127 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V5!

M1X
post Mar 17 2014, 08:13 PM

2,334 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Mar 17 2014, 07:57 PM)
VRM throttling/failures is no joke, though.  There are several members who encountered VRM throttling issues.  Here's some: tongue.gif
Thanks for info notworthy.gif

How about ITX board like Asrock B85M-ITX mainboard posted by cable707 above? (2x DIMM slots though, should be suffice)
Is it reliable to keep 4770 running and don't have any crazy issue?

mATX maybe still OK, considering ITX chassis may cost a little most after all. But both form factor are possible choices regardless.
Minecrafter
post Mar 17 2014, 08:39 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(M1X @ Mar 17 2014, 08:13 PM)
Thanks for info  notworthy.gif

How about ITX board like Asrock B85M-ITX mainboard posted by cable707 above? (2x DIMM slots though, should be suffice)
Is it reliable to keep 4770 running and don't have any crazy issue?

mATX maybe still OK, considering ITX chassis may cost a little most after all. But both form factor are possible choices regardless.
Intel CPUs are fine with that motherboard.. wink.gif
hikari151
post Mar 18 2014, 12:17 AM

34 posts

hello all.. : )

[Budget]
RM2500 - 3000

[Purpose]
Mostly for gaming, with occasional 2D/3D work

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
- Thinking of reusing my HDD from my current PC, since all my data is in here. (Do I need to reformat it? )
- is is possible to reuse my DVDRW drive? Currently using a Dell Inspiron 545 CPU

[Monitor resolution]
1600 x 900

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
Guild Wars 2, LoL, Blade & Soul, PSO2, Titanfall (planning to get), Photoshop, Maya, Unity3D.

[Personal preferences]
Mainly for gaming. Planning to get a SSD.. can it work together with HDD?

[Location]
PJ

Thank you in advanced!

This post has been edited by hikari151: Mar 18 2014, 12:18 AM
SUSTheHitman47
post Mar 18 2014, 12:39 AM

Nuke
1,053 posts

wuhuuu, new home! rclxm9.gif
alfiejr
post Mar 18 2014, 01:05 AM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(hikari151 @ Mar 18 2014, 12:17 AM)
hello all.. : )

[Budget]
RM2500 - 3000

[Purpose]
Mostly for gaming, with occasional 2D/3D work

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
- Thinking of reusing my HDD from my current PC, since all my data is in here. (Do I need to reformat it? )
- is is possible to reuse my DVDRW drive? Currently using a Dell Inspiron 545 CPU

[Monitor resolution]
1600 x 900

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
Guild Wars 2, LoL, Blade & Soul, PSO2, Titanfall (planning to get), Photoshop, Maya, Unity3D.

[Personal preferences]
Mainly for gaming. Planning to get a SSD.. can it work together with HDD?

[Location]
PJ
Thank you in advanced!
yes you can re-use your old HDD and your dvd player (can refer here : http://www.wikihow.com/Install-a-DVD-Drive ) , add an SSD for your OS and your 3D work programs (autodesk maya, adobe photoshop, adobe after effects etc) and another hard disk for extra storage.

CPU-Intel Xeon E3 1230 V3-RM779
Mobo-Asrock B85M Pro-4-RM279
GPU-Gainward GTX 760 2GB-RM799
Memory-Gskill Value Ram 1X8GB-RM239
SSD-Plextor M5S 128GB-RM299
HDD-WD Blue 1TB-RM189
PSU-FSP Raider 550W-RM239
Case-CM K380-RM149

total-RM2972
hazard_puppet
post Mar 18 2014, 01:07 AM

561 posts

nicee for v5, been following this thread eventhough i bought my rig biggrin.gif
capitalFlynn
post Mar 18 2014, 07:46 AM

Grats for V5 rclxms.gif

Still learning in this fields, thanks in advance for your help nod.gif

[Budget] 3k-3.5k

[Purpose]
- Dual booting (Win & Linux Server),
- Web Development
- Network Forensic/Hacking
- Program/App Development (Coding/Programming)
- Multitasking
- Other typical purpose: Downloading, Light-Gaming, Light Photoshop

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Start from scratch.

[Monitor resolution] Suitable for dual-screen

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Packet Tracer, Eclipse, Google Chrome(w/ a lot of tab), uTorrent, DOTA2

[Personal preferences] Whichever value for money. 2nd hand part can be consider.

[Location] Doesn't matter. Can travel.

P/S: Let me know if my budget is too tight

This post has been edited by capitalFlynn: Mar 18 2014, 07:49 AM
mykchin8
post Mar 18 2014, 08:10 AM

301 posts

I have built a few systems using AMD, including the FX series CPUs, with the intention to save a few bucks, but the reliability of AMD systems are still way below Intel, not just only due to the CPU's higher heat, but the chipset/motherboard as well.

If you are planning to run your PCs 24/7, please consider using Intel CPUs, and quality motherboards, instead of AMD.
hikari151
post Mar 18 2014, 08:27 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(alfiejr @ Mar 18 2014, 01:05 AM)
yes you can re-use your old HDD and your dvd player (can refer here : http://www.wikihow.com/Install-a-DVD-Drive ) , add an SSD for your OS and your 3D work programs (autodesk maya, adobe photoshop, adobe after effects etc) and another hard disk for extra storage.

Mobo-Asrock B85M Pro-4-RM279
GPU-Gainward GTX 760 2GB-RM799
Memory-Gskill Value Ram 1X8GB-RM239
SSD-Plextor M5S 128GB-RM299
HDD-WD Blue 1TB-RM189
PSU-FSP Raider 550W-RM239
Case-CM K380-RM149

total-RM2972
May I ask why Xeon E3 over i5 / i7? Do you think I can skip the 1TB HDD since I plan to reuse my old one? (1TB as well)

thanks again thumbup.gif

alfiejr
post Mar 18 2014, 08:42 AM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(capitalFlynn @ Mar 18 2014, 07:46 AM)
Grats for V5  rclxms.gif

Still learning in this fields, thanks in advance for your help  nod.gif

[Budget] 3k-3.5k

[Purpose]
- Dual booting (Win & Linux Server),
- Web Development
- Network Forensic/Hacking
- Program/App Development (Coding/Programming)
- Multitasking
- Other typical purpose: Downloading, Light-Gaming, Light Photoshop

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Start from scratch.

[Monitor resolution] Suitable for dual-screen

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Packet Tracer, Eclipse, Google Chrome(w/ a lot of tab), uTorrent, DOTA2

[Personal preferences] Whichever value for money. 2nd hand part can be consider.

[Location] Doesn't matter. Can travel.

P/S: Let me know if my budget is too tight
Mobo-Asrock H87M-Pro-4-RM319
Memory-Gskill Value ram 2x8GB-RM478
GPU-Leadtek GTX 750 ti 2GB-RM569
SSD-Samsung 840 EVo 250GB-RM569 or you can use two 128GB SSD's for raid
HDD-Seagate Barracuda 3TB-RM379
PSU-FSP Hexa 500w-RM149
ODD-liteon 24x DVD/RW-RM59
Case-CM N300-RM149

total-RM3450
laurelgt
post Mar 18 2014, 08:46 AM

LEARN & SHARE
1,160 posts

QUOTE(hikari151 @ Mar 18 2014, 08:27 AM)
May I ask why Xeon E3 over i5 / i7? Do you think I can skip the 1TB HDD since I plan to reuse my old one? (1TB as well)

thanks again  thumbup.gif
The Xeon is an i7 in disguise with lower clock and no IGP. If you think you don't need a new 1 ( HDD ) , yes.
alfiejr
post Mar 18 2014, 08:46 AM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(hikari151 @ Mar 18 2014, 08:27 AM)

thanks again  thumbup.gif
the Xeon e3 is basically an i7 without onboard gpu and has slightly lower cpu clock rate but in all in all it's almost the same. Yes you can skip it, with that extra budget you can add another stick of 8gb memory or upgrade the gpu (probably gtx 760 with non reference cooler, Gainward 760 Phantom or Leadtek 760 OC for example).
chocobo7779
post Mar 18 2014, 09:31 AM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(mykchin8 @ Mar 18 2014, 08:10 AM)
I have built a few systems using AMD, including the FX series CPUs, with the intention to save a few bucks, but the reliability of AMD systems are still way below Intel, not just only due to the CPU's higher heat, but the chipset/motherboard as well.

If you are planning to run your PCs 24/7, please consider using Intel CPUs, and quality motherboards, instead of AMD.
Actually. no. You need to give them cooling, on the board and the CPU itself... The FX series are TDP monsters... It's too bad that AMD doesn't want to improve their FX and wants to push APUs instead...

Too bad they screwed themselves after the release of first-gen FX CPUs (aka Faildozer)... The Phenom II days were great for AMD, however. sad.gif
Clem1982
post Mar 18 2014, 09:41 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(mykchin8 @ Mar 18 2014, 08:10 AM)

Doesn't matter if it's AMD or Intel bith can run 24/7, chocobo7779 is right about them FX series being hotter than Intel but not all of AMD CPUs are the same so saying that AMD isn't recommended to run 24/7 is wrong and even motherboards vary between brands and series where the quality varies.. same goes to Intel motherboards as well

Not too sure what bad experiences you have with the AMD builds you have so far but I have an Athlon 64x2 system that's still kicking till today without any major issues so far, so long as you understand what to do with them can make a difference on the longevity and behaviour of your RIG, such as giving them proper airflow and cleaning the system from time to time helps avoid overheating which by the way is the same with Intel products
mykchin8
post Mar 18 2014, 10:45 AM

301 posts

Good to hear that many of you have had good experiences in running AMD 24/7, but I guess there are some caveats, like better cooling, more maintenance, more careful part selection.

On my experience, for all the builds I have done, I have not invested in additional CPU cooling, and AMD has had more issues. Intel has been the more reliable build for me, though it is not perfect of course, just that it is more reliable.
SUSTheHitman47
post Mar 18 2014, 11:48 AM

Nuke
1,053 posts

i was thinking does the GST gonna make the hardware price rising?

hikari151
post Mar 18 2014, 12:01 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(alfiejr @ Mar 18 2014, 08:46 AM)
the Xeon e3 is basically an i7 without onboard gpu and has slightly lower cpu clock rate but in all in all it's almost the same. Yes you can skip it, with that extra budget you can add another stick of 8gb memory or upgrade the gpu (probably gtx 760 with non reference cooler, Gainward 760 Phantom or Leadtek 760 OC for example).
alright, thank you for the recommendations! laugh.gif
mykchin8
post Mar 18 2014, 01:26 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(TheHitman47 @ Mar 18 2014, 11:48 AM)
i was thinking does the GST gonna make the hardware price rising?
I do expect the GST to increase the total cost to us, as the GST is payment to the government, not to the vendor.
SUSTheHitman47
post Mar 18 2014, 02:06 PM

Nuke
1,053 posts

QUOTE(mykchin8 @ Mar 18 2014, 01:26 PM)
I do expect the GST to increase the total cost to us, as the GST is payment to the government, not to the vendor.
so it means better to buy now before GST apply isnt it?.

noooo cry.gif
Minecrafter
post Mar 18 2014, 02:45 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(TheHitman47 @ Mar 18 2014, 02:06 PM)
so it means better to buy now before GST apply isnt it?.

noooo cry.gif
If it does increase,the question is..how many percent? tongue.gif
If you wanna chat more about GST stuffs,go to the Kopitiam section.. wink.gif

127 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0358sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:38 AM