online job hunt, Want to share?

TShans.excel
post Jul 18 2006, 03:35 PM, updated 20y ago

401 posts

Right now everyone is jobhunting online, like to share with other forumers your experience in this trend?
Ido
post Jul 18 2006, 03:42 PM

325 posts

Newspapers is too slow. Slow not in term of response but in term of searching the job we want. Page by page, damn slow.

This post has been edited by Ido: Jul 18 2006, 03:44 PM
cksoon
post Jul 18 2006, 03:56 PM

813 posts

If I find job online, it's easier since I can do filter according to what I want..and don't know why i feel it's easier coz alot more ads compared to newspapers
perror
post Jul 18 2006, 05:19 PM

1,883 posts

I've applied all my jobs via jobstreet. When it comes to submission, you can choose to send directly to the supplied e-mail, or send a hard copy. I normally send a hard copy..smile.gif There's of course, pros and cons of doing so. There's a chance the resume may wind up as part of the paper stack on the table and be lost in it.. rclxub.gif
forrest
post Jul 18 2006, 06:12 PM

1,045 posts

find your job via jobstreet is quite fast i think. But you need to try with "conventional" method too --> newspaper

QUOTE(perror @ Jul 18 2006, 05:19 PM)
I've applied all my jobs via jobstreet. When it comes to submission, you can choose to send directly to the supplied e-mail, or send a hard copy. I normally send a hard copy..smile.gif There's of course, pros and cons of doing so. There's a chance the resume may wind up as part of the paper stack on the table and be lost in it.. rclxub.gif
if send the resume by email, they can "easily" delete the mail sweat.gif , sometimes hard copy is safer.
Ranny
post Jul 18 2006, 07:43 PM

521 posts

i prefer sending resume thru email last time. At least to show them i am computer literate smile.gif
jinyee80
post Jul 18 2006, 08:47 PM

Jinyee? Me lor =)
868 posts

I will do both, send to email and send hardcopy through snail mail as I would not take the risk he/she will delete the info online or either lost my paper resume.smile.gif
kb2005
post Jul 18 2006, 09:29 PM

Yahoo!
17,864 posts

QUOTE(jinyee80 @ Jul 18 2006, 08:47 PM)
I will do both, send to email and send hardcopy through snail mail as I would not take the risk he/she will delete the info online or either lost my paper resume.smile.gif
I like your way. Play safe rclxms.gif
perror
post Jul 18 2006, 11:20 PM

1,883 posts

I have also thought of sending via multiple means, but I was warned against doing so as it may:

1) Confuse the HR on the other end
2) Make you look desperate
slingswish
post Jul 19 2006, 02:51 AM

560 posts

hahaha but online faster ...make u deal faster biggrin.gif
rexis
post Jul 19 2006, 10:12 AM

*** 7-star status Old Bird ***
3,590 posts

I will say use email, poslaju, and call them as well. If possible go to their office and hand them your resume, they might hv a form for you to fill up.

jobstreet... yeah very fast, fast till each job have 1000+ applicants, my 3rd class degree, really cannot compete, i will b the first one kena filtered out first.
masterelr
post Jul 19 2006, 10:26 PM

1,003 posts

I only apply online. Either through jobstreet and apply there or through papers and email them. Coudn't be bothered to send by normal mail since theres no post office near by. And so far I get some pretty good offers too.
kb2005
post Jul 19 2006, 11:08 PM

Yahoo!
17,864 posts

QUOTE(perror @ Jul 18 2006, 11:20 PM)
I have also thought of sending via multiple means, but I was warned against doing so as it may:

1) Confuse the HR on the other end
2) Make you look desperate
Yes, it will make you desperate but no choice! We have to do that to get HR attention thumbup.gif Do you know even trainees sent multiple resumes to my company ?
TShans.excel
post Jul 21 2006, 01:47 PM

401 posts

which is easier to get an interview offer? through newspaper or online?
sinoffire
post Jul 21 2006, 02:29 PM

3,557 posts

QUOTE(hans.excel @ Jul 21 2006, 01:47 PM)
which is easier to get an interview offer? through newspaper or online?
i'd say do both. so wat if it shows that ur despo for jobs?! big deal. ur looking for jobs wat. why be ashame of it?! rclxub.gif rclxub.gif but most likely, those posts that u applied online might call u 1st.

0.0171sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:26 PM