Breaking into Investment Banking, Help needed

TSjustin_5
post Mar 23 2014, 12:14 PM, updated 12y ago

310 posts

Hi, I'm a recent graduate with a business degree. Like all young people, of course I would want to try breaking into investment banking. Yes, I do realise high pay comes with long working hours but still would like to try it.

However, I realise that, me being a graduate, although from a foreign university, it is not the world's top universities and without a CFA, it is extremely hard for me to get into this industry.

Some people recommended me in trying to get a job as a processing officer in a bank then move into investment banks as credit analyst. Some recommended me working for a smaller investment firms first.

I just would like to know the opinion of fellow brothers in this forum on how should I get a job in investment banking.

laksamana
post Mar 23 2014, 12:23 PM

1,356 posts

Your best bet is actually to get into one of the graduate training programs (GTP) offered by the large domestic banks ie Maybank IB, CIMB etc. Go through the program (usually 2 years), and with A LOT of hard work, gruelling hours and some luck, you will be able to become an Analyst or Associate in investment banking.

Starting pay should be in the region of RM4-5k p.m., and will hit RM10k after another 3-4 years, if you're good enough.
TSjustin_5
post Mar 23 2014, 01:55 PM

310 posts

Yea, I have applied for CIMB but didnt know about Maybank IB, probably would go and apply now. But its been almost a month, they haven't even read my CV yet(jobstreet can see they read already or not).

But thanks for telling me about Maybank IB
royalz
post Mar 23 2014, 02:05 PM

642 posts

try applying online through their website for cimb..
Mundane
post Mar 23 2014, 04:01 PM

202 posts

Have you got any prior experience?

I'm a not-so recent graduate and do not have any relevant experience. Have been applying through their websites for months now but to no avail. I guess I don't make the cut being a foreigner.

Foreigners don't stand that big of a chance as Malaysians.
TSjustin_5
post Mar 23 2014, 07:35 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(Mundane @ Mar 23 2014, 04:01 PM)
Have you got any prior experience?

I'm a not-so recent graduate and do not have any relevant experience. Have been applying through their websites for months now but to no avail. I guess I don't make the cut being a foreigner.

Foreigners don't stand that big of a chance as Malaysians.
Nope, no experience. Me being a Malaysian also did not have any call ups yet. Sigh, the job market these days.
Dreamer09
post Mar 23 2014, 08:35 PM

52 posts

Dear TS,

The investment banking is a relatively wide society. Therefore, I'm not really sure if you are enquiring for the research, compliance, dealing, online support or other positions in investment banking. However, I will just assume is on the research department.

Similar to what laksamana mentioned, apart from looking into online career portal, it's best to write in to the company's website and enquire about your desired position opening. The link below might be useful to search for all participating organisations with Bursa Malaysia
http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/securi...-organisations/

If you are still studying, it's best to to an internship with banks which offers graduate trainee programs. This will give you a competitive edge over other potential candidates when it comes to filtering process for interview.

Apart from that, SIDC (Securities Commission Malaysia) actually offers their own Graduate Development Program but I think applications were closed since weeks ago. You will trained for a few months in this program then they will attach you randomly with one of the participating organisations. (My immediate senior undergoes the program and he is part of the research department now). Alternatively, if you are qualified, you can also apply for the Islamic Capital Market Graduate Training Scheme. You can find in the link below;
http://www.sidc.com.my/Programmes-Services...New-Talent.aspx

As you had already experience, the job market is extremely competitive especially for investment banking. If you don't mind, you can go for dealer position first. You will be required to sit for Module 6 and 7 of SC exam to be a licensed dealer. Once passed, you can take on SC's Module 12 and 19A for the research department. From then onwards, keep an eye for any position opening in the research department within your company and apply for an internal transfer. Or you can even just take on Module 12 and 19A while applying for jobs. Best of luck!

flying_manatee
post Mar 23 2014, 10:24 PM

210 posts

I think the route you mentioned (commercial banking into investment banking) won't really work. The skill sets seem to be pretty different.

As Dreamer said above, the SIDC program is a pretty good road in - I personally have a degree from an unimpressive university too but managed to get accepted into the program, although in the end I left for other opportunities. If you don't manage to get into an investment bank right off the bat, I think some corporate finance department or investment arm of a local bank would be more relevant than commercial banking.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 23 2014, 10:47 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

heh... ts started this topic slightly late... if not i would had recommended the below, dont know why but i have somehow attended the workshop below... speaker was former morgan stanley n now with google capital PV... last year he got students from asean, internship positions at hsbc, rbc n morgan stanley... no goldman

among all, singkies from nus, smu & LSE, 1 ang moh and 1 msian from stanford... i guess it is wasted that msians in msia wont know about this... one of the singkie flew from sg to HK last year just to attend the workshop and he got a place..

<certain info removed due to confidentiality rclxms.gif >

i am trying to bring this workshop next year to msia, hopefully he's willing to attend..

http://www.eventbrite.com/e/leaders-worksh...kets-9435916079

Leaders Workshop
World's Largest Investment Banking, Consulting, and Accounting Workshop
Duration: 2 days
Cost: Free (RSVP cost is refunded upon attendance)
Location: National University of Singapore - Lecture Theatre 11

Audience: this event is open to everyone who is interested in pursuing a career in Investment Banking, Consulting, Accounting, and Entrepreneurship. Students and non-students from all around Singapore and neighboring regions are welcome to attend.

Details: this 2-day event is designed to help students break into their field of choice, specifically Investment Banking, Consulting, Accounting, or even Entrepreneurship. The workshop will teach students how to build a resume for their career and will train them for the technical and behavioral portions of professional interviews. During the workshop we will continuously assess the participants and will invite a select few to the Leaders Candidate Program, allowing them to become a part of the global network of graduates from the Leaders initiative. The program helps candidates with mentoring, networking, and career opportunities. Therefore, it is recommended that students who are passionate about such a career participate in this event and try their best to involve themselves in class discussions. Please note, students who do not attend the complete 2-day workshop will not be considered for the Leaders Candidate Program.

Schedule: the timeline of the event along with the details of each workshop are as follows:
Day 1.A: Mar 22 | 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm | Resume Workshop | Details: this workshop teaches the candidates how to create a resume that not only looks professional, but will help you in making the most of a single sheet of paper. We will teach the class the Leaders resume format and work through various content examples that can be included in the resume. The format taught here can be used for any profession or any other situation where a resume is required.

Day 1.B: Mar 22 | 3:30 pm - 5:30 pm | Behavioral Workshop | Details: this workshop teaches students how to properly answer questions such as why investment banking or consulting. The workshop covers important topics such as explaining your “story” and how to properly answer questions related to both educational and professional experience. Nine out of ten candidates in interviews fail the behavioral component and that is the difference between getting an offer and getting a rejection email.

Day 1.C: Mar 22 | 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm | Networking Workshop | Details: this workshop teaches students how to form, develop, and build relationships within the professionalindustry. Included in this topic are strategies to build your contact list, reach out to alumni, and create new connections. From there, the workshop covers recruiting events, informational sessions, and seminars, examining techniques to use these opportunities to stand out from the rest of the student body. Remember, it's not what you know, but who you know.

Day 2.A: Mar 23 | 9:00 am - 11:00 am | Technical Workshop - Accounting | Details: this workshop teaches students the basic and advanced concepts required for acing the technical portion of investment banking, accounting, and consulting interviews. The accounting section of the technical workshop will cover financial statement analysis, changes and effects of major line items, and general questions that are asked in the majority of interviews. The mastery of this section is mandatory for passing first-round and final-round interviews.

Day 2.B: Mar 23 | 11:00 am - 1:00 pm | Technical Workshop - Valuation | Details: this advanced workshop teaches students the various types of valuation techniques such as discounted cash flows, comparable companies analysis and precedent transaction analysis. This workshop covers the valuation topic in far greater detail and is an especially unique resource for candidates by conducting valuation examples that mimic real-world investment banking deals.

About Us: Leaders (www.LeadersGN.com) is a volunteer initiative that has been an invaluable support to generations of students breaking the investment banking, consulting, accounting, and entrepreneurship career barrier and landing interviews and job offers at leading institutions such as Goldman Sachs, Morgan Stanley, McKinsey & Co., Bain, Google, JP Morgan, Evercore, Deloitte, Nike, Apple, Qatalyst, Lazard, Houlihan Lokey, Moelis & Co., Credit Suisse, Deutsche Bank, UBS, Citigroup, Soros, Microsoft, HSBC, Macquarie, RBC, CIBC, BMO, TD Securities, and many more. Currently, the Leaders network spans globally and is present in cities all over the world including New York, London, San Francisco, Hong Kong, Los Angeles, Singapore and Toronto. We believe in helping candidates unleash their potential and grow into leaders in this highly competitive industry.

Instructor: workshop will be taught by the founder of Leaders, Sherjan Husainie, who is currently a private equity investor at Google Capital and previously worked as an investment banker within Morgan Stanley’s Technology Investment Banking team in San Francisco. Prior to that, he also worked at Houlihan Lokey in M&A and at RBC Capital Markets in the Global Algorithmic Trading group. Mr. Husainie graduated from UCLA Anderson with a Masters in Financial Engineering and did his undergrad at the University of Toronto in Aerospace Engineering.

This post has been edited by alaskanbunny: Mar 24 2014, 12:02 AM
iceypain
post Mar 23 2014, 11:49 PM

503 posts

you know sherjan?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 24 2014, 12:03 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(iceypain @ Mar 23 2014, 11:49 PM)
you know sherjan?
i went to his workshop of course i know him la... but he dunno me yet tongue.gif
nicholasjack
post May 7 2014, 05:37 PM

31 posts

Keep hustling cuz. It is difficult to break into IB if you do not come from a top school. A pass in CFA Level 1 will not help much, might as well get an IB internship first in a boutique advisory firm and keep hustling for the job.
ohemmgee
post May 8 2014, 01:28 PM

144 posts

Why not go for Masters in Finance first ?
Fiona Chin
post May 8 2014, 01:51 PM

1,172 posts

Just a good BBA will do, with some general knowledge of IB during the interview. I got offer with just BBA, not yet even out of school.
JC999
post May 8 2014, 02:14 PM

658 posts

Actually best bet is to join a small ib first, if you want to really learn corporate finance is where you shld start, if you want big bucks then go treasury.
ohemmgee
post May 8 2014, 02:49 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ May 8 2014, 01:51 PM)
Just a good BBA will do, with some general knowledge of IB during the interview. I got offer with just BBA, not yet even out of school.
But TS said he already got a business degree and couldn't get any offer. Don't you think he should go for Masters in Finance ?
TSjustin_5
post May 8 2014, 09:48 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(ohemmgee @ May 8 2014, 01:28 PM)
Why not go for Masters in Finance first ?
QUOTE(ohemmgee @ May 8 2014, 02:49 PM)
But TS said he already got a business degree  and couldn't get any offer. Don't you think he should go for Masters in Finance ?
would a degree in finance make a big difference even if im without working experience?

Care to share which co. u went for?

QUOTE(JC999 @ May 8 2014, 02:14 PM)
Actually best bet is to join a small ib first, if you want to really learn corporate finance is where you shld start, if you want big bucks then go treasury.
Care to name a few? the only one I know and dont even know if they are considered small is Kenanga.
SUSalaskanbunny
post May 8 2014, 09:58 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

u r from a top school la doh.gif n u did post grad... n u bought sgd1.6mill condo fresh out of school... that says a lot notworthy.gif
Fiona Chin
post May 9 2014, 11:33 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(ohemmgee @ May 8 2014, 02:49 PM)
But TS said he already got a business degree  and couldn't get any offer. Don't you think he should go for Masters in Finance ?
Easy life then choose Master. Better path should be CFA from my point of view.

QUOTE(justin_5 @ May 8 2014, 09:48 PM)
would a degree in finance make a big difference even if im without working experience?
Care to share which co. u went for?
Care to name a few? the only one I know and dont even know if they are considered small is Kenanga.
Goldman and JP. Good luck.

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 8 2014, 09:58 PM)
u r from a top school la  doh.gif  n u did post grad... n u bought sgd1.6mill condo fresh out of school... that says a lot  notworthy.gif
After finish degree time la.
CcL
post May 9 2014, 11:49 AM

i cheated... hah
791 posts

start small if you can't get your foot in the bulge bracket. you must really be outstanding, you can be overseas - mid tier uni with cfa lvl3 pass, also won't help.

I'll name you a few, Inter-Pac Securities, M&A Securities, Jupiter Securities, SJ Securities, TA Securities, Malacca Securities.

all but Jupiter & Malacca has corporate finance, good starting ground. you better be meticulous and willing to work late, else you're in for a good round of ass whopping.

Inter-Pac - Mr. Tan, M&A - Gary, SJ - Robert Ti, TA - maybe Dominic

anyways best of luck, these smaller firms you also get to learn alot, but get out ASAP (1-2yrs tops) cause any longer your experience is irrelevant for big IBs.

0.0240sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:22 AM