Help! Proton saga's fan still running..

TSsoyabean123
post Mar 29 2014, 05:33 PM, updated 12y ago

153 posts

Dear all, my proton saga flx's fan still running after i switch off engine. First time experience this, can anyone help me? what should i do? :S urgent

Is already 15 minutes, and fan is still running... :S
Geekbuster
post Mar 29 2014, 05:50 PM

149 posts

Your engine too hot?
chemistry101
post Mar 29 2014, 06:22 PM

disconnect the battery & see if it still can run
allenultra
post Mar 29 2014, 06:26 PM

9,027 posts

If it run forever, send your car to service centre and have a check on it.
And if it does stop after a while, its normal for Campro engine.

TSsoyabean123
post Mar 29 2014, 08:27 PM

153 posts

I went to nearby car workshop. The guy said is not the battery problem, is the relay (located in a black box beside the battery). 1 out of 3 was very very hot. After changed a new relay, problem solved. It cost RM18 for the service and a new relay. hmm.. price consider ok? dad told me that thing cost around 7-10rm..
boonhan
post Mar 29 2014, 08:52 PM

Reader
1,934 posts

QUOTE(soyabean123 @ Mar 29 2014, 08:27 PM)
I went to nearby car workshop. The guy said is not the battery problem, is the relay (located in a black box beside the battery). 1 out of 3 was very very hot. After changed a new relay, problem solved. It cost RM18 for the service and a new relay. hmm.. price consider ok? dad told me that thing cost around 7-10rm..
just take that as pay more rm8 for a satisfy service.
TSsoyabean123
post Mar 29 2014, 09:08 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(boonhan @ Mar 29 2014, 08:52 PM)
just take that as pay more rm8 for a satisfy service.
ok la. haih. I wonder where got nice and reliable workshop in KL. any recommend?
-cmi-
post Mar 29 2014, 11:12 PM

664 posts

You should grateful that shop doesnt con you asking you change this, change that, overhaul etc.
iskazulka
post Apr 2 2014, 03:43 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(soyabean123 @ Mar 29 2014, 10:08 PM)
ok la. haih. I wonder where got nice and reliable workshop in KL. any recommend?
ask ur father. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by iskazulka: Apr 2 2014, 04:35 PM
iskazulka
post Apr 2 2014, 03:46 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Beyonce_standard @ Jan 6 2014, 01:19 PM)
Finally my NONE-stop spinning radiator fan problem solved. i m here to contribute by sharing my bad experience =p and hopefully if one fine day, any1 of u guys face the same issue, then u can settled with ease.

Btw, its lucky for me to try my luck with the proton dealer sc near taman mayang pj 2day. They only spent 5 mins for the whole process to settle my problem. The culprit of the problem is actually the "relay" as what abang YAB and Dares mention earlier. Thanks god that i dint wait and send my car for 2 days as mention by the SC in Section 13 and Glenmarie.

Although my car is under warranty,  the relay, fuse and bulbs are not covered. So i need to pay rm11.70 for the relay and YES!!!! its dxmn cheap!!!! RM11.70 and solved the irritating problem!! i paid happily and leave.

my car is going to service soon, i think i will stick to the taman mayang sc as they never disappoint me =) After renew road tax and insurance, gonna prepare to change new shoes for my ride^^ maybe 195 50 15?
to me quite resonable la. rm18 only not 100-500 ringgit difference btw.
p1p
post Jun 15 2014, 09:36 AM

713 posts

Same problem with my FLX.
Radiator fan keeps spinning >10min after engine is switched off. Battery KO but can be jumped.
rudhrasamy
post Jun 15 2014, 09:40 AM

844 posts

start the car again and let it idle for a while.. then turn off... your fan will not run..

this happen once in a while ... using BLM for 5 years
DoomCognition
post Jun 15 2014, 10:05 AM

737 posts

I remember when I drove Exora, the same thing will occur if I drove long distance. The fan will continue to run for say 5 to 10 mins before powering down. Proton....
dares
post Jun 15 2014, 10:26 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(DoomCognition @ Jun 15 2014, 10:05 AM)
I remember when I drove Exora, the same thing will occur if I drove long distance. The fan will continue to run for say 5 to 10 mins before powering down.  Proton....
CFE or CPS?
DoomCognition
post Jun 15 2014, 11:41 AM

737 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 15 2014, 10:26 AM)
CFE or CPS?
3.5-year old Exora, so has to be CPS. Why? Does it make a difference?
dares
post Jun 15 2014, 12:13 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(DoomCognition @ Jun 15 2014, 11:41 AM)
3.5-year old Exora, so has to be CPS. Why? Does it make a difference?
Then probably got problem liao.

If it's CFE then it's normal, the fan would continue to run for minutes after switching off the engine.
jwrx
post Jun 15 2014, 03:37 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 15 2014, 12:13 PM)
Then probably got problem liao.

If it's CFE then it's normal, the fan would continue to run for minutes after switching off the engine.
its the same for most cars. The radiator fan will continue to run as long as the engine is still hot(certain temp), after a hard run, my fan will run for up to 10 min after engine has been shut
dares
post Jun 15 2014, 06:52 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Jun 15 2014, 03:37 PM)
its the same for most cars. The radiator fan will continue to run as long as the engine is still hot(certain temp), after a hard run, my fan will run for up to 10 min after engine has been shut
Yes, but the CFE tend to do so even after driving normally (not driven hard), as it seems to run quite hot.
pip
post Jun 15 2014, 06:57 PM

128 posts

Because it was running, my battery went flat. Is it true the battery (2 month old) is permanently damage? I have a sneaky feeling the mechanic is trying to sell me a 200 buck battery instead of a rm20 fix. Any sifu can advice on battery and fuse/relay?
HughieRmX
post Jul 25 2015, 05:46 PM

::.. ♬|♪ HaRdC0Re TrAnCE AddiCT ♬|♪..::
3,394 posts

Sorry to bump the thread again .. does anyone know where is the Fan Relay located ?
I have checked the black box and the indications but yet to find any relay fuse / switch of the radiator fan. sad.gif
saigetsu
post Jul 25 2015, 09:51 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(soyabean123 @ Mar 29 2014, 05:33 PM)
Dear all, my proton saga flx's fan still running after i switch off engine. First time experience this, can anyone help me? what should i do? :S urgent

Is already 15 minutes, and fan is still running... :S
Happened to my gen2. Hantar proton.. Proton puchong bodo wasted money not resolved. Hntr proton skali lg bodo jugak.

1st blame wronvg battery size... Secnd blme alternator..

Last2 jiran kat kampung said fuse rosak. And iits true.. Bodo mia proton
MjMax15
post Jul 26 2015, 01:20 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Jul 25 2015, 05:46 PM)
Sorry to bump the thread again .. does anyone know where is the Fan Relay located ?
I have checked the black box and the indications but yet to find any relay fuse / switch of the radiator fan. sad.gif
what car?
last time my fathers saga kebal was located near right-headlamp

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Jul 25 2015, 09:51 PM)
Happened to my gen2. Hantar proton.. Proton puchong bodo wasted money not resolved. Hntr proton skali lg bodo jugak.

if warranty expired, better go outside shop
i dont know why, SC not competent one
all troubleshoot by the book, wasted money and time
MjMax15
post Jul 26 2015, 01:20 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

[double post]

This post has been edited by MjMax15: Jul 26 2015, 01:20 PM
netmatrix
post Jul 26 2015, 02:15 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Jul 25 2015, 09:51 PM)

Sometimes mekanik bawah pokok more experience than Potong themselves. Because these mechanics have to solve to many weird problems with the car they will know how to deal with it. Potong just follow SOP which is only good for known problems.
HughieRmX
post Jul 27 2015, 07:59 AM

3,394 posts

QUOTE(MjMax15 @ Jul 26 2015, 01:20 PM)
what car?
last time my fathers saga kebal was located near right-headlamp
if warranty expired, better go outside shop
i dont know why, SC not competent one
all troubleshoot by the book, wasted money and time
Proton Saga BLM .. smile.gif
MjMax15
post Jul 27 2015, 09:11 AM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Jul 27 2015, 07:59 AM)
Proton Saga BLM .. smile.gif
oops forgot this thread about blm blush.gif

if not mistaken, its located below fusebox
if cant find it better go to acc shop and they replace for you

DonMe
post Jul 27 2015, 09:20 AM

143 posts

Relay issue. Just bring to proton or outside replace, 10rm max. The relay is located in the fusebox under the first row of fuses.
theanswer
post Jul 27 2015, 09:40 AM

1,024 posts

how about labor charge? if u just want to pay rm7-10..u might bought the relay from parts shop and install it yourself. smile.gif
HughieRmX
post Jul 27 2015, 11:24 AM

3,394 posts

QUOTE(MjMax15 @ Jul 27 2015, 09:11 AM)
oops forgot this thread about blm blush.gif

if not mistaken, its located below fusebox
if cant find it better go to acc shop and they replace for you
I managed to solve the issue d .. it's actually hiding beneath the driver's seat .. smile.gif
MjMax15
post Jul 27 2015, 11:44 AM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Jul 27 2015, 11:24 AM)
I managed to solve the issue d .. it's actually hiding beneath the driver's seat .. smile.gif
oh, solved already
and its below seat? 1st time i heard manufacture put fuse under seat
HughieRmX
post Jul 27 2015, 01:06 PM

3,394 posts

QUOTE(MjMax15 @ Jul 27 2015, 11:44 AM)
oh, solved already
and its below seat? 1st time i heard manufacture put fuse under seat
Yea ... those mechanic have been finding for the past whole day until they manage to see there is some burn marks with one of the pin in the board .. sweat.gif
Aunwelson
post Mar 3 2016, 03:28 PM

QUOTE(DonMe @ Jul 27 2015, 09:20 AM)
Relay issue. Just bring to proton or outside replace, 10rm max. The relay is located in the fusebox under the first row of fuses.
My car flx having the same problem after replacing 3 relay the problem still not fixed
DonMe
post Mar 8 2016, 08:35 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(Aunwelson @ Mar 3 2016, 03:28 PM)
My car flx having the same problem after replacing 3 relay the problem still not fixed
Then could be the whole fuse box issue already.
Zot
post Mar 8 2016, 08:58 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(DonMe @ Mar 8 2016, 08:35 AM)
Then could be the whole fuse box issue already.
I could not understand why many talk about fuse. Fuse purpose is to blow and cut off power when there is fault in device it is powering like fan, radio, etc. Once blown, it needs to be replaced.

The relay is the correct suspected component since its job is to switch on and off. If relay stuck, it cannot switch off. I do not own Saga but on most car with electric fan to cool the radiator, once the engine is turned off, there is sensor on the engine part that send signal to the relay. If the sensor detect the engine is still hot, it will keep the relay on. When the engine has cool down to certain level, the sensor will send signal to relay to power off the fan.

So, if the relay is okay, I would check if the sensor is functioning properly or not. This is what I can advise. Ask the car electrician if there is such sensor as I'm not Saga expert blush.gif
dares
post Mar 8 2016, 09:34 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Mar 8 2016, 08:58 AM)
I could not understand why many talk about fuse. Fuse purpose is to blow and cut off power when there is fault in device it is powering like fan, radio, etc. Once blown, it needs to be replaced.

The relay is the correct suspected component since its job is to switch on and off. If relay stuck, it cannot switch off. I do not own Saga but on most car with electric fan to cool the radiator, once the engine is turned off, there is sensor on the engine part that send signal to the relay. If the sensor detect the engine is still hot, it will keep the relay on. When the engine has cool down to certain level, the sensor will send signal to relay to power off the fan.

So, if the relay is okay, I would check if the sensor is functioning properly or not. This is what I can advise. Ask the car electrician if there is such sensor as I'm not Saga expert  blush.gif
The relay is inside the fusebox.
Zot
post Mar 8 2016, 09:42 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Mar 8 2016, 09:34 AM)
The relay is inside the fusebox.
I think I misunderstood DonMe. He was talking about the Fuse Box problem, not the fuse itself mega_shok.gif
DonMe
post Mar 8 2016, 05:13 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Mar 8 2016, 09:42 AM)
I think I misunderstood DonMe. He was talking about the Fuse Box problem, not the fuse itself  mega_shok.gif
Yup, I meant the fusebox needs replacement if after replacing 3 relays and still having the same issue, just like preve forum, I read that their fan will not spin, and it was actually circuit board the fuse box causing the issue.
shazspiky
post Jan 31 2017, 08:49 AM

QUOTE(DonMe @ Mar 8 2016, 05:13 PM)
Yup, I meant the fusebox needs replacement if after replacing 3 relays and still having the same issue, just like preve forum, I read that their fan will not spin, and it was actually circuit board  the fuse box causing the issue.
Is it okay if I park my car while the fan is still running? It's still early morning, workshop's not open yet.
dark90
post Jan 31 2017, 09:01 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(soyabean123 @ Mar 29 2014, 09:27 PM)
its 8rm more plus you've already paid for it. nothing you can do about it now but learn from it.

0.0266sec    0.22    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:09 PM