Crusader V1, The unbending champions of Faith & Law

wira4ce
post Apr 9 2014, 03:54 AM

190 posts

Blue post

Attention Crusaders,

There is currently a very unpleasant bug with Blessed Shield - Shattering Throw where the shield can rebound on the Crusader casting it, potentially resulting in death.

Hardcore players should avoid using this skill until a hotfix can be implemented.

We are currently working on a hotfix and will update the 2.0.4 Patch Hotfix thread with more information as soon as it becomes available. We thank you for your patience and understanding while we work to resolve this issue as quickly as possible!

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/12471016979
deathTh3Cannon
post Apr 9 2014, 10:04 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Apr 8 2014, 11:19 PM)
Crusader changes in todays patch (assuming it's today  sweat.gif since maintenance)
seems like fist of heaven buffed right now.. good time to use darklight !
stevie
post Apr 9 2014, 11:25 AM

135 posts

Best part of the patch, 15% DR smile.gif
deathTh3Cannon
post Apr 9 2014, 11:31 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(stevie @ Apr 9 2014, 11:25 AM)
Best part of the patch, 15% DR smile.gif
It should have been this way from the start. What is a crusader if a crusader cant tank damage?
gh0sty
post Apr 9 2014, 01:07 PM

Now got mood to lvl up my 62 crus... Lucky not 70 if not sure my crus face makan shield !
bobohead1988
post Apr 9 2014, 04:08 PM

852 posts

15% DR
My faith has been greatly rewarded
stevie
post Apr 9 2014, 06:01 PM

135 posts

My holy/condemn/crafted crusader build.
Finally can take some damage thanks to set bonus and 15% DR biggrin.gif

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/fthis-6363/hero/43524809

Need a holy dmg amulet, socketed helm for CD reduction gem and will switch a diamond to ruby soon.
goldfries
post Apr 9 2014, 07:33 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Enjoy the Iron Skin while you can!!!!!
draex3
post Apr 10 2014, 06:47 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 9 2014, 07:33 PM)

Enjoy the Iron Skin while you can!!!!!
yeah i notice this because of SB got this reflect dmg ... if you try on reflect elite it works the same way too...
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 10 2014, 08:39 PM

4,453 posts

some crusaders with high damage brainstorming some builds with some interesting info

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/12329993250

i may need to try different builds because people are just doing way more or lousier gear most part doh.gif

in summary

1. elemental damage bonuses (enchants on gear e.g. lightning, holy, fire dmg... depending on which you are stacking....)
2. elite damage bonuses (unity ring.... stone of jordan..... even some weapons have that ....)
3. skill damage bonuses (heavens fury etc.....)

will get you to high dmg output hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Apr 10 2014, 08:49 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 10 2014, 09:22 PM

4,453 posts

Crusader best in slot items ??

helm
-andariels = can attack speed with chc. also has a neat poison attack skill
-mempos of twilight = can attack speed with chc
- helm of rule = can block and chc
- akkhan set helm = set bonus

shoulder
- zakara = no repair bills. mostly good for general farm or anything really.
- skeleton king shoulderpads = a possibility to avoid death. though not sure you would intentionally chance it to get it to proc on the off chance.
- asheara = for set bonus
- akkhan set shoulder = set bonus
- homing pads = teleport out in 99% of most situations back to town without interrupts
- death watch mantle = for a more offensive crusader build

rings
- stone of jordan = high elite dmg
- unity = elite dmg
- grandeur royalty = possibility to use more than 1 set easily, and also fit in better choice items while still able to unlock set bonuses (from act1 bounty reward)
- rhogars huge stone = high health per sec regen, especially if you get a good roll with 90% + or so on life missing. Ideally you want chc with chd and main stat on it as well.
- leoric signet = trifecta with exp farming bonus
- hellfire ring = trifecta with exp farming bonus

amulets
- ess of johan = grouping up adds is easier. works even when you heavens fury ascendency !
- leorics = skely archers on massacre
- shako = creates clones on stun. if you use the law with 100% chance to stun, you can make them reliably appear.

weapons
- fate of the fell = 2handed heavens fury increase by 2 beams. good for ascendency.
- the mortal drama = 2handed bombardment build.
- sword of hatred = possibility to use it's special skills for added damage ?
- maximus = has fire dmg boost for a fire build crusader.
- hack = thorn build
- burning axe of sankis = 1 handed fire dmg booster wep
- devastator = 1 handed fire dmg booster wep. craftable
- blade of prophecy = 2 handed sword for condemn build.
- cam's rebuttal = falling sword build spam
- justinians mercy = has dominion effect, which allows hammers to follow as you move. lets you use basically another rune with it.

shields
- defender of westmarch = offensive heavy shield on block proc
- eberli charlo = reduce heavens fury cooldown. works very well when combined with the akkhan set bonus
- hellskull = general purpose shield for mavking heavenly might not a pain in the a-ss when general farming

chests
- cindercoat = if your going fire build. this is the bis chest. incr fire dmg, and also reduce the cost as well for fire dmg spells !!
- magefists. bis for fire crusader builds.
- akkhan set chest
- cain set = for attack speed set bonus
- tyreal's might = increased dmg against demons. lots of creep we fight is demon so this is good.
- armor of the king regent = improves smite ability by a bit.

belt
- witchin hour - bar none. Attack speed with chd is too hard to pass. No other belt beats it.

Bracer
- steady strikers = chc with as
- lacuni = chc with as.
- thorn vambrances = possible to 1000% thorn damage. good for a thorn build.

pants
- pox faulds = has aoe damage .......
- asheara for set bonus ?
- akkhan set pants = set bonus
- cain set = for attack speed bonus

boots
- ice climbers
- phase boots that lets you run through enemies (from bounty reward)
- akkhan set boots = set bonus
- cain set = for attack speed bonus

potions
- bottomless potion of generation = increases your life per sec temporarily.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Apr 10 2014, 09:29 PM
goldfries
post Apr 10 2014, 11:42 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(draex3 @ Apr 10 2014, 06:47 PM)
yeah i notice this because of SB got this reflect dmg ... if you try on reflect elite it works the same way too...
ahhh I did mention that on description.

It only works on certain elites, for example Fire Chain types.

gh0sty
post Apr 11 2014, 11:15 AM

What about justice lantern ring for the high block ?
Vorador
post Apr 11 2014, 11:29 AM

Blessed !!!
3,494 posts

See my sad sad crusader.. .can't even solo torment 1...

Kenpachi

578k life and 230k dps...

Aiks doh.gif I want the ION Canon 2H flail so bad! (oops I means the heaven's wrath)
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 11 2014, 11:42 AM

4,453 posts

QUOTE(gh0sty @ Apr 11 2014, 11:15 AM)
What about justice lantern ring for the high block ?
some skills benefit from damage based on high block (cap 75 block).

That said, i'm not convinced the high block on the ring is worth losing the other dps stats e.g. trifecta hmm.gif

using a decent shield with high block rate (best ive seen is stormshield ironically, at 30 %+ block chance), insurmountable (30% block if 4 or more creates near you), punish (another 15% block chance when you use the skill).

There is your 75% block. So then what is the point of justice lantern, unless of course you pair it up with helm of rule, so you don't need to use insurmountable to gain a more reliable block chance at all times even against single foes like bosses.

Or better yet, switch out the insurmountable for stand your ground for the more reliable 15% block, and use that with helm of rule. There is just no reason to use justice of lantern.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Apr 11 2014, 11:47 AM
gh0sty
post Apr 11 2014, 12:06 PM

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Apr 11 2014, 11:42 AM)
some skills benefit from damage based on high block (cap 75 block).

That said, i'm not convinced the high block on the ring is worth losing the other dps stats e.g. trifectaΒ  hmm.gif
using a decent shield with high block rate (best ive seen is stormshield ironically, at 30 %+ block chance), insurmountable (30% block if 4 or more creates near you), punish (another 15% block chance when you use the skill).

There is your 75% block. So then what is the point of justice lantern, unless of course you pair it up with helm of rule, so you don't need to use insurmountable to gain a more reliable block chance at all times even against single foes like bosses.

Or better yet, switch out the insurmountable for stand your ground for the more reliable 15% block, and use that with helm of rule. There is just no reason to use justice of lantern.
I was also thinking about insurmountable passive but the description mentions block amount increased by 30%. ... I believe block amount is different from block chance...

This is what I plan to do with my crusader. To build a high block chance + high CDR + high CC effect reduction (all gear dependent) while trying to maintain at least 500k dps / 600k HP / 1500AR (this is for Torment 1)... Skill choices are as below :

Left mouse : Slash (Zeal) - for faster wrath regen
Right mouse : Steed Charge (Rejuvenation) - escape skill for oh-shlt moments (mind you this is Hardcore crus)
1 : laws of justice (Bravery) - CC Breaker
2 : provoke (Hit me) - to take pressure off from party members while regaining HP from High block and Renewal (Passive)
3 : Condemn (Unleashed) - burst damage / Consecretion (bathed in light$
4 : Fist of the Heavens (Fissure) - burst damage

Passives
Hold your ground : increase block chance by 15%
Long arm of law : increase duration of CC breaker to 10secs
Renewal : gain life from blocks
Optional - Heavenly strength / Righteousness

Required Items
1. Helm of command/rule (8-11%block chance)
2. Storm shield (29-32% block chance)
3. Justice Lantern (11-16% block chance)

Total ideal max block chance achievable : 74% (including 15% from passive)

This is what I have at the moment... So ... Any crusader sifus out there wanna pinch in some advice?

This post has been edited by gh0sty: Apr 11 2014, 01:23 PM
draex3
post Apr 11 2014, 12:06 PM

701 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 10 2014, 11:42 PM)
ahhh I did mention that on description.

It only works on certain elites, for example Fire Chain types.
Oh didnt notice .. biggrin.gif
didnt click show more whistling.gif

@Moogle Stiltzkin

witchin hour has str type also?

Nvm .. just saw the updated version
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/item/the-witching-hour

This post has been edited by draex3: Apr 11 2014, 12:09 PM
stevie
post Apr 11 2014, 01:52 PM

135 posts

Mannercookie was demo-ing this 6 piece set bonus for Akkhan's.

90% Akarat's chamption uptime and nearly-perma doube-condemn spam with blade of phrophecy.

Pretty sick.
goldfries
post Apr 11 2014, 07:00 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Iron Skin + Reflective Rune does not work on Siegebreaker anymore.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 11 2014, 08:57 PM

4,453 posts

QUOTE(gh0sty @ Apr 11 2014, 12:06 PM)
I was also thinking about insurmountable passive but the description mentions block amount increased by 30%. ... I believe block amount is different from block chance...

This is what I plan to do with my crusader. To build a high block chance + high CDR + high CC effect reduction (all gear dependent) while trying to maintain at least 500k dps / 600k HP / 1500AR (this is for Torment 1)... Skill choices are as below :

Left mouse : Slash (Zeal) - for faster wrath regen
Right mouse : Steed Charge (Rejuvenation) - escape skill for oh-shlt moments (mind you this is Hardcore crus)
1 : laws of justice (Bravery) - CC Breaker
2 : provoke (Hit me) - to take pressure off from party members while regaining HP from High block and Renewal (Passive)
3 : Condemn (Unleashed) - burst damage / Consecretion (bathed in light$
4 : Fist of the Heavens (Fissure) - burst damage

Passives
Hold your ground : increase block chance by 15%
Long arm of law : increase duration of CC breaker to 10secs
Renewal : gain life from blocks
Optional - Heavenly strength / Righteousness

Required Items
1. Helm of command/rule (8-11%block chance)
2. Storm shield (29-32% block chance)
3. Justice Lantern (11-16% block chance)

Total ideal max block chance achievable : 74% (including 15% from passive)

This is what I have at the moment... So ... Any crusader sifus out there wanna pinch in some advice?
i stand corrected. yes you are right. insurmountable is block VAlue.

whereas stand your ground is block chance.

So we can ignore insurmountable in regards to block chance that was being discussed. still stands to reason that helm of rule (block +str + chc) with stand your ground (15% block CHANCE) is the better option.

That then leaves room for you to use....

Grandeur royalty (for multiple set effectiveness) with either a soj (elite bonus and maybe the 50 chd with holy damage modifier 20%) or a unity (less elite bonus, but you can fight in chc with chd into it)

I'm using blessed shield which does % increased weapon damage + % increased damage based on your block chance. Seems it does some decent numbers, but combust which i like is fire based.... the others are lightning and holy.

Problematic for me since my ascendency is holy, so i rather just be stacking one element damage type than having split into 2 or more rclxub.gif

so shield bash may be better for me if i am stacking holy, and want to take advantage of a good shield to produce more damage. still need to do some testing.

PS: your playing hc so it's understandable why you playing cc role like extending effect to 10 seconds. That is probably the wiser choice for hardcore. Crowd controlling so you don't die. I was doing the same sort of thing i was being power leveled doing audience with royalty fighting snakes. Shield glare to stun, and law to stun again .. hah.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Apr 11 2014, 09:08 PM

38 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:38 AM