Proton Savvy LYN Club V5, The survival skills
us9392
Jun 17 2014, 10:34 AM
Sifu David
I am driving MT 2008 savvy. This happen when travelling at 80 kmh on 4th gear. Suddenly there is ngak ngak nak sound around the gear . I put my left hand on the shift and the sound is less, but can still noticed the vibration. But this will go away when I shift to 3rd or 5th gear. Any advise please. Thank you.
us9392
Jun 18 2014, 01:11 AM
QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jun 17 2014, 05:29 PM) Shiftstick bushing kot? Mine also same ada bunyik nyek nyek nyek  Also sifu When I park and get out of the car, there is a big gnek gnek sound from the back. Sounds like the beams at the back very weak. I am only 80 kg.
us9392
Jun 19 2014, 01:29 AM
QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jun 18 2014, 05:40 AM) U try press the car down and listen to the sound where came from, then only decide lor. Like this use keyboard to nyik nyek ngak bok tok sok chok I also dunno how to help geh. But usually hor, if you get in/out car got such sound could be esoba(damper) rosaked ady. Rear esoba is known to wear off very fast geh, and inexpensive to repair lor. Also Sifu I have a battery indicator like yours. When the car is started reading is 14.0 v After aircon turn on drops to 13.5 v But lately hor, the reading is 13.0-13.2 and the idling like not so stable. Rev needle shaky around the 1000 rev. Does it mean my battery is dying ? or my alternator not charging How to find out please.
us9392
Jun 21 2014, 12:51 AM
QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jun 19 2014, 06:10 AM) I have never seen my car stable voltage before  I would suspect a few things lar 1) Grounding effect inside cabin area has deteriorate over the years, a set of grounding cable into cabin might help 2) Alternator is getting old 3) Akon belt talak chantek 4) Charge cable is getting old and hardened, it's directly seated behind radiator yo I haven't get a chance to start moding my Shawie yet. If I get to touch those, will post piktar and share with you guys Hello Sifu Today after start car and driving for 10 minutes I turn on air-con. There was a loud sound , like someone taraik the belt. Then there was a weeeee sound for about 15 seconds. Then it went away. Is the air-con wacking the alternator . How ah
us9392
Jun 27 2014, 01:57 AM
QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jun 18 2014, 05:40 AM) U try press the car down and listen to the sound where came from, then only decide lor. Like this use keyboard to nyik nyek ngak bok tok sok chok I also dunno how to help geh. But usually hor, if you get in/out car got such sound could be esoba(damper) rosaked ady. Rear esoba is known to wear off very fast geh, and inexpensive to repair lor. Hi Sifu Today I back my car , and saw a small wet pool of light pink color oil. But I dont know come from where leh. Is it the famous power steering thinkgy ? Heard can fix with glue DIY. Please advise.
us9392
Jul 1 2014, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(us9392 @ Jun 21 2014, 12:51 AM) Hello Sifu Today after start car and driving for 10 minutes I turn on air-con. There was a loud sound , like someone taraik the belt. Then there was a weeeee sound for about 15 seconds. Then it went away. Is the air-con wacking the alternator . How ah  Hello Sifu I saw some videos on YouTube , one savvy going up Genting , macham like on steriods and another one from Taiwan , they put some superchip . Wah see also saliva dropping. What are these thingy the put in ? Please advise.
us9392
Jul 10 2014, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jul 1 2014, 05:55 PM) Sensor reading alteration circuit, known as Kirolsan Chip locally. RM350 iinm. NOX to confirm. Hi Sifu again This morning , I did a left turn . Steering all the way to the left. Wah the sound grrrrrak , damn loud. What could be broken. Need to fix what sifu ? Thank you.
us9392
Aug 25 2014, 09:43 AM
Hello David Si Fu My left hand power window switch cannot control up/down. But the right side switch controlling the left is OK. Also my back door handle cannot open the car from outside. Can you advise how much those 2 things can cost ? Thank you.
us9392
Sep 9 2014, 12:54 AM
Hello David Sifu Over weekend , I could not start my savvy , just resting for 2 days. Turn the ignition key nothing happen, not even the starter sound. Have to borrow red and black cables from neighbour and his car to restart . Question is : time to change battery or something wrong with the fuel pump ? And any other thing that needs to be changed . I dont want the car to die while driving on the highway. Thank you.
us9392
Oct 10 2014, 03:22 AM
Hello David sifu 1.When the car move off from parking, both side turning out left or right the steering got grrrrkk sound from wheels. 2.The clutch when release , got nngakk nngak sound. Then can feel got wheel spin. How ah for these 2 problems , expensive to fix ? Thank you.
us9392
Oct 30 2014, 10:06 PM
Hello David sifu Today I bought a can of silicon grease spray. Underneath the clutch , brakes and accelerator stems, I crawled in inverted , and sprayed into the clutch metallic fork. Wah, now NO more the ngat ngat sound when stepping on the clutch. So happy woh. The rest of the can, I use to spray all the hinges , and door locks.....hehe
us9392
Nov 13 2014, 03:26 PM
Hello Sifu David
Today while driving out from carpark , round and round down, the under carriage of my savvy have many flexing sound. Ngeek ngeek Dont know if I need to change what part , or how many parts to that. Can you give me an idea ? thank you so much.
us9392
Nov 20 2014, 06:49 AM
Hello David sifu Lately when travelling on uphill slope, the manual savvy seem to be loosing power. Even flooring the gas pedal. there seem to be No reponse on first and second gear. Then when it passes from uphill to level road again , the power comes back. There is no check light on the dashboard. Can it be the catalytic converter kongoff ? What other things I need to check ? Thank U.
us9392
Nov 28 2014, 12:49 AM
QUOTE(us9392 @ Nov 20 2014, 06:49 AM) Hello David sifu Lately when travelling on uphill slope, the manual savvy seem to be loosing power. Even flooring the gas pedal. there seem to be No reponse on first and second gear. Then when it passes from uphill to level road again , the power comes back. There is no check light on the dashboard. Can it be the catalytic converter kongoff ? What other things I need to check ? Thank U. * Do you mean when u going uphill, you step on the gas pedal, RPM keep going up but your car aint picking up speed according to the RPM? If that's the case, it's the clutch plate worn off. Need a clutch replacement that cost you a bomb. If you're planning for a replacement, do keep the old CLUTCH COVER for me. The way I kick my clutch always caused my clutch cover break faster than my clutch plate wearing off. I'll pay you a teh tarik in exchange for that piece of junk, or your magician is going to sell it to besi buruk.
There's a possibility of what hcgui has said, could be fuel starve or lean air burning. I wouldn't be sure until get to see your vacuum readings. Under normal circumstances, the 1st thing to troubleshoot is your intake system. Detach your airbox and check your air filter see whether it's seriously clogged up. If changing air filter wouldn't help, then need to check for fuel filter and fuel pump efficiency. If need be, might as well drain the whole tank of fuel as it could be contaminated by H20.
Get someone to go behind your car, watch over your exhaust whilst you rev the engine on standstill. If black smoke like last time yellow black diesel taxi running around, then it's highly possible cause by air intake blocked, not enough air going in the intake manifold. If it's white smoke, Houston we have a problem! Either valve seal wear off or piston ring wear off, you need an overhaul. No smoke? Engine is perfectly healthy, most probably is your clutch. .........................................
Hello Sifu You are spot on, the problem was a clogged fuel pump. Also have the timing tuned and plug cables changed. Problem went away. Thank you for your wisdom.
us9392
Dec 9 2014, 04:37 AM
QUOTE(us9392 @ Nov 13 2014, 03:26 PM) Hello Sifu David
Today while driving out from carpark , round and round down, the under carriage of my savvy have many flexing sound. Ngeek ngeek Dont know if I need to change what part , or how many parts to that. Can you give me an idea ? thank you so much. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hello David Sifu
Today I had 2 lower arms , 2 tie rods and 1 engine mount ( below the battery) replaced. Total cost RM 400 just parts . Labour RM 80 , alignment RM 30 Now the car has no more noise, very happy . Thank you sifu.
us9392
Jan 10 2015, 08:38 PM
Hello David Sifu Today while parking the car, alternating between first gear and reverse gear to straightened into the lot. I could not engage into first gear again. I turned off everything and went for 30 minutes walk,letting the engine to cool off. Again I could not engage into first gear and have to move off from the lot on second gear. Question is the clutch going to die and how much to do a clutch job ( for a Manual Car ) ? Thank you.
us9392
Mar 18 2015, 01:03 AM
Hello Sifu David
Lately the manual gearshift going into first gear stuck, must move off from second gear. What can be done ? Also I would like to downgrade my rims to 14 inches , what specs must I buy for 14 inch tyres ( 185/60 or 175/55 ). Thank you sifu.
us9392
Mar 18 2015, 11:13 PM
Hello Sifu David Thank you , must have taken you hours to write the essay. Really appreciate your wide knowledge.
us9392
Apr 28 2015, 06:06 AM
Hello Sifu David On a traffic light stop, while waiting I stepped on the brakes , but there was a pumping effect with PSSSH , PSSSh when pumping the brakes up and down Is there a leak some where? Thank you.
us9392
May 29 2015, 12:28 AM
Hello Sifu David Normal driving speed 1 to 4 gear engine ok But on 5th gear , at 80 kmh , from the front can hear intermittant metallic ringing sound , scraping rinnnggg rinnngg . Any idea sifu coming from where ? Thank you.