Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V34, New 4.3 OTA arrived in Malaysia

jackdon
post Apr 1 2014, 02:42 PM

719 posts

Currently I am on Slimkat and would like to upgrade to this new 4.0, can I do a dirty cache upgrade. Of cause I would do a backup first. There has been talk off the boeffla-kernel 2.2 I am keen to try and also all the fix. So before I try tonight any GOTCHA .....

jackdon

This post has been edited by jackdon: Apr 1 2014, 02:42 PM
jackdon
post Apr 1 2014, 02:51 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Apr 1 2014, 01:36 PM)
hi boonseng...  hehhehe...  its all about this odd badge that we are using.. cant use Wifi on AOSP rom... strange eh? mayba change mobo can use AOSP? hehhehe

mtxx
my wifi cant connect
it display
Obtaining ip adress....
authentication....
if connect, you cant browse web
and it only connect for 5 to 10 second, then disconnect...
then the process go again from obtaining address.. blablabla.....
Looks more like your DHCP server runs out of address, trying setting the lease time on the DHCP server to 8 hours.
jackdon
post Apr 1 2014, 03:32 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Apr 1 2014, 03:27 PM)
what for? just install the standard gapps enought already
have everything you need including photosphere
aosp browser and calender sync is optional
aosp browser sync for bookmarks sync in aosp browser, useless if you use chrome and never use aosp browser
aosp calender sync is also useless if you use google calender from play store

face unlock is useless imo. but you can flash if you want
genie widget i duno what's that.
i only flash bank standard gapps that's all
Did you just flash over Ver. 3.2 or wipe/reset and flash.
jackdon
post Apr 1 2014, 04:38 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(surefire v LED @ Apr 1 2014, 04:28 PM)
Shoot restore also failed !!!!!!
Backup file is tnere.
Mine done, format /system then flash with CWM Slimkat 4 and then Gapps, but I am missing the Contact apps.

Any idea.

jackdon
jackdon
post Apr 1 2014, 04:46 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Apr 1 2014, 04:44 PM)
contact apps and people same right?? should have. which gapps ur flash?
Small issue, I format /cache then switch from ART to Dalvik and then people apps was there. Don't know why. Planning to switch back to ART. Question I can flash boeffla-kernel-2.2-Omnirom-i9300.CWM.zip correct.

jackdon

jackdon
post Apr 1 2014, 04:54 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Apr 1 2014, 04:49 PM)
enter recovery. clear cache and dalvik cache.
yes, u can flash that kernel. 
http://boeffla.df-kunde.de/sgs3/boeffla-ke...ries%202.x/2.2/
I am a noob with kernel, will flash this, what can I do with this as I had heard a lot about this boeffla kernel

jackdon

jackdon
post Apr 1 2014, 05:11 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Apr 1 2014, 04:58 PM)
its k...u can learn...as long u willing to learn, people will teach...
u download boeffla configuration v2 app from play store...
u can tweak a lot of stuff... but i avoid doing that because i find the standard presets are good enough...
head over to boeffla main page and read the features...
http://www.boeffla-kernel.de/non-joomla/en/bc-settings.html
Great done that, sound advice. Done that maybe I would try a bit of overclocking. whistling.gif can't resist running on the edge onces in a while.

Cool
Jackdon.
jackdon
post Apr 1 2014, 09:18 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Apr 1 2014, 04:58 PM)
its k...u can learn...as long u willing to learn, people will teach...
u download boeffla configuration v2 app from play store...
u can tweak a lot of stuff... but i avoid doing that because i find the standard presets are good enough...
head over to boeffla main page and read the features...
http://www.boeffla-kernel.de/non-joomla/en/bc-settings.html
ToniV,

Alright man ... now the phone is very snappy wonder if this is due to Boeffla kernel and I had not even overclock. Think I can skip the S5 now ... LOL biggrin.gif

jackdon
jackdon
post Apr 1 2014, 09:19 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Apr 1 2014, 08:10 PM)
flash camera fix... smile.gif
Where is the camera fix can share the URL do not want to download a wrong version smile.gif

jackdon
jackdon
post Apr 1 2014, 09:24 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(surefire v LED @ Apr 1 2014, 09:21 PM)
Just know I kena oredi need to reboot - ahh never mind just wait for next patch.
You should try using ART even faster drool.gif
jackdon
post Apr 1 2014, 09:37 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Apr 1 2014, 09:35 PM)
u using ART? i still on dalvik... so far no issue... nod.gif
Yes ... ART all my apps no problem but I do not play games so cannot comment on that.

jackdon
jackdon
post Apr 2 2014, 07:36 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(megakeygen_zero @ Apr 1 2014, 11:15 PM)
i believe that the option is still not merged into the rom.
I am using a free apps texdroider to change to the default of 306 dpi. Old man mah need bigger font sgicb is more comfortable for me.

jackdon
post Apr 2 2014, 03:21 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Apr 2 2014, 02:40 PM)
i never do...ok la...the app is stable. just change to 320. other values not sure...
S3 default DPI is 306 so 320 dpi the Text would be very much bigger.

Opps... I maybe wrong is it 320DPI

This post has been edited by jackdon: Apr 2 2014, 03:23 PM
jackdon
post Apr 3 2014, 05:15 PM

719 posts

Thinking of getting the Zerolemon 7000mAH battery, anyone here use before. Abit worried about the thickness smile.gif

jackdon.
jackdon
post Apr 3 2014, 05:32 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(miloy2k @ Apr 3 2014, 05:23 PM)
If you are ok with thickness of griffin or otterbox defender case=all ok smile.gif

Btw other zerolemon, u try to see anker 7.2k battery XD

http://forum.xda-developers.com/galaxy-s3/...attery-t2572687
Nope ... Amazon Anker 7.2K does not ship to Malaysia. Does not want to use HopShopGo due to additional cost.

jackdon

jackdon
post Apr 3 2014, 05:47 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Apr 3 2014, 05:42 PM)
thanks I wonder where they get the 9.0.0.0.20
Just join the beta tester and now I am updated to 9.0.0.0.20 rclxms.gif
jackdon
post Apr 3 2014, 06:20 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(miloy2k @ Apr 3 2014, 05:46 PM)
same price afaik as zerolemon, but the mere 200mah does make a lot of different like 2.1k vs 3k battery  brows.gif

My co-worker just order zerolemon 10k battery for her note 3 brows.gif
I think I will get the Zerolemon battery then with the Boeffla kernel runs it at power performance mode and still get a full days of usage ... makes sense then wait for S6 .... LOL.

jackdon

Yup ... order placed smile.gif

This post has been edited by jackdon: Apr 3 2014, 06:24 PM
jackdon
post Apr 3 2014, 07:27 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(miloy2k @ Apr 3 2014, 07:04 PM)
what for high performance? main game kah?

nice, if full performance should get estimated 10hours of sot. 4.2k can get. on heavy usage can get min 6 hours of sot, 7k should get almost double
Yup ... with such a big battery should not worry about screen brightness and also power saving mode. Just enjoy the S3 at top speed smile.gif

jackdon
post Apr 3 2014, 09:14 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(miloy2k @ Apr 3 2014, 08:20 PM)
one of my friend using. samsung s3 ori extended 3k battery can achive 8hours of sot on slimbean 4.3.1 rom.

trick was less apps installed, using whatsapp like normally would,  and use opera all the time, display set to 50% kalau tak silap.
One word says all "compromised"

WOW just set Boeffla preset to Power performance and Slimkat 4.4.2 V4 is very snappy smile.gif ... now waiting for the ZeroLemon 7000mAH battery so that I can run at this mode all the time. Like an upgraded phone rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by jackdon: Apr 3 2014, 09:26 PM
jackdon
post Apr 3 2014, 11:59 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Apr 3 2014, 11:55 PM)
I try set to power performance preset also.
I feel like same only. No difference also.
Web page load time same only. Scrolling in xda still lots of empty white space that slowly appear.

Only in benchmark it show difference. Real life didn't feel big difference. Maybe need get another s3 test side by side only know.

I don't think the Power Performance will speed up data transfer on the webpage, but it should display the pages faster once it is download and switching between application and launching them too.

jackdon

0.0391sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:05 AM