Powerline Network Adapter
TSntw
Mar 12 2014, 12:52 AM, updated 12y ago
there's something called Powerline Network Adapters which uses the home electrical wiring to expand network accessibility to the whole house. but i wonder about the effectiveness of powerline adapters in malaysia. some question that i hope the sifu here can help answer:
1. is it suitable with the wiring/current in malaysia? 2. what if there are many electrical appliances in the house, will it cause a slowdown in the network speed? 3. can i use it over power extension socket? 4. will it be more stable compared to WiFi (less fluctuation when gaming)? 4. what are the recommended starter kits?
fireballs
Mar 12 2014, 12:55 AM
1. yes. single phase only 2. yes. will affect a bit 3. no if it got surge protector 4. yes. more stable 4. try tplink or belkin or aztech
SUSmarine88
Mar 12 2014, 01:20 AM
QUOTE(ntw @ Mar 12 2014, 01:52 AM) there's something called Powerline Network Adapters which uses the home electrical wiring to expand network accessibility to the whole house. but i wonder about the effectiveness of powerline adapters in malaysia. some question that i hope the sifu here can help answer: 1. is it suitable with the wiring/current in malaysia? 2. what if there are many electrical appliances in the house, will it cause a slowdown in the network speed? 3. can i use it over power extension socket? 4. will it be more stable compared to WiFi (less fluctuation when gaming)? 4. what are the recommended starter kits?
TSntw
Mar 12 2014, 02:13 AM
QUOTE(fireballs @ Mar 12 2014, 12:55 AM) 1. yes. single phase only2. yes. will affect a bit 3. no if it got surge protector 4. yes. more stable 4. try tplink or belkin or aztech sorry for another noob question. how to know what phases the house is using? or is the whole of Malaysia using only single phase wiring?
hinamoriamu
Mar 12 2014, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(ntw @ Mar 12 2014, 02:13 AM) sorry for another noob question. how to know what phases the house is using? or is the whole of Malaysia using only single phase wiring? Look here ->https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3134432 Lazy to type again
temptation1314
Mar 12 2014, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(ntw @ Mar 12 2014, 02:13 AM) sorry for another noob question. how to know what phases the house is using? or is the whole of Malaysia using only single phase wiring? Depends on what house u living la. Normally banglo have more than 1 phase, while normal terrace house have single phase. Unless you paid TNB to bring another phase in.
jolmy
Mar 12 2014, 01:03 PM
QUOTE(ntw @ Mar 12 2014, 02:13 AM) sorry for another noob question. how to know what phases the house is using? or is the whole of Malaysia using only single phase wiring? In the event you have three-phase supply in your house, get your electrician to swap the sockets so that all the sockets you intend to use HomePlug is on the same phase.
TSntw
Mar 12 2014, 01:14 PM
QUOTE(hinamoriamu @ Mar 12 2014, 10:42 AM) Look here ->https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3134432 Lazy to type again  so there are powerline adapters that can work with 3-phase wiring.  QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Mar 12 2014, 11:29 AM) Depends on what house u living la. Normally banglo have more than 1 phase, while normal terrace house have single phase. Unless you paid TNB to bring another phase in. im poor fag so is normal terrace house, but got my house got one db box on the bottom floor and another on the top floor. im not sure how that counts
hinamoriamu
Mar 12 2014, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(ntw @ Mar 12 2014, 01:14 PM) so there are powerline adapters that can work with 3-phase wiring.  im poor fag so is normal terrace house, but got my house got one db box on the bottom floor and another on the top floor. im not sure how that counts  Yes, the requirement I already said on that thread since you have 2DB better try Aztech's HL119EP that claims work on this kind of environment Do not ever try other model,mostly will not work. This post has been edited by hinamoriamu: Mar 12 2014, 01:33 PM
TSntw
Mar 15 2014, 12:53 PM
thanks for all the recommendation hinamoriamu, after i get them n try will update the effectiveness here