LYN Gen2 Club, The Gen2 drivers online meeting spot!

termignoni
post Jul 28 2006, 02:18 AM

i AM The Ultimate Driving Machine!!
597 posts

hye guyz, gen-2 owner here... rclxms.gif

gen-2 1.6 h-line auto (black)
august 2005

btw, i'm having a problem with my gen-2 since i first bought the car.. the belt that runs the power steering pump, alternator and all keeps giving out this screeching noise.. like when a belt is worn out..

so, i sent it to proton service centre in penang to have it checked, they found out that the belt tensioner bearing is faulty.. and they changed the whole thing which i had to wait for bout a week for the part to arrive from kl.. after fixing it, they found out that my power steering pump unit and radiator fan motor are also faulty, so i had to wait another week for them to arrive.. cry.gif

everything was ok, for bout 10 days or so.. the noise came back.. the tensioner is the culprit this time.. to add, some new probs..

1) my tail light blinks instead of my signals when i brake while i switch on my signal lights.. rclxub.gif
2) my front bumper just decided to no longer be a part of my car.. it fell off, while i was driving on the highway, not in a rally.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
3) the gearbox just won't shift in "D", stuck in final gear and the light on the dash just blinks in "D".. whistling.gif

so, i went to proton again, left my car for a day to have them test drive it.. they called me the next day, saying that everything is ok now.. when i went to pick up my car, the sound is still there.. WHAT IS OK THEN?? vmad.gif

oh yeah, they fixed my tail light, the socket melted.. my front bumper, the flimsy plastic bracket broke, replaced all of them.. gearbox, they reset my ECU, yes, there was a problem, somewhere..

i had to use my car and i was really bz, so i took it anyway.. and now, i'm doin the periodic service and told the proton centre to have their mechanic look at the belt.. and guess what they said..

they told me that they can't do anything bout that prob cos it's common in gen-2s.. so i told them, it's still under warranty, and the problem wasn't solved when i first brought my car to the service centre for my 1000km service.. they still say that they can't do anything bout it, and told me to send somewhere else to repair it.. WTF?? mad.gif mad.gif

are they just trying to avoid me claiming my warranty?? what should i do?? i've already asked them to write me a letter saying that they can't fix the problem, even in my warranty period.. so with that, i hope i can bring this problem to the head office in kl..

any help from u guyz is greatly appreciated..

This post has been edited by termignoni: Aug 26 2006, 01:46 PM
termignoni
post Aug 25 2006, 04:11 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(shackks @ Aug 23 2006, 09:44 AM)
matt,
wat model of gen2 are urs? the highline?

up till now, i've yet to tried the abs. any idea where and how is the best way to test it?

and, talking abt the light, under wat circumstances will the light be on?

thanx...
juz go to a secluded and safe area with no cars or people and juz hit ur brakes hard and lock ur tyres.. u will notice a subtle pumping of ur brakes.. that's ur ABS working it's magic.. but the Perdana V6 has a more hard pumping feel of the ABS compared to the Gen-2..

very true.. gen-2 brakes are rather spongy.. but i didn't notice the ABS light blinking or turning on compared to the Perdana V6 (maybe it's juz my car).. btw, for me, gen-2s are easy to let go of its rear end if u yank the handbrake and it's easy to recover too compared to other FWD cars.. enjoyed some 90degree and U-turns with mine.. biggrin.gif

p/s: since it's givin me so much probs, why not create more.. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by termignoni: Aug 26 2006, 01:50 AM
termignoni
post Aug 26 2006, 10:57 AM

597 posts

QUOTE(shackks @ Aug 26 2006, 09:07 AM)
thanx for the guide, termigoni.... will go scouting around.

as for the recovery, u mean a simple counter-steer will help recover the car back to the track??

i like the way u say the words in bold...  biggrin.gif

Guys,
another batch of K&N group purchase is on now!! Dun miss the train... Only RM180 each!!

lemme know if u guys interested.
haha.. glad u liked it.. still havin headaches with my car..

as for the counter-steer, u need to know the timing of the handbrake, angle of the turn and speed.. a simple turn of the steering of one hand is juz enough to bring the car back into its intended heading while stomping on the accelerator to pull the car out from the drift.. laugh.gif
termignoni
post Aug 26 2006, 01:47 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(shackks @ Aug 26 2006, 01:36 PM)
mind to elaborate on the problem with ur car?? and ur location as well.

Or u can refer to the G2Club forum on ur issue... Join the club as well. biggrin.gif
i will.. thanx.. biggrin.gif

as for my prob, http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...60#entry7934385

This post has been edited by termignoni: Aug 26 2006, 01:48 PM
termignoni
post Aug 26 2006, 07:30 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Aug 26 2006, 02:26 PM)
so bro.. ur car got any better? g2c's recomend a workshop called hijawan in batu pahat.. maybe u can gif a try if ur car is still givin prob..

anyway.. i heard a lot of ppl complaining for the black highline version.. such as door not properly allignned, car key allarm button, pinging sound and so on... and of course not 2 forget the f*cking power window..  vmad.gif  vmad.gif laugh.gif  laugh.gif
i'm already getting those probs.. doors hard to open/close (reason by my service centre, it's bcos it's still new so the 'getah pintu masih tebal'), alarm remote hard to arm/disarm alarm (reason by my service centre, it's bcos of my dark tint).. rattle sound from the back (i think it's the wiper or the boot itself), another one comes from the backseat headrest.. and, my power windows are already making sound like it's gonna 'patah' soon..

QUOTE(shackks @ Aug 26 2006, 02:35 PM)
Bro Termignoni...
According to the forum, there's a Service Centre at Section 13, P. Jaya which has received some well comment in the forum.

You might want to go there and let them check on your issue...

hope this helps...
bro, i'm from penang and my service history is already keyed into their database... can i switch service centres? the service centre u mentioned is in PJ which is quite far from me.. futhermore, i like to be there when they 'operate' on my car.. but thanx a lot for the info, i'll take it into consideration.. biggrin.gif

termignoni
post Aug 28 2006, 09:01 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(pacer @ Aug 28 2006, 07:32 PM)
the only proven cables i have seen is by NOLOGY....
very true indeed.. used it in my saga before, gave much more response compared to SplitFire's cables.. biggrin.gif

termignoni
post Dec 4 2006, 11:49 AM

597 posts

u can take ur fog light out without taking off ur bumper.. i've tried that.. but u juz need to raba2 with ur hands la.. oh yea, dun forget to jack ur car up for easier access.. smile.gif

0.0167sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:31 AM