6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

> Frying with a stainless steel pan, using induction cooker

TSOmega Z
post Mar 25 2014, 08:38 PM, updated 12y ago

269 posts

I bought an Isonic brand induction cooker last month and in order for me to fry I must use only stainless steel frying pan.

Its very different from the usual induction cookers where you can use those aluminium pans to fry.

So last week I bought a stainless steel pan.

And after using this is the results that I get

I am not concerned with the black stains. I can remove them.

I want to know more about the blue black stain instead. That part turns red when I increased the heat volume.

My pan turns blue black at first despite pouring lots of oil. I noticed that the oil flows to the side of the pan causing the pan to be oiless in the centre.
I cant fry anything at the center of pan. If I do that the stains will stick to my food.

This is how the base of my pan after cooking.

I am starting to regret buying induction cooker. Should have bought the one where the aluminium pan is compatible with.

Anyone can explain why my pan turned out to be like this?
TSOmega Z
post Mar 25 2014, 08:39 PM

269 posts

After googling I found out that the blueish stain might be due to overheating

But the volume of heat i turned on was the second lowest
SUSslimey
post Mar 25 2014, 08:40 PM

6,914 posts

go buy glass cookware
IluvProton
post Mar 25 2014, 08:41 PM

143 posts

just buy regular steel pan. RM 17 at tesco
tallrice
post Mar 25 2014, 08:45 PM

109 posts

marketting gimmick intro u to buy induction cooker?
there is nothing can beat gas cooker...
i myself use fotile hood and hob with stickless wok and pan...
easy to cook and easy to wash...
this stainless steel? wash until u exhausted also cannot get cleaned...
better buy some good quality stainless steel pan from buffalo...
TSOmega Z
post Mar 25 2014, 08:45 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(IluvProton @ Mar 25 2014, 08:41 PM)
just buy regular steel pan. RM 17 at tesco
I am afraid the same thing would happen to my current pan.

I bought it at RM15 from a shop.
flyf
post Mar 25 2014, 08:46 PM

your pan is cheap.

period.

get a real pan. for a starter, try tefxx.
neuro4869
post Mar 25 2014, 08:47 PM

1,077 posts

is that teflon, beware it might be toxic to you
azsace
post Mar 25 2014, 08:50 PM

412 posts

well... personally feel that induction cooker is not good is frying.. especially deep fry
so... better get a ceramic coated frying pan with induction base... so u can use less oil....
oh yeah.. i think induction cooker is great especially with non stick pan... also if u want to cook something soupy...
andyng38
post Mar 25 2014, 08:50 PM

2,402 posts

Iron wok works well on induction cookers. Carbon steel ones can warp after extended usage. Saw a 30cm one with glass cover at Giant. I forget the price but I think it was less than RM39.
TSOmega Z
post Mar 25 2014, 08:53 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(neuro4869 @ Mar 25 2014, 08:47 PM)
i felt a little bit uneasy in my stomach after eating those fried patties. sweat.gif
kamfoo
post Mar 25 2014, 08:54 PM

847 posts

buy 304 steel
NicJolin

Stop monitoring =)
1,053 posts

always oil your pan before heating if you're not using a good thick pan

The sudden increase of heat causes surface oxidation, which gives that hue
idoblu

stars for sale
11,308 posts

You got a pan that heats unevenly. Get a better one like those made by
http://www.zwilling.com/en/cookware-series.html
desmond2020
post Mar 25 2014, 08:55 PM

911 posts

Cheap pan, so heat distribution no good.
buysellaccount
post Mar 25 2014, 08:56 PM

127 posts

aluminium - takut alzheimer
non stick - takut teflon overheated gas particles
cast iron - goddamn old school, you can season mou?
stainless steel - nice nice la

not sure if induction cooker punya problem. i've always been a gas stove person.
azsace
post Mar 25 2014, 08:57 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 25 2014, 08:54 PM)
You got a pan that heats unevenly. Get a better one like those made by
http://www.zwilling.com/en/cookware-series.html
never heard this brand before,.., is it reasonably price...?
ReWeR
post Mar 25 2014, 08:57 PM

Foreveralone
1,715 posts

QUOTE(neuro4869 @ Mar 25 2014, 08:47 PM)
stainless steel pan dun use teflon
buysellaccount
post Mar 25 2014, 08:58 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(azsace @ Mar 25 2014, 08:57 PM)
never heard this brand before,.., is it reasonably price...?
same brand with gordon ramsay's henckel knife.
neuro4869
post Mar 25 2014, 08:58 PM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(ReWeR @ Mar 25 2014, 08:57 PM)
stainless steel pan dun use teflon
ah ts said stainless steel didnt read thread title properly, ts should be safe

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » 

0.0188sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled