Photography mirror less or dslr?, newbie here
mingyuyu
Mar 28 2014, 06:48 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(justified @ Mar 28 2014, 06:37 PM) Dear all, I wanna learn photography (like aperture, shutter speed or ISO). My main interest is dslr. however, my concern is that it is too bulky..i dont think i will wanna carry a 0.5kg item around me in the city..then i come acorss mirror less camera like sony nex 5. is there any difference in terms of image quality? Can i use lenses for dslr on a mirorless camera (thats if i have the mount specific for my mirorless camera) ? In long term, i would like to take macro picture like bugs/flowers... will a mirorless give me a great picture? basically, what are the main difference between these 2 type? why would ppl choose a bulky dslr over the mirror less camera ? Mirrorless can capture pictures as well as DSLR I would say. But there aren't many great Macro lenses for Mirrorless yet, other than m43 (oly and pana both have macro lenses). One thing that a mirrorless would lose to DSLR is the slow focusing in darker environment, slower focusing to track moving subject (useful if you plan to shoot concert/ sport) and also fast telephoto zoom (panasonic has it, but neither NEX/Fuji have a 70-200 f2.8).
mingyuyu
Mar 28 2014, 09:29 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(endau02 @ Mar 28 2014, 08:46 PM) dslr is bulkier than mirrorless? really? 1855 non collapsible lens is still bulky and does not make any difference. huh what are you talking about? the first sentance you sound like you don't agree but the last sentence you agreed?
mingyuyu
Mar 29 2014, 01:29 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(endau02 @ Mar 29 2014, 12:34 PM) if ur still using HUGE lens, mirrorless still wont make any difference. huge lens as in non collapsible 1855 and bigger. yes i dun agree that mirrorless will be SIGNIFICANTLY less bulkier, if u use the wrong lens. yes, I know. but the term mirrorless includes M43/ APSC/ FF, so you can't really say all of them are small or all of them are bulky. But the body only already will be around the half or less of the weight of a DSLR. And a lot of mirrorless can use legacy/ classic lenses which are a lot smaller compared to the DSLR equivalent.
mingyuyu
Mar 29 2014, 02:15 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(endau02 @ Mar 29 2014, 01:48 PM) 1) which legacy lens have small back flange distance? dun talk about c-mount coz c-mount MOST of the time wont perform well in APSC/FF environment. c-mount most of the time cant cover the whole APSC/FF sensor. 2) then if u use legacy lens on a mirrorless, u STILL need to use adapter rite? which makes it bulky TOO. M43 arent that SMALL too, except nikon 2X crop. AND if its not collapsible, big sensor normally uses big lens. u cant change the physic, so yes. i can safely say that FF lens is BIGGER than strictly APSC equivalent lens. im not stopping u from using mirrorless, but if u want big sensor, the lens will be big except collapsible lenses/mirror lens. yes you need adapter, but those are just some plastic joints and the lens itself it still small. let's not focus on FF mirrorless, since only sony has it and not everyone is using that. and talking about mirrorless, take a look at panasonic 12-35/ olympus 12-40 f2.8, and comapre with the weight of canon/nikon 24-70, the size itself already differ a lot, not to mention the weight. and if you take a look at the 70-200 equivalent of m43, you will see why. look at the primes too (don't talk about those 0.95 or 1.4 prime), m43 still has much smaller size of lenses.
mingyuyu
Mar 29 2014, 02:34 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(endau02 @ Mar 29 2014, 02:31 PM) m43 is smaller than apsc. but if u like m43, then its a totally diff ball game the word mirrorless includes too many formats now, so unless TS makes a clear statement of what format he wanted to get, we can't really give detailed suggestions. still a mirrorless body will be smaller than a dslr equivalent body any day.
mingyuyu
Mar 30 2014, 03:07 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(gtasaboss @ Mar 30 2014, 12:32 AM) DSLR for more manual control, mlc for convenience this isn't true at all, you can get a lot of controls with a mirrorless also.
mingyuyu
Apr 1 2014, 06:17 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(yushin @ Apr 1 2014, 04:12 PM) Fuji 10-24 F4 UWA zoom has been release and will be in Malaysia market probably next week. The price is will over rm3.5k. *ouch* that's one of the weak points of mirrorless. because most of the lenses are still new, so the company will price it higher to cover the R&D cost compared to DSLR lenses which a lot are older and have dropped to a lower price.
mingyuyu
Apr 2 2014, 10:46 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 1 2014, 11:18 PM) how is that a weak point? you see how much a Nikon 16-35 F4 VR costs. that Nikkor is still quite new right? the problem with mirrorless is, they are still new to the market (okay m43 might be older, but still no where as old as DSLR), so new lenses are constantly getting launched and they need money for the R&D. so of course the price will be higher for SOME lenses compared to FF (DSLR) equivalent lens. some might argue it's not fair to do a comparison based on the lenses between different format but a m43 lens will always need less glass compared to FF since the area of sensor it needs to cover is a lot smaller.
mingyuyu
Apr 3 2014, 10:15 PM
B A N N E D
QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 2 2014, 11:08 PM) I'm at the verge of replacing my Canon system with Fuji's Mirrorless, for my professional work.  they are very poisoning indeed  but I am not a fan of fuji's smudgy JPEG (since i pixel peep) and lack of dedicated macro lens (you only get 0.5 magnification with the 60mm). QUOTE(coffeecrazzzy @ Apr 3 2014, 09:28 PM) Nowadays mirror less is very high tech already, but i still prefer dslr because of the attractive outlook. how attractive? i thought that dslr was cool looking before i get one. after using for 2 years, i can't tahan the weight and size already.