Proton Savvy LYN Club V5, The survival skills

aeppy
post Mar 19 2014, 12:18 PM

twinkle-twinkle little star
714 posts

anyone found savvy with k3-ve engine(myvi)?
here at my place got 1 bengkel do convert for both auto & manual for k3-ve engine.
the price is RM 6k for manual & RM 6K+ for auto. price include engine, gearbox, wiring & workmanship.
is it a good bargain?

p/s: pic above is from a savvy which just finished convert early this month. k3-ve manual.

This post has been edited by aeppy: Mar 19 2014, 12:19 PM
afizzat
post Mar 19 2014, 01:11 PM

40 posts

Guys, i'm a 23yr old, just started a job 6 month ago, looking to buy a manual savvy. Is it good to buy currently?
Found a savvy MT yr 2009 for 20k. good deal or not?
This is my first time buying a car. Not sure how's the 2nd hand pricing.
NOX
post Mar 19 2014, 09:20 PM

278 posts

if u dont care bout maintainance just take 2005. cash. rm6-7k only.. no need hutang 20k.. had mine for near 5 year.. mileage already near 180k km with no major problem.. that what I suggest.. better for cash flow.. use the monthly cash for repair if got problem rather than paying bank..
afizzat
post Mar 19 2014, 09:39 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(NOX @ Mar 19 2014, 09:20 PM)
if u dont care bout maintainance just take 2005. cash. rm6-7k only.. no need hutang 20k.. had mine for near 5 year.. mileage already near 180k km with no major problem.. that what I suggest.. better for cash flow.. use the monthly cash for repair if got problem rather than paying bank..
thumbup.gif thanks for the feedback & recommendation.
anyone here selling their MT savvy? or know someone selling.

thanks.

Edit : btw, this is the car that i talk about [LINK]

This post has been edited by afizzat: Mar 19 2014, 11:20 PM
TSdavidke20
post Mar 21 2014, 10:15 PM

QUOTE(aeppy @ Mar 19 2014, 12:15 PM)
can add me?
aeppy/2007/manual/green
What trim/variant?
TSdavidke20
post Mar 21 2014, 10:16 PM

QUOTE(aeppy @ Mar 19 2014, 12:18 PM)

anyone found savvy with k3-ve engine(myvi)?
here at my place got 1 bengkel do convert for both auto & manual for k3-ve engine.
the price is RM 6k for manual & RM 6K+ for auto. price include engine, gearbox, wiring & workmanship.
is it a good bargain?

p/s: pic above is from a savvy which just finished convert early this month. k3-ve manual.
Start saving money now whistling.gif
TSdavidke20
post Mar 21 2014, 10:19 PM

QUOTE(afizzat @ Mar 19 2014, 09:39 PM)
thumbup.gif thanks for the feedback & recommendation.
anyone here selling their MT savvy? or know someone selling.

thanks.

Edit : btw, this is the car that i talk about [LINK]
Sawi won't worth 20k. That car is all about mods only, which will only cost you less than 3k to have it. Get any Sawi 2008 after facelift version is good for around 10~15k, which is less problem compare to 1st model. Good luck
e-lite
post Mar 23 2014, 10:45 AM

692 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Mar 12 2014, 10:28 PM)
7:20am, reach Jalan Ipoh Bt4, waiting for nestum open shop at 9am, had a flat tyres 6:45am. No choice

My Sime Astar 100 had done marvelous job, clocked atleast 30000km on my hand. Being hardcore punished, long journey, rough riding in construction site, eating nails many times, also travelling at totally flat this morning.

It's May 2011 tyres, I have no idea how far previous owner travelled with these tyres, but as at September 2012, it left about 60% thread, and now its running below the thread marker. Bye Astar.

So, I was recommended with these new babies

Funny thread

The moment I got in the car, start the engine, ready to reverse out. As soon as I release my clutch pedal, engine stall. These tyres has so much of grip, it bite the floor so eagerly to the extend I can feel the car need extra power to move forward. Have stalled my engine 5 times in total in 1 day from standstill to movement. Despite having such slim width at 165, it bites the road much harder than my 185 tyres. I know it's improper to compare an old AD01 old technology tyres, but indeed the price for this cheap and cheerful performance tyre yield much better grip then previously I've used 195/50R14 Yoko Advan AD01. Along the way, the beginning 30~50kms I'm trying to adjust myself to the new rubbers. The noise level is as crappy as my old Astar, road noise kinda loud. The noise resonating inside the cabin as if I'm riding in a faulty bearing army truck. Tyre pressure set at 260lb(hot temperature in the afternoon). It's much bumpier than my HiFly HF201.

After some distance of travel, surprisingly the road noise gone. I no longer hearing sand/stones hitting my mudguard anymore. Road feedback become extremely realistic. I can feel every single detail feedback from the tyre via my steering wheel. The heavy feeling still intact, but I kinda got used to it. I find these tyres need faster speed to perform better. On an average of 80kph travelling speed, steering feedback is kinda numb as it almost feedback every single thing on the ground, probably ran over an ant also can be felt. However, above 100kph road noise will be automatically reduced to minimal, as close to not hearing at all! For the 1st time I heard my exhaust pipe humming in the car. From Selayang to Rawang, I've been maintaining between 120 ~140kph along the stretch of high speed curves, notice the tyre side walls are very rigid. There aren't too much extra radial movement cause by reshaping of the tyre wall, other than physically suspension movement.

I parked the car, went meet client, my palms are sweating and my heart is pumping, eagerly wanted to hold on my steering wheel again. I know it's not a proper racing tyres. I've driven slicks, they're different and 1 wouldn't wanted to have slick tyre on a street car. I can't express the kinda joy I'm having right now. Even now I'm typing this paragraph, I can still feel the grip, the confidence, and the insane feedback from the steering wheel. Call it placebo, but I love that feeling. What left for me to worry now is the wet traction. As soon as the dry season pass, I will be giving my wet test review. I believe, reliability will take time/distance to tell. So, that part will be later. As soon as I finishes the tyre, I'll be giving another review again.
davidke20, do share how's the tread life of the Achilles ATR K-Sport. I am also running them with 165/50-R15 but only on special occasions and not as daily driver.
davidmu
post Mar 23 2014, 11:09 AM

787 posts

36.davidmu,

2008 M-line MT, black with bodykit

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Mar 10 2014, 06:54 PM)
Am revamping this thread, now clearing owner list. These owners will be removed by end of this month. I will tag their name here. Kindly respond with your nickname/year/transmission/color/variant. I will follow previous listing sequence and put their name back in ORDER. Once concluded, I will try to arrange for make sticker.

36.davidmu, M-line MT, black with bodykit, 10km as Sept08
37.ronaldpan
38.Thunder_Bolt
39.Junyen MT, black, Oct08, 1500km as Nov08
40.Syifa
kobe8byrant
post Mar 23 2014, 11:52 AM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

sorry guys may i ask where good place service proton AMT savvy? i use it six year but find proton authorised centre in cheras (near connaught) damn lousy but nearest so i go there.

anywhere nearby and reliable? thx
fixgd
post Mar 23 2014, 12:28 PM

3,880 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Mar 23 2014, 11:52 AM)
sorry guys may i ask where good place service proton AMT savvy? i use it six year but find proton authorised centre in cheras (near connaught) damn lousy but nearest so i go there.

anywhere nearby and reliable? thx
Renautech - Subang USJ 1 - renault specialist (but a bit expensive, far more reliable and cheap compared to proton SC)

Dell Cunn Auto (Osman Baba) - price wise, should be cheaper than Renautech, but never really been there
No.20, Lorong Permai 1C/KS09, Taman Pendamaran Permai, 42000 Pelabuhan Klang Selangor Darul Ehsan.
GPS
N 02'.59.075
E101'.24.822'

Flyways (Melaka) - u can see their package for service

This post has been edited by fixgd: Mar 23 2014, 12:31 PM
TSdavidke20
post Mar 23 2014, 02:21 PM

QUOTE(davidmu @ Mar 23 2014, 11:09 AM)
36.davidmu,

2008 M-line MT, black with bodykit
Updated. Welcome back.
kobe8byrant
post Mar 23 2014, 02:40 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

QUOTE(fixgd @ Mar 23 2014, 12:28 PM)
Renautech - Subang USJ 1 - renault specialist (but a bit expensive, far more reliable and cheap compared to proton SC)

Dell Cunn Auto (Osman Baba) - price wise, should be cheaper than Renautech, but never really been there
No.20, Lorong Permai 1C/KS09, Taman Pendamaran Permai, 42000 Pelabuhan Klang Selangor Darul Ehsan.
GPS
N 02'.59.075
E101'.24.822'

Flyways (Melaka) - u can see their package for service
Will they accept Proton cars? Renautech...
fixgd
post Mar 23 2014, 02:54 PM

3,880 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Mar 23 2014, 02:40 PM)
Will they accept Proton cars? Renautech...
yup full of savvy there
TSdavidke20
post Mar 23 2014, 03:21 PM

An update from previous review on ATR K Sport running on my Shawie as daily doughnuts. For previous dry test review please click here. nestum I do not post this on tyre discussion thread, simply because I know tyre characteristics changed according to vehicle geometry and dynamics. Given the same tyre running on a different vehicle, there are chances that they yield different kinda grip, rolling resistance, and what not the effect of different fuel consumption. I have heard good reviews on AD08, but it just doesn't felt as promising in Quazacolt's Iswaga, as all I can felt was bump steer, roll steer, worst is whilst he's carrying me out for a test ride, the car when hoping around at high speed tight corner. So, here I begin with my 2nd review with these lovely tyres.

We had a few rainny days, nice weather and just nice for me to try out the new tyres
Myanmar car wash: Abang, ini tayar sudah botak, cipat tukak nanti bahaya
Me: Sudah tukak minggu lepas mia
Myanmar car wash: Abang sudah kina tipu la. Tengok, munga sudah abish

So, it's the type of tyre with much confident, trust and love. It has very little tolerance in terms of comfortness, much road noise, and relatively high rolling resistance. Despite of all that, I'm loving it so much on the dry. Considering it has so much of grip, traction, and road feedback.

This is the HF201, previously was on my front end controlling the direction, now had put it at the back as a passive rolling wheels. Notice how clean it is?

Now, who told me these tyres weren't sticky?

The few days I've been consistently running around between KL ~ Seremban, managed to clock some speed and various road condition on these newly installed ATRs. I have already expected some crap to happen as the thread are very deep and far apart. Usually these type of threads would make the vehicle has less traction in wet, but excel in dry grip. The 1st time I had it on the wet was on the way back from Seremban, I know these stuff gonna kill me, hence subconsciously I pay much attention on the road condition and water puddle. The entire stretch of KL-Sban hiway I was hitting between 70~90kph when rain downpour. I managed to went through some high water accumulation surface, so as water puddles along the way, I have prepared for spin out as I already making sure I'm away from other road vehicle behind/infront at a safe distance. As soon as I hit the water puddle, the steering goes lighten, RPM sudden raise. It's a clear sign of loosing grip. However though, the straightness of the vehicle maintain pointing towards direction ahead. No drama at all. For the next few occassion of raining testing, I manage to get myself used to the kind of low wet traction, bringing my vehicle speed gradually from 70~110kph without too much of a worry.

Anyways, before I came to conclusion, a small incident happened on last Tuesday 18/3 evening as I left Seremban for KL. Again as usual, driving in heavy rain enjoying my ride at about 100kph. This time it was out of my expectation. I was on the middle lane happily enjoying music with all the windows up since rain downpour, suddenly a travel bus passing my Shawie at relatively high speed. The amount of water rejected from the bus pushes my ride to the left lane. I already worked very hard to adjust my steering wheel, trying to keep it at my current occupied lane, but the vehicle just simply aint cope with the amount of lateral force pushes from the side. This is an actual situation of aquaplaning where the tyres are actually floating on the water surface. There's nothing I can do to save the car, but to let the water pushes me out. I maintain my gas pedal input, gradually pushes my steering wheel to the right to TEST whether I can gain my ground. I'm also scared if I correct my steering input too much it might spin out, hence I'm only gradually testing and trying. Until after some distance only I managed to grab back my grip and carrying on my journey.

Overall, the wet traction is considerably known as BAD. It wasn't so bad to the extend where it will spin like a gasing as many accused. I'd say it's still quite decent, but definitely not for the faint hearted. When you're prepared and knowing what's gonna happened, then it's find. You can still fly through water puddle with these tyres, it's just that you'll have to be very careful and knowing the limit you're going to hit. Accident happens when you least expect it. Be safe. Cheers.

Quazacolt
post Mar 23 2014, 04:12 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Mar 23 2014, 03:21 PM)

glad you're alright bro nod.gif

and yeah that's the drawbacks on using semi slicks (or at least semi slicks treading with similar compound) in wet.
the danger is there.

thankfully the ad08r did not have such characteristics and water channeling was top notch. have sped over 160kph over water puddles with splash waves over the car's height, no drama, just pure thrills and enjoyment laugh.gif
xzation01z
post Mar 23 2014, 09:23 PM

90 posts

We should have a TT for only all savvy on this FRIDAY, 28th March 2014. Who is free? smile.gif
TSdavidke20
post Mar 23 2014, 09:45 PM

QUOTE(xzation01z @ Mar 23 2014, 09:23 PM)
We should have a TT for only all savvy on this FRIDAY, 28th March 2014. Who is free? smile.gif
Which area?
xzation01z
post Mar 24 2014, 01:24 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Mar 23 2014, 09:45 PM)
Which area?
same place as previous TT, at sri petaling smile.gif
TSdavidke20
post Mar 24 2014, 05:51 AM

LYN Shawie TiTies V5 Episode Premier

Day: Flydei
Date: 28th March, 2014
Time: 7.30 (Semua jibai come after 9pm anyway)

Attendees:

1. xzation01z
2. NOX
3. davidke20
4. halim90

154 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:39 AM