FAQ Chipset identification Software

TSutopian86
post Jul 21 2006, 01:01 AM, updated 20y ago

1,239 posts

Is there any software to detect motherboard brand and model? My sis ask me to format her pc but she lost her motherbaord cd, how to get the driver?
EricCYL
post Jul 21 2006, 01:07 AM

*My Cubicle*
1,133 posts

Try checking your motherboard from what company and search the model number. smile.gif Or you can try Everest, try google it or download it from www.download.com
samurai1337
post Jul 21 2006, 09:22 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

if you have no idea how to go into your BIOS, you can also use CPU-Z to get your motherboard model

After that just go to the manufacturer website to download the drivers/software
AsenDURE
post Jul 21 2006, 10:56 AM

je suis desole. je n'y crois pas a ces conneries!!
2,496 posts

i used to use this small app, when i was lazy to open up the casing, called unknown device indetifier (how original tongue.gif) to indentify chipsets.

download from here:

http://www.zhangduo.com/udi.html

once you know the chipset, it's very easy. you just need to go to the chipset manufacturers website and download the drivers.

eg. SiS7012 chipset.

doesn't matter if it's a DFI, MSI, Asrock or ASUS mobo, just go to www.sis.com and search for SiS7012 and you'll get the driver.
GameSky
post Jul 21 2006, 11:08 AM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

***Bump thread...a while***

Thanks AsenDURE...I just wanna to post the same question too laugh.gif
TSutopian86
post Jul 21 2006, 12:40 PM

1,239 posts

the latest CPU-Z doesn't detect the motherboard brand sad.gif
I will try to Everest and unknown device indetifier to check the motherboard.

Thanks guys.
hope can find the driver
anQi
post Jul 21 2006, 08:16 PM

757 posts

try this site... http://www.drivershq.com/
[N]3on
post Jul 21 2006, 08:40 PM

Go With The Flow
790 posts

Do you try Everest?
TSutopian86
post Jul 22 2006, 07:35 PM

1,239 posts

QUOTE(anQi @ Jul 21 2006, 09:16 PM)
try this site... http://www.drivershq.com/
Is this safe to use? smile.gif

QUOTE([N]3on @ Jul 21 2006, 09:40 PM)
Do you try Everest?
Downloading it now happy.gif
anQi
post Jul 22 2006, 09:31 PM

757 posts

http://www.drivershq.com/
the url is for driver detective. it'll detect n then show what HW u got, tell the driver required n updates (if) available.
Atlantis
post Jul 24 2006, 01:47 AM

Validating
403 posts

Can i know how to check my chipset software version in system ?/

I got everest and cpu-z but it have no info about what chipset driver im using. need to know it cos i dun even know which version im using ... cos need to update it ><

moderation: thread merged.

This post has been edited by AsenDURE: Mar 25 2007, 02:36 AM
Ultima
post Jul 24 2006, 12:21 PM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

u r using intel? if yes, there are chipset info i think in intel website.. install it and it will display ur chipset version
AsenDURE
post Jul 24 2006, 02:09 PM

je suis desole. je n'y crois pas a ces conneries!!
2,496 posts

this might be able to help...

http://www.zhangduo.com/udi.html

0.0186sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:30 AM