Proton Prevé V20, Don't provoke the modest beast!

ChuanHong
post May 1 2014, 09:10 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

Is there any big difference to buy exec and premium.. Like premium stylist and almost all are auto..

Planning on buying car at end of the year.. During that time also is my ending of first car loan.. Planning to buy new car..

I sat my friends first batch preve AT exec, heard very big noise sound.. Not sure is engine or wind.. Car is stable but just sound.. I heard new version Ancap 2014 got improve in those problem.. It isn't? Need some advise from current users?
ChuanHong
post May 2 2014, 10:29 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(theonlyvin @ May 2 2014, 12:17 AM)
The Ancap verrsion of Exec 2014 produce less CVT whining sound compare to the old batch, but still have some weird sound that needed to be solve. On my way to solve it..
what's kind of weird sounds?? ok so previous are engine sound.. quite loud lea my friend first batch Preve car.. others than this loud sound, I'm ok with stability and others.. seems quite best value for 72k car with all 6 airbags, auto light, push start and 1.6L with turbo.. the sound i heard from my friends is "HO HO HO" more likely wind or engine noise..
ChuanHong
post May 2 2014, 01:45 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(vincent818 @ May 2 2014, 11:10 AM)
the big difference between Excec & premium is Turbo (power on acceleration brows.gif  )
would like to suggest you have a test drive the premium b4 you decide to go for exec ,
mostly all the showroom/outlet have test drive unit for premium but for exec maybe u have to borrow your friend car and try .
feel the power yourself and i believe you will love it .

exec big sound comes from engine , honestly preve dont have very good sound proof  cry.gif  even 2014 Ancap also quite noisy
oo.. thought CVT can have much better Noise handling.. i haven't test drive yet due to yesterday they have no key in showroom due public day?!

yaya showroom only got premium variants to test.. I'm not sure whether i can test drive to 90-100km/h or not.. possible no chance to do so.. at least myvi noise I'm ok.. if too loud like my friends First batch Preve then i can't accept la.. i saw the specs of Preve very best deal.. Paddle shift, turbo engine, and other automatic features.. big cabin, boot space..

vincent818, i knew u are SA here.. would u recommend this car? I'm just graduate and planning to buy a car later on.. targeting on this after visit myvi and alza.. prefer Preve due to traction control and ESC.
ChuanHong
post May 2 2014, 03:13 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(vincent818 @ May 2 2014, 02:39 PM)
try it and feel it yourself , no matter how best i talk also no use , just find a showroom at try it .
my opinion a C segment car with such spec , spare  & price , is worth for money  thumbup.gif
haha ok..

what I want:
1. Spacious, stable car, safety car, fuel consumption average (running highway most of time)

what I don't want: bad handling (not stable), car noise (i hate noise. i'm driving proton iswara, noise consider average), other gf myvi also average.. acceptable.. i don't like wind or engine roaring sound.. really need to test drive and see.. but mostly need to go up to highway around 100-120km/h only can know what i want.. coz I'm running highway daily..
ChuanHong
post May 2 2014, 04:10 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ May 2 2014, 03:56 PM)
CFE engine doesn't make that much noise, but the noise comes from the CVT laugh.gif
oo.. CVT in city didn't make much noise.. sorry no offence.. but i would go to test drive in coming and see again..

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ May 2 2014, 03:57 PM)
then politely ask the SA during test drive la.. say u'll pay the toll.. of course bagi...
my SA siap offer me 80km test drive lg..
haha really?? ok.. i will try to ask see whether can or not.. the one i went is near to Highway only.. Juru auto city there.. if can i would like try one lap in 90k-110km/h
ChuanHong
post May 2 2014, 04:26 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ May 2 2014, 04:12 PM)
i did mine in kota kinabalu.. he's pretty laid back..
last 2week i tried city.. let me speed up till 80km/h also.. CVT really can't feel the pickup.. But CITY noise reduction very good.. budget for it is my maximum.. but I'm not buying a toy car.. i will visit all manufacturer and choose the best suit to me.. I'm planning to use more than 6 years above for this coming car.. so need to do consideration nicely..

1. City (tested)
2. Almera
3. Vios
4. Preve (suddenly think of this car and found it quite nice from specs, the best among these)
5. Mitsubishi Attrage

Optional: myvi (tested gf house)

my optimal budget for car+petrol+toll is around rm1k per month after mileage/allowance.. (mean personal willing to spend rm1k on these area excluded company allowance).

up to now, quite comfort with myvi as well.. just if can get much better safety feature will be added advantage.. Prefer Stability.. Fuel consumption i feel almost all are same.. all also need consume petrol 1.. don't over petrol hunger then ok day.. 10L/100km I'm quite satisfy already..

i'm not rush to have new car right now.. haha.. but before next year/this year end confirm will need 1.. Coz house carpark area renovation started on september..

i don't care about brand.. any brand would be ok for me.. just the car don't too problematic.. normal maintenance fee i'm ok.. don't like half year change air cone, another half year change absorber/fan motor.. haha.. sorry I'm so problematic~

This post has been edited by ChuanHong: May 2 2014, 04:30 PM
ChuanHong
post May 2 2014, 05:36 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ May 2 2014, 04:43 PM)
how much do u travel monthly(in km) and how much do u expect to pay for the car monthly?
one full tank last me a week.. around 500km.. and thats with sedate driving..
Monthly minimum 1500km.. Maximum 2000km.. quite average.. RM1000 for loan, petrol.. Mostly rm200++ petrol for my iswara.. so RM800 for car..

just now my SA called me, and i try booking test drive with him around this weekend or next weekend.. he is ok for me running in highway.. coz i want to test performance and noise reduction in cabin.. hope new version not disappoint me.. probably CFE is no problem for me in budget.. quite suits me well.. just care about noise reduction performance.. power or not power still ok for me.. haha.. coz I'm driving iswara only.. not heavy footer.. just want stable and comfort car when driving..
ChuanHong
post May 2 2014, 08:24 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(sanadi @ May 2 2014, 05:47 PM)
In that case, I believe the Honda City might be better for you. Town driving FC is much better in Honda City compared to Preve. This is my FC for the last 3 months:
[attachmentid=3954335]

However, do test drive the Preve, you might change your mind. Me? I don't mind the FC. For the power, safety & comfort, I'd take Preve CFE anyday.
I dont mind the FC as well.. I'm highway runner..

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ May 2 2014, 07:00 PM)
You don't expect to pay RM200+ for petrol monthly if you travel 1500km to 2000km monthly even though it's mostly highway drive. It would be around RM400+ for that kind of mileage, dependent on traffic conditions and driving patterns.

Stability and comfort, at the Preve Turbo's price range there are no peers.
Hmm.. Yes. My budget around rm1k for car and petrol.. Car loan for preve around rm750. Another rm250 for my petrol.. I'm got mileage and petrol toll claim from company.. I'm only state the maximum i willing to spend on car is rm1k max.. Coz dont want spend more on that.. Haha

Yes from specs really it's the best.. I've book test drive with sales agent on tmr morning 10.00am. Will bring my dad as my passenger.. SA agreed for me to driving to highway.. So I will take tmr test drive performance as consideration..

I'm not urge for power or speedy.. Just normal user which want spacious and comfort ride for myself and family.. Saga too small, myvi no boot space and lack of safety.. But I will reconsider all of my option then choose my final choice..

Temporary preve is on top priority since most of aspects fulfilled my needs. Just want to know its quality. Hopefully proton really make some changes and make consumer believe it..
ChuanHong
post May 3 2014, 01:40 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ May 3 2014, 12:48 PM)
I didn't read this thread earlier. Let me know your impressions after having tested the Preve Turbo(supossedly 10.00am this morning?). I am sure after you have driven the Preve Turbo, you will feel the sluggishness of the Almera and find it to be severely underpowered. If youfind the CVT of the new CIty to be poor in pickup, you will not be disappointed with the Preve Turbo. The acceleration power of the vehicle is comparable if not better than most 2.0-litre vehicles out there.

Anyway, you should be able to form your own impressions after the test-drive session. If you find your girlfriend's Myvi to be comfortable, you will find the Preve to be on another level. Myvi is just good for city drive. The stability of the car at highway speeds will not be able to match the Preve. The PReve's stability and comfort at highway cruising speed are much better than the Mvyi due to the overall sturdiness of the vehicle, chassis and stiffer-tuned suspension. Not to mention the higher capacity 1.6-litre Turbo engine that will register lower rpms at higher cruising speeds than the 1.3-litre engine of the Myvi which will be a bit strained in comparison.
Yes.. Today morning i go with my dad and test proton preve with turbo.. Overall better than my expectation a lot.. (Sit my friend preve exec iafm) which his car having very loud noise which worst than my iswara.. Really terrible and not comfort in his car which this issue I'm concerning. But today test drive preve turbo first batch without 6 airbags (which SA said poorer soundproofing, new version will better) im cant confirm this. But let's talk my experience on this morning..

I get permission from SA to run highways as how fast as i like to do.. But i didnt push hardly.. Starting learn to see every settings in car, auto features, push starts, radio there, steering adjuster and others.. With leather wrap steering, very good to hold it.. Not much plastics feel on dashboard, door and others compare to previous proton car.. I feel improved in this segment, even still got some plastic on storage place.. But ok.. Won't feel dashboard or door vibration or any sounds there.. Glads that not leather seat in preve, dont like leather seat, coz will feel very hot if under sunlight.. Overall interior build i would give 7.5/10. Design and compartment I can give same rating as well.. (My own opinion).

Next, about performance.. First I'm very like on steering handling.. Heavy steering and nice handling, good stability..
Starting accelerate, really can feel the heavy of car.. Need press more to move the car.. Ok.. From stopping and accelerate to cross road.. Press harder than normal abit will feel the turbo function after a while.. I think this car really need turbo engine to do better in accelerating from 0km/h. No fast blinking signal for changing lane as other imported car.. But it's ok.. Go up to highway.. Accelerating from 30km/h to 100km/h feel smooth only with light pedal foot.. Press harder can slightly feel the power more.. Below 100km/h is very comfort and noiseless.. After 100km/h can slightly feel the sounds from wind or tyres?! But not so serious.. Acceptable for me.. Much better than my friends preve a lot.. Possible his car problem.. Up till 160km/h, the engine with turbo can go up to that speed without feel much sluggishness.. Ok la.. Power i would say more than average.. Only 1 problem i notice is, this car will got some weird sound when at below 30km/h speed, u can feel like "woo woo" sounds.. Engine sounds mostly.. But once press pedals and accelerate this sounds disappear.. I think with turbo off will got this sounds..

Overall, I feel yes and better than my expectation.. Price is around my optimal budget.. Really hopefully the new version improved better than first version.. I would say in that price to get this kind of specs card was hardly to find ady.. I think i will be one of this car owner in future.. But I have to say, I'm just visit and tested 2 car up to now.. City, preve.. I need to survey and visit other car and put into my consideration as well. Myvi also by my gf car, that time drive from Penang to colmar tropical.. Feel ok but not stable as preve.. Myvi really different level compare with preve.. Preve feel much better.. Ok all of above opinion is excluded with any problematic or issues, just my personal opinion on normal usage and normal condition of car.. I would suggest my friends to test this car if they are want to buy car..

This post has been edited by ChuanHong: May 3 2014, 01:52 PM
ChuanHong
post May 3 2014, 02:42 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(davidlow7 @ May 3 2014, 01:57 PM)
The new ANCAP's improvement is not by little but a lot in term of response, minimal cvt whine hence more quiet.

If you mention the test drive unit already exceeded your expectations then the ANCAP will be a good buy for you. Because I am a satisfied ANCAP user but totally considered the non-ANCAP batches as crap especially you and I both dislike on noisy car.
I feel the noise of the ANCAP batches is within acceptable range and at least it gives you a more relaxing drive at highway. 2300rpm @ 110km/h. For highway drive definitely it's nice.
really?! very good.. hmm just now i tested now non ANCAP version can heard some wind/engine noises.. but still acceptable for me.. if new version improved as you said.. will be big advantage for me..

currently, my planning stage is like that.. Renovation for my house on Aug-Sept before purchase new car. So I have many time yet to survey each brand of car. My consideration was including price, service fee, spare parts, quality, long term usage.

my consideration list:
1. Honda city
2. Toyota Vios
3. Proton Preve
4. Nissan Almera
5. Mitsubishi Attrage
6. Myvi (the last but probably no to it)

From priority for my choices would be Preve>City>Vios>Attrage>Almera>Myvi. Actually not requesting much on car, dont too lousy quality then should ok.. after tested drive on today, feel proton does improved and eliminated my worrying issues due to friend Preve. That's why put on top priority.. but i will go visit all others car first before make final decision, since i got time to do so.. i dont mind year end car.. as long as first hand then ok.. Once renovation done, its my time to get loan ady.. im still fresh graduates, hopefully loan can easily approved, so not consider very high price of car.. Possible loan around 65k~70k.. hope can get approved.. now temporarily still got 1 car loan which second hand car, Proton iswara with rm220 per month in 1 year period..

Preve is much better than my current car a lot and im easy to get satisfied.. haha nod.gif
ChuanHong
post May 3 2014, 03:18 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ May 3 2014, 02:54 PM)
On the cfe.. set your expectation of fc to be around 10l/100km... before this i do around 4k-5k km permonth... and the monthly fuel bill is aeound RM800.. u can see my fuelly for details... per full tank of about RM100 u could get 400-500km off 1 tank..
thanks bro.. rm100 can go for 400-500km is mixed city and highway?? me mostly running highway .. my house near to toll entry, company also near to toll entry.. very straight forward like that d.. 10L for 100km consider ok i think..
ChuanHong
post May 3 2014, 03:56 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(davidlow7 @ May 3 2014, 03:36 PM)
Cruising 110km/h @ 90km distance give me 6.9l/100km

Mixed town driving without much jam give me about 8.5km/l

If peak hour with a lot of jam it gives me 9.5km/l.. or slightly more...

So if you are a cruiser without much in jam area.. the Preve is top in its class for its FC.. being a C-Segment and have advance active/passive safety features required for high-speed cruising.
greatt.. thanks for your info.. very useful for me in consideration..
ChuanHong
post May 5 2014, 09:47 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(danielstc @ May 5 2014, 08:30 AM)
I am one proud owner of the newer Ancap Version of Premium Preve!...
When i test drive previously the older version - would say the difference in Noise is night and day - the new VT3+ makes a huge difference not just in pick up but the noise has gone down alot! - plus the tyres - GT radial tyres are super noisy once the car reach 20k above. So when i got my new car with fresh tires... wow i was blown away that it is indeed so much better.
haha "night and day".. read for few times then i understood it.. that's cool for ANCAP version. definitely probably i would go to this Premium car as well instead of other foreign manufacturer car. can i know how much for a set of 16inch tyres? previous I'm just drive 14inch tyres car only.. wanna to know its there much different on price..

thanks for advise..
ChuanHong
post May 5 2014, 10:00 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(davidlow7 @ May 5 2014, 09:51 AM)
as cheap as RM250 or lower also available
but a good tyre and decent tyre will be around RM350 per piece....

Yes it's expensive but bigger tyre gives you better safety and minimizing aquaplaning risk...
oo.. like that mean not much different in price term.. even 14inch cheaper also need rm180~200 already.. with bigger tyres can let us feel the stability of car.. I think got 80% to take this car in second half of year.. now waiting to renovate my house car park area first.. then only buy new car.. will discuss with my gf as well after she come back..
ChuanHong
post May 5 2014, 10:35 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(davidlow7 @ May 5 2014, 10:05 AM)
she'll ask you get a Vios/City.... or downgrade to Perodua Myvi.. rolleyes.gif
initial thinking is plan to buy myvi. indeed now its top sales car model in msia. design every things ok.. drive my gf family latest version myvi as well.. feel so far so good.. but I'm thinking further.. wish to have boot space and family usage.. myvi price rm56k for 1.5SE.. i can get add on another 5k to get Preve Exec AT already.. haha VIOS or CITY just feel much over budget..

for me, if want to buy car, must buy full specs or at least 2nd version.. i don't want to buy a brand or body only.. so i compare price within full specs of all brand..

Preve - 62k/73k
VIOS 88k
CITY - 84k/91k
Almera - 79k
Attrage 76k
MYVI - 56k
FORD - 90k

From specs we can know PREVE and FORD should the best among these. people will consider resale value of car.. but i not much care on it. i buy car is not for sales.. probably i want to use for around 10+ years. unless crash or major problem, then only try to trade in.. my mum agreed and support me to buy this car.. but dad economic thinking, as me buy SAGA. LOL

personally like PREVE, from interior and exterior (except rear design). but its ok.. wait july my gf back already then will go visit again.. ^^ car must be wait after house outside area finish renovate first.. (change gate door and roof). if not, no space for my new car to park..

This post has been edited by ChuanHong: May 5 2014, 10:39 AM
ChuanHong
post May 5 2014, 01:26 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(danielstc @ May 5 2014, 11:24 AM)
No Doubt Preve is the better choice - the only problem i am having is the service center - super slow and inefficient! Good thing is there is no major breakdown for Preve that i heard off - usual problem like fitting - kruk kruk sound and so on.

My relative 1 yr old Altis also got sound dy - the prob is toyota has so little issue with fittings the service center ppl say need one whole day to find out where the sound comes from. Where as my preve i told them got sound from here they staight order parts saying this one is known issue dy... and really it fixed once they change the part.

If you can bear with the slow SC... set your expectation lower on the fittings (Its still way better than other protons we own so far.) Preve is a fun car to drive... FYI that day this Civic 2.0 try to tailgate me (Damn pantang people tailgate me like crazy fella vmad.gif ) - at traffic light put to manual mode pedal to metal - Preve smoke it!!

Attrage is a pretty decend car - fuel efficiency way better than Jazz Hybrid. But car is too light for my liking. Ford Ecoboost - haven't tried but should be high in my list. The rest T/H/N ... no comments. They have good resale value - and branded - people see ppl say good choise. Proton ppl see ppl ask aiyooo why buy potong?  rclxub.gif ... but at the end of the day when i drive my car - i know i made no mistake.
erm.. from test drive unit, i can feel the build is ok la.. engine whining sounds each car also will got.. no matter C,V,A.. hmm from test drive unit, which non ANCAP unit, i able to accept it.. from your all review, seems ANCAP version is much better after use VT3+. hopefully yes i would choose the right choices as well.. i will choose the car i prefer and won't care about others.. hahha..
ChuanHong
post May 6 2014, 08:20 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

Today i told my colleague that I had tested drive proton preve last saturday and fell very nice and want buy.. After this, all bang me that proton useless d, cant lasts long.. All ask me go see Toyota and honda.. But then i tell them if pocket blank, then why force yourself to buy those car just for fame..

At least can feel proton preve quality better than previous model a lot.. Hmm, I would say why people hate it due to previous perception.. And also ppl hate it was protected.. Like now ppl will say Nokia, sony all noob.. Must use samsung and apple.. Just they are lack of updated knowledge.. Survey ourselves and get our own prefer choices.. No need care other people say d. No need argue or debate d.. Coz they not understand.. I'm not preve owner yet.. But highly possible will become owner in coming.

This post has been edited by ChuanHong: May 6 2014, 08:21 PM
ChuanHong
post May 6 2014, 10:16 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(SothysSaleShop @ May 6 2014, 08:36 PM)
proton is a poor man's car, that's why your colleague ask you to buy kosong vios/city also better than preve.. better think twice brows.gif
not saying honda or toyota not good.. they are quite expert in this industry ady.. every people measurement of things are different. so just follow our own measurement and choose the one suits us.. cause money is ours. plan and use it without regret.

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ May 6 2014, 08:39 PM)
As an owner, I'm not gonna hide it from you, you will have to visit the SC one or two times to solve minor issues (mostly rattles or unknown sounds), which none of them is in any way affecting the performance or safety.

Since you will be driving on highway a lot, I believe this is the best car for you given your needs and budget. FC will not be that good before your 1k service, but everything will be better in time.
i will use highway almost everyday.. each day possible 60+~70+ km.. im stay penang.. go island work.. using second bridge or 1st bridge.. coz working hour flexible, i can work at 9am or above.. anytime is ok.. so mostly i can drive 110km/h.. no jam.. only the time back will got jam sometime.. but not everyday for my case.. currently rm50~70 per week petrol.. toll rm40~50 per week..

with new car, if 1.6L, i think petrol around the above right now or better is around the same.. coz highway all the time.. my house go toll entry 2km.. company from toll 2km.. i can say hardly to jam for me unless on bridge.. so petrol will much save than normal usage..

QUOTE(dares @ May 6 2014, 09:13 PM)
Thats just the beginning.

If you really buy the car, they will start looking at you one kind, talk behind your back, say you poorfag or maybe need to help family member settle gambling debt deswai buy Proton. Some just wanna join the herd mentality, because you know, bashing Proton is fashionable. I bet they don't know anything about cars outside of T/H.

I currently drive a Fiesta, I told my friend I might trade my Fiesta for a Preve or Suprima next year, I think his brain almost exploded. He told me better keep the Fiesta la, why buy Proton la, buy the lowest spec Honda Accord like him la etc. etc.  padahal his Accord d/p was paid by his dad and every month he also sakit hati when paying 1/3 of his income for the installment. But you know, asalkan ada muka, coz he is in sales.

I just told him instead of buying one Accord, I'll buy 2 Preves and I get 12 airbags.
i feel everything need step by step la. everyone family background different.. in your friends case, (assuming) he can afford accord mean not a simple person ady.. but depend on his age.. if around 35~40 i think ok.. if around 25~28, i feel too young.. but he is doing sales, always need be confident and show his capable.. for me, no need go to maximum loan that we can.. distribute to each partition of expenses.. my planning is 24th years old buy car, 25th,26th buy house. (the house beside my me, and plan to combine 2 in 1 in future). 28th~30th like that can marry

1 of my colleague.. normal account clerk.. salary around 2.5k.. but thinking to buy VIOS E specs.. i said, if u loan 9 years, u also need to spend around rm850 on car loan.. with petrol everything confirm exceed rm1k.. why lea?

i plan to buy car is trying to trade off my dad old car.. PROTON TIARA.. waa legend ady for this car.. but if buy proton preve, SA willing to trade it around1k~1.5kk so i feel ok ma.. my house stil got another 2 cars..

This post has been edited by ChuanHong: May 6 2014, 10:21 PM
ChuanHong
post May 7 2014, 07:59 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

Haha support above.. No need to argue.. We have to accept the fact on current.. Buy what we want.. Nobody force must buy proton right? We have our choices..
ChuanHong
post May 7 2014, 08:44 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ May 7 2014, 08:27 PM)
I am watching you silently wondering what is your new car will be. smile.gif
^^.. September u will know it~

0.0605sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled