Credit Cards CIMB Bank Credit Cards v2, The Exciting World Of CIMB Credit Cards

hkboey
post May 4 2014, 01:15 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(PainHacker @ May 3 2014, 09:50 PM)
i just bought an item online, the price stated is 113usd dollar. after convert should be about 370 ringgit but the problem is why cimb deduct 415 ringgit? i lost about 50 ringgit there. anyone might explain?
CIMB has this ridiculous policy on using their card overseas or spending online in foreign currency. They charged certain amount for admin fees + I think 8% cross border fees. So it will sum up quite a hefty ridiculous charges. Avoid using CIMB online and overseas altogether.
hkboey
post Aug 26 2014, 01:20 PM

749 posts

is the purchases from Xiaomi through paypal will be imposed with 8% cross border fees too??
hkboey
post Oct 15 2014, 07:57 PM

749 posts

For cimb card, after GST is charged and if the CS doesn't want to offset the GST for you, you can cancel the card without paying the GST IF you haven't charge any transaction to the card AFTER the GST.

Unlike some other bank which you are bound to pay once the GST is charged.
hkboey
post Oct 16 2014, 01:29 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Oct 15 2014, 08:22 PM)
Most bank won't reverse once GST charged even if u cancelled. Eg. HLB, UOB
Agree, and also RHB.
hkboey
post Oct 21 2014, 01:36 PM

749 posts

Was using CIMB VS. I got charged for the RM50 GST, so I called in to get it waive. The bank said I have enough points to redeem the GST but I said I dont want. Upon hanging up, I redeem all the points with cash vouchers.

Few days later, the retention centre called up and said since I have used up all the points, they cant offset the GST anymore. So, cancel right away, but they are going to reversed the RM50 GST that was already charged.
hkboey
post Nov 9 2014, 01:40 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Nov 9 2014, 01:14 PM)
If it is a lousy card, why bother to offset the GST?
+1
hkboey
post Nov 9 2014, 02:27 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(kinabalu @ Nov 9 2014, 01:42 PM)
After the call, I was so angry I decided not to spend anymore on CIMB card.
forget about the waiver, I cancel it straight away.
Lol... why angry when ppl can't give what you request?? U hurt urself only.
hkboey
post Dec 2 2014, 03:22 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(smallcrab @ Dec 2 2014, 01:13 AM)
oopps. Just received my online statement with RM50 GST charged.

Am i still able to request for waiver ???

If not still can cancel this card without paying the gst? Just one year using it...

Please help...
Yes, make sure u don't swipe any new transaction after the GST charged. Call them up and cancel the card. They will revert the RM50. If your credit account permissible, the retention team will call u back to offset the GST and will retain u for another year. At least, that's the case happened to me last month.

First retention call, they just "offer" to revert the GST and let me cancel the card. Second retention call, they offer to offset both my principal and supp card GST and ask me to keep for another year.
hkboey
post Dec 7 2014, 03:24 PM

749 posts

Hi, is it after using the Fireworks voucher code then CIMB weekend 10% will no longer apply? I've just placed an order but I dont see the CIMB discount sad.gif
hkboey
post Jan 13 2015, 03:08 PM

749 posts

a quick search on few pages back seems that no one has successfully get the 10% by CIMB on lazada weekend purchase??? flex.gif flex.gif
hkboey
post Jan 13 2015, 07:59 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(epie @ Jan 13 2015, 07:41 PM)
lazada cimb weekend for selected items only...which fall under cimb card category
U r partly right. But even items from lazada.com.my/cimbweekend also don't see any discount before checkout. So i doubt the discount is really there. It seems that really no one get any discount.
hkboey
post Jan 13 2015, 08:19 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Jan 13 2015, 08:03 PM)
Few week back I encounter the same issue. Email to lazada n was informed that their system got issue n solving. But I guess it is not Cimb problem.. Is Lazada is not sincere in giving discount now. Even last time got MasterCard 10% cashback on Monday also suddenly change to 5% where the 10% discount still advertised on their website. I complaint to them but they just say sorry... No cure..
Yeah.. lazada service has been pretty disappointed lately. Especially when u get something really low price and they cancel ur order without ur knowledge. Agree that Monday Mastercard discount is also lame.
hkboey
post Jan 13 2015, 10:09 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(fox_shinoda @ Jan 13 2015, 09:49 PM)
I did choose the item that falls under the cimb category but the 10% discount still didn't come up
Lazada is very insincere in this sense. Disappointed.

0.0459sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:04 PM