45 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Proton Savvy LYN Club V5, The survival skills

TSdavidke20
post Nov 25 2014, 02:58 PM

QUOTE(dembaba9000 @ Nov 25 2014, 02:10 PM)
I had this problem a week ago, asked my regular technician what could be the possible causes he duno duno duno.

Suddenly had the urge to browse the forum n I think I found the solution. I think my clutch plate worn off.

Because I also experience very very stiff clutch plus minus the same time where RPM =/= pick up. On top of that I'm hearing some squeeks whenever I steer, not loud but noticable. All these in relation kah??
When you say the clutch pedal is hard to press, it could be the clutch cover weaken or clutch bearing is jammed. Either way, your full set of clutch need to be replaced.

Squeeking sound when turning steering wheel could be 3 things

1) Clock spring in the steering column, to disengage turn signal.

2) Could be clutch cable dropped out from mounting point, lay on to of your steering coupling. Hence everytime steering action, the rod/coupling was grinding with your clutch cable. In this event, you shall experience kick back sensation on the clutch pedal when you turn your steering wheel.

3) Power steering hydraulic fluid is dirty/low level.
TSdavidke20
post Nov 25 2014, 03:21 PM

QUOTE(sukesh123 @ Nov 25 2014, 02:25 PM)
hi David,
Sad to hear about your FB thing. I personally am an avid checker for posts on Savvy on FB and lowyat.net forums. SO as long you are available here to help us guys out we should not care about going back to FB for help.  biggrin.gif

Lately i have spent a lot on my savvy (clutch pump + engine oil leak ) and other problems.
regarding my Savvy OIL leakage thing I showed to a local mechanic and he told me keep an oil box ready for topup whenever u get the issue. this things cannot be repaired. So was very dissapointed.
Anyway showed to another mechanic and he told me some gasket problem in engine and OIL SUM is ok so he just needs to replace some gasket and the issue will be resolved.so he charged  me some money and repaired the thing.
the oil leakage though less now but still there is leakage. cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

now Have started facing another issue my Savvy lost all power. Even on straight roads to drive at around 80 KMPH need to press the accelerator very hard. the Car does not seem to have any interest in driving. no POWER at all.
I can see some other smaller cars whizz  past my Savvy but its very difficult to even overtake a lorry with the same power.
I can feel the pressure on the accelerator pedal and need to press that very hard.

Any advise on what could be the issue......
First of all, you'll need to identify where is the leak by yourself.

1) Get a stack of old newspaper
2) Tape them up to form a huge piece of floor plan. Make sure the size equal to engine bay less front wheels
3) Laid the piece of "plan" on your parking lot, secure with heavy stones/bricks at all 4 corners
4) Parked the car on top of the "plan" and leave it over night
5) Wake up with open bonnet, use torch light to shine into your engine bay and look into the "plan" see where the dripping spot is, and directly you can see where the leakage are
* I would be a plus point if you buy mahjong paper in white to be your "plan" for easier identification. But hey, a crap car deserved crap diagnostic laugh.gif

Set those aside, here's a general idea on regular leakage are for D4F engine.

a) Crankshaft bearing oil seal
b) Camshaft bearing oil seal (Same as a, wait for timing belt change)
c) Oil sump (need to remove entire oil sump for the replacement, suggest wait until next oil change)
d) Oil drain nut seal (ownself use gasket paper cut 1 piece and replace it during next oil change)
e) Flywheel oil seal (wait for clutch replacement)
f) Rocker cover breather valve clogged. Oil get sucked out from the other side of the purge valve and entered into intake hose. Extensive oil sip into combustion chamber, spoil the sparkplug seal(oil doesn't get along with rubber), and leak through sparkplug.
g) Rocker cover breather hose cracked/ruptured, become vacuum leak. Brake pedal become harden, lack of power in cruising speed(no affect when full throttle).

As for your serious power loss, I'd like to try your car by myself before further comment. If you can record a video on your dashboard instrument(both RPM and SPEED need to be on the same screen) while driving, it'll be easier for me to assess what could be the problem. nod.gif If not too much hassle, come to SS2/67 KFC look for a very bad conditioned red Shawie, then stand infront of ShabuShabu and shout SATU MELEISIA, HIDUP SAWI x 6 times very loudly, then I'll popped out nod.gif Usually it worked in the morning during working days, better chance on Monday and Tuesday. Weekend I no work, so definitely won't be there.
TSdavidke20
post Nov 25 2014, 03:24 PM

QUOTE(shinra_co @ Nov 25 2014, 03:00 PM)
More like 30%, last month kena ~25%. Nasib baik NCD 33%.
Well if want the car, i suggest some paint job and and some filler material for the bumps and bruises on the car.
Am considering seriously. Regardless, if anyone offer you, please sell. I may drag you long² until sun comes out from the west(mainly not enough extra budget for the time being)
TSdavidke20
post Nov 25 2014, 03:36 PM

QUOTE(dembaba9000 @ Nov 25 2014, 03:15 PM)
How much is the entire clutch set anyway?

Power steering hydraulic fluid was recently refilled not long ago so I doubt that. The squeeking sound is evident even if I dont make steering actions, more like very very mild grumbling. Then when I make steering actions I definitely hear them like how u described them in point (2). No kick backs though. This is prominent right off when I start my car n drive for a good 10 min. After that they seems to go away.

Gosh seems like I'm gonna have a big hole for my wallet.
It could be your hydraulic pump started to malfunction according to your description. If clutch cable fall out of place, the sound wouldn't go away regardless, until you fix them back. Try to get the accessories belt(layman term known as fan belt) checked, see whether it's running efficiently. Meanwhile, check also if there's any power steering oil leak. Do not doubt, anything can happen.

Bore a hole? Not really, see who work on your car nia. Got my clutch set replaced under RM500 include labor.

http://www.mudah.my/Savvy+Renault+Kangoo+c...0957.htm?last=1

Labor about RM200 due to labor intensive. Take note, there's a maroon color plastic umbrella sleeve. Usually most magician will just throw that thing away said not needed. That is 1 crucial part of the clutch kit needed to assembled between the clutch fork & clutch bearing. Without that sleeve, grease will dry off and bearing will jam easily. More significant affect will be clutch cable snapped regularly due to heavy lifting, clutch cover weaken prematurely.
TSdavidke20
post Nov 25 2014, 03:41 PM

QUOTE(sukesh123 @ Nov 25 2014, 03:36 PM)
Hey David,
Thanks for your extensive reply.
From all the points above i can feel the point g
g) Rocker cover breather hose cracked/ruptured, become vacuum leak. Brake pedal become harden, lack of power in cruising speed(no affect when full throttle).

this is what i feel while driving and when i mentioned pickup is slow. I feel the break padel has become harder and lack of power. ( sorry to hav forgotten to mention that break padel has become harder )
So what do i need to expect if need to repair this . how much dent in the pocket. rclxub.gif
Gotten mine done few weeks ago. Improvise with Perdana and Wira fuel hose, dented RM50 in total.

When I say cruising, means hard to maintain same speed. When holding the gas pedal at certain angle, but vehicle speed keep dropping. It doesn't affect acceleration, car will still be powerful as usual, just will not maintain speed.
TSdavidke20
post Nov 25 2014, 08:14 PM

QUOTE(dembaba9000 @ Nov 25 2014, 03:45 PM)
Thankyou so much!!

Any recommended magicians?? I used to go to the one used to base in puchong now shah alam.....that goes by the name..Ho?? He seems extremely occupied n sited so far from my place given up going there.
The 1 I always go to is in Dengkil. If you're OK, then I'll refer you there. Otherwise, I suggest Renautech in Subang USJ. Renautech is the most expansive among the cheap workshop, but they certainly know what they're doing. As I told you, clutch work is labor intensive, so expect to bring around RM800(may be less) in total bill for the clutch replacement alone. That however, still cheaper than outside workshop, which usually when they seen a Shawie drive in, straightaway they prepare parang getting ready to slaughter you. Initially when I purchased the car, the clutch work sent for outside normal workshop, they charged RM900 doh.gif Which again, many excuse say sparepart hard to find lar, Renault original clutch kit expansive lar, need special tool to work on lar, need to remove engine lar etc etc.

Other than workmanship and reasonable price, Renautech is 1 of the very reputable Euro cars repairer. Such credibility not easy to earn unless they really know their stuff well enough.
TSdavidke20
post Nov 25 2014, 08:16 PM

QUOTE(sukesh123 @ Nov 25 2014, 03:48 PM)
Hi David,
is this the place you are referring to come to. Is around 10 KM from my office.

When are you this week day. I may come in the morning as per your availibilty.

Refer to kennywee92 post.

QUOTE(kennywee92 @ Nov 25 2014, 08:10 PM)
I think the address should be
KFC
56, Jalan SS 2/67
Damansara Jaya
47300 Petaling Jaya, Selangor

Might be meeting David tomorrow. Do come over  icon_rolleyes.gif
See you tomorrow morning. I'll be in the office around 7am+
TSdavidke20
post Nov 26 2014, 06:13 PM

QUOTE(asm@m @ Nov 26 2014, 10:08 AM)
anyone know service center/ foreman shop that can  service/repair savvy in pantai timur esp in terengganu?
Just to reply you I've seen your post, but I do not know any specialist around that area.

QUOTE(acerB314 @ Nov 26 2014, 02:15 PM)
my savvy 2007 aircon cooling coil leaking.
how much replace one unit...? shocking.gif  ohmy.gif  doh.gif
Normally any other Plotong cars, expect to be around RM400 include labor and full gas to be filled up. I'm not sure about Shawie, but shouldn't run far.
TSdavidke20
post Nov 26 2014, 06:22 PM

QUOTE(richarddrifter @ Nov 26 2014, 06:16 PM)
Hi. Does anyone experience same situation as I am?
When my savvy cruising, there's a  duk duk duk duk sound from bottom of engine room. Just like driving a speedboat on the land.
The sound getting louder if I speed faster, sometimes when cornering the sound appeared.
Quite worrying cos I going to have a long travel distance on next month. From jb to hatyai.
Drift too much ady laugh.gif Last time u told us you drove your Shawie lika bawse laugh.gif

Could be many things bro. But the obvious 1 should be drive shaft bearing kong. Turning time very loud isit? Like clurk clurk clurk clurk clurk. The faster you go the louder it gets izit?
TSdavidke20
post Nov 27 2014, 12:18 AM

QUOTE(asm@m @ Nov 26 2014, 07:39 PM)
Thank you. This does put me off from getting seconhand savvy as my first car. Hmm. Much problem on my side later on
You did not mentioned earlier as your 1st question was directly looking for Shawie specialist. If you made a comparison, budget, model, year make.

2005 Savvy MT 1.2, market value 5k
1998 Wira A/B MT 1.3, market value 5k
2001 Iswara MT 1.3, market value 5k

For a 1st car, I'd recommend you to take the Ishwaga rather than Wigra(Shawie is totoli outta piktar, not to mentioned the amount jiu gonna spend on repair & mentenans). Some may ask why not a MyBi, the truth is you can't get any MyBi below 15k YET. Not if you can afford the amount to spent on car, yes MyBi will be the best choice. Shawie is just not an average joe's car regardless.
TSdavidke20
post Nov 27 2014, 12:20 AM

QUOTE(e-lite @ Nov 26 2014, 09:43 PM)
I didn't know there's a LYN Savvy FB. Hahaha, I guess I too slowpoke for you fast & furious ppl  drool.gif
Clocked 1'00 in Elite Speedway not allowed to call selow regardless sleep.gif
TSdavidke20
post Nov 27 2014, 06:04 AM

QUOTE(asm@m @ Nov 27 2014, 01:45 AM)
Haha. I read LYN Savvy Thread from v2 till v5 coz I got interest in this car (I like hatchback).Managed to find 2009 Savvy around ~RM10k. But all the specialist/foremen mentioned are in the West Coast. That's the reason why i asked first if got foremen in terengganu.

My second choice should be waja, then wira se. I never tot of getting iswara (LMST?). Is iswara better than waja and wira in fc and maintanance?

Budtget around 10k OTR but can 1-2k extras is the condition gooding..

Edit: Or should I get Viva? This will be used for shopping and ferrying my parents around. I got motorcycle for other tasks.
Budget of 10k, you can fetch 2007 LMST for around 8k. Can spend the rest of the money to do up the car, may be plonk satellite GPS tracking system. Wajunk 2001 still takes about 12k. Maintenance wise, LMST is so much more wallet friendly than Wajunk.

And if you're using BiBa as comparison, mana boley compare doh.gif 3 piston saja, win liao lor. Budget also, jiao jiao beza liao lor. BiBa 2008 still standing at about 15k tu.
TSdavidke20
post Nov 27 2014, 06:11 AM

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Nov 27 2014, 03:33 AM)
OMG! My savvy's clutch got problem again, now it's feeling super duper heavy. Within less than 5 years of ownership, this could be possiby be my 3rd time replacing the clutch. Is my unit a lemon? I don't drive aggressively but always in the city, hence jam. Is that the reason? So sick of this.
Lost your contact since phone dead in July. Pls PM me your number again, I come over check your car in the morning 1 of these days. Almost every morning pass by your house outside that traffic light liao, due to skip LDP jam. Don't worry, diagnostic is free. No part replacement is also free. Even if after diagnose found out klac plobrem, I can't be possibly dismantle your kar at the paking lot rite sleep.gif That day change kabel ady so many aunty kam ask me whether ayam pomen inklud ur dad =_=

Lemon? Seriously, Shawie itself is a lemon in disguised. Just that during purchase whether you picked a less sour 1 sweat.gif
TSdavidke20
post Nov 27 2014, 12:53 PM

QUOTE(NOX @ Nov 27 2014, 07:35 AM)
terengganu?

if you can search around got ECR savoc member. East Coast Region.

base in kuantan. but lots of tganu member as well.

you can seek savoc fb group for further advice on ecr workshop for savvy.
2 weeks ago was in Kuantan, saw many Shawie with ECR stickers on the rear hatch running around thumbup.gif Feeling guding wub.gif
TSdavidke20
post Nov 27 2014, 10:37 PM

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Nov 27 2014, 04:20 PM)
Whew Proton checked already, it's just the cable got problem. The clutch plate still fine, thank God! Was preparing like RM800 for that lol
The kabel is NEW, as you seen from original Plotong packaging blink.gif So fast koyaked? So now? Changed ady? Got keep the old kabel?
TSdavidke20
post Nov 27 2014, 10:39 PM

QUOTE(jondankawan @ Nov 27 2014, 09:26 PM)
Just happen to know that those people are students of UIAM Gombak. They're doing masters right now. Plus, they are Indonesian students. So maybe they cannot understand the joke. For now, the group was like a desert...haha

doh.gif  doh.gif Aiyooo malu pulak aku nak mengaku aku budak UIA (siapa suruh bagitau sini..haha)
It's supposed to be LYN members only for that FB group, but ended up gone haywire. People inviting friends everywhere, and also others that does public enquiry joined the group. Can't stop it anyways, theres 3 admins before I resigned, so there you have it. May be less 1 admin will make it more harmony? rolleyes.gif
TSdavidke20
post Nov 28 2014, 01:00 AM

QUOTE(us9392 @ Nov 28 2014, 12:49 AM)
You are spot on, the problem was a clogged fuel pump. Also have the timing tuned
and plug cables changed. Problem went away.
Thank you for your wisdom.
Glad that be helped for you. Fuel pump aint cheap yo, it's 250 if not mistaken. That not include labor and other charges.
TSdavidke20
post Nov 28 2014, 08:23 AM

QUOTE(NOX @ Nov 28 2014, 06:58 AM)
let the one that making the uproar continue helping others then.
lets continue here.

anyway, tonight no tt ka?
Not sure. Need to check GaGa club. I won't be joining as home minister on leave.
TSdavidke20
post Nov 28 2014, 09:06 AM

Off the current topic, yesterday met wt 1 otai in PD, 1st batch Shawie AMT M-Line trim belak kaler. Everything original. Refering to him, Shawie is an ultra low mentenans monster. 9 years never suffer major repair except for the rear wheel bearing(did not go back for recall due to warranty void as he did his own service). Here's some contribution for reference.

Engine oil : ELF yellow bottle 20w50 mineral, OCI 10000km or 1/2 year whichever comes 1st. Renault ori oil filter for every oil change.

Gear oil: ELF Renomatic. OCI 20000km or 1 year whichever comes 1st. Include drain/flush related robotic arms/accumulator pump. Fuel filter will be replaced at the same time to prevent fuel clogged that killing the fuel pump.

Radiator: Coolant replacement each year with premixture coolant -5'c. Detail procedure should be engine off, drain all existing fluid via thermostat bleed valve. Stuff a running tap water on the reservoir tank, until running water @ bleed valve start to clear & able to see tap water bleeding. Start engine & continue let water running/bleeding for several minutes. Wait for reservoir tank to drained to a lower level, then start filling premixed coolant. Gradually add on as bleed valve will bleed slower than intake, until see the bleed valve bleeding premixed coolant. Shut the bleed valve. By the time bleed valve being closed, reservoir tank should be just nice at MAX level instead of overflowing. Done.

Footwork: Regular greasing on all wheel bearings. Open brake hub to clean brake dust every 2 months. Its a compulsory action after Genting downhill each time, to prevent brake dust stuck in brake cylinder. Tyre rotation on every wheel alignment 1/2 year basis or kena pod hole.

Others: air filter will be replaced according to color of the surface. Own justification. As soon as dark enough, he will replaced it. Hex star screws ady changed to regular philips for easier mentanens. Aircond wise, never service before except every month take out the receiver dryer to clean dust. Once a week turned off the recycle air button with aircond off, to receive outside air to dry off the entire cooling coil, provided weather is hot & dry. Never do this during rainny days/night time/early morning due to heavy humid densed air.

Drive: always switch to manual during traffic jam when he's in KL. Practice what we've learned in JPJ exam, let the car infront moved away atleast 2 cars distance before engage gear to move forward. Do not stick to 1st gear & use brake to hold the car, leave it Neutral when car is not moving. This will reduce strain to accumulator pump. If kena cut Q, let them be by all means. Traffic jam aint going to go far anyways, most important is go easy on pocket. When cruising, always use auto mode. Go easy on gas pedal whenever change gear/upshift time. Prevent clutch cover/clutch plate being strained from high power transition.

Timing belt: Renault original belting & tensioner bearing every 2 years or 100000km whichever comes first. No point saving the bearing since gonna open belt cover for belt replacement.

The result is, 0 breakdown on AMT even its 9 years old @ 200000km! Engine very light & easy to drive. No jerking. I've never driven a new Shawie AMT before, but kinda get the bad perception from bad comment world wide, & also few bad experiences test driving used Shawie before decided to go for MT. That car, changed my entire perception for Shawie AMT. Other than that, reservoir tank no rust, like new! I shall pratice a few tip from this person & my Shawie shall be long live. I strongly suggest fellow AMT owner to take these advise as well. If there's an opportunity for me to get an AMT, I'd buy his car & continue using his method to maintain the car for a very long time.

Long live Shawie! Hidup Shawie! 1 meleisia Shawie!
TSdavidke20
post Nov 28 2014, 02:21 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 28 2014, 02:13 PM)
that's what i've been practicing on ALL the cars i maintain since i started to pick up interest in cars since 2009 lol.

preventive maintenance wink.gif
But jiu dun use ELF yellow bottle 20W50, which probably cost only 1/5 of the engine oil you're using now whistling.gif

45 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0712sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:26 AM