Notebooks (Used) WTA - Laptop mobo is DEAD, what to do?

kurangak
post Apr 1 2014, 05:55 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

ur laptop still can go into os?

kurangak
post Apr 1 2014, 10:02 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(plums666 @ Apr 1 2014, 09:56 AM)
yeah.. but i rather sell to people who need spare parts than trade in.. trade in not  worth sweat.gif i think i could only get rm200.. but if i sell lcd, ram separately maybe would get more? doesnt it?
can but fan not working so it will get hot fast and suddenly off after few minutes..
hav u tried replacing the fan?

parts u can sell off ebay/lelong if u want. definitely will get better value liddat.

This post has been edited by kurangak: Apr 1 2014, 10:04 AM
kurangak
post Apr 1 2014, 11:23 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(plums666 @ Apr 1 2014, 11:04 AM)
nope, never.. cuz last time i brought my laptop to shop A they said my fan is okay just my mobo is dead..
then i go to shop B they said mobo is okay just change the fan rclxub.gif
i got confused! so i think mybe i just sell the other parts lo.. hope laku  sweat.gif
if u still wanna use the laptop, try changing the fan 1st...

but if u want to change ur laptop, sell the old laptop by parts... but itll take some time b4 ull manage to sell all tho...
kurangak
post Apr 1 2014, 11:42 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(plums666 @ Apr 1 2014, 11:32 AM)
yeah of course will take time haha.. nowadays my spec can be considered as ancient-low end..
but frankly speak how much do u think i could get? specs are as the top post
price may vary. i suggest u google up ur computer parts number based on ur model, then search it on ebay to make reference on the price.

This post has been edited by kurangak: Apr 1 2014, 11:43 AM
kurangak
post Apr 2 2014, 08:17 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(plums666 @ Apr 1 2014, 09:55 PM)
i also think its not overheat problem because before this i turn on the laptop then i cucuk2 fan to work (sometimes not work) and amazingly when the fan spin i can let it run for days without shutdown.. but one day i tried the same method the fan work but produce a weird sound.. i did unscrew my laptop to check but no strange thing happen inside.. i dunno which component to change? all shop i went advice me to buy new one or new mobo which is not recommended sweat.gif
1 shop even lied to me.. long story.. but he charge me for something unnecessary
- format my laptop without my permission (i think he afraid and try to made up a story..because my laptop cant be turn on after he blow with a machine to clean that leave me no choice to leave it with him to solve the problem)
-change my 4gb ram to 2gb claim my ram is dead which is not..

this shop la said mobo is okay only fan got prob others said mobo prob
sounds like ur fan is dead...probably about time u change ur fan anyway..
kurangak
post Apr 2 2014, 10:20 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(plums666 @ Apr 2 2014, 10:03 AM)
how? what u think my prob is?  sad.gif
2 shop say mobo 1 shop say fan.. u also say fan too.. really?
how much for the fan? is it worth to change tho? :3
coz u say u need to poke the fan in order for it to works. plus u said that it produce weird noise.(i assume it comes from the fan) so it must be the fan.

without fan, ur system overheats quickly n just auto shutdown.

idk about ur model, but generally replacement fan its around rm50-100 including postage fee on ebay (depending on availability n demand)

some seller in lyn oso selling replacement parts.

as for worth it or not, its up to u to decide. tongue.gif

personally, ill just buy a new laptop, fix the old, broken laptop n then donate/sell it cheap to someone who might need it.

This post has been edited by kurangak: Apr 2 2014, 10:21 AM

0.0180sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:21 PM