Proton Savvy LYN Club V5, The survival skills

TSdavidke20
post Oct 18 2015, 09:02 AM

QUOTE(alexkos @ Oct 18 2015, 06:35 AM)
bro, this one can? if on i will join teh club =D

http://www.carlist.my/used-cars/2319440/20...y-bodykits.html
No 1 will recommend you an AMT version of Shawie regardless. However, if you must buy an AMT, you'll need to bring along 1 AMT sifu to test drive the car(unfortunately I'm not 1 of them). 1 can't tell the gearbox condition from the outlook, so I will not ask you buy that car for the sake of buying, or you could end up fixiing gearbox more expansive then the car value.

Another thing is, 8900 is NOT the actual price the shop going to sell. When you finger the phone and ask, they'll ask you go there and view the car. When you think you're smart enough to talk the deal to finalize at 8500, then they'll add in runner fee 1000, insurance 1000, roadtax/transfer owner/jpj inspection/loan agreement fee etc etc, which will come to a total of 3000(so called service charges). And, later the salesman will say see you so sincere wanna buy the car, ok la ok la. Give you final price RM8500 + 3000 = RM11500 give u another RM500 discount on the fees lar.

Tell me, you're not going to buy that crap for RM11,000 right?
TSdavidke20
post Oct 18 2015, 09:11 AM

QUOTE(alexkos @ Oct 18 2015, 06:35 AM)
bro, this one can? if on i will join teh club =D

http://www.carlist.my/used-cars/2319440/20...y-bodykits.html
Why not this 1? Direct owner 2008 going for 5000? Kosong spec.
http://www.mudah.my/2008+Proton+Savvy+Lite...T+-41560957.htm

This 1 also not bad. Standard edition 2008 going for 6900. Consider the outlook is much presentable then the kosong spec above
http://www.mudah.my/2008+Proton+Savvy+1+2+...on-41546492.htm

Take note, all these are AMT selling cheap, and from direct owner. Reason I look for direct owner is, 1 thing to save cost on the "service charges" from the used car dealers. Another thing is, car dealers oftenly repainted the car, you wouldn't know whether the car went through Alaska and or got stepped on by Godzilla. Worst is, some car dealers can go to an extend, to hide all the faulty in the car, like put saw dust into the engine oil, so the engine run ultra low noise where the engine part is grinding the wood dust, not to mention if they "fix" up the AMT box and call it good condition, after few months driving the "good" car 1 could probably break their wallet fixing it.
TSdavidke20
post Oct 18 2015, 04:40 PM

QUOTE(alexkos @ Oct 18 2015, 02:06 PM)
haha....ok bro =(

then what should I do with upgrading? happy.gif
Go to MyBi/Iswaga tered and find out. Things that we do here can hardly touch "upgrade" category, mostly spending time in restoring the car and or repairing to working condition. Not that we're not welcoming you, but Shawie is so much troublesome compare to the car you currently have.
TSdavidke20
post Oct 20 2015, 04:07 PM

QUOTE(alexkos @ Oct 18 2015, 10:40 PM)
ic..... thx bro..... u will get good return next time because you did a good deed to me =)
Read below, now you see what I mean. Often people come in here ask question about their faulty AMT, which is why we're not recommending it unless you got poisoned by our very own guru OsmanBaba, with that no way is there any 1 to stop you to buy a tofu AMT Shawie, even I was once tempting to buy another AMT just for the fun of it laugh.gif

QUOTE(Taira @ Oct 20 2015, 10:42 AM)
Dear Sifu, i have one savvy year 2009 AMT mileage 125K, when i use manual whenever the car slow down it from gear 2 want to shifted to gear 1 the engine will mati. for auto, when is D sometimes when slow down from gear 2 - 1 it will change to Manual gear and mati also... what the problem yar? need advice from sifu
He's right. For a cheaper solution, get the gear oil flush out and replace it with Renaumatic the 1st place. If that doesn't help, then I'd suggest the death of accumulator pump around the corner.

QUOTE(iskazulka @ Oct 20 2015, 03:39 PM)
What brand of  gearbox oil u use currently? I suspect incompatible gearbox oil. Die die must back elf renaultmatic atf fluid. Try drain old fluid and use elf renaultmatic atf first and observe. Fyi ayam not sawi sifu but frequent lurker here.
TSdavidke20
post Oct 20 2015, 04:19 PM

QUOTE(Iamyourbrother @ Oct 20 2015, 04:10 PM)
Hey i need some help here. My Savvy having a big problem for me, maybe its a minor for you guys.
Did anyone know how to solve the jerking problem for Savvy AMT? It's quite annoyed recently ecspecially when i was in slowing traffic. It there any parts that i should change? or any easiest way? please, really need your help.
Clean your TDC sensor and your throttlebody in the 1st place. Then we'll talk later.
TSdavidke20
post Oct 21 2015, 05:47 PM

QUOTE(Iamyourbrother @ Oct 21 2015, 04:12 PM)
I just got this car from my sister. I dont know what brand of gear oil she used. Any prefer brand for amt gear oil?
He's right on the AMT fluid. But prioritize your repair as changing fluid is a bigger amount then throttle body/tdc sensor.

QUOTE(iskazulka @ Oct 21 2015, 05:21 PM)
Savvy AMT MUST USE ONLY ELF Renaultmatic ATF fluid.
if use any other brand will cause problem.

i suspect previous not use ELF renaultmatic. if your sister use it, maybe she go proton service centre then the noob mechanics use proton ATF SP3.

if u want to know the history, look into car service book or previous service receipts.

you can change ATF fluid first and observe. after that, try Clean your TDC sensor and your throttlebody. then talk to davidke20 again.
Wah abam iska now as if really own a Shawie ady lidat laugh.gif Jerking issue does not usually caused by transmission, hence I did not suggest oil change in the first place. Usually drop gear/unable to use automatic is the beginning symthoms of kerosakan amt. In that event, yes changing fluid is the cheapest 1st cause of action.

BTW, how's your Bat Mobil doing today visiting Abam Fendi? brows.gif

TSdavidke20
post Oct 23 2015, 10:48 AM

QUOTE(MARTON @ Oct 23 2015, 10:39 AM)
my waifu amt repair bill.... sweat.gif ..so better check amt oil often if got oil licking ...if kering then gearbox will kaput..luckily savvy still steady once this happen on cruise @140 ..gear box sound kaboomm...but the car still maintaned on the right lane then slowly switch to emergency lane..fuhhh... sweat.gif

now ok ady... thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif . wub.gif  wub.gif

user posted imageuser posted image
Repair katne bro?
TSdavidke20
post Oct 23 2015, 11:49 AM

QUOTE(MARTON @ Oct 23 2015, 10:54 AM)
freelance pomen...dia datang kalau ada savvy breakdown...banyak sparepart ada kat dia...sifu dia kirol san juga biggrin.gif

tapi kalau kirol san lagi murah dan bagus thumbup.gif ..tapi sebab kan jauh nak tow gi alor setar...terpaksa lah... sweat.gif
Abam mintak kontak bagi pomen peelans ang, supaye member-member boley dpt serbis. Terang terang kata cni, mana mau carik pomen yg pandai bikin Shawie pada masa kini? Yg ada pon makin mahal + lansi
TSdavidke20
post Oct 23 2015, 12:09 PM

QUOTE(iskazulka @ Oct 23 2015, 11:52 AM)
Iamyourbrother as your reference about jerking problem (savvy thread v4. mind you that as quote is in 2012. price maybe different in 2015.
abe davidke20 so savvy AMT gearbox use 2 types of gearbox oil eh? (referring to AMT itself = Automatic Manual Transmission, referring to GB manual fluid & ATF fluid)
Renaumatic minyak 1 litre untuk accumulator pam, robot dll AMT mesin utuk masok gear/tekan klac

Tranself minyak 4 litre untuk gebox. Be it AMT or MT, mereka pakei gebox yg sama.
TSdavidke20
post Oct 25 2015, 10:42 PM

Workshop listing has been updated on 1st page post #4

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=66768759

Terima kasih MARTON
TSdavidke20
post Oct 25 2015, 10:56 PM

QUOTE(iskazulka @ Oct 23 2015, 11:52 AM)
Iamyourbrother as your reference about jerking problem (savvy thread v4. mind you that as quote is in 2012. price maybe different in 2015.
abe davidke20 so savvy AMT gearbox use 2 types of gearbox oil eh? (referring to AMT itself = Automatic Manual Transmission, referring to GB manual fluid & ATF fluid)
p/s from previous reply to you regarding Renaumatic/Tranself gearoil. To further discuss about why AMT often dirosakkan oleh werksop cap ayam is because:

1) Usually they have no knowledge of Shawie AMT actually using MANUAL gebox. Hence, kalau sudah masok Otomatik minyak, minyak terlampau pekat menjadikan accumulator pam strained(penat), as a result AMT fluid masak result in xboley release gear/xboley tukak gear/sedang pakei full oto tiba² terkeluar jatuh manual balik.

2) Bila accumulator sudah tak kuat, apa user buat? Hantar kedai lar. Sampei kedai, tukak apa minyak? Mampos diorang masok minyak otomatik bagi mesin AMT. Mesin itu langsung bukan gebox pun, masok minyak SINGA saya rase boley lagi tahan sekejam. Tapi masok minyak otomatik yg pekat, mampos trus.

Deswai, whenever kerosakan AMT start, the 1st thing to suspek is minyak gebox & minyak AMT. Minyak gebox mesti mau masok balik minyak manual. Minyak AMT, baik pakei balek minyak tulen Renaumatic.
TSdavidke20
post Oct 29 2015, 05:39 PM

QUOTE(marquess9527 @ Oct 29 2015, 03:59 PM)
bro, where u get this and how much ar?
No I don't have that 1. The 1 I'm using is OEM fitted small version. The 1 the previous person posted supposedly compatible with many cars. U may try Eneos.

p/s: Added to owner listing on 1st page. Welcome to the happy family of Shawie!

This post has been edited by davidke20: Oct 29 2015, 06:15 PM
TSdavidke20
post Nov 4 2015, 06:18 PM

QUOTE(marquess9527 @ Nov 4 2015, 03:57 PM)
I have bought one at Seremban, Rm50. I did ask my colleague to source for me before at Kepong, Rm70 ler... Anyway thanks!!!
KL price lar, normal lor. I also did my dyno in Seremban laugh.gif

TSdavidke20
post Nov 4 2015, 06:22 PM

Shawie Supercharger, anyone? brows.gif
TSdavidke20
post Nov 7 2015, 04:40 PM

QUOTE(karikepalakambing @ Nov 7 2015, 03:42 PM)
hello,

new member here. need some advice.

i'm on savvy MT, clocking 180k km. the clutch/gear changing still smooth, should i change the clutch plate?

since i have not change the clutch plate, i also have not changed the transmission oil. because last time i went to renautech, that guy said only change when change clutch plate.

another thing, my speedometer now sometimes drop to 0km/h when driving. i need to drop 1 gear and hit throttle above 5krpm only the speedometer become normal. i believe the problem is with speed sensor? can it be fixed or should just replace?

thank you.
Do not change the clutch until it's wear off. If it's good for 180k km previously, chances are it will last you another 50~60k at least. Until you feel slipping, then only decide whether to change it. D4F engine has not got any problem with the clutch disc, more like having problem with clutch cover and release bearing. If your car no problem, then don't touch it.

Gear oil, oh yes get it change. Make sure you're getting original Tranself gear oil. Not that other brand can't use, I do use Castrol rubbish barrel oil, but if the price not much different, why not original? Usually manual transmission oil good for 30k km / a year whichever comes first. But you know lah this is boley land. Apanlanchao pon boley. Regardless, I maintain very good practice on gear oil by changing them annually regardless of mileage.

Speed sensor can't be repair, you can only change it. I would recommend OEM part for RM80 rather then paying RM240 for original.
TSdavidke20
post Nov 7 2015, 10:30 PM

QUOTE(karikepalakambing @ Nov 7 2015, 06:56 PM)
how can we know if slipping occur? is it like when engage gear but not really engaged then have to re-engage?

is there any dependencies when we need to change transmission oil?/where can we get tranself gear oil?

also the OEM speed sensor where can i get it?

thnk you, sorry banyak tanya pulak.
Start your engine. Hold down the clutch pedal with your left foot, hold down the brake pedal with your right foot without release handbrake. Gradually release clutch pedal, if the engine choked and stall upon clutch engagement, then your clutch disc still biting very well. If your engine doesn't stall, chances are clutch disc doesn't bite your flywheel anymore. The major symptoms like very high fuel consumption, change gear already RPM continue to goes up very quickly but the speed is not picking up much.

Put in gear but doesn't engage well and had to release for re-engage is usually synchronizer doesn't work well. The beginning of transmission damage, usually caused by bad transmission fluid. Meaning, time to change gear oil abang. TRANSELF gear oil is the name for ELF brand. You may get it from sparepart shops.

http://www.elf.com/consumers/car-oil/car-m...nfp-75w-80.html

Shawie speed sensor ayam brand, our forum member h0perfree is supplying at extremely low price as well. You may find his contact at below ad.

http://www.mudah.my/Proton+Savvy+Gear+Spee...or-28203726.htm

X payah soli soli. Datang cni smua kawan. Janji Shawie sihat, dompet selamat. Bawak kete siok, hepi senyum sampei telinga.
TSdavidke20
post Nov 8 2015, 01:16 AM

QUOTE(marquess9527 @ Nov 8 2015, 12:39 AM)
bro, any reliable workshop at seremban that can recommend? thanks ar
You're talking about RELIABLE, MAG1C at Senawang. I assume you're ok with the price whistling.gif Frankly, no I can't afford to send my car for repair in Seremban. I live in KL, if my car stay over night in Seremban, who send me back KL? If I don't go home, waifu will question me geh. Even if I did so happen to get back, who's gonna send me back to Seremban and collect my car there whistling.gif

Technically, I do see many good shops around Senawang area. Even driveshaft also got specialist there. Perhaps TitanRev can give you some guidance here in terms of reliable/affordable wrokshops in Seremban.
TSdavidke20
post Dec 5 2015, 08:15 AM

QUOTE(marquess9527 @ Dec 4 2015, 10:06 PM)
wanna ask o, recently when my car stop and the rpm drop to below 1000, some metal scratch sound from engine ler... can i know what's the problem and how can solve it ar? thanks in advance.
1st, drop below 1k rpm could be throttle position off pitch. Can try to do throttlebody cleaning service.
2nd, could be vacuum leak from master brake pump/intake manifold. Need to go shop diagnose, or you disconnect the master brake cylinder and blow smoke inside to see wheres the leak

Then, S O U N D problem. Please make a video record and post here so we can see what's the issue. Try to atleast get into detail.
TSdavidke20
post Dec 11 2015, 10:14 PM

QUOTE(mephisto949699 @ Dec 11 2015, 02:43 AM)
Hello Guys. my first post in LYN and in this thread.

Just bought a 2005 Savvy manual with 100k on the odometer.stock standard and original right to the Goodyear NCT5 except for the exhaust back box and pipe which says REMUS (UK REMUS or Ciplak Remus i don't know). i don't like it. bassy...i prefer a higher pitch exhaust.

so if you see a passion blue savvy with original white proton 15 inch wheels registered Malam Boleh Jalan 4155...give us a honk.

I like to thank all the people here for their advice which i highly appreciate in helping me in doing my R+D before buying this car.

So i like to share some stuff to give back to the forum which has help me alot.

FIRST. when i got my car, done major service to it as i don't know its history. It's a garage in Balakong (taman impian ehsan) which is my regular mechanic. i was lucky cause the garage just curi a mechanik from proton with teen years of expiriance and able and capable and got knowledge of savvy-and the equipment too. The best thing is i was not sure if my car gone for the recall in 2008, so have prepared some money to change the spindle and was about to contact proton edar to see if the car have gone for the recall in their record. asked the mechanik and he just look at the rear suspension and said the recall was done to the car. ask how he knows- he said there is a red permenent mark at the two nuts on the spindle coupling. so save money there no need to change spindle.

Just a guide to the price and the name and contact of the garage...

competent guys. they are quite busy so have patience with them. dont talk to the mechaniks...just go straight to the office and ask for service...they will assign the mechanik to you.

they have 3 savvy there tersadai pasal AMT. all fixed but owners don't have money to pay even though cost is around rm 3k. and apparently i learned that many mechanik use savvy as personal transport.

did my suspension at this shop. machine balancing and then Manual balancing for the wheels...their manual balancing is well known in this area. a bit expensive but berbaloi.

and then comes the stupid savvy rear wiper....garage takde...kedai spare part takde...proton service center pun takde apperently wiper savvy dah takde lagi so must use proton exora wiper...a bit longer than ori savvy wiper but does not stick out and cover more surface area so i consider it as an upgrade.

So the above info might be useful to savvy owners in balakong area.

SECOND. what i like and don't like about savvy.

like- nice handling...use to drive a ford tx3 (b6 KE)...the savvy i would say is equal and might be better than the ford.
    - good built quality

don't like- stupid steering cannot adjust for height
            - stupid Fly By Wire Throttle...no feel..no feel at all.
            - stupid economy 5th gear...its an economy car so have to live with it.
So milage i don't know yet as testing using ron 95 and 97 to see result. just went up to genting recently and drove 60% aggressive, play gear 1 and 2 and sometimes 3..whoaa..really need to rev this baby to the red line for satisfaction....again is not a kereta sukan..its a kereta economy...what to do..accept the fact.

So i hope to have good return on investment for the next 5 year...after that tolak masuk lombong also can cause already break even. Hopefully.
Welcome to the club. First time I see people bai Shawie and spend more then 2k on initial repair laugh.gif

TSdavidke20
post Dec 14 2015, 07:05 PM

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Dec 14 2015, 03:07 PM)
Anyone changed their front suspension before? Mine always squeaks after passing a speed bump. Estimated price?
http://www.mudah.my/Proride+Heavy+Duty+Abs...Fl-42791587.htm

180 belakang
280 depan

45 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0711sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:00 AM