, but doctor said it is a good sign, as she is throwing all the toxic. In my heart, i really hope she is. She felt much betta after the throw up and I am so relieved. Her back is felt betta after the treatment. She vomit few times while we back home and i really hope it is toxic.The color of the vomit change from black/dark brown to brown and last vomit is green color and it getting lesser. Now she is sleeping in her room and my father is watching over her. I hope she feel betta tomorrow. I will bring my mum to see the doc everyday to continue the treatment.

Here, I would like to express my gratitude and thank you to you guys for the support and prayer. And also my fren is very supportive, I manage to get a plant of sabah snake grass from my fren's fren which ppl said is good for cancer patient. And my uncle have bought some Porcupine Bezoar which is also claim to works (actually I have bought two packet myself last week and curix2 giv her to eat in the hospital as some ppl claim it good for after operation). However in the mean time, i dun wan to let her to take 1st as she is so weak, i afraid she can't take it with so many medication.

I will not giv up and pray that my mum will feel betta. Not to say cure the cancer but to stop/ease my mum suffering so she can enjoy her life at the very last moment.
TinyPumpkin
post Apr 10 2014, 11:34 AM

1,233 posts

TS you are doing a very good job. Yes, take good care of her and try to ease her suffering.

Meanwhile pray for a miracle.

0.0198sec    0.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:12 AM