Credit Cards Hong Leong Bank Wise Credit Card V3, 10% Cashback , Up to RM100 per month

wengherng
post Apr 29 2014, 11:39 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Apr 26 2014, 12:52 PM)
yup I had set it to rm1  smile.gif
Hi, sorry if this is a stupid question, but what is the reason for setting the sms alert to RM1?
Is it to track your usage with the card?
In that case, why not set at RM50 so it is easier to track how many times you have already swiped RM50 and above?
Or did I miss something important here?
hmm.gif
wengherng
post Apr 29 2014, 11:51 PM

1,865 posts

Hello folks,
Just a noob question here.
I am a new WISE card user (less than 3 months) and my categories include petrol.
In March, I had more than 10x transactions over RM50, and all of them are transacted AND posted within March.
I had approximately RM250 worth of petrol transactions (i.e. 5 x RM50 transactions), and all but one of them were pumped at the same station, and always at the kiosk pumps only, never at the counter.
On 28th April, when I checked online, it seems that I only received RM12 cash back for petrol for March.
Now I am quite confused. I could probably understand if I didn't get back any cashback at all, which would mean that there is something wrong with the petrol station's pump kiosk registration, but it seems that I am getting for some transactions and not getting for some. The math does not seem to add up.
So, my question is, would it be possible that some kiosks are set up properly to reflect the correct merchant code, while some pumps might be using the counter code?
Has anyone here faced this problem before?

wengherng
post Apr 30 2014, 01:31 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 30 2014, 12:45 AM)
It's to track "unauthorised usage" lah
Ah...... I see.
OK, thanks.
wengherng
post Apr 30 2014, 10:36 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Apr 30 2014, 02:11 AM)
Is it you have already max out the RM100 by your other category and Mobile category?
Besides, for all your petrol transactions, you can check if there is "PETROL" printed on the Category column in your paper statement.
Otherwise can call CS to ask them to go through your transaction list and explain to you.
Unfortunately, nope, have not yet maxed out the cash back...... my total cash back for the month is only RM50.
Yeah I guess I will have to wait for the paper statement to check again.
Thanks!
wengherng
post Apr 30 2014, 10:38 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Apr 30 2014, 07:22 AM)
by right, ALL automated fuel dispensers are set up with petrol mcc code.
Yeah, that's what I thought too......but...... sigh.
I guess I will wait for the paper statement and then call the CS for clarification then.
wengherng
post May 1 2014, 02:50 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Apr 30 2014, 11:22 PM)
I thought March you already get paper statement, from paper statement you already can estimate your cash back.
Oh yeah, you're right, I totally forgot that I already have it and filed it.
Just checked, I did 4 petrol transactions at the same station, all using kiosk pumps, amounts are 50.19, 50.25, 50.13, and 73.00.
However, in the "categories" column, only the transaction for 73.00 had the word "PETROL" in it. The other transactions had nothing in that column.

Also, to add salt to the wound, my other category is Dining, and I had spent RM196.25 at Taang Shifu (Chinese restaurant) at AEON Ipoh on 1st March, posting date 3rd March, but there was also nothing in the "category" column as well.

Damn it, means that I have lost RM35 in cash back in March alone...!
What the hell......
shocking.gif mad.gif vmad.gif

wengherng
post May 1 2014, 10:51 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ May 1 2014, 10:18 AM)
Did  you perform the other 3 petrol transactions at the pump or at cashier ?
Which petrol station ?
Only swipe at the pump entitles you to 10% cashback.

Taang Shifu has always not use DINING MCC code.... too bad.

There's nothing to complain if the merchant set the wrong MCC code....
All transactions were at the pump only. Never at the counter.
That's why my original question here was whether some pumps might have the correct code, while some pumps might be programmed with the "wrong" code.

wengherng
post May 1 2014, 10:54 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ May 1 2014, 04:34 PM)
Wrong MCC at petrol station is so annoying and wasteful, HLB should include 5541 as CB code.
You got my vote for that!
wengherng
post May 1 2014, 10:59 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ May 1 2014, 10:18 AM)
Did  you perform the other 3 petrol transactions at the pump or at cashier ?
Which petrol station ?
Only swipe at the pump entitles you to 10% cashback.

Taang Shifu has always not use DINING MCC code.... too bad.

There's nothing to complain if the merchant set the wrong MCC code....
Damn, if I'd known that Taang Shifu is not registered as Dining MCC code, I would've swiped my MBB Amex card instead, at least I'll get my 5% cashback and 5x treatpoints.
Do you by any chance know of any other restaurants which are NOT using the Dining MCC code, so that we can be aware?
sad.gif
wengherng
post May 2 2014, 12:00 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ May 1 2014, 11:11 PM)
Avoid that Petrol Station altogether.... can share the actual Petrol Station location to put in the "shame list"
Well, it's the Petronas station at Damansara Damai.
But then again, it's the closest to my house so for convenience, I always pump there.
You're right, I think I will need to source for another station, just to be sure.
wengherng
post May 2 2014, 12:01 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ May 1 2014, 11:58 PM)
For WISE, you need to try and error on petrol stations.
In Seremban, almost 40% of them are boycott by me.
Boycott by you due to them having the "wrong" MCC code?
wengherng
post May 2 2014, 12:03 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ May 1 2014, 11:33 PM)
if not mistaken, taang shifu doesn't accept amex. or at least the outlet i went to doesn't accept.
Really?
OK I didn't know that......big and flashy overpriced Chinese restaurant like that doesn't accept AMEX?
Who would've thought.
I think I'll just avoid this restaurant altogether, and save myself the trouble.
Terribly overpriced, and food's not that spectacular anyway.
wengherng
post May 2 2014, 11:03 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 2 2014, 12:40 AM)
Dinning category in Wise card is a "trap" category. Reasons being:
1. Difficult to control the dinning bill within average RM100 per transaction.
2. Can easily spend few hundred ringgit in one transaction, thus you need to spend more than 1k in order to hit 10x transactions.
3. You wouldn't know for sure the restaurant qualify for CB or not.

Better drop the dining category and save the dining chargers for other CB card like OCBC or Amex. These 2 cards can get good upfront dining bill discount from 10% to 20% at quite a large selection of restaurants
Yeah, you're probably right on this one.
Currently, I have AEON Watami card (cash back of RM50 per month already maxed out) and also MBB 2 cards AMEX (which I usually use for overseas business trips to maximise the 5x treatpoints, and also weekend shopping at AEON Jusco for the 5% cash back).
The Wise card is currently used for Mobile, Petrol and Dining, which by my calculation of my normal average monthly expenditure, should get me just about right to RM100.
So I thought I was pretty well covered.
The only flaw in my strategy was that I did not factor in the scenario that not all restaurants are covered under Dining category.
Sigh......
sad.gif

This post has been edited by wengherng: May 2 2014, 11:03 PM
wengherng
post May 2 2014, 11:06 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(Wongchoy @ May 2 2014, 04:59 PM)
To be truthful, there ain't any card around that offers 10% CB on dining. OCBC Titanium used to offer CB on dining but they cover the complete set of MCC for dining which is MCC 5811, MCC 5812, MCC 5813 & MCC 5814. This isn't the case for wise card where MCC 5813 is omitted!! So CB is not earned on MCC 5813 merchant. Based on my experience, MCC 5813 doesn't only include bar/ disco/ drinking places but also at non halal restaurant and restaurant that serves alcohol. That is why i always try to ask the restaurant their MCC status before paying ( but most of the time the cashier is dumbfolded by my questions !!  brows.gif )
Actually I have the OCBC Titanium card as well, and was pretty happy with it until they decided to pull out the 5% cash back program.
So now I am moving out all my expenditure and autodebits from this card, and am planning to cancel it in a month or two.
wengherng
post May 2 2014, 11:19 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Mar 9 2014, 09:41 PM)
Only can say : choose wisely on the category. For a married family, groceries and petrol + mobile will be the best choice.
Sorry if this has already been answered before, but AEON Jusco (i.e. where we buy the foodstuff and daily necessities) is considered as groceries?
Am seriously considering changing my category now.
wengherng
post May 2 2014, 11:28 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ May 1 2014, 11:33 PM)
if not mistaken, taang shifu doesn't accept amex. or at least the outlet i went to doesn't accept.
I checked the MCC list again...... to be honest, I cannot imagine what MCC code would Taang Shifu be listed under.
It's an "eating place & restaurant", dammit...... it should be listed under 5812...!
vmad.gif
wengherng
post May 3 2014, 12:27 AM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ May 2 2014, 11:41 PM)
yes, aeon supermarket is considered as grocery. can refer to the first page for those aeon reported as grocery. but as reported, some counters at aeon supermarket bukit tinggi were not registered under grocery.
Ah, OK now I see it......thanks.
Bit concerned as 1 Utama is not listed, though, as that it where I do all my shopping.

wengherng
post May 3 2014, 10:47 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(TheSecRet @ May 3 2014, 12:30 AM)
I just received both my gsc and wise. It stated rm5000 total combined limit. Does that mean two card in total rm5000? Bamk negara detect one card or two card. I am applyijg loan soon. I dont want to affect my results.
That would be both cards combined, total RM5000 credit limit.
Applying for a bank loan usually is not adversely affected by how many credit cards you have, unless you have outstanding bad debts on those cards.

wengherng
post May 3 2014, 10:50 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ May 3 2014, 08:45 AM)
I only use Maybank cards on Juscos.
Nothing to buy there basically, groceries in Giant, Tesco are way cheaper most of the time.
You're probably right, but my wife does not like shopping at Giant or Tesco.
Usually we only go to 1 Utama on weekends, and when we do, we'll usually do everything there, like have lunch, watch a movie, do shopping, have dinner, etc...... so we don't shop at other grocery outlets.
At the moment, I am also using MBB AMEX at Jusco.
wengherng
post May 3 2014, 10:52 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ May 3 2014, 12:29 PM)
someone still reported that the mymydin (bukit tinggi) now still accept cc (visa/master only) for tng reload.
Any idea where else in KL where we can reload TnG under Groceries?

0.1530sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:01 AM