127 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V5!

Zgames
post Mar 19 2014, 06:28 PM

- A Tree Loving Lizard -
1,446 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Mar 19 2014, 05:50 PM)
The heck. Zgames also 16 only. Walao eh suggestion thread so many young guys. I also feel old like hell now.
Surprised eh? Last year I got into PC gaming. Best year of my life brows.gif Steam sales and then I picked up "How To Build PC" by Austin. From then on just know which one the best and stuff whistling.gif
Sentinel92
post Mar 19 2014, 06:51 PM

20000% Chinaman Certified Discount Hunter.
3,573 posts

QUOTE(Zgames @ Mar 19 2014, 06:28 PM)
Surprised eh? Last year I got into PC gaming. Best year of my life brows.gif Steam sales and then I picked up "How To Build PC" by Austin. From then on just know which one the best and stuff whistling.gif
Eeeeeeyer, wish I was as lucky as you. Hahaha.

After SPM go find job. Then build a monster rig. tongue.gif
Zgames
post Mar 19 2014, 07:01 PM

- A Tree Loving Lizard -
1,446 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Mar 19 2014, 06:51 PM)
Eeeeeeyer, wish I was as lucky as you. Hahaha.

After SPM go find job. Then build a monster rig.  tongue.gif
Maybe, but I think that money gone into Uni fees ler. Dunno what to be when grow up. Don't have a fixed "want to be"
Sentinel92
post Mar 19 2014, 07:03 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(Zgames @ Mar 19 2014, 07:01 PM)
Maybe, but I think that money gone into Uni fees ler. Dunno what to be when grow up. Don't have a fixed "want to be"
Lol same. Everything went to exam fees. cry.gif

Relax dude, take your time. After SPM don't rush, take a short period off to look at different subjects and see what you like. biggrin.gif

faridz7
post Mar 19 2014, 07:06 PM

132 posts

[Budget] RM4k - RM4.2k

[Purpose] 3d design work, photo & video editing and gaming too

[Hardwares that will be re-use] PSU

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Autodesk Maya, 3d studio max, Adobe softwares - Photoshop, After Effects, Premiere

[Location] KL

Hi guys,

I've chosen my core parts :

Processor : CORE I7 4770 - 3.40ghz ( RM949 )
Casing : Fractal Design Define R4 Black Pearl Non-Window (RM370)
RAM : 16gb ram
SSD hdd for main C:\ drive : ( INTEL 530 SERIES 120GB ) RM359
additional hdd :- 2tb sata 3 - western digital - RM269
DVD-RW drive - RM62

*prices sourced from Viewnet + ALL-IT

I'd appreciate a recommendation for RAM, motherboard and a graphics card

Chose a MSI GTX660 for my graphics card but if there's a better one which fits in my budget, please do let me know !

A wee bit confused for the RAM as there are a few brands but to fit into my allocated budget i chose a DDR3 1600Mhz value ram from ALL-IT priced at RM209 , it should be ok yeah ?

still considering between ordering it from IdealTech or sourcing the parts on my own from lowyat but as I've no experience in proper cable management for airflow and all, I still have got to look up more on that

thanks guys
TSCable707
post Mar 19 2014, 07:11 PM

I'm On My Journey
5,263 posts

QUOTE(faridz7 @ Mar 19 2014, 07:06 PM)
[Budget] RM4k - RM4.2k

[Purpose] 3d design work, photo & video editing and gaming too

[Hardwares that will be re-use] PSU

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Autodesk Maya, 3d studio max, Adobe softwares - Photoshop, After Effects, Premiere

[Location] KL

Hi guys,

I've chosen my core parts :

Processor : CORE I7 4770 - 3.40ghz ( RM949 )
Casing : Fractal Design Define R4 Black Pearl Non-Window (RM370)
RAM : 16gb ram
SSD hdd for main C:\ drive : ( INTEL 530 SERIES 120GB )  RM359
additional hdd :- 2tb sata 3 - western digital - RM269
DVD-RW drive - RM62

*prices sourced from Viewnet + ALL-IT

I'd appreciate a recommendation for RAM, motherboard and a graphics card

Chose a MSI GTX660 for my graphics card but if there's a better one which fits in my budget, please do let me know !

A wee bit confused for the RAM as there are a few brands but to fit into my allocated budget i chose a DDR3 1600Mhz value ram from ALL-IT priced at RM209 , it should be ok yeah ?

still considering between ordering it from IdealTech or sourcing the parts on my own from lowyat but as I've no experience in proper cable management for airflow and all, I still have got to look up more on that

thanks guys
What's your current psu?

faridz7
post Mar 19 2014, 07:13 PM

132 posts

I honestly cant remember the brand from the top of my head, I've to check it when I'm back home but I think there's sufficient power though if that's what you're wondering..about 550W I reckon
Sentinel92
post Mar 19 2014, 07:28 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(faridz7 @ Mar 19 2014, 07:13 PM)
I honestly cant remember the brand from the top of my head, I've to check it when I'm back home but I think there's sufficient power though if that's what you're wondering..about 550W I reckon
How about this?
CPU-Intel Xeon E3 1230 V3-RM779
Mobo-Asrock H87M-Pro-4-RM319
Memory-Gskill Value ram 2x8GB-RM478
GPU-Leadtek GTX760 OC 2GB GDDR5 RM949
SSD-Samsung 840 EVo 250GB-RM569
HDD-Seagate Barracuda 3TB-RM379
PSU:Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620W RM299
ODD-liteon 24x DVD/RW-RM59
Fractal Design Define R4 Black Pearl Non-Window RM370

Getting a nice new PSU will help in the long run. Especially if your old one is a really old unit. SSD for all your programs, and nice big HDD to store all your data.
capitalFlynn
post Mar 19 2014, 07:36 PM

Reading about PSU and stumble upon this. This might be helpful.

http://support.asus.com/powersupply.aspx

Sharing is caring. icon_rolleyes.gif
faridz7
post Mar 19 2014, 07:42 PM

132 posts

wow right on the dot Sentinel, RM4201 !

noted regarding the PSU and thanks for the recommendation and suggestions ! Any specific reason why the Asrock over Gigabyte for the motherboard? Been seeing alot of Asrock suggestions for the motherboard..I tend to prefer Gigabyte as I faced the least problems with it..so far

Also, for the RAM, is there alot of difference compared to the value Kingston RAM that I chose?

I did consider the Xeon but I think i'll still stick with the i7 as I'll still have the on-board graphics function should my graphics card fail
Minecrafter
post Mar 19 2014, 08:00 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Mar 19 2014, 07:28 PM)
How about this?
CPU-Intel Xeon E3 1230 V3-RM779
Mobo-Asrock H87M-Pro-4-RM319
Memory-Gskill Value ram 2x8GB-RM478
GPU-Leadtek GTX760 OC 2GB GDDR5 RM949
SSD-Samsung 840 EVo 250GB-RM569
HDD-Seagate Barracuda 3TB-RM379
PSU:Seasonic S12II 80+ Bronze 620W RM299
ODD-liteon 24x DVD/RW-RM59
Fractal Design Define R4 Black Pearl Non-Window RM370

Getting a nice new PSU will help in the long run. Especially if your old one is a really old unit. SSD for all your programs, and nice big HDD to store all your data.
Tak mau Gainward GTX760 Phantom 2GB GDDR5 RM849 dari Lingloong? brows.gif

Zgames
post Mar 19 2014, 08:04 PM

- A Tree Loving Lizard -
1,446 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Mar 19 2014, 08:00 PM)
Tak mau Gainward GTX760 Phantom 2GB GDDR5 RM849 dari Lingloong? brows.gif
Would you look at that sexy black cooler. brows.gif rclxm9.gif
TSCable707
post Mar 19 2014, 08:21 PM

I'm On My Journey
5,263 posts

QUOTE(faridz7 @ Mar 19 2014, 07:13 PM)
Don''t take easy on PSU.Simple error may caused a terrible damage.
TSCable707
post Mar 19 2014, 08:31 PM

I'm On My Journey
5,263 posts

Here's my suggestion

Intel Core i7 4820K 3.1GHz RM1079
Asrock X79 Extreme4 mainboard RM719
Kingston KVR1600MHz 8GB x2 RM478
Gainward GTX760 Phantom 2GB RM849
FSP Raider 650W 80+ Silver PSU RM259
WD Caviar Blue 1TB HDD RM199
Intel 530 series 120GB SSD RM359
NZXT Source 210 Elite case RM179
Liteon 24x DVDRW RM59

Total - RM4180.00

Optional :

CM Hyper 212X CPU Cooler RM129
Sentinel92
post Mar 19 2014, 08:41 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(faridz7 @ Mar 19 2014, 07:42 PM)
wow right on the dot Sentinel, RM4201 !

noted regarding the PSU and thanks for the recommendation and suggestions !  Any specific reason why the Asrock over Gigabyte for the motherboard? Been seeing alot of Asrock suggestions for the motherboard..I tend to prefer Gigabyte as I faced the least problems with it..so far

Also, for the RAM, is there alot of difference compared to the value Kingston RAM that I chose?

I did consider the Xeon but I think i'll still stick with the i7 as I'll still have the on-board graphics function should my graphics card fail
Asrock for the simple reason it has pretty good bang for buck value. But it's all down the preference I guess. If you still want Gigabyte it's fine. smile.gif

Not much really. If you can find a lower price 16GB 1600Mhz RAM by all means go ahead and get it. I know for your work load more RAM is better.

The in built graphics processor is a pale shadow of the discrete GPU in your system. Which I'm not sure whether it can handle your workload. Is your requirements very graphics intensive? If yes, then the in built one won't do much.

Btw you can remove the Leadtek GPU i suggested and go with the Gainward Phantom Mr minecraft suggested. Cheaper and very nice looking. But no slouch in the speed department either.

Also, Cable also has a good x79 setup for you to consider. smile.gif

QUOTE(Cable707 @ Mar 19 2014, 08:31 PM)
Here's my suggestion

Intel Core i7 4820K 3.1GHz RM1079
Asrock X79 Extreme4 mainboard RM719
Kingston KVR1600MHz 8GB x2 RM478
Gainward GTX760 Phantom 2GB RM849
FSP Raider 650W 80+ Silver PSU RM259
WD Caviar Blue 1TB HDD RM199
Intel 530 series 120GB SSD RM359
NZXT Source 210 Elite case RM179
Liteon 24x DVDRW RM59

Total - RM4180.00

Optional :

CM Hyper 212X CPU Cooler RM129
X79 Haoness. notworthy.gif
faridz7
post Mar 19 2014, 08:52 PM

132 posts

thanks alot guys! really appreciate it

ok ive to look up on this Gainward GTX760 Phantom card

still have to do my research on the difference between the cards, like for example, I had my eyes set on the msi gtx 660 twin frozr which is priced at rm900+, and yet this gtx760 is much cheaper..

@Sentinel92 oh the reason for the in built cards for the i7 rather than the xeon is because in case of gpu failure then at least ive the option to use the in built graphics card for my graphics work just for emergencies
Minecrafter
post Mar 19 2014, 08:53 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Mar 19 2014, 08:41 PM)
Asrock for the simple reason it has pretty good bang for buck value. But it's all down the preference I guess. If you still want Gigabyte it's fine. smile.gif

Not much really. If you can find a lower price 16GB 1600Mhz RAM by all means go ahead and get it. I know for your work load more RAM is better.

The in built graphics processor is a pale shadow of the discrete GPU in your system. Which I'm not sure whether it can handle your workload. Is your requirements very graphics intensive? If yes, then the in built one won't do much.

Btw you can remove the Leadtek GPU i suggested and go with the Gainward Phantom Mr minecraft suggested. Cheaper and very nice looking. But no slouch in the speed department either.

Also, Cable also has a good x79 setup for you to consider. smile.gif
X79 Haoness.  notworthy.gif
U called me wot m8
Haha,i already saw people called my name incorrectly..5-6 times already.. tongue.gif
Minecrafter
post Mar 19 2014, 08:56 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(faridz7 @ Mar 19 2014, 08:52 PM)
thanks alot guys! really appreciate it

ok ive to look up on this Gainward GTX760 Phantom card

still have to do my research on the difference between the cards, like for example, I had my eyes set on the msi gtx 660 twin frozr which is priced at rm900+, and yet this gtx760 is much cheaper..

@Sentinel92 oh the reason for the in built cards forĀ  the i7 rather than the xeon is because in case of gpu failure then at least ive the option to use the in built graphics card for my graphics work just for emergencies
GTX760 is better than GTX660. tongue.gif Higher the price doesn't mean it's better.. wink.gif

Just to poison you.. brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Mar 19 2014, 08:58 PM

Attached image(s)
Zgames
post Mar 19 2014, 08:59 PM

- A Tree Loving Lizard -
1,446 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Mar 19 2014, 08:56 PM)
GTX760 is better than GTX660. tongue.gif Higher the price doesn't mean it's better.. wink.gif

Just to poison you.. brows.gif  brows.gif
I'm still waiting if GTX 750 Gainward gonna come sleep.gif
Minecrafter
post Mar 19 2014, 09:02 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Zgames @ Mar 19 2014, 08:59 PM)
I'm still waiting if GTX 750 Gainward gonna come sleep.gif
Gainward GTX750Ti Phantom.. brows.gif icon_idea.gif Doubt that will happen though. hmm.gif

127 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:48 AM