Closed, Closed

awyongcarl
post Jan 1 2015, 03:23 PM

1,870 posts

I just noticed that the GTX 980m on S5 is just 4gb, how well does it fair against the 8gb version from RS-15 or RS-17?

Since I just placed an order for the S5 that I configured for RM7k+
Was thinking might as well just order the RX-17 EVO lol

Then again I'm not running at 4k so I think the 4gb should not make much different.
And the slimmer form factor of S5 is indeed enticing lol.

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Jan 1 2015, 03:42 PM
awyongcarl
post Feb 18 2015, 04:15 PM

1,870 posts

Been using my S5 with GTX 980m for a while and notice there is one issue with running games with it.
So far I only played Starcraft 2. Diablo 3, Resident evil 4 HD, Resident Evil 5 and Dota 2 with it and I notice the same issue in every single games of these.

For the most part, it runs them perfectly, but once in a while, the FPS will drop to 40-ish from constant 60FPS for no apparent reason. I notice this the most on SC2. Diablo 3 and Dota 2. Just all of a sudden, for no reason, ie there isn't much thing going on, just regular character moving in Dota 2 in an empty lane and I notice the FPS drop/slow down. Same goes to Diablo 3, just walking in the town, then the FPS can suddenly slowdown to 40-45ish for several seconds then it goes back to 60fps.

I've kept the GPU driver updated and make sure it's in maximum performance mode but doesn't seems to solve the issue.

Any idea?

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Feb 18 2015, 04:15 PM
awyongcarl
post Feb 18 2015, 11:32 PM

1,870 posts

Uhh So how do I rollback o.O
I update through the GeForce experience thingy lol
awyongcarl
post Feb 18 2015, 11:44 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Feb 18 2015, 11:38 PM)
What I do is, uninstall the driver and download+install the driver version you wanted.
If want to OC need to flash BIOS ? any way of doing it ? I now dono how to do it leh.. need some guideline..
They want us to get a new unit every year.. Without OC the card will be even faster to be outdated I afraid sad.gif
Thank you, may I know which version of the more stable driver that you are currently using?
awyongcarl
post Feb 21 2015, 11:30 PM

1,870 posts

Rolled back to 344.75, can overclock but didn't really solve the random slowdowns :/

Seriously this isn't some hardware problem or what is it? I refuse to accept the fact that I spent 6k+ on this machine with GTX 980m only to find that it can't even run Dota 2 smoothly at 60fps lol

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Feb 22 2015, 01:26 AM
awyongcarl
post Feb 22 2015, 01:47 AM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(syafri88 @ Feb 22 2015, 01:36 AM)
Did you try to check on your PC wither running on Turbo or power saving mode?

Sometimes, because it is running on power saving mode, it will throttle back. In which, it will cause the problem.

This happen to me before on Alienware M15 where I accidentally hit power saving mode and didn't realise it.

Solution: Go to power management, turn off all the power savings mode.
I've already made sure the computer is running at maximum performance mode :/

I even tried using ThrottleStop, doesn't seems like the CPU is throttled too.
I tried Furmark, the GPU usage is 98-99% so doesn't looks like there is any throttling going on with the GPU. Do tell if something is wrong with the score from Furmark.

Any clues? I'm kinda disappointed if this is actually the hardware limitation which I find honestly, is a big joke. GTX 980m has issue running a 2 years old game which a 1.5k cheap desktop can run flawlessly -.-

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Feb 22 2015, 01:55 AM
awyongcarl
post Feb 22 2015, 08:00 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Feb 22 2015, 07:18 PM)
May I know you purchased a DOS version or ???
What OS you are using ? Win7 ? Win8 ? Linux ?
You're playing Local Lobby Match or Pub/MMR ? Cause I also facing some problem on my Z5 with 860m. I won't get 60fps with smooth screen transition on Lobby Match. But when it is Pub or MMR it performs smoothly. Smooth screen transition + fixed 60fps
Does playing other game still have the same problem ? Like COD, BF etc etc
Test without OC-ing your CPU and GPU, mostly throttle is caused by OC-ing. Lower your resolution to 1080p if you're running the game at 4k initially. 980m CAN'T run game on 4k reso smoothly.
It comes with Windows 8.1
Any modes I tried has the same weird slowdown at random intervals. Even watching games gives me the same issue.
Playing any other games gives me the same issue, yes. I tried L4D2, Ace Combat Assault Horizon, Crysis 2, Resident Evil 4 HD, Resident Evil 5, and some of these games are generations old even old fart 285GTX can run them smoothly without problem :/

Btw, I also tried running the games at lowest setting, same thing.
All games are running at 1920x1080 only. No 4k.

I did not overclock both GPU and CPU.

By the way, I noticed that the GPU usage does not go beyond 50% when I play Dota 2, and the temperature does not go beyond 62 centigrade. What the F? It's like the GPU isn't really working like it should lol

If your Z5 with 860m can run Dota 2 smoothly out of the box, then something is very very very wrong with my S5 with 980m :/
Perhaps I should send it back to Illegear and have them to look at it. Sigh. What a luck.

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Feb 22 2015, 08:02 PM
awyongcarl
post Feb 22 2015, 08:22 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(miong93 @ Feb 22 2015, 08:15 PM)
Well if you're having a powerful GPU, I guess it is possible your gpu usage doesn't go beyond 50%, as the gpu is already has enough horse power to render everything without full loaded it. Temperature is normal for me, I played 2hours+ BF4 and COD AW and max temperature I get is 69 degree for both cpu and gpu (will max fan). S5 come with trifan so it should do better for old game.

But I think it maybe an hardware issue, just pm ILLEGEAR to have them assist you. Or check whether your nvidia card is running when gaming or not.
But how come you can furmark and benchmark without having the issue ? It seems weird, cause if it is an hardware issue, you won't perform well and most probably will also face the similar problem when you perform benchmark or furmark. hmm.gif
True that, but then where does the random slowdown comes from lol
And yeah I could benchmark with the Furmark without problem, seriously I'm lost -.-
awyongcarl
post Feb 23 2015, 03:17 AM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(Prince J @ Feb 22 2015, 10:34 PM)
Hi awyongcarl,

According to the conversation I guess this issue is related to the Nvidia Optimus where the game switch your GPU to integrated graphics hence the FPS suddenly dropped.

You can try updating your Intel HD graphics driver, Nvidia graphics driver, adjust your power plan, adjust your Nvidia control panel performance setting:

1. Open NVIDIA control panel.
2. Manage 3D settings
3. Global settings tab
4. Power Management Mode settings, select "Prefer Maximum Performance"
5. Preferred Graphic Processor settings, change from "Auto select" to "High Performance NVIDIA Processor"

By the way, what OS version are you using?
I've done all that. still getting the same weird spikes :/

Windows 8.1

is there a way to disable the Intel Integrated graphics card and use only the dedicated GPU?
I remember doing something like that with another laptop in the BIOS setting but I can't seems to find that in S5's bios.
awyongcarl
post Feb 23 2015, 04:37 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(Prince J @ Feb 23 2015, 09:10 AM)
Hi awyongcarl,

Please pm me your BIOS and EC version.

Also, does this issue happen in games like BF4, watchdog etc?

Games like DOTA 2 optimize for intel onboard graphics
There you go.

Nope, I don't have BF4 or Watchdog lol
I just installed COD Black Ops, will try and let you know the result again later

Btw yeah I tried disabling Intel Integrated Graphics from the device manager and it basically fuck everything up, you can't boot any games, the error is no graphic card is detected -.-
Meh wtf lol. I always thought you can switch it manually from the BIOS :/

EDIT:
Tried running Black ops, yeap same thing. Even my old Alienware MX15r1 with 5850m and old i7 1.7ghz doesn't lag and slowdown like this S5 does lol

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Feb 23 2015, 04:50 PM
awyongcarl
post Feb 24 2015, 10:56 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(skan2 @ Feb 24 2015, 10:42 PM)
I shall repeat again. update to ec 1.03.04 or 1.03.06 will solve the problem. Go dual channel can increase up to 10 fps in certain games for this laptop.
Much appreciated, may I know where can I obtain the BIOS and EC?
I tried searching it in Clevo website but doesn't seems like they have it there?

Would be cool if you can link me to a guide for the update or something, shouldn't be too hard to try it myself.
awyongcarl
post Feb 24 2015, 11:04 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(Prince J @ Feb 24 2015, 10:58 PM)
Hi awyongcarl,

We prefer you bring in your machine, there are many steps to follow and if you missed one single step then your machine would brick.
Uh alright then, I'll see if I can drop by tomorrow noon time around 12-1pm?
May I know who to contact when I got there?
I think I'll just pass the laptop to you and pick it up in the evening or something, is that okay?
awyongcarl
post Feb 25 2015, 12:18 AM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(skan2 @ Feb 24 2015, 11:03 PM)
U need to get it from Illegear as the logo will be different.

However FYI, there is Premamod (unlocked bios) and XMG bios

Prema mod forum
Jesus thank you so much man, thanks to you I just fixed the problem lol. (Updating to 1.03.03PM)
Dota 2 is now constantly stable at 60fps!

Tried with the Resident Evil 5 benchmarking, looks perfect as well!
As you can see in the "before" there are hiccups here and there but in the "After", it's perfect 60FPS!

S5 owners should take note of this.

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Feb 25 2015, 12:22 AM
awyongcarl
post Feb 25 2015, 12:31 AM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(skan2 @ Feb 25 2015, 12:29 AM)
bro take it back to Illegear and get them to flash it with their official bios ..

Later your warranty void brother ..
Will do, but I'm just happy to find out the problem lol, thank you so much bro smile.gif
Though I have to say the new bios unlocks many useful setting in the BIOS, I much prefer this than the stock bios that has literally nothing to tweak sad.gif

If this voids the warranty, man that sucks. I remember the old Asus G1S and Alienware M15x stock bios has more setting to play with than this Illegear stock Bios -.-

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Feb 25 2015, 12:38 AM
awyongcarl
post Mar 1 2015, 01:39 AM

1,870 posts

I think my S5 may have a bad ram. I'm getting BSOD that says "Memory Management Error" very frequently since this morning. Ran the windows memory diagnostic and it says problem were detected. Guess I'll have to pay Illegear a visit very soon after all ><

Tried using memtest86, I've got 91k errors lol

EDIT:
I swapped out the Samsung 4gb ram, left 8gb (Team elite ram 4gbx2) in the system with dual channel, now testing and see if the laptop is stable. If it is then I guess this Samsung ram is faulty.

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Mar 1 2015, 08:40 AM
awyongcarl
post Mar 1 2015, 06:53 PM

1,870 posts

An update from the RAM testing.
Yeap, I have confirmed that one of the 4gb Team Elite ram is faulty.

I've tested all 3 RAMS (2 Team elites, 1 Samsung)one by one and once I swap that faultyTeam elite ram out, everything runs perfectly. Can I just send the ram to Illegear for RMA lol, it's kinda inconvenient for me to part with my laptop.

0.0374sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:26 PM