[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V5!

Avangelice
post Mar 25 2014, 10:33 AM

5,272 posts

Hey guys, been stalking the threads and I must say you guys are doing an impressive job. Back to the issue at hand, I have been using my laptop for the past 3 years to play my games and I have been noticing the games now require more hardware specs so I think I will save up for a gaming rig soon so...here goes.

[Budget] - 3k

[Purpose] Gaming. Hardcore gaming.

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None.

[Monitor resolution] the biggest there is?

[Games & softwares that use frequently] ummm....directx11? I dont know this question? Crysis? AC4?

[Personal preferences] I dont mind splurging to 4k if it looks good

[Location] Only problem is that I am in kuching so maybe I am thinking I go over to KL for a day or two, pay for the rig in advance then carry the PC only to kuching in my arms. The monitor would have to be bought in kuching. suggestions on this problem?
Avangelice
post Mar 25 2014, 11:11 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Mar 25 2014, 10:47 AM)
Alright, here is what I can optimize for you. Basically, close to a RM3.8k budget will get you a nice GTX 770 paired with a superb 23" IPS monitor. Best of all, it even includes a 128GB SSD. Well, speed is a luxury they say, so if you are tight on your budget, you can just omit the SSD for some precious bucks. biggrin.gif

Intel Core i5 4440 - RM579
Asrock B85M Pro4 – RM279
Corsair Value Ram 8GB DDR3 1600MHz - RM239
Gainward GTX 770 Phantom 2GB – RM1199 (lingloong / IdealTech)
Seasonic S12 II 620W PSU - RM299
WD Caviar Blue 1TB HDD - RM189
Plextor M5S 128GB SSD - RM289
Cooler Master K380 Casing - RM149
LG 23EA53V 23" IPS LED - RM519
Lite-On 24x DVDRW – RM59

Total - RM3800 (prices are from Viewnet)
thank you mate. Will start saving up and learn more.
Avangelice
post Mar 25 2014, 11:20 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(mykchin8 @ Mar 25 2014, 11:16 AM)
Avangelice, you should consider coming to KL, the price difference between Low Yat plaza, and Kuching, along with the wider selection of components, might just be worth the trip.  If you are planning to ship the thing back to Kuching, or carry it, then you will need to make sure the weight and size is considered as well.  The prices can be higher by up to 30% in Kuching. 

One way to get a good monitor at a good price is to buy a Dell IPS monitor, they will ship it to Kuching with no cost, I think.  The other thing that needs consideration is the casing, maybe spend a bit more to set up an iTX rig, the weight is lighter, and size is smaller, but cost will be more.
I think Ill just have to hand carry it. yes I checked through the so called mini "lowyat" in kuching. Everything has a 10-20% increase in price. Sakit hati I moved back to my home town.
Avangelice
post Mar 25 2014, 11:52 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Mar 25 2014, 11:25 AM)
Actually, you could have the rig built here in West Malaysia and then have it shipped back to you, with some charges of course. Companies like Ideal Tech (zhen^wei) do shipments to whole of Malaysia, you can check them out in Garage Sales. Or they may have already caught you on their radar and will approach you shortly. brows.gif
that good service huh? I feel so.........vulnerable. knowing someone is reading this conversation...hahahah..

0.0551sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:10 PM