Videography Need help with Transfering video, Transfer video from Camcoder to PC

TSkimi137
post Mar 16 2014, 03:35 PM, updated 12y ago

23 posts

to all sifu out there.. please help..
how to transfer my video from camcoder to pc..
tried using USB but not working (pc doest detect the device)..
record video using tape not SD card..

camcoder model: canon legria HV40
DarkwarrioR
post Mar 16 2014, 03:54 PM

i think u need firewire, and of course software to transfer the footages. ans possibly, you'll need to download canon driver too
dkk
post Mar 16 2014, 08:26 PM

11,400 posts

No using this particular model. But a few years back, I was using the earlier minidv and digital8 format. With those camcorders, you would require a firewire cable. There is USB socket and drivers, but only the firewire connect allow the transfer of full resolution videos.

When connected using firewire, the camera drivers are not required. The program doing the capture/transfer through firewire can just record the data directly to the hard disk file. Each hour of video takes up about 13GB on the hard disk. However to view the video, a codec is required.
TSkimi137
post Mar 16 2014, 11:51 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(dkk @ Mar 16 2014, 08:26 PM)
No using this particular model. But a few years back, I was using the earlier minidv and digital8 format. With those camcorders, you would require a firewire cable. There is USB socket and drivers, but only the firewire connect allow the transfer of full resolution videos.

When connected using firewire, the camera drivers are not required. The program doing the capture/transfer through firewire can just record the data directly to the hard disk file. Each hour of video takes up about 13GB on the hard disk. However to view the video, a codec is required.
alright..
thank u sir..

btw.. can HDMI cable work with it?

This post has been edited by kimi137: Mar 17 2014, 01:14 AM
yfyap69
post Mar 17 2014, 04:57 PM

852 posts

I used media player that can do recording to capture from camcorder.
dkk
post Mar 17 2014, 05:41 PM

11,400 posts

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Mar 17 2014, 04:57 PM)
I used media player that can do recording to capture from camcorder.
That is not ideal. We should only do that when there is no other choice.

For one thing, the recording on the tape was digital. If we transfer it digitally to the computer, there is no quality loss. If we play it back, and then re-record, there would be quality loss. From the decompression and recompression, from the DAC and ADC, from the different codecs used, from the quality of the analog connection between the player and recorder. There might sometimes be sync issues between the audio and video. The recording does not start/stop automatically with the tape playback.

Transferring the data digitally from the camcorder to the computer is best.

0.0146sec    0.10    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:21 AM