Proton Savvy LYN Club V5, The survival skills

aeppy
post Jun 24 2015, 11:17 AM

twinkle-twinkle little star
714 posts

QUOTE(pitywoman @ Jun 23 2015, 05:02 PM)
anyone know where to get reliable parts for timing belts online? what is the price? bosch? any recommendation?
if u have facebook.can search for hairey cg or savvy automotive parts. both are trusted & reliable seller for savvy parts.
aeppy
post Jun 24 2015, 11:19 AM

714 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jun 19 2015, 08:25 AM)
Is it possible to fabricate a rubber sleeve and wear them on the fork end? This is very useful information and thanks for sharing.
lucky got one savoc member named ciken lau in fb got spare of this fork. he's doing savvy gearbox repair & reconditioning.
about the rubber, my pomen said no need the rubber. i also dont understand why rclxub.gif
aeppy
post Jun 30 2015, 02:36 PM

714 posts

guys, as a standard user, whats the best absorber for savvy?
mine all 4 leaking. i knew apm & proride only. maybe members here can share any other brand that is comfy & reliable.
aeppy
post Jul 5 2015, 07:37 AM

714 posts

QUOTE(e-lite @ Jul 1 2015, 12:03 AM)
APM, Proride, OEM from Proton factory all come from the same factory manufacturer, Sapura Industrial is the parent company. Recommend Proride Heavy Duty or stock for cheap low maintenance cost Savvy.
heavy duty can use with original spring ya?not sure proride here got stock of this purple absorber. btw, thanks for info notworthy.gif
aeppy
post Jul 13 2015, 11:51 PM

714 posts

Anyone heard or use engine oil brand kendall before? 10w40..
How about bardahl also?
aeppy
post Jul 20 2015, 01:14 AM

714 posts

Osman baba is in town(kch) for raya & our sarawak savvy club did a diy tt with him..what he did was adjusting throttle paddle & pdt check using special device & his phone..after the paddle adjustment,the throttle response way much faster & all previous jerking gone..its a simple diy but the result is superb..
aeppy
post Jul 20 2015, 01:21 AM

714 posts

QUOTE(FaizalSquare @ Jul 17 2015, 06:58 PM)
thank you for the reply, what should i look out for? anything in particular? i'm worried this car might bring more trouble to me that's why i scoured the internet to look and ask for genuine opinion from savvy users but i'm willing to give it a go since the review for the MT is much more favorable compared to the AMT one and it fits my budget nicely (kind of got tired riding scooter to workplace and uni, besides can't go far on 2-wheels) aside from that, i'm not fond of the idea of buying a '95 satria (or pre-2000 satria for that matter) as it is relatively old and as we all know old parts tends to wear out.
Last time i also bought a 2nd hand manual savvy..what my father did was,he didnt bargain the price stated but instead asked the shop to do a full service on the car including changing timing belt,engine & gear oil,spark plug, aircond service & few more i cant remember..the usual culprit in savvy are the coil plug & mounting..the visible mounting u can see under the hood is the engine mounting, check whether its torn or not..its also can be felt during driving, when idle the whole car tend to shake like eartquake..do check all the liquid/oil such as coolant,brake fluid,power stering fluid..all the best on yo new savvy..
aeppy
post Jul 25 2015, 03:30 PM

714 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jul 20 2015, 07:39 PM)
smaller means heavier to turn lor, less accuracy lor. I dunno lar, some wannabe really like to put small small steering, but I personally prefer big steering lar, like lori like that I like the most laugh.gif
i strongly agree with u. really hard to use the small stereng, need to turn more than the normal stereng. if just for the sporty look, i rather choose practicality & comfort thumbup.gif
aeppy
post Jul 25 2015, 03:37 PM

714 posts

QUOTE(quantum01 @ Jul 23 2015, 01:07 AM)
engine oil,oil filter,fuel filter,washer drain plug,spark plug,radiator coolant,pwr steering fluid,brake/clutch fluid,manual trans.oil,timing belt. At proton sc.
let me try to price the things.

the most expensive there should be the timing belt, cost around rm 350 than the manual trans oil if using elf 75w80 around rm 160+
engine oil should be 10w40 semi synthetic around rm 120- 140
spark plug probably below rm 80
oil filter fuel filter each cost less than rm 30
other fluid wont cost more than rm 50 each
guess the extra charges weigh on the workmanship cost & for all this changes, proton sc wont charge less than rm 200
just my point of view based from my experience & knowledge icon_rolleyes.gif
aeppy
post Jul 25 2015, 03:42 PM

714 posts

QUOTE(FaizalSquare @ Jul 22 2015, 11:25 AM)
thank you aeppy, appreciate the respond it is quite a good proposition to ask for the dealer to do service to the car prior to buying. how's the car holding up to normal usage? any problem with it so far from a user perspective? i already consulted many people regarding this matter even some owner of manual savvy they all gave positive feedback but acknowledged that the maintenance cost might be higher compared to other cars (oil filter,etc)
thanks to this savvyi called my kura-kura, i learn a lot of car related stuffs & get to know new friends of the same vehicle & passion. maintenance price is reasonable to the quality of driving it provide. been driving perodua cars before & i must say, savvy can beat em all. get to know its mechanism & common errors, u will find this car is lovable & enjoyable. 1 thing to be prioritize is to make sure service & fluid/oil changes on time using original spareparts thumbup.gif
aeppy
post Jul 30 2015, 12:38 PM

714 posts

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Jul 29 2015, 02:31 PM)
Nomarnibaivios that's why gotta stick with this Malaysian beetle.

Actually I'm thinking of how to make this car more comfortable, and these are what I find annoying:
1. Jerky at low gears
2. Unsmooth gear change
3. Heavy clutch and I heard like something crack recently when I depress the clutch
4. Very slow response when pressing the gas pedal
5. Some kind of rattling sound at my rear left door

Other than that, the car is perfectly fine. If K&N air filter does give a sense of faster response, I may consider it.

Ok, one day when you free la, I go find u again hehe
for the jerk & slow response when pressing gas pedal, after the otai osman baba adjust the throttle pedal response all the jerk has gone & pickup has elevate entirely thumbup.gif oh ya, he did cucuk pdt to my car & clear all those error due to my mistake of not cabut the battery when cleaning tdc & throttle body.
its just a size 10 richet & screwdriver diy on the driver side.

This post has been edited by aeppy: Jul 30 2015, 12:43 PM
aeppy
post Jul 30 2015, 12:41 PM

714 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jul 29 2015, 05:40 PM)
U come my haus, I show u what to do and how to do with the klac kabel. Then u go home DIY next day after engine cool down. Since u mention when u declutch will hear something crack, could be your clutch release bearing koyaked hmm.gif

As for the KNN filter, u try jor my car first. If u like, then ma go do lor. If no like, might as well save up that 500 bucks gobaivios. No point pun waste money then butt dyno feel power up, but in actual fact stillslowerthenvios yawn.gif
bro, what u do with the klac kabel?grease it inside the cockpit or under the hood?
btw, knn filter u using is drop in filter is it?or the open/close pod one?
aeppy
post Jul 31 2015, 06:56 PM

714 posts

the throttle pedal adjustment i can say its permanent but we can adjust it back to the older less responsive pedal coz its been adjust by screw & screwdriver not digitally adjust. its a physical thing, try it & u will love savvy more. plus, its useful for us to get out of simpang in a heavy traffic condition.
btw, tips from osman baba on cleaning tb. turn the key to on until all the light on meter come out, dont turn on the engine. put bata or anything heavy on the throttle pedal & automatically the tb will open. then, we r free to cuci the tb.

This post has been edited by aeppy: Jul 31 2015, 06:56 PM
aeppy
post Aug 3 2015, 12:54 AM

714 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Aug 1 2015, 08:11 AM)
There are not conflict at all. I was saying, the PDT resetting position sensor alignment will happen again. The term ALIGNMENT came because there are movement on the throttlebody, ofcourse over the long run it MAY misaligned again. So, ask yourself, do you do 1 time wheel alignment and the tire will last you life long? No right?

The 1 aeppy was mentioning is the gas pedal adjustment. 1 can even DIY to adjust the sensitivity. Yes that SHOULD be permanent because the electronics need manual intervention unless it goes rosaked. 2 of my GaGa friend already DIY adjusted their pedal nod.gif

nice pic there david, this pedal is quite sensitive coz got another level where we can remove a spring inside & make the pedal really soft but i dare not to try. enuf with the pedal adjustment la thumbup.gif
aeppy
post Aug 3 2015, 12:56 AM

714 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Aug 2 2015, 09:19 AM)
Changed already don't ask price. What for if I tell u yes, those are fucked up pricing, u paid double the price u r supposed to. U feel better now?

Speed sensor RM80
Oil pressure sensor RM70

Pls contact h0pefree to arrange COD/mail order.
oil pressure sensor is for what?
aeppy
post Aug 5 2015, 10:02 PM

714 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Aug 5 2015, 08:27 PM)
Got such combination? My 165/55R14 ATR K-Sport so damn superb dry grip, but wet condition the car floating like sampan. Road noise is like army truck laugh.gif Tayar wear very high. At 1 year, 2 already gone changed 2 new. Another 2 almost gone now, and expect the other 2 will only last another 6 months. In short, 18 months 6 tayars doh.gif

My 165/55R15 ATR K-economist, average grip, but very acceptable wet grip in my opinion. Road noise minimal, tyre wear also minimal.
bro,u using 165/60/14 before?i tried the 55 & the result was the car get more sensitive to bump & a bit keras on comfortness. 5% really a big difference eh.
aeppy
post Aug 5 2015, 11:17 PM

714 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Aug 5 2015, 10:22 PM)

Do I looked like I even give a damn about comfortness when I'm with that 165/55R14 ATR K-sport? whistling.gif Infact, my tayar pressure is always at 36PSi, the rear running with a set of full scale anti roll bar. The back is currently on Plotong GaGa BLM springs.

However though, a slightly more comfortable tayar is ATR K-economist if you're willing to put down your ego for 165 series. You may read abam NOX review below:
nice review, thanks notworthy.gif
btw, ever heard of rovelo brand tyre?wanna stay away from china brand tyre for now bcoz using nankang & as it wear quite fast, so do the slippery come in too.
aeppy
post Aug 6 2015, 11:16 PM

714 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Aug 6 2015, 10:55 AM)
Harsher ofcoz, but slightly more agile imo. And no more worry on "flywheel" issue
what flywheel issue? want to try gaga blm absorber also but standard one. just the front need to swap left right ya?
btw, combine with savvy ori spring is ok ka?
aeppy
post Aug 6 2015, 11:18 PM

714 posts

dont tell me the otai klang sifu mess up the amt as told by @croomaniac shocking.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0751sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:30 PM